DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Keyword-Based Display Interface Control System and Method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 1 is directed towards a display interface control system comprising a first server, second server, and database. However, while the specification states that the first server, second server, and database “may respectively include a processor and storage device” (Applicant’s Specification ¶0022), such a configuration does not appear to be required by the specification. Servers and databases can be reasonably interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as being software alone, and thus the claim can be interpreted as directed to software per se, which is non-statutory. In order for such a software claim to be statutory, it must be claimed in combination with an appropriate medium and hardware such as memory or processor to establish a statutory category of invention and enable any functionality to be realized.
Dependent claims incorporate all of the limitations of their respective independent or intervening claim(s) and are rejected on the same basis.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Schwartz et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0324825), referred to as Schwartz herein.
Jann et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0329483), referred to as Jann herein.
Tarn (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0129112), referred to as Pinyin herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz in view of Jann.
Regarding claim 1, Schwartz discloses a display interface control system, comprising: a first server, communicating with a terminal device, and configured to receive interface configuration information sent by the terminal device;
and a database, communicating with the first server and
wherein the first server is configured to construct interface display data according to the keyword data, and provide the interface display data to the terminal device, so that a browser of the terminal device renders and displays a corresponding page according to the interface display data (Schwartz, ¶0046 – rendered tiles. ¶0070 – browser. ¶0047, ¶0064-¶0068, ¶0282 – server system generating and sending the canvas to the client).
However, while Schwartz discloses a second server (Schwartz, ¶0004), Schwartz appears not to expressly disclose the second server in communication with the first server and generating a data request to the database. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jann discloses generating a user interface with multiple viewports populated from remote systems based on user roles within a client browser (Jann, Abstract with ¶0027, ¶0130, ¶150),
and a database, communicating with the first server and the second server, wherein the second server generates a data request to the database according to the interface configuration information (Jann, Fig. 2 with ¶0092 – database management server and database. Figs. 3 and 6 with ¶0141-¶0144 – requested viewports are generated and sent to the frontend server to be communicated to the display device for presentation. Viewports access front end and backend servers to update configuration. Fig. 2 with ¶0094-¶0101 – client devices interacting with mobile platform and web dispatcher which then communicate with additional servers such as backend server. Personalized UX content and reuse content is obtained from the database management computing server via web dispatcher server and other servers within the system Element 202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the database of Schwartz to include a database management server for providing database content based on the teachings of Jann. The motivation for doing so would have been facilitate database management, and full featured access, including web interaction, to database content (Jann, ¶0099).
Regarding claim 2, Schwartz as modified discloses the limitations in claim 1 above, and further discloses, wherein the interface configuration information comprises functional information and business scene information (Schwartz, Fig. 15c and Fig. 16 with ¶0055-¶0056, ¶0081-¶0082, ¶0085, ¶0127, ¶0141 – data presented is contextually relevant to selectable entity roles according to business logic. ¶0201, ¶0341-¶0342 – tiles have corresponding functional information. See also Jann ¶0039, ¶0061-¶0062, ¶0070).
Regarding claim 3, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 2 above, and further discloses wherein the second server searches the database according to the business scene information, and the database returns scene focus keyword information to the first server (Schwartz, Fig. 4 with ¶0063 – data sources include databases. ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Query management system fetches data for building and updating relevant tiles from data sources including databases. ¶0141 – data presented is contextually relevant to selectable entity roles. Jann, Fig. 2 with ¶0092 – database management server and database. ¶0099 – database management server communicates with other servers to provide application content and reuse content when providing personalized UIs. Figs. 3 and 6 with ¶0141-¶0144 – requested viewports are generated and sent to the frontend server to be communicated to the display device for presentation. Viewports access front end and backend servers to update configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 3 above, and further discloses wherein the second server searches the database according to the functional information, and the database returns functional focus keyword information to the first server (Schwartz, Fig. 4 with ¶0063 – data sources include databases. ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Query management system fetches data for building and updating relevant tiles from data sources including databases. ¶0053, ¶0063, ¶0331-¶0332, ¶0339 – searching content based on tile functionality. For example, maps, posts, news, communications, video).
Regarding claim 5, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 4 above, and further discloses wherein the first server intersects the scene focus keyword information and the functional focus keyword information to obtain keyword information to be displayed, and the first server groups and sorts a plurality of fields corresponding to the keyword information to be displayed to generate sorted field information, wherein the first server constructs the interface display data according to the sorted field information (Schwartz, ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Fig. 36 with ¶0053, ¶0063, ¶0331-¶0332, ¶0339 – searching content based on tile functionality. For example, maps, posts, news, communications, video. ¶0331 – sorting content based on sorting schemes defined by the system such as recent or top events).
Regarding claim 6, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein the first server further intersects an intersection result of the scene focus keyword information and the functional focus keyword information with the keyword information contained in the current page to generate the sorted field information (Schwartz, ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Fig. 36 with ¶0331-¶0342 – type, source, attribute, and control queries. See also Jann, ¶0075).
Regarding claim 7, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein the first server groups and sorts the intersected field information according to a keyword attribute (Schwartz, ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Fig. 36 with ¶0331-¶0342 – type, source, attribute, and control queries. See also Jann, ¶0075).
Regarding claim 8, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 7 above, and further discloses wherein the first server obtains special sorting rule information from the database through the second server, and the first server rearranges the sorted field information according to the special sorting rule information (Schwartz, ¶0331 – system defined sorting schemes).
Regarding claim 9, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the first server sorts a plurality of fields with the same keyword attribute according to the fields specified by the special sorting rule information (Schwartz, ¶0331-¶0032 – system defined sorting schemes. Fig. 36 – a plurality of tile fields are shown sorted within the interface).
Regarding claim 11, Schwartz discloses a display interface control method, comprising: receiving interface configuration information sent by a terminal device through a first server; receiving the interface configuration information through
generating a data request to a database through
constructing interface display data through the first server according to the keyword data; providing the interface display data to the terminal device through the first server; and rendering and displaying a corresponding page through a browser of the terminal device according to the interface display data (Schwartz, ¶0046 – rendered tiles. ¶0070 – browser. ¶0047, ¶0064-¶0068, ¶0282 – server system generating and sending the canvas to the client).
However, while Schwartz discloses a second server (Schwartz, ¶0004), Schwartz appears not to expressly disclose the second server in communication with the first server and the second server generating a data request to the database. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jann discloses generating a user interface with multiple viewports populated from remote systems based on user roles within a client browser (Jann, Abstract with ¶0027, ¶0130, ¶150),
and a database, communicating with the first server and the second server, wherein the second server generates a data request to the database according to the interface configuration information (Jann, Fig. 2 with ¶0092 – database management server and database. Figs. 3 and 6 with ¶0141-¶0144 – requested viewports are generated and sent to the frontend server to be communicated to the display device for presentation. Viewports access front end and backend servers to update configuration. Fig. 2 with ¶0094-¶0101 – client devices interacting with mobile platform and web dispatcher which then communicate with additional servers such as backend server. Personalized UX content and reuse content is obtained from the database management computing server via web dispatcher server and other servers within the system Element 202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the database of Schwartz to include a database management server for providing database content based on the teachings of Jann. The motivation for doing so would have been facilitate database management, and full featured access, including web interaction, to database content (Jann, ¶0099).
Regarding claim 12, Schwartz as modified discloses the limitations of claim 11 above, and further discloses wherein the interface configuration information comprises functional information and business scene information (Schwartz, Fig. 15c and Fig. 16 with ¶0055-¶0056, ¶0081-¶0082, ¶0085, ¶0127, ¶0141 – data presented is contextually relevant to selectable entity roles according to business logic. ¶0201, ¶0341-¶0342 – tiles have corresponding functional information. See also Jann ¶0039, ¶0061-¶0062, ¶0070).
Regarding claim 13, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 12 above, and further discloses wherein the step of returning the corresponding keyword data to the first server through the database according to the data request comprises: searching the database through the second server according to the business scene information, so that the database returns scene focus keyword information to the first server (Schwartz, Fig. 4 with ¶0063 – data sources include databases. ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Query management system fetches data for building and updating relevant tiles from data sources including databases. ¶0141 – data presented is contextually relevant to selectable entity roles. Jann, Fig. 2 with ¶0092 – database management server and database. ¶0099 – database management server communicates with other servers to provide application content and reuse content when providing personalized UIs. Figs. 3 and 6 with ¶0141-¶0144 – requested viewports are generated and sent to the frontend server to be communicated to the display device for presentation. Viewports access front end and backend servers to update configuration).
Regarding claim 14, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 13 above, and further discloses wherein the step of returning the corresponding keyword data to the first server through the database according to the data request comprises: searching the database through the second server according to the functional information, so that the database returns functional focus keyword information to the first server (Schwartz, Fig. 4 with ¶0063 – data sources include databases. ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Query management system fetches data for building and updating relevant tiles from data sources including databases. ¶0053, ¶0063, ¶0331-¶0332, ¶0339 – searching content based on tile functionality. For example, maps, posts, news, communications, video).
Regarding claim 15, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 14 above, and further discloses wherein the step of constructing the interface display data comprises: intersecting the scene focus keyword information and the functional focus keyword information through the first server to obtain keyword information to be displayed; grouping and sorting a plurality of fields corresponding to the keyword information to be displayed by the first server to generate sorted field information; and constructing the interface display data by the first server according to the sorted field information (Schwartz, ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Fig. 36 with ¶0053, ¶0063, ¶0331-¶0332, ¶0339 – searching content based on tile functionality. For example, maps, posts, news, communications, video. ¶0331 – sorting content based on sorting schemes defined by the system such as recent or top events).
Regarding claim 16, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the step of obtaining the keyword information to be displayed comprises: further intersecting an intersection result of the scene focus keyword information and the functional focus keyword information with the keyword information contained in the current page by the first server to generate the sorted field information (Schwartz, ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Fig. 36 with ¶0331-¶0342 – type, source, attribute, and control queries. See also Jann, ¶0075).
Regarding claim 17, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the first server groups and sorts the intersected field information according to a keyword attribute (Schwartz, ¶0079-¶0080, ¶0339-¶0341 – user selects attributes for tiles including roles and key words. Fig. 36 with ¶0331-¶0342 – type, source, attribute, and control queries. See also Jann, ¶0075).
Regarding claim 18, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the step of generating the sorted field information comprises: obtaining special sorting rule information from the database by the first server through the second server; and rearranging the sorted field information by the first server according to the special sorting rule information (Schwartz, ¶0331 – system defined sorting schemes).
Regarding claim 19, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the step of rearranging the sorted field information by the first server according to the special sorting rule information comprises: sorting a plurality of fields with the same keyword attribute by the first server according to the fields specified by the special sorting rule information (Schwartz, ¶0331-¶0032 – system defined sorting schemes. Fig. 36 – a plurality of tile fields are shown sorted within the interface).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz in view of Jann in further view of Tarn.
Regarding claim 10, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above, and further discloses wherein the first server sorts a plurality of other fields based on
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the tile listings of Schwartz to include sorting a section by name based on the teachings of Jann. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in finding results from a large number.
However, Schwartz as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tarn discloses an interface listing by type (Tarn, Fig. 8G with ¶0022), including
sorts a plurality of contact fields based on Chinese phonetic alphabet (Tarn, Abstract with ¶0019, ¶0070, ¶0073 – sorting contacts within groups, sorting according to Pinyin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sorting of Schwartz as modified to include sorting by Pinyin based on the teachings of Tarn. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in finding results, especially from a large set of results, that are expressed in Pinyin (Tarn, Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Schwartz as modified discloses the elements of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the step of rearranging the sorted field information by the first server according to the special sorting rule information comprises: sorting a plurality of other fields based on
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the tile listings of Schwartz to include sorting a section by name based on the teachings of Jann. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in finding results from a large number.
However, Schwartz as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tarn discloses an interface listing by type (Tarn, Fig. 8G with ¶0022), including
sorts a plurality of contact fields based on Chinese phonetic alphabet (Tarn, Abstract with ¶0019, ¶0070, ¶0073 – sorting contacts within groups, sorting according to Pinyin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sorting of Schwartz as modified to include sorting by Pinyin based on the teachings of Tarn. The motivation for doing so would have been to assist users in finding results, especially from a large set of results, that are expressed in Pinyin (Tarn, Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References are at least relevant as indicated in the corresponding summary.
Caliskanoglu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0315492) – Database query keyword-based alert interface, including sorting.
Miriyala (US Patent Number 10,739,9832) – database query-based interface for task tiles, including sorting based on tile characteristics.
Kosharovsky et al. (US Patent Number 2020/0127604) – query-based alarm sorting and filtering.
Havekost et al. (US Patent Number 6,774,786) – alphabetical sorting of alarm tiles.
Stringham et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0108276) – keyword-based note arrangement and sorting, including attribute sorting.
Barros et al. (US Patent Number 9,529,522) – keyword based interface tiles.
Jiang (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0034576) – database query-based tile interface.
Mayblum et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0095964) – interface tile sorting alphabetically.
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174