Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the best mode contemplated by the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s) has not been disclosed. Evidence of concealment of the best mode is based upon claim 14 such as “the upper end of the intervention portion adjacent to the upper portion having a fourth width substantially same as the second width of the upper portion” wherein the tolerant difference of the word substantially is not specified.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Pub. No.: US 2021/0391353) filed in the IDS on 02/27/2023 in view of JEON (Pub. No.: US 2020/0365213).
Re claim 11, Zhao, FIGS. 3A-3B teaches a memory device, comprising:
a stack structure comprising a vertically alternating sequence of insulative structures (324, ¶ [0052]) and conductive structures (326);
at least one source structure (332) underlying the stack structure;
cell pillar structures (310, [0055]) vertically extending through the stack structure and coupled to the at least one source structure;
cell contact structures (312) coupled to cell pillar structures;
conductive plug structures (336+340+342) in physical contact with the cell contact structures (312), each of the conductive plug structures (336+340+342) comprising:
a first portion (336) having a first variable width throughout a first vertical height of the first portion,
a second portion (342) having an upper end and a lower end opposite to the upper end, the lower end of the second portion vertically adjacent to overlying the first portion (336) and having a second width substantially same as the first width of the first portion (upper most portion of 336);
a third portion adjacent to the upper end of the second portion and having a third width throughout a third vertical height of the third portion (340),
digit line contact structures (bit line, [0056]) overlying and coupled to the conductive plug structures.
Zhao fails to teach a first portion (336) having a first width throughout a first vertical height of the first portion,
digit line contact structures in physical contact with the conductive plug structures;
the third width of the third portion greater than the first width of the first portion; and
digit line structures coupled to the digit line contact structures.
JEON, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches a first portion [FP] having a first width throughout a first vertical height of the first portion,
digit line contact structures (4371c/4372c/4271c) in physical contact with the conductive plug structures ([FP]/[SP]/[TP]),
the third width of the third portion (the uppermost horizontal width of [TP], note that the third portion is NOW including a little horizontal portion on the top) greater than the first width of the first portion (horizontal width of the [FP], note that as shown in FIG. 3B above, [TP] is a little bit greater than [FP]); and
digit line structures (4240c/4230c/4220c) coupled to the digit line contact structures (4371c/4372c/4271c).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity as taught by JEON, [0004].
Furthermore, the following limitation “the second portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape” had a little patentable weight because it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative size or shape of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative size or shape would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP §2144.04) and it would have been obvious that a mere change in shape of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Re claim 14, Zhao, FIGS. 3A-3B teaches an electronic system, comprising:
at least one microelectronic device structure comprising:
vertically extending strings of memory cells (310, [0055]) coupled to access line structures and at least one source structure;
conductive structures (336+340+342) overlying and coupled to the vertically extending strings of memory cells, each of the conductive structures comprising:
a lower portion having a first width (336);
an upper portion (342) having a second width greater than the first width; and
digit line structures (bit line, [0056]) coupled to the digit line contact structures (336+340+342).
Zhao fails to teach an input device;
an output device;
a processor device operably coupled to the input device and the output device; and a memory device operably coupled to the processor device and comprising at least one microelectronic device structure comprising:
an intervening portion having a lower end adjacent to the lower portion and an upper end adjacent to the upper portion, the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape, the lower end of the intervention portion adjacent to the lower portion having a third width substantially same as the first width of the lower portion, the upper end of the intervention portion adjacent to the upper portion having a fourth width substantially same as the second width of the upper portion;
digit line contact structures in physical contact with the conductive plug structures; and
digit line structures coupled to the digit line contact structures.
JEON, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches an input device (530, FIGS. 1-2);
an output device (530);
a processor device (560) operably coupled to the input device and the output device; and a memory device (300) operably coupled to the processor device and comprising at least one microelectronic device structure comprising:
an intervening portion [TP] having a lower end adjacent to the lower portion and an upper end adjacent to the upper portion, the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape, the lower end of the intervention portion adjacent to the lower portion [SP] having a third width substantially same as the first width of the lower portion, the upper end of the intervention portion adjacent to the upper portion (the uppermost horizontal width of [TP], note that the intervening portion is NOW including a little horizontal portion on the top) having a fourth width substantially same as the second width of the upper portion (horizontal width of [SP]);
digit line contact structures (4371c/4372c/4271c) in physical contact with the conductive plug structures ([FP]/[SP]/[TP]); and
digit line structures (4240c/4230c/4220c) coupled to the digit line contact structures (4371c/4372c/4271c).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity as taught by JEON, [0004].
Furthermore, the following limitation “the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape” had a little patentable weight because it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative size or shape of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative size or shape would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP §2144.04) and it would have been obvious that a mere change in shape of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11, 13-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (Pub. No.: US 2017/0287930) in view of JEON.
Re claim 11, LEE, FIG. 13 teaches a memory device, comprising:
a stack structure comprising a vertically alternating sequence of insulative structures (ILD, ¶ [0054]) and conductive structures (EL);
at least one source structure (15, [0116]) underlying the stack structure;
cell pillar structures (VS1/HS1/DVS/DSP, [0073]) vertically extending through the stack structure and coupled to the at least one source structure;
cell contact structures (PAD) coupled to cell pillar structures;
conductive plug structures (LCP/SBL1/UCP) in physical contact with the cell contact structures (PAD), each of the conductive plug structures (LCP/SBL1/UCP) comprising:
a first portion (LCP) vertically adjacent to the respective cell contact structure and having a first vertical height, the first portion (LCP) exhibiting a first substantially uniform horizontal width throughout the first vertical height;
a second portion (SBL1) overlying the first portion;
a third portion (UCP) overlying the second portion and having a third vertical height, the third portion exhibiting a third substantially uniform horizontal width (UCP) throughout the third vertical height;
digit line contact structures (BL1) in physical contact with the conductive plug structures (LCP/SBL1/UCP),
LEE fails to teach a first portion having a first width throughout a first vertical height of the first portion,
a second portion having an upper end and a lower end opposite to the upper end, the lower end of the second portion vertically adjacent to overlying the first portion and having a second width substantially same as the first width of the first portion;
a third portion adjacent to the upper end of the second portion and having a third width throughout a third vertical height of the third portion, the third width of the third portion greater than the first width of the first portion; and digit line structures coupled to the digit line contact structures.
JEON, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches a first portion [FP] having a first width throughout a first vertical height of the first portion,
a second portion [SP] having an upper end and a lower end opposite to the upper end, the lower end of the second portion vertically adjacent to overlying the first portion [FP] and having a second width substantially same as the first width of the first portion [FP];
a third portion adjacent to the upper end of the second portion and having a third width throughout a third vertical height of the third portion [TP], the third width of the third portion (the horizontal width of the uppermost portion of [TP], note that the third portion is NOW including a little horizontal portion on the top) greater than the first width of the first portion (the horizontal width of the [FP]); and
digit line structures (4240c/4230c/4220c) coupled to the digit line contact structures (4371c/4372c/4271c).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity as taught by JEON, [0004].
Furthermore, the following limitation “the second portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape” had a little patentable weight because it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative size or shape of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative size or shape would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP §2144.04) and it would have been obvious that a mere change in shape of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Re claim 13, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 13 teaches the memory device of claim 11, further comprising a base structure vertically underlying the stack structure and comprising a control logic circuitry (GST of FIGS. 2) coupled to the at least one source structure, the digit line structures (BT1/BT2), and the conductive structures (EL) of the stack structure.
Re claim 14, LEE, FIG. 11 teaches an electronic system, comprising:
an input device (5, FIG. 1);
an output device (2/3);
a processor device (5) operably coupled to the input device and the output device; and
a memory device operably coupled to the processor device and comprising at least one microelectronic device structure comprising:
vertically extending strings of memory cells (MCT of FIG. 2 or DS of FIG. 11, [0048]) coupled to access line structures and at least one source structure;
conductive structures (PAD/LCP/SEL1) overlying and coupled to the vertically extending strings of memory cells, each of the conductive structures comprising:
a lower portion (PAD) having a first width;
an upper portion (SBL1) having a second width greater than the first width;
an intervening portion (LCP) between the lower portion and the upper portion; and
digit line contact structures (BT1/BT2/UCP) in physical contact with the conductive structures (PAD/SBL1/LCP).
However, LEE fails to teach a lower portion having a first width;
an upper portion having a second width greater than the first width; and
an intervening portion having a lower end adjacent to the lower portion and an upper end adjacent to the upper portion, the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape, the lower end of the intervention portion adjacent to the lower portion having a third width substantially same as the first width of the lower portion, the upper end of the intervention portion adjacent to the upper portion having a fourth width substantially same as the second width of the upper portion; and digit line structures coupled to the digit line contact structures.
JEON, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches a lower portion [FP] having a first width;
an upper portion [SP] having a second width greater than the first width; and
an intervening portion [TP] having a lower end adjacent to the lower portion and an upper end adjacent to the upper portion, the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape, the lower end of the intervention portion adjacent to the lower portion having a third width substantially same as the first width of the lower portion, the upper end of the intervention portion adjacent to the upper portion (the uppermost horizontal width of [TP], note that the intervening portion is NOW including a little horizontal portion on the top) having a fourth width substantially same as the second width of the upper portion (horizontal width of [SP]); and
digit line structures (4240c/4230c/4220c) coupled to the digit line contact structures (4371c/4372c/4271c).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity as taught by JEON, [0004].
Furthermore, the following limitation “the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape” had a little patentable weight because it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative size or shape of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative size or shape would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP §2144.04) and it would have been obvious that a mere change in shape of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Re claim 15, LEE, FIG. 11 teaches the electronic system of claim 14, wherein the memory device comprises a 3D NAND Flash memory device (Abstract).
Re claim 20, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 13 teaches the electronic system of claim 14, wherein each of the digit line contact structures (BL1/BL1/UCP) has respectively having a horizontal center offset from a horizontal center of a respective one of the conductive structures (PAD/LCP/SBL1) in physical contract therewith.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of JEON and further in view of Zhu (Pub. No.: US 20210020566) filed in the IDS on 02/27/2023.
LEE/JEON teaches all the limitation of claim 11.
LEE/JEON fails to teach the limitation of claim 12.
Zhu teaches a dielectric oxide material (top most dielectric layer 108, FIG. 1A, ¶ [0031]) overlying the stack structure and horizontally adjacent the first horizontal boundaries of the first portion (122) of each of the conductive plug structures;
a dielectric nitride material (124/126, [0035]) on the dielectric oxide material and horizontally adjacent second horizontal boundaries of the second portion (128) of each of the conductive plug structures; and
an additional dielectric oxide material (132, [0039]) on the dielectric nitride material and horizontally adjacent third horizontal boundaries of the third portion (134) of each of the conductive plug structures.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above said teaching for the purpose of providing an electrical isolation layer and preventing the electrical short as taught by Zhu.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of JEON and further in view of Zhu.
Re claim 16, LEE/JEON teaches all the limitation of claim 14.
LEE/JEON fails to teach the limitation of claim 16.
Zhu, FIG. 1A teaches a first dielectric material (top most dielectric layer 108, ¶ [0030]) vertically overlying the stack structure and in physical contact with sidewalls of the lower portion (122) each of the conductive structures;
a second dielectric material (124/126) vertically overlying and having a different material composition than the first dielectric material, the second dielectric material in physical contact with sidewalls of the intervening portion (128) of each of the conductive structures; and
a third dielectric material (132, [0039]) vertically overlying and having a different material composition than the second dielectric material, the third dielectric material in physical contact with sidewalls of the upper portion (134) of each of the conductive structures.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above said teaching for the purpose of providing an electrical isolation layer and preventing the electrical short as taught by Zhu.
Re claim 17, in the combination, Zhu, FIG. 1A teaches the electronic system of claim 16, wherein:
the upper portion of each of the conductive structures (134) is substantially confined within a vertical span of the third dielectric material (132); and
the intervening portion of each of the conductive structures (128) is substantially confined within a vertical span of the second dielectric material (124/126).
Re claim 18, in the combination, Zhu, FIG. 1A teaches the electronic system of claim 16, wherein:
the first dielectric material is SiO2 (108, FIG. 1A, ¶ [0031]);
the second dielectric material is Si3N4 (124/126, [0035]); and
the third dielectric material is additional SiO2 (132, [0039]).
Re claim 19, in the combination, Fay, FIG. 7 teaches the electronic system of claim 16, wherein:
the sidewalls of the lower portion of each of the conductive structures vertically extend in substantially linear paths (120);
the sidewalls of the upper portion of each of the conductive structures vertically extend in additional substantially linear paths (106); and
the sidewalls of the intervening portion of each of the conductive structures vertically extend in curved paths (110/108).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 11-20 on the remarks filed on 11/14/2025 have been considered but are not persuasive because:
In re claim 11, JEON, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches a first portion [FP] having a first width throughout a first vertical height of the first portion,
a second portion [SP] having an upper end and a lower end opposite to the upper end, the lower end of the second portion vertically adjacent to overlying the first portion [FP] and having a second width substantially same as the first width of the first portion [FP];
a third portion adjacent to the upper end of the second portion and having a third width throughout a third vertical height of the third portion [TP], the third width of the third portion (the horizontal width of the uppermost portion of [TP], note that the third portion is NOW including a little horizontal portion on the top) greater than the first width of the first portion (the horizontal width of the [FP]).
In re claim 14, JEON, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches a lower portion [FP] having a first width;
an upper portion [SP] having a second width greater than the first width; and
an intervening portion [TP] having a lower end adjacent to the lower portion and an upper end adjacent to the upper portion, the intervening portion exhibiting arcuate sidewalls having a concave shape, the lower end of the intervention portion adjacent to the lower portion having a third width substantially same as the first width of the lower portion, the upper end of the intervention portion adjacent to the upper portion (the uppermost horizontal width of [TP], note that the intervening portion is NOW including a little horizontal portion on the top) having a fourth width substantially same as the second width of the upper portion (horizontal width of [SP]).
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893