DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/397,931 filed on December 27, 2023.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Display Device Including Multiple Display Units and Transmissive Areas to Transmit External Light”.
Election/Restrictions
6. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 8-22, 24-26, 28-35, drawn to species I (Fig. 6), in the reply filed on 03/31/2026 is acknowledged.
7. Claims 6-7, 23, 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims Corrections
8. Claims 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 13, 16, 17, 35 are objected to because of the following informalities: In the following, the claims should be recited to avoid indefiniteness due to lack of antecedent basis, and/or perform proper alignment along with the prior claim languages:
3. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of bonding members includes:
a spacer pattern;
a conductive connection pattern covering at least an outer surface of the spacer pattern; and
an adhesive pattern disposed on the conductive connection pattern and contacting a corresponding one of the plurality of link wire lines.
4. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of bonding members includes:
a spacer pattern; and
a conductive connection pattern covering an upper surface and an outer side surface of the spacer pattern.
5. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 3, wherein the spacer pattern has a taper shape in which a width of a lower surface thereof in contact with a corresponding one of the plurality of display units is larger than a width of an upper surface thereof in contact with a corresponding one of the plurality of link wire lines.
8. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 1, wherein the display device further comprises:
a circuit film disposed on at least one side end of the wiring substrate, and connected to one or more of the plurality of link wire lines;
an integrated circuit chip mounted on the circuit film for transmitting a driving signal to one or more of the plurality of display units; and
a printed circuit board connected to the circuit film.
10. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of display units further includes an outer bonding member disposed more outwardly toward an edge of the display device than the plurality of bonding members and between the wiring substrate and the corresponding one of the plurality of display units, wherein the outer bonding member includes an insulating material.
11. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 10, wherein the outer bonding member includes a barrier pattern, and an insulating adhesive pattern disposed on an upper surface of the barrier pattern,
wherein the outer bonding member has a same height as a height of the plurality of bonding members.
13. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 12, wherein the refractive index matching layer includes a material with a refractive index and a light transmittance similar to a refractive index and a light transmittance, respectively, of each of the plurality of display units, the wiring substrate or the cover substrate.
16. (Currently Amended) A display device, comprising:
a wiring substrate; and
a display unit disposed on the wiring substrate comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels each including one or more micro-LEDs including inorganic material and a plurality of signal lines; and
a plurality of transmissive areas adjacent to the plurality of sub-pixels, the plurality of transmissive areas configured to transmit external light from a first side of the display device to a second side of the display device.
17. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 16, further comprising:
a plurality of data lines disposed along and between the plurality of transmissive areas;
a first voltage supply line disposed on a first side of a group of sub-pixels along the plurality of data lines; and
a second voltage supply line disposed on a second side of the group of sub-pixels along the plurality of data lines.
35. (Currently Amended) The display device of claim 32, the first display unitplurality of sub- pixels, the plurality of transmissive areas configured to transmit external light from a first side of the display device to a second side of the display device.
Appropriate corrections are needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
13. Claims 16-18, 24-26, 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2022/0208949 A1) in view of in view of Kang et al. (US 2023/0116218 A1).
Regarding independent claim 16, Kang et al./949 teaches a display device, comprising (Figs. 2, 4, 5B):
a wiring substrate (SUB/CCL containing circuit layer, para [0081], therefore, SUB/CCL considered as the wiring substrate); and
a display unit (TD: 10, para [0081], see Fig. 2) disposed on the wiring substrate (SUB/CCL) comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels (PX: SPX1, SPX2, SPX3, see Fig. 4) each including one or more micro-LEDs (ED, para [0095], see Fig. 5B) including inorganic material (inorganic LEDs, para [0084], [0176]), and
a plurality of transmissive areas (CWL color control layer, para [0081]) adjacent to the plurality of sub-pixels (PX: SPX1, SPX2, SPX3), the plurality of transmissive areas (CWL) configured to transmit external light from a first side of the display device to a second side of the display device (this is a functional limitation/an intended use).
Kang et al./949 is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, the plurality of sub-pixels each including one or more micro-LEDs including a plurality of signal lines.
Kang et al./218 discloses wherein (Figs. 3-4), the plurality of sub-pixels (PX) each including one or more micro-LEDs including a plurality of signal lines (para [0186]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by Kang et al./218, and show the signal lines, such as scan line/data line/voltage or power line in the display structure of Kang et al./949, in order to operate the light emitting element (s), thus functioning the display device or panel.
Regarding claim 17, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 16 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./218 teaches wherein (Figs. 3-4), further comprising:
a plurality of data lines (DTL, see Fig. 4) disposed along and between the plurality of transmissive areas;
a first voltage supply line (ELVDL, see Fig. 4) disposed on a first side of a group of sub-pixels (PX) along the plurality of data lines (DTL); and
a second voltage supply line (RVL, see Fig. 4) disposed on a second side of the group of sub-pixels (PX) along the plurality of data lines (DTL).
Regarding claim 18, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 16 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Figs. 4, 5B), the display unit (TD: 10, 10…., see Fig. 2) includes a plurality of first display units (10 left segment, see Fig. 2) and a plurality of second display units (10 right segment), each disposed alternately and spaced apart from each other through boundary area SA (para [0067]).
Regarding claim 24, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 18 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Fig. 5A), further comprising a refractive index matching layer (30, para [0088]) filling a boundary area between first display unit (10 left) and the second display unit (10 right).
Regarding claim 25, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 24 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Fig. 5A), the refractive index matching layer (30) includes an optical clear adhesive (OCA) or an optical clear resin (OCR) (optical member, para [0088]).
Regarding claim 26, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 24 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Fig. 5A), the refractive index matching layer (30) fills a boundary area between the first display unit (10 left) and the second display unit (10 right), and extends (vertically) along and on a display surface (side surfaces) of the first display unit (10 left) and the second display unit (10 right).
Regarding claim 31, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 24 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Figs. 5B), further comprising a cover substrate (ENC, para [0087] the first encapsulation layer ENC may be disposed to cover the color control layer CWL, the light-emitting element layer EML, and the circuit layer CCL./PAS2, para [0146]) disposed on display surfaces of the first (10 left) and second (10 right) display units, and wherein one surface of the refractive index matching layer (BK2) is in contact with the cover substrate (ENC/PAS2).
Regarding independent claim 32, Kang et al. teaches a display device, comprising (Figs. 2, 4, 5B):
a plurality of display units (TD: 10….10, para [0063], see Fig. 2) including a first display unit (10 left) and a second display unit (10 right) disposed laterally spaced apart from the first display unit, each of the first and second display units (10 left….10 right) comprising:
a substrate (SUB, see Fig. 5B) on which a plurality of thin film transistors (CCL comprising transistors, para [0083]) are disposed;
a passivation layer (PAS1, para [0106]) disposed on the thin film transistors (CCL) and including insulating material (the passivation layer is an insulating material);
an adhesive layer (OC1 resin, para [0109]) disposed on at least a part of the passivation layer (PAS1);
one or more micro-LED chips (ED, para [0095]) each including a micro-LED made of inorganic material (inorganic LEDs, para [0084], [0176]) and attached to the passivation layer (PAS1),
one or more protective patterns (520) each disposed on a side surface or at least a part of a top surface of the micro-LED chip (ED).
Kang et al./949 is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, the one or more micro-LED chips each including a micro-LED attached to the passivation layer by the adhesive layer.
Kang et al./218 discloses wherein (Fig. 3), the one or more micro-LED chips (EMD, para [0104]) each including a micro-LED attached to the passivation layer (1234, para [0180]) by the adhesive layer (130, para [0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by Kang et al./218, and modify to the structure of Kang et al./949, in order to decrease in light output may be minimized or reduced; and strengthen the bond between the first and second substrates by including an adhesive material (para [0093]).
Regarding claim 33, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 32 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Figs. 4, 5B), the protective pattern (520) is disposed between the passivation layer (PAS1) and the micro-LED chip (ED).
Regarding claim 34, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 33 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, the protective pattern includes inorganic material.
Kang et al./218 teaches wherein (Fig. 3), the capping layer (1234, para [0180]) includes inorganic material (silicon nitride, para [0180]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by Kang et al./218, and modify to the passivation layer of Kang et al./949, in order to cover to the display elements effectively, and works as high resistance/barrier towards moisture, and higher stability.
Regarding claim 35, Kang et al./949 and Kang et al./218 teach all of the limitations of claim 33 from which this claim depends.
Kang et al./949 teaches wherein (Figs. 4, 5B), the first display unit (10 left, Fig. 2) and the second display unit (10 right) comprise a plurality of sub-pixels (PX: SPX1, SPX2, SPX3) and a plurality of transmissive areas (CWL) adjacent to the plurality of sub- pixels (PX: SPX1, SPX2, SPX3), the plurality of transmissive areas (CWL) configured to transmit external light from a first side of the display device to a second side of the display device (this is a functional limitation/an intended use).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 1-15 would be considered as allowable if the claim languages are rewritten/amended to avoid 112 issues as stated in the section 8.
15. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 is allowed because all prior arts to include those on record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious of a display device comprising:
…. a plurality of bonding members each disposed between the wiring substrate and a corresponding one of the plurality of display units, so as to electrically connect corresponding one or more of the plurality of link wire lines and corresponding one or more of the plurality of signal lines to each other;
16. Claim 19 (claims 20-22, 28-30 depend on the claim 19) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 recites …. further comprising:
a first bonding member disposed between and in contact with the first display unit and the wiring substrate, the first bonding member electrically connecting the link wire line and one or more of the signal lines of the first display unit; and
a second bonding member disposed between and in contact with the second display unit and the wiring substrate, the second bonding member electrically connecting the link wire line and one or more of the signal lines of the second display unit.
17. Prior arts made of record in PTO-892 and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: the prior arts, Kang et al. (US 2022/0208949 A1) in view of in view of Kang et al. (US 2023/0116218 A1) hereby are cited as close prior arts, wherein both the prior arts depict the similar structure of the display device comprising micro-LEDs. However, the prior arts do not disclose the bonding member disposed between the display unit and the wiring substrate and connecting to the link wire line, therefore, either by itself or in combination with other arts fail to disclose the above quoted limitation in the sections 15-16.
Examiner’s Note
18. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812