This office action is in response to the request for continued examination and amendment filed 4/23/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 5, and 20 have been amended, claims 23-24 have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. As such, claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-20, and 23-24 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the language “the recommendation protocol” (line 1) is objected to for not maintaining consistency in claim terminology; Examiner suggests amending to read –the recommended protocol--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 23, the newly added claim which sets forth that the first and second sections are “located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member” and which, due to dependency on claim 1, requires that the compression values in the first and second sections being different (the second greater than the first, claim 1 line 21-25, appears to introduce new matter not found in the disclosure as originally filed. While the disclosure has support for first and second vibration assemblies/motors located ‘symmetrically circumferentially’ per para. 0038, it does not support having multiple sections having different compression values which are located ‘symmetrically circumferentially’ as claimed.
Claims 3-4 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the biometric data" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the recommendation data" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the user" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the claim sets forth that the recommendation data is generated from a weighted score determination including “at least one of a recovery score, a wellness determination score, or a behavior determination score” (lines 1-4), which sets forth the list in alternative form; however, lines 4-6 states that based on the weighted score determination , the recommended protocol is modified to improve all of the recovery, wellness, and behavior determination scores. It is therefore unclear if Applicant is intending to claim that the weighted score determination includes all of the recover, wellness, and behavior determination scores and the modification to the recommended protocol improves all of these, or if Applicant is intending to claim the list in alternative form. Examiner suggests amending the language in lines 4-6 to be in the alternative form to match that set forth in lines 1-4.
Claims 15-17are rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sifferlin (2019/0183724) in view of Wersland et al. (2021/0022955), Farrow (2007/0179421), Knott (10,470,509), and Kwon et al. (KR 20210098251) (see attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Sifferlin discloses a washable garment assembly (see Fig. 1-6, abstract, para. 0044 for example, a sleeve is able to be washed and thus is washable) which includes a sleeve member including an inner surface, an outer surface and a tunnel defined between the inner and outer surfaces (see Fig. 1, sleeve member 110 with inner and outer surfaces as shown, the outer surface being visible in Fig. 4 showing the sleeve member being worn on the user’s elbow, inner surface contacting the user, see para. 0065 and 0070; para. 0066 discloses that the sleeve encases mechanical and electrical parts including vibration motors 160, 165 and thus a tunnel is formed which encloses the mechanical and electrical parts); a plurality of vibration assemblies associated with the sleeve member and sealed between the inner and outer surfaces (see Fig. 1 and 4, para. 0066, vibration assemblies 160, 165), wherein each vibration assembly includes at least one vibration motor (see Fig. 1 and 4, para. 0066 vibration motors 160, 165); a control module associated with the sleeve member and configured to control functions of the vibration assembly (see para. 0033, “device is operated by a controller”, see also para. 0059-0060 which discloses a controller, i.e. a control module), the control module including a battery and control electronics (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics; see Fig. 1 and para. 0066 “battery housing 170”, see para. 0051 “battery-powered vibration mechanisms”). Sifferlin is silent as to the control module being configured to communicate with a remote device; however, Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sifferlin device’s control module to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Wersland, in order to provide connectivity with a user’s phone/watch/tablet for control (Fig. 29 and para. 0106) and a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of Sifferlin) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of Sifferlin). The modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the sleeve member including first and second sections with first and second compression values, respectively, the second greater than the first, such that a first vibration assembly is disposed on the first section and a second vibration assembly is disposed on the second section; however, Farrow teaches a similar therapy garment which includes at least first and second sections with varying levels of compression values (see Farrow para. 0034-0040, 0124, 0130-0138 and accompanying figures). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s garment to include first and second compression sections with varying compression values, as taught by Farrow, in order to enhanced therapeutic effect. The now modified Sifferlin device includes vibration assemblies disposed on the first and second sections of varying compression values (see Sifferlin Fig. 4 for example showing plural vibration assemblies 160 and 165, Sifferlin discloses sleeve can be used on various limbs, para. 0030, 0044, and whole limb, para. 0071; Farrow disclosing plural compression zones with different compression values for various limbs of a user, see above noted recitations of Farrow, thus providing differing compression value zones with the vibration assemblies of Sifferlin). The modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Sifferlin device’s control module includes a wireless communication module configured to communicate with a software application on the remote device (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing the remote device, para. 0106 disclosing software application, Bluetooth or other wireless connection protocol).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sifferlin, Wersland, Farrow, Knott, and Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Northen et al. (2020/0222276).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Sifferlin device discloses a sensor (Sifferlin para. 0077), but is silent as to the sensor being configured to monitor at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygen level, or a body part temperature; however, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor configured to monitor one of the claimed list (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262, 0158). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sifferlin device to include a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one of the claimed list, as taught by Northen, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Sifferlin device is configured to generate recommendation data to the user, wherein the recommendation data includes a user notification of at least one of a recommended protocol to be performed by the washable garment assembly, a change to the recommended protocol, or a behavior recommendation (see Wersland para. 0154-0156, 0158-0159, and 0161 for example), but is silent as to using biometric data in providing the recommendation; however, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor configured to monitor one of the claimed list (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262, 0158). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sifferlin device to include a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one of the claimed list, as taught by Northen, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sifferlin, Wersland, Farrow, Knott, and Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Samoodi (2013/0253397).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the first section and second section being located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member; however, Samoodi teaches a compression garment which includes differing compression sections located along the same circumferential location on the device (see Samoodi Fig. 6 and para. 0054). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s first and second sections of differing compression values to be located along the same circumferential location on the device, as taught by Samoodi, and to further modify such sections to be symmetrical in order to provide a desired level and location of compression to the user’s body part.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sifferlin in view of Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Sr. (8,523,793), Longinotti-Buitoni et al. (2018/0199635), Hill, Jr. (5,586,341), Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding claim 5, Sifferlin discloses a garment therapy system (see Fig. 1-6, abstract, para. 0044 for example) including a washable garment assembly (see Fig. 1-6, abstract, para. 0044 for example, a sleeve 110 is able to be washed and thus is washable) including vibration therapy for a user (see Fig. 1 and 4, para. 0066, vibration assembly 160, 165) which includes a sleeve member (see Fig. 1, sleeve member 110 with inner and outer surfaces as shown, the outer surface being visible in Fig. 4 showing the sleeve member being worn on the user’s elbow, inner surface contacting the user, see para. 0065 and 0070; para. 0066 discloses that the sleeve encases mechanical and electrical parts including vibration motors 160, 165 and thus a tunnel is formed which encloses the mechanical and electrical parts), a vibration assembly associated with the sleeve member (see Fig. 1 and 4, para. 0066, vibration assembly 160, 165). While Sifferlin discloses a sensor (see para. 0077), Sifferlin is silent as to including a second sensor for measuring biometric information and the assembly including a network interface and a first sensor configured to monitor real-time tracking data of a user; a data source configured to receive and store aggregated biometric data, a remote device comprising application programs, wherein the remote device is configured to receive manual capture data input by the user; and an intelligence engine configured to generate recommendation data including a recommended protocol to be performed by the washable garment assembly to operate the vibration assembly based thereon. However, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a network interface and sensor configured to monitor real-time tracking data of a user (Wersland Fig. 29-30, para. 0106, 0157, 0168), a data source configured to receive and store aggregated biometric data (see Fig. 30, data sources 103, para. 0163), a remote device comprising application programs, wherein the remote device is configured to receive manual capture data input by the user (see Fig. 29 showing remote device in the form of a smartphone, see para. 0106; para. 0157, 0167, 0171-0172 disclosing use/receipt of manual capture data by the user), and an intelligence engine configured to receive and aggregate the real-time tracking data from the therapy device, the biometric data from the data source, and the manual capture data from the remote device, wherein the intelligence engine is configured to generate recommendation data comprising a recommended protocol to be performed by the therapy device (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven intelligence engine recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sifferlin device to include a biometric sensor and the control module to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, including network interface, data source, remote device, and intelligence engine, as taught by Northen and Wersland, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014) and to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of Sifferlin) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of Sifferlin). The modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the sleeve member including a centering mark with the vibration assembly spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance such that the centering mark is adjacent to a bone of the user with the vibration assembly aligned toa muscle of the user; however, Waldon teaches a similar sleeve member with vibration assembly which includes a centering mark with the vibration assembly spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance such that the centering mark is adjacent to a bone of the user with the vibration assembly aligned toa muscle of the user (see Waldon Fig. 1-3, cutout 50 being a centering mark which is adjacent to a bone of the user, kneecap/patella, with vibration assemblies 52 spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance and aligned with muscles of the leg above and below the kneecap/patella, see col. 3 ln. 4-17). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device to include a centering mark/cutout with the vibration assemblies spaced apart therefrom, as taught by Waldon, in order to provide a guide to the user to wear the device properly, i.e. locating the patella at the centering mark, to align the vibration assemblies in the correct location for desired therapy. The modified Sifferlin device discloses wires which coupled to and extending away from the vibration assemblies (see Fig. 1, wiring 163, see para. 0066), but is silent as to an electrical communication strip including a stretchable fabric member and at least a wire stitched therein which is configured to straighten in a longitudinal direction when the fabric member is stretched in the longitudinal direction. However, Longinotti-Buitoni discloses a garment assembly which includes this feature (see Longinotti-Buitoni Fig. 1B, 3-5, abstract, para. 0021, 0102, 0144, para. 0102: “fabric substrate”, “stretchable fabric”, wires may be attached to the substrate by sewing or stitching”). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s wiring to be the electrical communication strip including fabric member with at least one wire stitched therein, as taught by Longinotti-Buitoni, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another (types of wires/electrical communication means) and one would expect the modified Sifferlin device to perform equally as well and would allow stretching of the garment without breaking of electrical connections (see Longinotti-Buitoni para. 0021). The modified Sifferlin device includes a centering mark (see above citations of Waldon), but is silent as to the centering mark being disposed on an outer surface of the sleeve member and spaced apart from an edge of the sleeve member; however, Hill teaches a similar garment which includes a centering mark being disposed on an outer surface of the sleeve member and spaced apart from an edge of the garment (see Hill Fig. 1-6, abstract, col. 1 ln. 32-40, col. 2 ln. 12-16 for example, centering mark 20). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device to include a centering mark, as taught by Hill, in order to provide an orientation marker to provide the user guidance on proper wearing of the garment (Hill col. 1 ln. 32-40, col. 2 ln. 12-16). The modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Sifferlin system’s biometric data comprises at least one of a heart rate, a heart rate variability, a blood oxygen letter, a skin temperature, or a muscle temperature (see Northen para. 0014, 0261-0262; Wersland para. 0158).
Regarding claim 8, Regarding claim 8, the modified Sifferlin system’s recommendation data is generated from at least one of demographic data, activity data of the washable garment assembly, temporal data comprising timing of use of the washable garment assembly, analytics data corresponding to use of the washable garment assembly, or the biometric data (see Wersland para. 0158), and wherein the recommendation data is provided to the washable garment assembly (see Wersland para. 0160).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Sifferlin system’s demographic data comprises at least one of a biological parameter of the user, an age of the user, a height of the user, or a weight of the user (see Wersland para. 0158).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Sifferlin system’s activity data comprises at least one of a type of exercise activity, a volume of the exercise activity, an intensity of the exercise activity, or a trend in activity parameters over time (see Wersland para. 0158).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Sifferlin system’s temporal data comprises at least one of an absolute time of an exercise routine of the user or a relative time of the exercise routine to a predetermined event (see Wersland para. 0158).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Sifferlin system’s recommendation data comprises a user notification of at least one of the recommended protocol, a change to the recommended protocol, or a behavior recommendation (see Wersland para. 0154-0156, 0161, 0176).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Sifferlin system is such that the recommendation data is generated from a weighted scoring determination comprising at least one of a recovery determination score, a wellness determination score, or a behavior determination score (see Wersland para. 0172), and based on the weighted scoring determination, the recommended protocol is modified to improve the recovery determination score, the wellness determination score, and the behavior determination score (see Wersland para. 0158 and 0172).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Sifferlin system’s recovery determination score includes a determination of how long a heart rate of the user returned to a restorative state (see Northen para. 0014, 0260-0262; Wersland para. 0158).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Sifferlin system’s recovery determination score includes a determination of dietary intake and trends to determine an overall wellness score (see Wersland para. 0172, 0175).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Sifferlin system’s behavior determination score includes a determination of sleep metrics and trends to determine an overall behavior determination score (see Wersland para. 0158, 0172).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Sifferlin system’s recommendation protocol comprises a routine for the garment assembly, the routine including a series of steps configured to be performed in a predetermined order (see Wersland para. 0106-0108, 0155-0156).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Sifferlin system’s recommendation data comprises at least one of the recommended protocol, a behavior modification recommendation, or a wellness insight (see Wersland para. 0155-0156, 0161, 0176, 0175).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Longinotti-Buitoni, Hill, Knott, and Kwon as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Burbank et al. (2009/0221943).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Sifferlin device is silent as to including first and second sections located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member with a first vibration assembly disposed on the first section and a second vibration assembly disposed at the second section (Sifferlin discloses plural vibration assemblies shown in Fig. 1 and 4, vibration assemblies 160 and 165, para. 0066); however, Burbank teaches a similar wearable garment which includes first and second symmetrically circumferentially located sections having vibration assemblies located thereon (see Burbank Fig. 62-65, para. 0197-0200, vibration assemblies 442 located on the front and rear sides of the garment and which are symmetrically circumferentially located). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device to have plural vibration assemblies located on first and second sections which are located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member, as taught by Burbank, in order to provide vibration to both front and rear portions of the body part.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sifferlin in view of Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Longinotti-Buitoni, Leftly et al. (2014/0364778), Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding claim 20, Sifferlin discloses a washable garment assembly (see Fig. 1-6, abstract, para. 0044 for example, a sleeve is able to be washed and thus is washable) whose use includes a method of providing therapeutic effect including providing vibration therapy to a user (see Fig. 1 and 4, para. 0066, vibration assembly 160, 165) and which includes a sleeve member (see Fig. 1, sleeve member 110 with inner and outer surfaces as shown, the outer surface being visible in Fig. 4 showing the sleeve member being worn on the user’s elbow, inner surface contacting the user, see para. 0065 and 0070; para. 0066 discloses that the sleeve encases mechanical and electrical parts including vibration motors 160, 165 and thus a tunnel is formed which encloses the mechanical and electrical parts), a vibration assembly associated with the sleeve member (see Fig. 1 and 4, para. 0066, vibration assembly 160, 165), and a sensor (see para. 0077), a control module with a battery removably coupled to the control module (see para. 0033, “device is operated by a controller”, see also para. 0059-0060 which discloses a controller, i.e. a control module; para. 0066 “battery housing 170”, see para. 0051 “battery-powered vibration mechanisms”, removable batteries per para. 0051). While Sifferlin discloses a sensor (see para. 0077), Sifferlin is silent as to including receiving biometric data of the user and silent as to the steps of receiving manual capture data, real-time tracking data, application-based biometric data, and online health data; aggregating the manual capture data, the real-time tracking data, the biometric data, and the health data, each comprising at least one of demographic data, activity data of the garment assembly, temporal data comprising timing of use of the garment assembly, analytics data corresponding to use of the garment assembly, and biometric data; generating a weighted score based on at least one of the manual capture data, the real-time tracking data, the biometric data, or the health data, wherein the weighted score includes a recovery determination score, a wellness determination score, and a behavior determination score; generating recommendation data based on the aggregated data comprising a recommended protocol to be performed by the garment assembly; modifying the recommended protocol to improve the recovery determination score, the wellness determination score, and the behavior determination score; providing the protocol to the washable garment assembly, controlling the vibration assembly based thereon, and notifying the recommendation data to a user of the garment assembly. However, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) whose use includes the steps of receiving manual capture data, real-time tracking data, application-based biometric data, and online health data (see Wersland para. 0158, 0167, 0168, 0163, 0169); aggregating the manual capture data, the real-time tracking data, the biometric data, and the health data, each comprising at least one of demographic data, activity data of the therapy device, temporal data comprising timing of use of the therapy device, analytics data corresponding to use of the therapy device, and biometric data (see Wersland para. 0159, 0158); generating a weighted score based on at least one of the manual capture data, the real-time tracking data, the biometric data, or the health data, wherein the weighted score includes a recovery determination score, a wellness determination score, and a behavior determination score (see Wersland para. 0172); generating recommendation data based on the aggregated data comprising a recommended protocol to be performed by the garment assembly (see Wersland para. 0155-0156); modifying the recommended protocol to improve the recovery determination score, the wellness determination score, and the behavior determination score (see Wersland para. 0155-0156, 0161, 0181); controlling and notifying the recommendation data to a user of the therapy device (see Wersland para. 0161, 0176-0177, 0153-0177). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sifferlin device/use method to include a biometric sensor obtaining biometric data of the user and the control module to perform the claimed steps, as taught by Northen and Wersland, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014) and to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of Sifferlin) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices/use methods in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of Sifferlin). The modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the sleeve member including a centering mark with the vibration assembly spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance such that the centering mark is adjacent to a bone of the user with the vibration assembly aligned toa muscle of the user; however, Waldon teaches a similar sleeve member with vibration assembly which includes a centering mark with the vibration assembly spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance such that the centering mark is adjacent to a bone of the user with the vibration assembly aligned toa muscle of the user (see Waldon Fig. 1-3, cutout 50 being a centering mark which is adjacent to a bone of the user, kneecap/patella, with vibration assemblies 52 spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance and aligned with muscles of the leg above and below the kneecap/patella, see col. 3 ln. 4-17). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device to include a centering mark/cutout with the vibration assemblies spaced apart therefrom, as taught by Waldon, in order to provide a guide to the user to wear the device properly, i.e. locating the patella at the centering mark, to align the vibration assemblies in the correct location for desired therapy. The modified Sifferlin device discloses wires which coupled to and extending away from the vibration assemblies (see Fig. 1, wiring 163, see para. 0066), but is silent as to an electrical communication strip including a stretchable fabric member and at least a wire stitched therein which is configured to straighten in a longitudinal direction when the fabric member is stretched in the longitudinal direction. However, Longinotti-Buitoni discloses a garment assembly which includes this feature (see Longinotti-Buitoni Fig. 1B, 3-5, abstract, para. 0021, 0102, 0144, para. 0102: “fabric substrate”, “stretchable fabric”, wires may be attached to the substrate by sewing or stitching”). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s wiring to be the electrical communication strip including fabric member with at least one wire stitched therein, as taught by Longinotti-Buitoni, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another (types of wires/electrical communication means) and one would expect the modified Sifferlin device to perform equally as well and would allow stretching of the garment without breaking of electrical connections (see Longinotti-Buitoni para. 0021). The modified Sifferlin device is silent as to the vibration assembly being waterproof enclosed within the sleeve member; however, Leftly teaches a similar device which includes this feature (see Leftly para. 0025). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin device’s vibration assembly to be waterproof enclosed within the sleeve, as taught by Leftly, in order to provide protection to electrical components from water damage. The modified Sifferlin discloses the batteries being removable (see Sifferlin para. 0051), and is thus a sleeve that able to be washed, i.e. washable, after the batteries have been removed. The modified Sifferlin is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Sifferlin’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,545 in view of Sifferlin, Wersland, Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding instant claim 1, patent claim 10 discloses a wearable garment assembly/system/method of providing therapeutic effect therewith, which includes each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see claim 1 which discloses sleeve member having inner and outer surfaces, vibration assembly, control module including battery, claim 10 setting forth the varying compression value sections), but is silent as to including the control electronics configured to communicate with a remote device; however, Sifferlin discloses a similar device including control electronics (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics, plural vibration assemblies 160 & 165) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data from sensors and control/direct use the therapy device based on the recommendation data (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 10 device/system/method’s control module to have control electronics and to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Sifferlin and Wersland, in order to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of the patent claim 10) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of the patent claim), to include control electronics and plural vibration assemblies, taught by Sifferlin, to provide control of the assembly. The modified patent claim 10 is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 10’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Instant claim 2 corresponds to patent claim 10 as modified by the references above.
Claims 3-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,545 in view of Sifferlin, Wersland, Knott, Kwon, and Northen.
Regarding instant claim 3, the modified patent claim 10 device discloses a sensor (Sifferlin para. 0077), but is silent as to the sensor being configured to monitor at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygen level, or a body part temperature; however, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor configured to monitor one of the claimed list (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262, 0158). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 10 device to include a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one of the claimed list, as taught by Northen, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014).
Regarding claim 4, the modified patent claim 10 device is configured to generate recommendation data to the user, wherein the recommendation data includes a user notification of at least one of a recommended protocol to be performed by the washable garment assembly, a change to the recommended protocol, or a behavior recommendation (see Wersland para. 0154-0156, 0158-0159, and 0161 for example), but is silent as to using biometric data in providing the recommendation; however, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor configured to monitor one of the claimed list (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262, 0158). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 10 device to include a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one of the claimed list, as taught by Northen, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014).
Claim 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,545 in view of Sifferlin, Wersland, Knott, Kwon, and Samoodi.
Regarding instant claim 23, the modified patent claim 10 device is silent as to the first section and second section being located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member; however, Samoodi teaches a compression garment which includes differing compression sections located along the same circumferential location on the device (see Samoodi Fig. 6 and para. 0054). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 10 device’s first and second sections of differing compression values to be located along the same circumferential location on the device, as taught by Samoodi, and to further modify such sections to be symmetrical in order to provide a desired level and location of compression to the user’s body part.
Claims 5-6, 8-12, and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,545 in view of Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Hill, Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding instant claim 5, patent claim 3 discloses a wearable garment assembly/system/method of providing therapeutic effect therewith, which includes each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see claim 1 which discloses sleeve member having inner and outer surfaces, vibration assembly, control module including battery, claim 3 setting forth the electrical communication strip as claimed), but is silent as to including the control electronics, the sensing and generation of recommendation data to provide for control of the vibration assembly and the centering mark as claimed; however, Sifferlin discloses a similar device including control electronics (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics), Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data from sensors and control/direct use the therapy device based on the recommendation data (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy), and Waldron teaches a compression sleeve including a centering mark (see Waldon Fig. 1-3, cutout 50 being a centering mark which is adjacent to a bone of the user, kneecap/patella, with vibration assemblies 52 spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance and aligned with muscles of the leg above and below the kneecap/patella, see col. 3 ln. 4-17). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 3 device/system/method to include a biometric sensor and the control module to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Northen and Wersland, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014) and to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of Sifferlin) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of the patent claim), to include control electronics, taught by Sifferlin, to provide control of the assembly, and a centering mark, taught by Waldron, in order to provide a guide to the user to wear the device properly, i.e. locating the patella at the centering mark, to align the vibration assemblies in the correct location for desired therapy. The modified patent claim 3 is silent as to the centering mark being disposed on an outer surface of the sleeve member and spaced apart from an edge of the sleeve member; however, Hill teaches a similar garment which includes a centering mark being disposed on an outer surface of the sleeve member and spaced apart from an edge of the garment (see Hill Fig. 1-6, abstract, col. 1 ln. 32-40, col. 2 ln. 12-16 for example, centering mark 20). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 3 device to include a centering mark, as taught by Hill, in order to provide an orientation marker to provide the user guidance on proper wearing of the garment (Hill col. 1 ln. 32-40, col. 2 ln. 12-16). The modified patent claim 3 is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 3’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Instant claims 6, 8-12, and 14-19 correspond to patent claim 3 as modified by the references above.
Claim 24 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,545 in view of Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Hill, Knott, Kwon, and Burbank.
Regarding instant claim 24, the modified patent claim 3 device is silent as to including first and second sections located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member with a first vibration assembly disposed on the first section and a second vibration assembly disposed at the second section (Sifferlin discloses plural vibration assemblies shown in Fig. 1 and 4, vibration assemblies 160 and 165, para. 0066); however, Burbank teaches a similar wearable garment which includes first and second symmetrically circumferentially located sections having vibration assemblies located thereon (see Burbank Fig. 62-65, para. 0197-0200, vibration assemblies 442 located on the front and rear sides of the garment and which are symmetrically circumferentially located). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 3 device to have plural vibration assemblies located on first and second sections which are located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member, as taught by Burbank, in order to provide vibration to both front and rear portions of the body part.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,545 in view of Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding instant claim 20, patent claim 3 discloses a wearable garment assembly/system/method of providing therapeutic effect therewith, which includes each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see claim 1 which discloses sleeve member having inner and outer surfaces, vibration assembly, control module including battery, claim 3 disclosing electrical communication strip as claimed), but is silent as to including the control electronics, the sensing and generation of recommendation data to provide for control of the vibration assembly and the centering mark as claimed; however, Sifferlin discloses a similar device including control electronics and removable batteries (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics, removable batteries per para. 0051), Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data from sensors and control/direct use the therapy device based on the recommendation data (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy), and Waldron teaches a compression sleeve including a centering mark (see Waldon Fig. 1-3, cutout 50 being a centering mark which is adjacent to a bone of the user, kneecap/patella, with vibration assemblies 52 spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance and aligned with muscles of the leg above and below the kneecap/patella, see col. 3 ln. 4-17). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 3 device/system/method to include a biometric sensor and the control module to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Northen and Wersland, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014) and to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of the patent claim 3) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of the patent claim), to include control electronics and removable batteries, taught by Sifferlin, to provide control of the assembly, and a centering mark, taught by Waldron, in order to provide a guide to the user to wear the device properly, i.e. locating the patella at the centering mark, to align the vibration assemblies in the correct location for desired therapy. The modified patent claim 3 discloses the batteries being removable (see Sifferlin para. 0051), and is thus a sleeve that able to be washed, i.e. washable, after the batteries have been removed. The modified patent claim 3 is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 3’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,627 in view of Sifferlin, Wersland, Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding instant claim 1, patent claim 12 discloses a wearable garment assembly/system/method of providing therapeutic effect therewith, which includes each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see claim 1 which discloses sleeve member having inner and outer surfaces, vibration assembly, control module including battery, claim 12 setting forth the varying compression value sections), but is silent as to including the control electronics configured to communicate with a remote device; however, Sifferlin discloses a similar device including control electronics (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics, plural vibration assemblies 160 & 165) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data from sensors and control/direct use the therapy device based on the recommendation data (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 12 device/system/method control module to include control electronics and to be configured to communicate with a remote device to communicate with a remote device to control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Sifferlin and Wersland, in order to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of the patent claim 12) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of the patent claim), to include control electronics and plural vibration assemblies, taught by Sifferlin, to provide control of the assembly. The modified patent claim 12 is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 12’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Instant claim 2 corresponds to patent claim 10 as modified by the references above.
Claims 3-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,627 in view of Sifferlin, Wersland, Knott, Kwon, and Northen.
Regarding instant claim 3, the modified patent claim 12 device discloses a sensor (Sifferlin para. 0077), but is silent as to the sensor being configured to monitor at least one of heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygen level, or a body part temperature; however, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor configured to monitor one of the claimed list (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262, 0158). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 12 device to include a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one of the claimed list, as taught by Northen, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014).
Regarding claim 4, the modified patent claim 12 device is configured to generate recommendation data to the user, wherein the recommendation data includes a user notification of at least one of a recommended protocol to be performed by the washable garment assembly, a change to the recommended protocol, or a behavior recommendation (see Wersland para. 0154-0156, 0158-0159, and 0161 for example), but is silent as to using biometric data in providing the recommendation; however, Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor configured to monitor one of the claimed list (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262, 0158). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 12 device to include a biometric sensor configured to monitor at least one of the claimed list, as taught by Northen, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014).
Claim 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,627 in view of Sifferlin, Wersland, Knott, Kwon, and Samoodi.
Regarding instant claim 23, the modified patent claim 12 device is silent as to the first section and second section being located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member; however, Samoodi teaches a compression garment which includes differing compression sections located along the same circumferential location on the device (see Samoodi Fig. 6 and para. 0054). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 12 device’s first and second sections of differing compression values to be located along the same circumferential location on the device, as taught by Samoodi, and to further modify such sections to be symmetrical in order to provide a desired level and location of compression to the user’s body part.
Claims 5-6, 8-12, and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,627 in view of Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Hill, Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding instant claim 5, patent claim 6 discloses a wearable garment assembly/system/method of providing therapeutic effect therewith, which includes each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see claim 1 which discloses sleeve member having inner and outer surfaces, vibration assembly, control module including battery, claim 6 setting forth the electrical communication strip as claimed), but is silent as to including the control electronics, the sensing and generation of recommendation data to provide for control of the vibration assembly and the centering mark as claimed; however, Sifferlin discloses a similar device including control electronics (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics), Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data from sensors and control/direct use the therapy device based on the recommendation data (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy), and Waldron teaches a compression sleeve including a centering mark (see Waldon Fig. 1-3, cutout 50 being a centering mark which is adjacent to a bone of the user, kneecap/patella, with vibration assemblies 52 spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance and aligned with muscles of the leg above and below the kneecap/patella, see col. 3 ln. 4-17). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 6 device/system/method to include a biometric sensor and the control module to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Northen and Wersland, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014) and to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of Sifferlin) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of the patent claim), to include control electronics, taught by Sifferlin, to provide control of the assembly, and a centering mark, taught by Waldron, in order to provide a guide to the user to wear the device properly, i.e. locating the patella at the centering mark, to align the vibration assemblies in the correct location for desired therapy. The modified patent claim 6 is silent as to the centering mark being disposed on an outer surface of the sleeve member and spaced apart from an edge of the sleeve member; however, Hill teaches a similar garment which includes a centering mark being disposed on an outer surface of the sleeve member and spaced apart from an edge of the garment (see Hill Fig. 1-6, abstract, col. 1 ln. 32-40, col. 2 ln. 12-16 for example, centering mark 20). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 6 device to include a centering mark, as taught by Hill, in order to provide an orientation marker to provide the user guidance on proper wearing of the garment (Hill col. 1 ln. 32-40, col. 2 ln. 12-16). The modified patent claim 6 is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 6’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Instant claims 6, 8-12, and 14-19 correspond to patent claim 6 as modified by the references above.
Claim 24 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,627 in view of Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Hill, Knott, Kwon, and Burbank.
Regarding instant claim 24, the modified patent claim 6 device is silent as to including first and second sections located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member with a first vibration assembly disposed on the first section and a second vibration assembly disposed at the second section (Sifferlin discloses plural vibration assemblies shown in Fig. 1 and 4, vibration assemblies 160 and 165, para. 0066); however, Burbank teaches a similar wearable garment which includes first and second symmetrically circumferentially located sections having vibration assemblies located thereon (see Burbank Fig. 62-65, para. 0197-0200, vibration assemblies 442 located on the front and rear sides of the garment and which are symmetrically circumferentially located). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 6 device to have plural vibration assemblies located on first and second sections which are located symmetrically circumferentially around the sleeve member, as taught by Burbank, in order to provide vibration to both front and rear portions of the body part.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,627 in view of Sifferlin, Northen, Wersland, Waldon, Knott, and Kwon.
Regarding instant claim 20, patent claim 6 discloses a wearable garment assembly/system/method of providing therapeutic effect therewith, which includes each structural and functional limitation as claimed (see claim 1 which discloses sleeve member having inner and outer surfaces, vibration assembly, control module including battery, claim 6 disclosing electrical communication strip as claimed), but is silent as to including the control electronics, the sensing and generation of recommendation data to provide for control of the vibration assembly and the centering mark as claimed; however, Sifferlin discloses a similar device including control electronics and removable batteries (see para. 0033 “controller” see para. 0061 and 0063 which disclose the vibration assembly is electrically activated, thus control module includes control electronics, removable batteries per para. 0051), Northen discloses a garment assembly including vibration delivery to a user and which includes biometric sensor (see Northen para. 0011 discloses vibration garment, para. 0014, 0056-0057 disclosing use with sensor measuring biometric data of the user, see also para. 0224, 0261-0262) and Wersland discloses a therapy device (percussive massager) which includes a controller configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data from sensors and control/direct use the therapy device based on the recommendation data (see Wersland Fig. 29 showing remote device being a smart phone, para. 0106, see also Fig. 30-31; para. 0153-0177 disclosing using various manual capture data, real-time tracking data and biometric data to generate recommendation data used to control operation of the therapy device, see para. 0153-0160 in particular which discloses providing optimized therapeutic benefits via artificial intelligence driven recommendation data for a particular therapeutic routine including optimizing area of application of therapy, duration, force, frequency of therapy), and Waldron teaches a compression sleeve including a centering mark (see Waldon Fig. 1-3, cutout 50 being a centering mark which is adjacent to a bone of the user, kneecap/patella, with vibration assemblies 52 spaced apart therefrom by a therapy distance and aligned with muscles of the leg above and below the kneecap/patella, see col. 3 ln. 4-17). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patent claim 6 device/system/method to include a biometric sensor and the control module to be configured to communicate with a remote device and generate recommendation data based on the biometric data and control/direct use the vibration assembly based on the recommendation data, as taught by Northen and Wersland, in order to achieve a predefined biometric state of the user (Northen para. 0014) and to provide a bespoke routine for the washable garment assembly (Wersland para. 0161 as applied to the garment assembly of the patent claim 6) and which would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e. use of the intelligence engine system of the percussive massager of Wersland applied to the vibrational garment/sleeve device of the patent claim), to include control electronics and removable batteries, taught by Sifferlin, to provide control of the assembly, and a centering mark, taught by Waldron, in order to provide a guide to the user to wear the device properly, i.e. locating the patella at the centering mark, to align the vibration assemblies in the correct location for desired therapy. The modified patent claim 6 discloses the batteries being removable (see Sifferlin para. 0051), and is thus a sleeve that able to be washed, i.e. washable, after the batteries have been removed. The modified patent claim 6 is silent as to the sleeve member being comprised of a knit material infused with a germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared; however, Knott teaches a similar compression garment which is made of a knit material infused with an alloy which emits far infrared (see Knott col. 11 ln. 31 through col. 12 ln. 7) and Kwon teaches a compression garment infused with germanium (see Kwon translation pg. 3, 4th full paragraph, pg. 6). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patent claim 6’s sleeve member to be made of a knit material infused with germanium alloy configured to emit far infrared, as taught by Knott and Kwon, in order to provide additional therapeutic effect (Knott col. 11 ln. 31-36) and which would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/COLIN W STUART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785