DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 3
A. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential elements … 3
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3
A. Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0199919 (“Choung”) in view of US 2012/0025171 (“Canzler”). 4
B. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of US 2007/0046189 (“Hatwar”). 15
IV. Response to Arguments 21
Conclusion 21
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential elements …
… such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claim 1 reads, in pertinent part,
at least two of R13 to R18 and R21 to R26 are optionally linked together to form a C5-C30 carbocyclic group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R10a, or a C1-C30 heterocyclic group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R10a,
Claim 1, however, omits what chemical structure R10a is.
Claims 3, 4, and 8-20 are rejected for including the same incomplete limitation by depending from claim 1 either directly or indirectly.
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0199919 (“Choung”) in view of US 2012/0025171 (“Canzler”).
Claim 1 reads, in pertinent part,
1. An organic light-emitting device, comprising:
[1] a first electrode;
[2] a second electrode; and
[3] an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein
[4a] the organic layer comprises
[4b] an emission layer and
[4c] an n-doped layer,
[5] the n-doped layer is arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer,
[6] the emission layer comprises at least one organometallic compound, and
[7] the at least one organometallic compound comprises at least one silyl group or at least one germyl group,
[8] wherein the organometallic compound is represented by Formula 1:
Formula 1
M1(Ln1) n1(Ln2)n2
[9a] wherein, in Formula 1,
[9b] M1 is a transition metal,
[9c] Ln1 is a ligand represented by Formulae 4-1 to 4-20 ,
[9d] Ln2 is an organic ligand,
[9e] n1 is 1, 2, or 3,
[9f] n2 is 0, 1, or 2,
…
[10a] wherein, in Formulae 4-1 to 4-20,
[10b] X11 is C(R11) or N, X12 is C(R12) or N, X13 is C(R13) or N, X14 is C(R14) or N, …
[10c] X21 is C(T1), C(R21), or N, X22 is C(T1), C(R22), or N, X23 is C(T1), C(R23), or N, X24 is C(T1), C(R24), or N, …
[10d] at least one of X21 to X24 in Formulae 4-1 … is C(T1) …
[10e] T1 is -Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3) or -Ge(Q1)(Q2)(Q3),
[10f] R11 to R18 and R21 to R26 are each independently hydrogen, …
[10g] at least two of R13 to R18 and R21 to R26 are optionally linked together to form a C5-C30 carbocyclic group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R10a, or a C1-C30 heterocyclic group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R10a,
[10h] wherein Q1 to Q9 are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, -F, -Cl, -Br, -I, -SF5, a hydroxyl group, a cyano group, a nitro group, an amino group, an amidino group, a hydrazine group, a hydrazone group, a carboxylic acid group or a salt thereof, a sulfonic acid group or a salt thereof, a phosphoric acid group or a salt thereof, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C60 alkyl group, …
[10i] * and *’ each indicate a binding site to M1.
With regard to claim 1, Choung discloses, generally in Fig. 3,
1. An organic light-emitting device D1 [i.e. OLED; ¶ 168], comprising:
[1] a first electrode 210 [i.e. anode; ¶¶ 168-170];
[2] a second electrode 220 [i.e. cathode; ¶¶ 174-176]; and
[3] an organic layer 230 [¶¶ 172-173, 179-197] arranged between the first electrode 210 and the second electrode 220,
wherein
[4a] the organic layer 230 comprises
[4b] an emission layer 360 [¶¶ 182, 189-191] and
[4c] … [not taught] …
[5] … [not taught] …
[6] the emission layer 360 comprises at least one organometallic compound 362 [i.e. Formula 1; abstract; ¶ 9], and
[7] the at least one organometallic compound 362 comprises at least one silyl group or at least one germyl group [as shown in Formula 1],
[8] wherein the organometallic compound is represented by Formula 1:
Formula 1
M1(Ln1) n1(Ln2)n2
Choung discloses the general Formula 1 (abstract; ¶ 23 et seq.) as the Ir metal complex dopant 362 in the host of emission layer 360 (Choung: ¶ 189):
-
Several examples, 1 through 405, are provided at pages 3-55 of Choung. Compound 1 on page 3 is reproduced below.
[9a] wherein, in Formula 1 [e.g. Choung’s compound 1, above],
[9b] M1 is a transition metal [i.e. Ir],
[9c] Ln1 [ligand on the right of Choung’s compound 1] is a ligand represented by Formulae 4-1 to 4-20 [i.e. Formula 4-1 (infra)],
[9d] Ln2 [ligand on the left of Choung’s compound 1] is an organic ligand [infra],
[9e] n1 is 1, 2, or 3,
[9f] n2 is 0, 1, or 2,
Note that example compounds include claimed ligand Ln1 having n1 of 1 (Choung: compounds 1-270, 393-405), 2 (Choung, compounds: 271-330), or 3 (Choung, compounds: 331-390), with claimed ligand Ln2 the balance of 3—a further required by claims 2 and 4.
Returning to claim 1, Choung’s compound 1 further meets the following limitations,
…
[10a] wherein, in Formulae 4-1 to 4-20 [Formula 4-1],
[10b] X11 is C(R11) or N, X12 is C(R12) or N, X13 is C(R13) or N, X14 is C(R14) or N, [i.e. each of R11, R12, R13, and R14 is hydrogen–as further limited by feature [10f], below] …
[10c] X21 is C(T1), C(R21), or N, X22 is C(T1), C(R22), or N, X23 is C(T1), C(R23), or N, X24 is C(T1), C(R24), or N, [i.e. R24 is hydrogen–as further limited by feature [10f], below]…
[10d] at least one of X21 to X24 in Formulae 4-1 … is C(T1) …
[10e] T1 is -Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3) or -Ge(Q1)(Q2)(Q3),
[10f] R11 to R18 and R21 to R26 are each independently hydrogen, …
[10g] at least two of R13 to R18 and R21 to R26 [i.e. R21 and R22] are optionally linked together to form a C5-C30 carbocyclic group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R10a, or a C1-C30 heterocyclic group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R10a,
[10h] wherein Q1 to Q9 [i.e. Q1, Q2, and Q3] are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, -F, -Cl, -Br, -I, -SF5, a hydroxyl group, a cyano group, a nitro group, an amino group, an amidino group, a hydrazine group, a hydrazone group, a carboxylic acid group or a salt thereof, a sulfonic acid group or a salt thereof, a phosphoric acid group or a salt thereof, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C60 alkyl group [i.e. C1 alkyl, i.e. methyl], …
[10i] * and *’ each indicate a binding site to M1.
This is all of the limitations directed to claimed Formula 4-1.
With regard to features [4c] and [5] of claim 1,
[4c] an n-doped layer,
[5] the n-doped layer is arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer,
The OLED D1 shown in Fig. 3 of Choung does not teach the n-doped layer positioned as required by features [4c] and [5].
Canzler, like Choung, teaches an OLED including an anode 2 and cathode 1 with an organic layer 4 therebetween, the organic layer including a sequence of layers, including a light emitting layer EL having an iridium metal complex dopant, e.g., “ORE--iridium(III) bis(2-methyldibenzo-[f,h]quinoxaline)(acetylacetonate)”, in a host, e.g. “NPB--N,N % di(naphthalen-2-yl)-N,N'-diphenylbenzidine” (¶ 62), i.e. “20 nm ORE in NPB (10%)” (e.g. Examples 2 and 4 ¶¶ 66, 68). See also Examples 9 and 10 at ¶¶ 73-95) including a light emitting layer with 20 wt% Ir(piq)3 dopant in host BAlq (¶ 92, compound structures on p. 6). The sequence of layers in each of Choung and Canzler includes essentially the same, well-known general sequence of an OLED including anode, hole transport layer (HTL), electron blocking layer (EBL), light emitting layer (EML or EL), hole blocking layer (HBL), electron transport layer (ETL), and cathode:
[0184] Moreover, the organic light emitting layer 230 can further include at least one of an HIL 340 between the first electrode 210 and the HTL 350 and an EIL 380 between the second electrode 220 and the ETL 370.
[0185] Furthermore, the organic light emitting layer 230 can further include at least one of an HBL 355 between the HTL 350 and the EML 360 and an EBL 375 between the EML 360 and the ETL 370.
(Choung: ¶¶ 184-185; Fig. 3)
[0044] anode/n-doped ETL/p-doped HTL/EBL/EL/HBL/n-doped ETL/p-doped HTL/cathode
[0045] anode/n-doped ETL/p-doped HTL/EBL/EL/HBL/n-doped ETL/cathode.
[0047] anode/n-doped ETL/EBL/EL/HBL/p-doped HTL/cathode
[0048] anode/n-doped ETL/EBL/EL/HBL/n-doped ETL/cathode
(Canzler: ¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48)
Canzler further teaches including an n-doped ETL, i.e. an electron transport material doped with an n-dopant, just as in the Instant Application, which states in this regard, “In one or more embodiments, the n-doped layer may include an electron transport compound and an n-dopant.” (Instant Specification: ¶ 150). Also like the Instant Application (Instant Specification: ¶¶ 150-166), Canzler teaches that the n-dopant can be a metal complex of, e.g. W (¶ 62) or Ru (¶ 88), albeit of different metals than those in the Instant Application.
Canzler deposits the n-doped layer directly on the anode (supra) before forming the hole transporting materials and EBL alone or followed by a p-doped layer including a p-dopant in a hole transporting material—also as in the Instant Application (Instant Specification: ¶¶ 171-173). Canzler explains the benefit of including the n-doped layer alone or the n-doped layer/p-doped layer, i.e. a np junction on the anode and a pn junction on the cathode, as increasing free charge carriers available to the organic layer (Canzler: ¶¶ 11-12), which allows lower operating voltage of the OLED compared to OLEDs lacking the np and pn junctions (Canzler: ¶ 13-14) and easier selection of anode and cathode materials (Canzler: ¶ 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an n-doped layer directly on the anode 210 of Choung, or an n-doped layer/p-doped layer directly on the anode 210 of Choung, at least in order to improve free charge carrier availability and thereby allow lower operation voltage, as taught by Canzler (supra). As such, Canzler may be seen as an improvement to Choung in this aspect. (See MPEP 2143.)
This is all of the limitations of claim 1.
In the alternative, Canzler may be viewed as the primary reference. With regard to claim 1, Canzler discloses, generally in Fig. 1,
1. An organic light-emitting device, comprising:
[1] a first electrode 2 [¶ 41, e.g. anode (¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48, 66, 68, 75, 87)];
[2] a second electrode 1 [¶ 41; e.g. cathode (¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48, 66, 68, 83, 95)]; and
[3] an organic layer 4 arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein
[4a] the organic layer 4 comprises
[4b] an emission layer [EL of 4 (¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48, 66, 68, 80, 92)] and
[4c] an n-doped layer [n-doped ETL of 4 (¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48, 66, 68, 76, 88)],
[5] the n-doped layer [n-doped ETL] is arranged between the first electrode [anode 2] and the emission layer [EL of 4 (¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48, 66, 69, examples 9 and 10 at ¶¶ 73-95 at p. 5)],
[6] the emission layer [EL of 4 (¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48)] comprises at least one organometallic compound [ORE or Ir(piq)3 (supra)], and
[7]-[10h] … [not taught] …
[10i] * and *’ each indicate a binding site to M1.
Canzler does not teach features [7]-[10h] of claim 1:
[7] the at least one organometallic compound comprises at least one silyl group or at least one germyl group.
As explained above, Choung discloses an Ir metal complex, similar to those disclosed in Canzler. Choung teaches that Ir metal complexes having a ligand substituted with a silyl substituent in a meta position to the carbon bonded to the Ir atom, as in the disclosed Formula 1 of Choung has a longer lifespan and greater emission efficiency than Ir metal complexes (1) without the silyl group (i.e. “Ref-1 using Formula 8 at pp. 80-82) or (2) those with the silyl group positioned ortho to the carbon bonded to the Ir atom (i.e. “Ref-2 through Ref-13 at pp. 80-82). In this regard Table 1 shows the inferior emission efficiency and lifespan of Ir complex compounds Ref-1 through Ref-13 to the inventive compound of Formula 1 in Tables 2, 3, and 4 (Choung: ¶¶ 203-204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an Ir complex having the structure of Formula 1 of Choung, e.g. compound 1 of Choung, above, as the Ir complex in Canzler, in order to improve the emission efficiency and lifespan of the OLED, as taught in Choung (supra). As such, Choung may be seen as an improvement to Canzler in this aspect. (See MPEP 2143.)
This is all of the limitations of claim 1.
With regard to claims 3-6 and 8, either Formula 1 or compound 1 of Choung, above further teaches, the following,
3. (Currently Amended) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein M1 is iridium, platinum, osmium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, europium, terbium, thulium, or rhodium [supra].
4. (Currently Amended) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein M1 is iridium, and a sum of n1 and n2 is 3, or M1 is platinum, and the sum of n1 and n2 is 2.
8. The organic light-emitting device of claim 2, wherein Ln2 [i.e. the ligand on the left in Choung’s compound 1, above] is represented by at least one of Formulae 2A to 2C:
X4 to X6 are each independently C or N,
ring CY4 to ring CY6 are each independently a C5-C30 carbocyclic group or a C1-C30 heterocyclic group,
R50, and R60 are each independently hydrogen, …
In Choung’s compound 1, above, ring CY5 to ring CY6 are each independently a C5-C30 carbocyclic group, i.e. phenyl group, or a C1-C30 heterocyclic group, i.e. pyridyl group, and R50, and R60 are each independently hydrogen.
With regard to claim 9, Choung further discloses,
9. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the emission layer emits a red light, a green light, or a blue light [¶ 151].
With regard to claim 9, Choung further discloses,
10. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein
[1] the emission layer 360 further comprises a host and a dopant 362, and
[2] the dopant 362 comprises the at least one organometallic compound.
Choung states,
[0189] The EML 360 includes a first compound being the organometallic compound of the present disclosure as a dopant (e.g., an emitter) 362. In addition, the EML 360 can further include a second compound as a host.
[0190] The EML 360 can have a thickness of 10 to 100 nm, preferably 20 to 50 nm. In the EML 360, the dopant 362 can have a weight % of 1 to 20 weight %, preferably 1 to 10 weight %.
(Choung: ¶¶ 189-190; emphasis added)
With regard to claims 11-13, Canzler further discloses,
11. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the n-doped layer comprises an electron transport compound and an n-dopant [i.e. n-doped ETL].
12. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 11, wherein the electron transport compound [e.g. “2,4,7,9-tetraphenyl phenanthroline” (¶ 62)] comprises a cyano group, a π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing ring group, an electron transport moiety [i.e. phenanthroline, as evidenced by the Instant Application (Instant Specification: ¶ 152: “a phenanthroline group”; ¶ 153)], or a combination thereof.
13. The organic light-emitting device of claim 11, wherein the n-dopant comprises a metal [e.g. “Ndop--tetrakis(1,2,3,3a,4,5,6,6a,7,8-decahydro-1,9,9b-triazaphenalenyl)di-tungsten(II)” (¶ 62) or “Ru(t-butyl-trpy)2” (¶ 88)].
With regard to claim 14, Canzler further discloses,
14. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the organic layer 4 further comprises
[1] a hole transport region [e.g. p-doped HTL/EBL (Canzler: ¶¶ 44, 45)] arranged between the first electrode [anode 2] and the emission layer [EL of 4], and
[2] the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer [p-doped HTL], an electron blocking layer [EBL], a buffer layer, or a combination thereof (Canzler: ¶¶ 44, 45)].
In addition, Choung teaches a anode 210/HIL 340/HTL 350/EBL 355/emission layer 360 (Choung: ¶¶ 184-185). Thus, Choung modified to use the n-doped layer or the n-doped layer/p-doped layer of Canzler would still include at least an HTL and EBL between the anode 210 and the emission layer 360.
With regard to claim 15, Canzler further discloses,
15. (Currently Amended) The organic light-emitting device of claim 14, wherein the n-doped layer is arranged between the first electrode and the hole transport region [Canzler: ¶¶ 44, 45, 47, 48 (supra)].
Because the n-doped layer is in contact with the anode, Choung modified to use the n-doped layer or the n-doped layer/p-doped layer of Canzler would still include “the n-doped layer is arranged between the first electrode and the hole transport region” as require by claim 15.
With regard to claim 16, each of Choung and Canzler further discloses,
16. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein
[1] the organic layer further comprises an electron transport region [375/370/380 in Fig. 3 of Choung; e.g. HBL/n-doped ETL in ¶ 44 in Canzler ] arranged between the emission layer [360 in Choung; EL in ¶ 44 in Canzler] and the second electrode [220 in Choung; cathode 1 in ¶ 44 and Fig. 1 in Canzler], and
[2] the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer [HBL in ¶ 44 in Canzler], an electron transport layer [370 in Choung; n-doped ETL in ¶ 44 in Canzler], an electron injection layer [EIL 380 in Choung], or a combination thereof.
With regard to claim 20, Choung further discloses,
20. (Original) An electronic apparatus [i.e. an OLED display; Fig. 2; ¶¶ 150-151], comprising the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 [i.e. D1 in Fig. 3; ¶¶ 150-151].
B. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of US 2007/0046189 (“Hatwar”).
With regard to claim 1, Choung discloses, generally in Figs. 7 and 8,
1. An organic light-emitting device D2 [i.e. OLED; ¶ 266], comprising:
[1] a first electrode 810 [i.e. anode; ¶¶ 266-267];
[2] a second electrode 820 [i.e. cathode; ¶¶ 266-267]; and
[3] an organic layer 830/890/930/990/1030 [¶¶ 266-280] arranged between the first electrode 810 and the second electrode 820,
wherein
[4a] the organic layer 830/890/930/990/1030 comprises
[4b] an emission layer 960 [¶¶ 271, 274-275] and
[4c] an n-…[type]… layer 910 [i.e. n-type charge generation layer (CGL); ¶ 273],
[5] the n-…[type]… layer 910 is arranged between the first electrode 810 and the emission layer 960,
[6] the emission layer 960 comprises at least one organometallic compound 966 [i.e. Formula 1; abstract; ¶9; ¶ 274: “The second EML 960 includes a first host and a first dopant 966, and the first dopant 966 is the organometallic compound of the present invention.”], and
[7] the at least one organometallic compound 966 comprises at least one silyl group or at least one germyl group [as shown in Formula 1],
[8]-[10i] [disclosed in Choung, at least compound 1, above, as explained above under the rejection over Choung in view of Canzler, which is incorporated here].
With regard to features [4c] and [5] of claim 1, Choung does not give the composition of the n-type CGL and does not therefore indicate whether or not it is an n-doped layer”, as claimed.
Hatwar, like Choung, teaches a tandem OLED 200 (Hatwar: Fig. 2; ¶ 26; title) wherein the light emitting stacks 120.1, 120.2 are separated by a charge generation layer 130.1 (Hatwar: ¶ 26). Also like Choung, Hatwar teaches that the charge generation layer 130.1 can have a configuration of an n-type layer 331 closer to the anode 110 and with a p-type layer 335 directly thereon and closer to the cathode 170 (Hatwar: Fig. 3E; ¶ 86). Similarly, Choung teaches that the charge generation layer 890 is an n-type layer 910 closer to the anode 810 and with a p-type layer 920 closer to the cathode 820 (Choung: ¶ 273).
Hatwar further teaches that it is very old and well known to make the n-type CGL 331 from an n-dopant in an electron transport material (Hatwar: ¶¶ 87, 108), the n-dopant being a metal (Hatwar: ¶ 88) that include same metals as disclosed in the Instant Application, i.e. Li, Na, K, Cs, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Y, La, Ce, Sm, Eu, Tb, Dy, Gd, and Yb (id.). In addition, Hatwar teaches that the p-type layer 335 is a p-dopant in a hole transport material (Hatwar: ¶ 140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the n-type CGL 910 and p-type CGL 920 of Choung using the compositions in Hatwar, i.e. a metal n-dopant in an ETM and p-dopant in a HTM, respectively, because Hatwar teaches that this is old and well known. As such, the selection of the n-type CGL as an n-doped ETL amounts to obvious material choice. (See MPEP 2144.07.)
This is all of the limitations of claim 1.
With regard to claims 3 and 8, directed to claimed Formula 1, these limitations are disclosed in Choung, at least by compound 1, above, as explained above under the rejection over Choung in view of Canzler, which is incorporated here.
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Choung further discloses,
9. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the emission layer 960 emits a red light, a green light, or a blue light [¶ 271: “One of the first to third EMLs 860, 960 and 1060 includes the organometallic compound of the present disclosure and provides the green emission.”].
10. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein
[1] the emission layer further comprises a host and a dopant [¶ 274: “The second EML 960 includes a first host and a first dopant 966, and the first dopant 966 is the organometallic compound of the present invention”], and
[2] the dopant comprises the at least one organometallic compound [id.].
With regard to claims 11-13, Choung modified according to Hatwar as explained under claim 1 further teaches,
11. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the n-doped layer 910 comprises an electron transport compound [¶¶ 87, 108] and an n-dopant [supra].
12. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 11, wherein the electron transport compound comprises a cyano group, a π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing ring group, an electron transport moiety, or a combination thereof.
13. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 11, wherein the n-dopant comprises a metal [¶ 88, supra].
Hatwar explains that the ETM includes first and second organic compounds (¶ 87). The second organic compound include the required “cyano group, a π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing ring group, an electron transport moiety”:
Carbocyclic and heterocyclic ring systems useful for the current invention for the second compounds are selected from metal and non-metal chelated oxinoids, anthracenes, bipyridyls, butadienes, imidazoles, phenanthrenes, phenanthrolines, styrylarylenes, benzazoles, buckministerfullerene-C60 (also known as buckyball or fullerene-C60), tetracenes, xanthenes, perylenes, coumarins, rhodamines, quinacridones, dicyanomethylenepyrans, …
(Hatwar: ¶ 108)
Thus using the composition for the n-doped CGL of Hatwar for the n-type CGL 910 of Choung may include and electron transport compound having “cyano group, a π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing ring group, an electron transport moiety”.
This is all of the limitations of claims 11-13.
With regard to claims 14-19, Choung further discloses in Figs. 7 and 8,
14. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the organic layer 830/890/930/990/1030 further comprises
[1] a hole transport region 950/955 arranged between the first electrode 810 and the emission layer 960, and
[2] the hole transport region 950/955 comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer 950, an electron blocking layer 955, a buffer layer, or a combination thereof [¶ 269].
15. (Currently Amended) The organic light-emitting device of claim 14, wherein the n-doped layer 910 [of Choung/Hatwar] is arranged between the first electrode 810 and the hole transport region 950/955.
16. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein
[1] the organic layer 830/890/930/990/1030 further comprises an electron transport region 975/970 arranged between the emission layer 960 and the second electrode 820, and
[2] the electron transport region 975/970 comprises a hole blocking layer 975, an electron transport layer 970, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof [¶ 269].
17. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 1, wherein the organic layer 830/890/930/990/1030 further comprises:
[1] n emission units 830, 930, 1030 [¶¶ 268-270]; and
[2] n-1 charge generation units 890, 990 [¶ 273] arranged between two neighboring emission units [(id.) and as shown in Figs. 7 and 8],
wherein
[3] n is an integer of 2 or greater [i.e. 3], and
[4] at least one of the n emission units 930 comprises the at least one organometallic compound 966 [¶ 274: “The second EML 960 includes a first host and a first dopant 966, and the first dopant 966 is the organometallic compound of the present invention.”].
18. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 17, wherein the organic layer 830/890/930/990/1030 further comprises
[1] a hole transport region 950/955 arranged between the first electrode 810 and the emission layer 960,
[2] the hole transport region 950/955 comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer 950, an electron blocking layer 955, a buffer layer, or a combination thereof [¶ 296], and
[3a] the n-doped layer 910 is arranged between the first electrode 910 and the hole transport region 950/955 [as shown in Fig. 7], or
[3b] at least one of the n-1 charge generation units 890 comprises the n-doped layer 910 [as shown in Fig. 7].
19. (Original) The organic light-emitting device of claim 18, wherein
[2] the n emission units 830, 930, 1030 comprise a kth emission unit [i.e. 2nd of 3, i.e. 930] which is kth nearest [i.e. 2nd nearest] to the first electrode 210, wherein k is an integer from 2 to n [i.e. light-emission unit 930 is the second or k=2], and
[2] the kth emission unit comprises the emission layer 960 comprising the at least one organometallic compound 966 [as shown in Fig. 7].
With regard to claim 20, Choung further discloses,
20. (Original) An electronic apparatus [i.e. an OLED display; Fig. 4], comprising the organic light-emitting device of claim 1 [i.e. D2 of Figs. 7 or 8 (¶¶ 208-209)].
IV. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Consistent with Examiner’s statement in the Interview Summary mailed 05/19/2026, a more thorough review of Choung shows that many compounds, e.g. compound 1 on page 3 of Choung, meets all of the limitations of the claimed organometallic compound of Formula 1, specifically Formula 4-1. As such, Applicant’s arguments directed modification of the compounds of Choung (Remarks, pp. 13-14) are not relevant since no modification is required to meet the requirements of claimed Formula 1 of claim 1.
The amendment to claim 1 does, however, overcome the rejections based on Moon, which are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814