Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 28, 2023 and January 13, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 03, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-15, & 17-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12, 14-15, 17 & 19 are amended. Claims 3, 6-7, & 16 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 04, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 03, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant in their submitted response has presented the argument that the primary reference, Zeller et al. (US2022/0413075A1), does not teach all the limitations (Feature A through Feature D) currently recited in the amended independent claim 1.
In response to applicant's arguments, see pages 9-14 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 102, that the prior art reference, Zeller, as cited by the applicant, fails to disclose or suggest Feature A through Feature D. Please see breakdown of different arguments below.
The examiner respectfully disagrees based on three reasonings. The first reasoning is that although the claims are interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim language, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “adjusting” process of Feature A through Feature D). The claim limitations of Feature A through Feature D fall under the weight of process limitations in product-by-process claims, where the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See (MPEP 2113) In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The second reasoning is that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, and it is noted that the features upon which the applicant relies (i.e., “optimization-through-adjustment”, “applies specific time-sequence adjustment amounts to perform temporal shifts or optimizations, thereby deriving a modified target order”, “offset operation”, applied to the preset excitation order of Feature A through Feature D, and “the core concept of adjusting a preset excitation order using time-sequence adjustment amounts; the specific configuration wherein adjustment amounts differ from each other and are each less than a preset value; or the use of a preset value determined based on the number of slice groups in the context of such an adjustment process”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The third reasoning is that the primary art reference, Zeller, discloses “adjusting a time sequence of each of the plurality of target slice groups by a time-sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups based on the preset excitation order to obtain the target excitation order” using different terminology and discloses the methodology of “adjusting” Feature in paragraphs [0007], [0015-[0018], [0020]-[0032], & [0053] and the Non-Final OA Pg. 11, where discussion mentions “reordering of schemes”, where the process of generating and selecting an optimal order is an “adjustment” of the time sequence to obtain the target excitation order. This process does modify an existing sequence, further discussed in the Non-Final OA Pg. 11, and paragraphs [0018]-[0020] &[0024], where paragraph [0018] mentions a “reordering scheme”, modifying the “existing sequence”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees that “increment(s)” in Zeller is not a “time-sequence adjustment amount” in Feature A through Feature D, where the Non-Final OA Pgs. 5, 11, & 25 discussion and Fig. 1 Step 3, further discuss and illustrate the core method of determining schemes based on the increments (adjustment amounts) and additionally mentions “a series of slice groups numbers in a time order” in paragraph [0018].
The examiner respectfully disagrees that a “preset value” of Feature A through Feature D is not disclosed in Zeller. This feature is disclosed in the Non-Final OA Pg. 27, and in Zeller, paragraphs [0002] & [0050], that discloses an “acceleration factor” that is interpreted as the “preset value” that is “determined based on the number of slice groups”.
Applicant in their submitted response has presented the argument that the secondary prior art reference, Zheng et al. (US2021/0325496A1), does not teach all the limitations (Feature B through Feature C) currently recited in the amended independent claim 1.
In response to applicant's arguments, see pages 9-14 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references, Zeller in view of Zheng, as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose or suggest individually or in combination, certain features of the invention, Feature B through Feature C. Please see breakdown of different arguments below.
The examiner respectfully disagrees based on two reasonings. The first reasoning is based off what the applicant has disclosed within their own application. The applicant presents the argument that the prior art reference, Zheng, “pertains to image reconstruction (at the k-space data processing level)…” and distinguished from the present disclosure, however, the prior art references relate to same core technical field and is part of the method of the MR Scanning system technology that involve simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) excitation technology, please refer to MPEP 2131, MPEP 2112, MPEP 2145 Sections II, III, & IV and MPEP 2141.01(a).
The second reasoning is that although the claims are interpreted with the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim language, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “global phase offset” and “time-sequence adjustment amount” process of Feature B through Feature C). The claim limitations of Feature B through Feature C fall under the weight of process limitations in product-by-process claims, where the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See (MPEP 2113) In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The third reasoning is that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, and it is noted that the features upon which the applicant relies (i.e., “time-sequence adjustment amount” in claim 1 is “a parameter used during the sequence logic design phase to adjust the excitation order of slice groups, thereby optimizing inter-slice interference during the scanning process”) explanation is not recited in the rejected claim(s). See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The applicant presents the argument that the prior art reference, Zheng, discloses a “global phase offset” that is distinct from the “time-sequence adjustment amount” of independent claim 1, however, Zheng teaches a methodology for “time-sequence adjustment amount”, Non-Final OA Pgs. 27-28, where the “global phase offset” provides each slice group with a unique “time-sequence adjustment” based off Zheng’s methodology of image reconstruction, and prior art reference Zheng further discloses the “time-sequence adjustment amount” in the Abstract and paragraphs [0004], [0010], [0015]-[0016], & [0056]. Zeller also discloses this “time-sequence adjustment amount” in paragraphs [0034] and [0053], where Zeller evaluates schemes with varying adjustment amounts/differences, and the table of paragraphs [0053]-[0061] show the specific placement (time sequence) of each slice group changes relative to the sequence, e.g., in the scheme “1, 4, 7…”, the jump (adjustment) between adjacent slices in the target order results in varying shifts relative to the preset linear order “1, 2, 3…”. Based on the reasons explained above, the examiner believes that the prior art references teach all the limitations currently recited in amended independent claim 1, and applicant’s arguments are unconvincing, to include dependent claims 2, 4-5, 8-11, 20, amended independent claim 12, to include dependent claims 13-15, 17-18, and amended independent claim 19, which depend from an incorporate the limitations of amended independent claims 1, 12, and 19, the rejections are respectively maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 11-15, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeller et al. (US 2022/0413075 A1, Fil. Date Jun. 24, 2022, hereinafter Zeller), in view of Zheng et al. (US 2021/0325496 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 21, 2021, hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zeller, teaches:
A method for acquiring magnetic resonance (MR) signal ([0002]-[0004], [0050], & [0100]), comprising:
obtaining a number of slice groups of simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) excitations of a target object ([0002]-[0004], [0050]-[0052]), each of the slice groups comprising multiple slices excited simultaneously by a multi-band radio frequency (RF) pulse ([0002], [0004], & [0050]-[0052]: “in each sequence section…magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, “for example using a multi-band pulse”);
setting a preset excitation order ([0007]: describes the standard “preset” order that leads to the problem addressed by the invention);
adjusting the preset excitation order for a plurality of target slice groups in response to a determination that the number of the slice groups is an even number to obtain a target excitation order ([0007], [0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0019], [0032]-[0033], [0040], [0053], [0061]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: states that crosstalk artifacts “often arise if the…collapsed number (number of slice groups) yields an even number”, solution is to adjust the order by selecting the optimal “interleaving scheme” from multiple “reordering schemes”, and specifically identifies and solved the problem that occurs when the collapsed slice number (N) is even), comprising:
determining the plurality of target slice groups based on the number of the slice groups and the number of the multiple slices simultaneously excited in each of the slice groups ([0002], [00018], [0050], & [0052]: The number of sliced groups is the collapsed slice number, and the number of multiple slices simultaneously excited is the acceleration factor, “To determine an acquisition order, a collapsed slice number, determined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, of slice groups is determined”, and “Then, N slice groups are determined”, starts by defining the slice groups based on the total number of slices and the acceleration factor (number simultaneously excited), where the plurality of target slice groups is the entire set of slice groups (e.g., all N groups), which are the subject of the reordering process); and
adjusting a time sequence of each of the plurality of target slice groups by a time-sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups based on the preset excitation order to obtain the target excitation order (Fig. 1; [0015]-[0018], [0020]-[0032], & [0053]: teaches determining a new, optimized time sequence (interleaving scheme or target excitation order) by first generating multiple potential time sequences (reordering schemes) and then selecting the best one using at least one decision criterion (adjustment) to find the target order, where “the interleaving scheme is determined by: determining multiple different reordering schemes for the slice groups, and using at least one decision criterion, where the interleaving scheme is interpreted as a target excitation order, based on analysis that uses a conventional order as a starting point for comparison (via difference of numbers), which describes at least an estimated slice crosstalk strength for reordering schemes, to select one of the reordering schemes as the interleaving scheme” and “According to the approach presented here, in a step 3, multiple different reordering schemes, which are candidate schemes for the interleaving scheme, are first determined”, where the process of generating and selecting an optimal order is an adjustment of the time sequence to obtain the target excitation order); the preset value is determined based on the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0021]-[0022], [0024], & [0050]: “The preset value” is the collapsed slice number (N), where N is defined by the number of slice groups (the total slices divided by the acceleration factor”, “a collapsed slice number, determined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, of slice groups is determined”, and “N is equal to eight” (for 16 slices/acceleration factor of 2)), and spatially adjacent slices are not temporally adjacent after the preset excitation order is adjusted ([0009], [0031]-[0032], & [0050]-[0052]: solves this where repetition of a standard sequence of results in “spatially directly adjacent” slices (e.g., S8 and S9) being acquired in temporally adjacent sequence sections, where the goal of the method is to create an acquisition order where there is a spatial distance of at least one non-excited slice between the temporally adjacent acquisitions to prevent crosstalk);
performing the multi-band RF pulse on the target object based on the target excitation order ([0002], [0004], [0043], [0100], [0103], & [0105]: acquisition order interpreted as target excitation order, “which is repeated multiple times, magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired using this acquisition order”, teaches that the selected interleaving scheme (target excitation order) is used to assign slice groups to sequence sections for acquisition); and
acquiring data of the SMS excitations of the target object to obtain the MR signals of each slice of the target object ([0002], [0004]-[0005], & [0100]: “acquire a magnetic resonance data set”, “the magnetic resonance signal from all slices is simultaneously read out” and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired”), the MR signals of each slice being used for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the target object ([0002], [0004]-[0005], & [0100]: “magnetic resonance data for the simultaneously acquired slices may then be separated in post-processing”).
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
wherein the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other, the time sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups is less than a preset value,
However, Zheng, further teaches:
wherein the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other ([0155]-[0156]: teaches applying different phase modulation schemes to different slice locations facilitate and improve slice separation, discloses applying a different “global phase offset” to different slice locations, “for corresponding PE steps that are applied in pairs of frames of the plurality of frames, phase differences between a second slice location and the first slice location are different”, and “the phase difference between the slice locations S3 and S4 may change from -120° to 0° to 120°…the phase difference between the slice locations S3 and S5 may change from -240° to 0° to 240°”), the time sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups is less than a preset value ([0113]-[0114]: “it is desirable that the portions corresponding to the two slice locations in the image have a half HOV shift…a 64-pixel shift”, and “for an aliasing image of the three slice locations…it is desirable that the portions…third FOV shift”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other and is less than a preset value, from Zheng to Zeller, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Zeller’s reordering schemes to ensure each slice group has a unique adjustment, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 1 ([0002]-[0004], [0050], & [0100]), wherein the obtaining the number of the slice groups of the SMS excitations of the target object comprises ([0002] & [0050]):
obtaining scanning parameters of the target object, the scanning parameters comprising the number of slices simultaneously excited by the multi-band RF pulse and a total number of slices of the target object ([0002] & [0050]: discloses a user selects the acquisition parameters, defining the “acceleration factor” (simultaneously excited slices) and the “total number of slices”); and
determining the number of the slice groups based on the number of the simultaneously excited slices and the total number of the slices of the target object ([0002], [0050], & [0104]: discloses performing the precise calculation where the number of slice croups (collapsed slice number) is determined by diving the total number of slices by the acceleration factor (number of simultaneously excited slices)).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 1 ([0002]-[0004], [0050], & [0100]), wherein:
the setting the preset excitation order comprises ([0007]: describes the “acquisition orders used in the state of the art” which serves as the preset excitation order):
sequentially numbering slices of the target object with continuous natural numbers respectively based on a spatial position of each of the slices of the target object ([0002], [0007], & [0050]: discloses numbering slices according to their spatial arrangement, “slices are numbered according to their spatial arrangement in at least one stacking direction”); and
arranging excitation time points of slice groups, in each of which a smallest-numbered slice is an odd-numbered slice, to be before excitation points of other slice groups within each repetition time ([0007]-[0009]: describes the exact conventional ordering scheme that is the gist of the “preset” order, “In known techniques for determining an acquisition order, usually slices with an odd slice number are acquired first, and slices with an even slice number afterwards…or vice versa”, example provided “(S1, S9), (S3, S11), (S5, S13), S7, S15), (S2, S10), (S4, S12), (S6, S14), (S8, S16)” is a concrete implementation), or arranging the excitation time points of the slice groups, in each of which the smallest-numbered slice is the odd-numbered slice, to be after the excitation time points of the other slice groups within each repetition time ([0007]-[0009]: describes the exact conventional ordering scheme that is the gist of the “preset” order, “In known techniques for determining an acquisition order, usually slices with an odd slice number are acquired first, and slices with an even slice number afterwards…or vice versa”); and
a slice-number difference of each two slices simultaneously excited in a same slice group is an integer multiple of the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0007]-[0009], & [0050]-[0051]: discloses the mathematical definition of the slice groups, “the slice groups are defined such that the slice numbers in each group differ by the collapsed slice number”, where the number of slice groups is interpreted as the collapsed slice number, “For the example of a total number of sixteen slices and an acceleration factor of two…their slice group number are: (S1,S9), (S2, S10)…”, where the collapsed slice number (number of groups) is 8, the difference between slices in each group (e.g., 9-1=8, 10-2=8) is 8, which is 1x8, an integer multiple (1) of the number of groups (8)).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 4 ([0002]-[0004], [0050], [0100], & [Claim 12]), wherein the plurality of target slice groups comprise a slice group firstly or finally excited within each repetition time ([0002], [0007]-[0009], [0028]-[0031], [0052]-[0061], & [0070]: entire method involves assigning slice groups to sequence sections within a repetition sequence (time), the “target slice group” maps to a slice group assigned to the first or last sequence, “slice groups are assigned to the sequence sections according to an interleaving scheme”, which is a complete temporal acquisition order for all slice groups within a repetition sequence, the method generates multiple reordering schemes, that are complete permutations of all slice group numbers from 1 to N, where N is the total number of slice groups, for example, “the acquisition order would be: (S1, S9), (S3, S11), (S5, S13), S7, S15), (S2, S10), (S4, S12), (S6, S14), (S8, S16)”, where (S1, S9) is the “firstly excited” slice group, and where (S8, S16) is the last group excited, “For the example of N is eight, the following reordering table results…1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8”, where each row is a candidate order with a first and last group, and “all the ordering schemes having at least one difference number equal to one in their series of difference numbers are removed”, states that the sequence is evaluated, includes starting (firstly) and end (finally) points).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 1 ([0002]-[0004], [0050], & [0100]), wherein the preset value is determined based on ([0002] & [0050]: Zeller’s method is based on a “collapsed slice number” (N), which functions as the preset value governing acquisition order) a total number of the slices of the target object ([0002] & [0050]: the collapsed slice number is calculated using the “total number of slices”), the number of the multiple simultaneously excited slices ([0002] & [0052]: the acceleration factor used to calculate the collapsed slice number), the number of the slice groups ([0002] & [0050]: preset value is the “collapsed slice number”, which is the number of slice group),
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
an acquisition time period corresponding to an excitation of each of the slice groups, and a repetition time.
However, Zheng, further teaches:
an acquisition time period corresponding to an excitation of each of the slice groups, and a repetition time ([0004]: teaches collecting k-space data with a specific “waiting time after a preparation pulse is applied”, the “waiting time” corresponds to the acquisition and repetition time periods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an acquisition time period corresponding to an excitation of each of the slice groups, and a repetition time, from Zheng to Zeller, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Zeller’s determination preset value by incorporating the timing constraints taught by Zheng to create a more robust and optimized acquisition sequence, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 1 ([0002]-[0004], [0050], & [0100]), wherein after the obtaining the number of slice groups of the simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) excitations of the target object ([0002]-[0004], [0033]-[0034], [0050]-[0052], [0100], & [Claim 5]: discloses using a multi-band pulse for simultaneous excitations and acquiring data according to the determined acquisition order (interleaving scheme), “In particular, in simultaneous multi slide imaging…is at least essentially simultaneously excited, for example using a multi-band pulse”, and “…in a step 13, the magnetic resonance data may be acquired using this acquisition order”), and before the acquiring the data of the SMS excitations of the target object to obtain the magnetic resonance (MR) signals of each slice of the target object ([0002]-[0005], & [0100]: “acquire a magnetic resonance data set”, “the magnetic resonance signal from all slices is simultaneously read out” and “the magnetic resonance data may be acquired” and “once the interleaving scheme has been chose, as already mentioned, in a step 7, the acquisition order may be finally determined and, in a step 13, the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired…”, whereas “once” is interpreted as before), the method further comprises:
performing the multi-band RF pulse on the target object based on the preset excitation order ([0002]-[0004], [0100], & [0103]: acquisition order interpreted as target excitation order, “which is repeated multiple times, magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired using this acquisition order”) in response to a determination that the number of the slice groups is an odd number ([0007], [0011], [0040], [0100]-[0101]: “…it is however, preferred if the determination of the interleaving scheme is applied for even and uneven collapsed slice numbers”, “It is noted that the method described here may be e.g. applied to both odd and even collapsed slice numbers…”, states that the method is applied to both even and uneven (odd) numbers of slice groups, the determination of the number of slice groups is a necessary prerequisite step, subsequent acquisition is therefore performed in response to this determination for all cases, including the odd-numbered case).
Regarding independent claim 12, Zeller, teaches:
A magnetic resonance (MR) scanning system (Fig. 2; [0002]-[0005], [0042], & [0102]-[0103]: magnetic resonance device 14 (MR scanning system)), comprising:
an MR scanning device configured to emit a multi-band radio frequency (RF) pulse to perform simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) excitations on a target object ([0002]-[0005], [0102]-[0103], & [Claim 1]: discloses an MR device 14 that uses a multi-band pulse for SMS excitation on a target object), and configured to acquire data of the SMS excitations of the target object to obtain MR signals of each slice of the target object ([0002]-[0005], & [Claim 1]: describes using a multi-band pulse for simultaneous excitation and acquiring magnetic resonance signals);
a processing unit connected to the MR scanning device and having a computer program stored therein ([0042]-[0044] & [0102]-[0103]: discloses a control device 17 (processing unit) with processing circuitry, storage 18, and a computer program to perform the method), wherein, the processing unit ([0042]-[0044] & [0102]-[0103]), when executing the computer program ([0042]-[0044] & [0102]-[0103]), performs:
obtaining a number of slice groups of simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) excitations of a target object ([0002]-[0005], [0050]-[0052]: defines and calculates the number of slice groups, the number of groups is the collapsed slice number (N), which is calculated as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor (simultaneity number)), each of the slice groups comprising multiple slices excited simultaneously by a multi-band radio frequency (RF) pulse ([0002]-[0005], & [0050]-[0052]: “in each sequence section…magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, “for example using a multi-band pulse”);
setting a preset excitation order ([0007]: describes the standard “preset” order that leads to the problem addressed by the invention);
adjusting the preset excitation order for a plurality of target slice groups in response to a determination that the number of the slice groups is an even number to obtain a target excitation order ([0007], [0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0019], [0032]-[0033], [0040], [0053], [0061]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: states that crosstalk artifacts “often arise if the…collapsed number (number of slice groups) yields an even number”, solution is to adjust the order by selecting the optimal “interleaving scheme” from multiple “reordering schemes”, works for both even and odd numbers, and specifically identifies and solved the problem that occurs when the collapsed slice number (N) is even), comprising:
determining the plurality of target slice groups based on the number of the slice groups and the number of the multiple slices simultaneously excited in each of the slice groups ([0002], [00018], [0050], & [0052]: The number of sliced groups is the collapsed slice number, and the number of multiple slices simultaneously excited is the acceleration factor, “To determine an acquisition order, a collapsed slice number, determined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, of slice groups is determined”, and “Then, N slice groups are determined”, starts by defining the slice groups based on the total number of slices and the acceleration factor (number simultaneously excited), where the plurality of target slice groups is the entire set of slice groups (e.g., all N groups), which are the subject of the reordering process); and
adjusting a time sequence of each of the plurality of target slice groups by a time-sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups based on the preset excitation order to obtain the target excitation order (Fig. 1; [0015]-[0018], [0020]-[0032], & [0053]: teaches determining a new, optimized time sequence (interleaving scheme or target excitation order) by first generating multiple potential time sequences (reordering schemes) and then selecting the best one using at least one decision criterion (adjustment) to find the target order, where “the interleaving scheme is determined by: determining multiple different reordering schemes for the slice groups, and using at least one decision criterion, where the interleaving scheme is interpreted as a target excitation order, based on analysis that uses a conventional order as a starting point for comparison (via difference of numbers), which describes at least an estimated slice crosstalk strength for reordering schemes, to select one of the reordering schemes as the interleaving scheme” and “According to the approach presented here, in a step 3, multiple different reordering schemes, which are candidate schemes for the interleaving scheme, are first determined”, where the process of generating and selecting an optimal order is an adjustment of the time sequence to obtain the target excitation order); the preset value is determined based on the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0021]-[0022], [0024], & [0050]: “The preset value” is the collapsed slice number (N), where N is defined by the number of slice groups (the total slices divided by the acceleration factor”, “a collapsed slice number, determined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, of slice groups is determined”, and “N is equal to eight” (for 16 slices/acceleration factor of 2)), and spatially adjacent slices are not temporally adjacent after the preset excitation order is adjusted ([0009], [0031]-[0032], & [0050]-[0052]: solves this where repetition of a standard sequence of results in “spatially directly adjacent” slices (e.g., S8 and S9) being acquired in temporally adjacent sequence sections, where the goal of the method is to create an acquisition order where there is a spatial distance of at least one non-excited slice between the temporally adjacent acquisitions to prevent crosstalk);
performing the multi-band RF pulse on the target object based on the target excitation order ([0002], [0004], [0043], [0100], [0103], & [0105]: acquisition order interpreted as target excitation order, “which is repeated multiple times, magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired using this acquisition order”, teaches that the selected interleaving scheme (target excitation order) is used to assign slice groups to sequence sections for acquisition); and
acquiring data of the SMS excitations of the target object to obtain the MR signals of each slice of the target object ([0002], [0004]-[0005], & [0100]: “acquire a magnetic resonance data set”, “the magnetic resonance signal from all slices is simultaneously read out” and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired”), the MR signals of each slice being used for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the target object ([0002], [0004]-[0005], & [0100]: “magnetic resonance data for the simultaneously acquired slices may then be separated in post-processing”).
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
wherein the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other, the time sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups is less than a preset value,
However, Zheng, further teaches:
wherein the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other ([0155]-[0156]: teaches applying different phase modulation schemes to different slice locations facilitate and improve slice separation, discloses applying a different “global phase offset” to different slice locations, “for corresponding PE steps that are applied in pairs of frames of the plurality of frames, phase differences between a second slice location and the first slice location are different”, and “the phase difference between the slice locations S3 and S4 may change from -120° to 0° to 120°…the phase difference between the slice locations S3 and S5 may change from -240° to 0° to 240°”), the time sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups is less than a preset value ([0113]-[0114]: “it is desirable that the portions corresponding to the two slice locations in the image have a half HOV shift…a 64-pixel shift”, and “for an aliasing image of the three slice locations…it is desirable that the portions…third FOV shift”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other and is less than a preset value, from Zheng to Zeller, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Zeller’s reordering schemes to ensure each slice group has a unique adjustment, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Zeller, teaches:
The MR scanning system according to claim 12 (Fig. 2; [0002]-[0005], [0042], & [0102]-[0103]: magnetic resonance device 14 (MR scanning system)), wherein the obtaining the number of the slice groups of the SMS excitations of the target object comprises ([0002] & [0050]: describes a user selecting important acquisition parameters, specifically mentioning the total number of slices and the acceleration factor (defines as the simultaneity number or the number of slices simultaneously excited)):
obtaining scanning parameters of the target object, the scanning parameters comprising the number of slices simultaneously excited by the multi-band RF pulse and a total number of slices of the target object ([0002] & [0050]: discloses a user selects the acquisition parameters, defining the “acceleration factor” (simultaneously excited slices) and the “total number of slices”); and
determining the number of the slice groups based on the number of the simultaneously excited slices and the total number of the slices of the target object ([0002], [0050], & [0104]: discloses performing the precise calculation where the number of slice croups (collapsed slice number) is determined by dividing the total number of slices by the acceleration factor (number of simultaneously excited slices)).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Zeller, teaches:
The MR scanning system according to claim 12 (Fig. 2; [0002]-[0005], [0042], & [0102]-[0103]: magnetic resonance device 14 (MR scanning system)), wherein:
the setting the preset excitation order ([0007]-[0008] & [0011]: describes the “acquisition orders used in the state of the art” which serves as the preset excitation order) comprises:
sequentially numbering slices of the target object with continuous natural numbers respectively based on a spatial position of each of the slices of the target object ([0002], [0007], & [0050]: discloses numbering slices according to their spatial arrangement, “slices are numbered according to their spatial arrangement in at least one stacking direction”); and
arranging excitation time points to the slice groups, in each of which a smallest-numbered slice is an odd-numbered slice, to be before excitation time points of other slice groups within each repetition time ([0007]-[0009]: describes the exact conventional ordering scheme that is the gist of the “preset” order, “In known techniques for determining an acquisition order, usually slices with an odd slice number are acquired first, and slices with an even slice number afterwards…or vice versa”, example provided “(S1, S9), (S3, S11), (S5, S13), S7, S15), (S2, S10), (S4, S12), (S6, S14), (S8, S16)” is a concrete implementation), or arranging the excitation time points of the slice groups, in each of which the smallest-numbered slice is an odd-numbered slice, to be after the excitation time points of the other slice groups within each repetition time ([0007]-[0009]: describes the exact conventional ordering scheme that is the gist of the “preset” order, “In known techniques for determining an acquisition order, usually slices with an odd slice number are acquired first, and slices with an even slice number afterwards…or vice versa”); and
a slice-number difference of each two slices simultaneously excited in a same slice group is an integer multiple of the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0007]-[0009], & [0050]-[0051]: discloses the mathematical definition of the slice groups, “the slice groups are defined such that the slice numbers in each group differ by the collapsed slice number”, where the number of slice groups is interpreted as the collapsed slice number, “For the example of a total number of sixteen slices and an acceleration factor of two…their slice group number are: (S1,S9), (S2, S10)…”, where the collapsed slice number (number of groups) is 8, the difference between slices in each group (e.g., 9-1=8, 10-2=8) is 8, which is 1x8, an integer multiple (1) of the number of groups (8)).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Zeller, teaches:
The MR scanning system according to claim 14 (Fig. 2; [0002]-[0005], [0042], [0050], [0100], [0102]-[0103], & [Claim 12]: magnetic resonance device 14 (MR scanning system)), wherein the plurality of target slice groups comprise a slice group firstly or finally excited within each repetition time ([0002], [0007]-[0009], [0028]-[0031], [0052]-[0061], & [0070]: entire method involves assigning slice groups to sequence sections within a repetition sequence (time), the “target slice group” maps to a slice group assigned to the first or last sequence, “slice groups are assigned to the sequence sections according to an interleaving scheme”, which is a complete temporal acquisition order for all slice groups within a repetition sequence, the method generates multiple reordering schemes, that are complete permutations of all slice group numbers from 1 to N, where N is the total number of slice groups, for example, “the acquisition order would be: (S1, S9), (S3, S11), (S5, S13), S7, S15), (S2, S10), (S4, S12), (S6, S14), (S8, S16)”, where (S1, S9) is the “firstly excited” slice group, and the (S8, S16) is the last group excited, “For the example of N is eight, the following reordering table results…1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8”, where each row is a candidate order with a first and last group, and “all the ordering schemes having at least one difference number equal to one in their series of difference numbers are removed”, states that the sequence is evaluated, includes starting (firstly) and end (finally) points).
Regarding independent claim 19, Zeller, teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the executable instructions, when being executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform ([0042]-[0044], [0102]-[0103], & [0107]: discloses an “electronically readable storage medium” with a “computer program” that, when executed, enables a control device to perform the described method):
obtaining a number of slice groups of simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) excitations of a target object ([0002]-[0005], [0050]-[0052], & [0100]: defines and calculates the number of slice groups, the number of groups is the collapsed slice number (N), which is calculated as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor (simultaneity number)), each of the slice group comprising multiple slices excited simultaneously by a multi-band radio frequency (RF) pulse ([0002]-[0005], [0050]-[0052], & [0100]: “in each sequence section…magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, “for example using a multi-band pulse”);
setting a preset excitation order ([0007]: describes the standard “preset” order that leads to the problem addressed by the invention);
adjusting the preset excitation order for a plurality of target slice groups in response to a determination that the number of the slice groups is an even number to obtain a target excitation order ([0007], [0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0019], [0032]-[0033], [0053], [0061]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: states that crosstalk artifacts “often arise if the…collapsed number (number of slice groups) yields an even number”, solution is to adjust the order by selecting the optimal “interleaving scheme” from multiple “reordering schemes”, works for both even and odd numbers, and specifically identifies and solved the problem that occurs when the collapsed slice number (N) is even), comprising:
determining the plurality of target slice groups based on the number of the slice groups and the number of the multiple slices simultaneously excited in each of the slice groups ([0002], [00018], [0050], & [0052]: The number of sliced groups is the collapsed slice number, and the number of multiple slices simultaneously excited is the acceleration factor, “To determine an acquisition order, a collapsed slice number, determined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, of slice groups is determined”, and “Then, N slice groups are determined”, starts by defining the slice groups based on the total number of slices and the acceleration factor (number simultaneously excited), where the plurality of target slice groups is the entire set of slice groups (e.g., all N groups), which are the subject of the reordering process); and
adjusting a time sequence of each of the plurality of target slice groups by a time-sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups based on the preset excitation order to obtain the target excitation order (Fig. 1; [0015]-[0018], [0020]-[0032], & [0053]: teaches determining a new, optimized time sequence (interleaving scheme or target excitation order) by first generating multiple potential time sequences (reordering schemes) and then selecting the best one using at least one decision criterion (adjustment) to find the target order, where “the interleaving scheme is determined by: determining multiple different reordering schemes for the slice groups, and using at least one decision criterion, where the interleaving scheme is interpreted as a target excitation order, based on analysis that uses a conventional order as a starting point for comparison (via difference of numbers), which describes at least an estimated slice crosstalk strength for reordering schemes, to select one of the reordering schemes as the interleaving scheme” and “According to the approach presented here, in a step 3, multiple different reordering schemes, which are candidate schemes for the interleaving scheme, are first determined”, where the process of generating and selecting an optimal order is an adjustment of the time sequence to obtain the target excitation order); the preset value is determined based on the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0021]-[0022], [0024], & [0050]: “The preset value” is the collapsed slice number (N), where N is defined by the number of slice groups (the total slices divided by the acceleration factor”, “a collapsed slice number, determined as the total number of slices divided by the acceleration factor, of slice groups is determined”, and “N is equal to eight” (for 16 slices/acceleration factor of 2)), and
spatially adjacent slices are not temporally adjacent after the preset excitation order is adjusted ([0009], [0031]-[0032], & [0050]-[0052]: solves this where repetition of a standard sequence of results in “spatially directly adjacent” slices (e.g., S8 and S9) being acquired in temporally adjacent sequence sections, where the goal of the method is to create an acquisition order where there is a spatial distance of at least one non-excited slice between the temporally adjacent acquisitions to prevent crosstalk);
performing the multi-band RF pulse on the target object based on the target excitation order ([0002], [0004], [0043], [0100], [0103], & [0105]: acquisition order interpreted as target excitation order, “which is repeated multiple times, magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number…of at least two slices, which have been excited in this sequence section, are measured simultaneously”, and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired using this acquisition order”, teaches that the selected interleaving scheme (target excitation order) is used to assign slice groups to sequence sections for acquisition); and
acquiring data of the SMS excitations of the target object to obtain MR signals of each slice of the target object ([0002], [0004]-[0005], & [0100]: “acquire a magnetic resonance data set”, “the magnetic resonance signal from all slices is simultaneously read out” and “the magnetic resonance data set may be acquired”), the MR signals of each slice being used for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the target object ([0002], [0004]-[0005], & [0100]: “magnetic resonance data for the simultaneously acquired slices may then be separated in post-processing”).
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
wherein the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other, the time sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups is less than a preset value,
However, Zheng, further teaches:
wherein the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other ([0155]-[0156]: teaches applying different phase modulation schemes to different slice locations facilitate and improve slice separation, discloses applying a different “global phase offset” to different slice locations, “for corresponding PE steps that are applied in pairs of frames of the plurality of frames, phase differences between a second slice location and the first slice location are different”, and “the phase difference between the slice locations S3 and S4 may change from -120° to 0° to 120°…the phase difference between the slice locations S3 and S5 may change from -240° to 0° to 240°”), the time sequence adjustment amount of each of the plurality of target slice groups is less than a preset value ([0113]-[0114]: “it is desirable that the portions corresponding to the two slice locations in the image have a half HOV shift…a 64-pixel shift”, and “for an aliasing image of the three slice locations…it is desirable that the portions…third FOV shift”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the time-sequence adjustment amounts of the plurality of target slice groups for adjusting the preset excitation order are different from each other and is less than a preset value, from Zheng to Zeller, in order to attain and improve, by modifying Zeller’s reordering schemes to ensure each slice group has a unique adjustment, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Zeller, teaches:
A computer program product ([0042]-[0044]), comprising a computer program ([0042]-[0044]), wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform steps of the method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0002], [0042]-[0044], [0050], & [0100], [0102]-[0103], & [0107]: discloses an “electronically readable storage medium” with a “computer program” that, when executed, enables a control device to perform the described method).
Claims 9-10 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeller, in view of Liu et al. (US 10114096 B2, Date of Pat. Oct. 30, 2018) .
Regarding dependent claim 9, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 1 ([0002]-[0004], [0050], & [0100]), wherein the determining the plurality of target slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0005], [0043], [0050], & [0104]: defines and determines the slice groups and an acquisition order) based on the number of the slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0004], & [0050]: method is based on a simultaneity number (number of slices simultaneously excited) equal to an acceleration factor, which defines a collapsed slice number (number of slice groups)) and the number of the multiple slices simultaneously excited in each of the slice groups comprises ([Abstract], [0002], [0004], & [0050]: method is based on a simultaneity number (number of slices simultaneously excited) equal to an acceleration factor, which defines a collapsed slice number (number of slice groups))
determining slice groups comprising slices numbered with NS/MB x n – i ([0002], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]) to be the plurality of target slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0005], [0020]-[0023], [0043], [0050], [0052]-[0053], & [0104]: defines and determines the slice groups), wherein: NS denotes a total number of the slices of the target object ([0002], [0007], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]: discloses using the “total number of slices” as a primary parameter for its method and “…magnetic resonance data set, which comprises a total number of slices…”); MB denotes the number of the multiple simultaneously excited slices ([0002], [0004], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]: “…magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number, which is equal to an acceleration factor, of at least two slices…”); NS/MB denotes the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0007]-[0008], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]: defines the number of slice groups (collapsed slice number) is calculated by diving the total number of slices by the acceleration factor (MB) of slice groups); and n is any integer from 1 to MB ([0002], [0007]-[0008], [0020]-[0023], & [0050]-[0053]: discloses forming slice groups that each contain MB (simultaneity number/acceleration factor) slices, where a group containing MB items can be indexed by an integer n running from 1 to MB, defines the index for each slice within a simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) group, where the primary reference’s groups, e.g., (S1,S9) have two members (n=1 and n=2) for MB=2), where the slice number for n=1 is 1 = (1-1)*8 = 1 and for n=2 is 1 + (2-1)*8 = 9).
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
i is any integer from 0 to NS/MB/2-3;
However, Liu, further teaches:
i is any integer from 0 to NS/MB/2-3 ([Col. 5, ll. 39-49], [Col. 6, ll. 21-45], & [Col. 9, ll. 30-34]: teaches using an integer iteration count j to perform iterative ordering, the value of je is determined based on NS and NC (i.e., NS/MB), the range 0 to NS/MB/2-3 is a predictable design choice for the iteration count j (or I), defines a search space);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate i is any integer from 0 to NS/MB/2-3, from Liu to Zeller, in order to attain, improve, and optimize, by modifying Zeller’s method and incorporating Liu’s teaching of using an integer iteration parameter (I) and to select a conventional range for it based on the number of groups, represents a search space for the optimization of the algorithm, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Zeller, teaches:
The method according to claim 9 ([Abstract], [0002]-[0004], [0050], [0100], & [Claim 1]), wherein the adjusting the time sequence of each of the plurality of target slice groups based on the preset excitation order to obtain the target excitation order ([0015]-[0018], [0020]-[0032], [0041], [0043] & [0053]: teaches determining a new, optimized time sequence (interleaving scheme or target excitation order) by first generating multiple potential time sequences (reordering schemes) and then selecting the best one using at least one decision criterion (adjustment) to find the target order, where “the interleaving scheme is determined by: determining multiple different reordering schemes for the slice groups, and using at least one decision criterion, where the interleaving scheme is interpreted as a target excitation order, based on analysis that uses a conventional order as a starting point for comparison (via difference of numbers), which describes at least an estimated slice crosstalk strength for reordering schemes, to select one of the reordering schemes as the interleaving scheme” and “According to the approach presented here, in a step 3, multiple different reordering schemes, which are candidate schemes for the interleaving scheme, are first determined”, where the process of generating and selecting an optimal order is an adjustment of the time sequence to obtain the target excitation order) comprises:
wherein Tunit = TR/(NS/MB) is an acquisition time corresponding to an excitation of each of the slice groups and defined as a unit acquisition time ([0002], [0018]-[0024]: describes a “repetition sequence”, which has a duration TR, that is divided in N, where N = NS/MB ( NS denotes a total number of the slices of the target object ; MB denotes number of multiple simultaneously excited slices, NS/MB denotes the number of slice groups, and TR denotes a repetition time) interpreted as “sequence sections”, therefore, the time allotted to each sequence section Tunit is the total repetition time TR divided by the number of sequence sections NS/MB);
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
moving the time sequence of the plurality of target slice groups comprising the slices numbered with NS/MB x n-i forwards by time values of Tunit x (NS/MB/2-2-i) respectively to obtain the target excitation order, and TR denotes a repetition time.
However, Liu, further teaches:
moving the time sequence of the plurality of target slice groups ([Col. 4, ll. 35-47 & 60-67]: determines new slice data acquisition order (i.e., target excitation order) using an iterative odd/even arranging method to move the sequence or slice groups, “…changing the slice acquisition order and increasing the effective gap…between slices that are excited in order…”, and “…to implement an iterative odd/even slice ordering method so as to maximize an effective gap between slices excited in order”) comprising the slices numbered with NS/MB x n-i forwards by time values of Tunit x (NS/MB/2-2-i) respectively to obtain the target excitation order ([Col. 5, ll. 39-49], [Col. 6, ll. 21-67], & [Col. 9, ll. 30-34]: teaches the concept of shifting slice excitations in time by a calculated value based on TR and the number of slices/groups, the “first ordering general formula” ensures the time interval between excitations of adjacent slices is approximately (NS x TR/NC; where NS denotes slice data, NC denotes fractional acquisitions, TR denotes repetition time, and Tunit denotes a unit acquisition time)), and TR denotes a repetition time ([Col. 6, ll. 21-67]: “The first ordering general formula is TS+ij - TSj ≈ NS x TR/NC/i + TP…wherein TSj is the excitation time of the Sth slice after j iterations, TR is the repetition time of the excitation pulses, and TP is the timer interval between adjacent fractional acquisitions”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate moving the time sequence of the plurality of target slice groups comprising the slices numbered with NS/MB x n-i forwards by time values of Tunit x (NS/MB/2-2-i) respectively to obtain the target excitation order, and TR denotes a repetition time, from Liu to Zeller, in order to attain, and optimize, by modifying Zeller’s method and incorporating Liu’s mathematical time-shift approach, adapting Liu’s formula which uses TR/NC as a fundamental time unit, to Zeller’s SMS framework, where the analogous time unit is TR/(NS/MB), and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Zeller, teaches:
The MR scanning system according to claim 12 (Fig. 2; [0002]-[0005], [0042]-[0043], [0050], [0100], [0102]-[0103], & [Claim 12]: magnetic resonance device 14 (MR scanning system)), wherein the determining the plurality of target slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0005], [0043], [0050], & [0104]: defines and determines the slice groups and an acquisition order) based on the number of the slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0004], & [0050]: method is based on a simultaneity number (number of slices simultaneously excited) equal to an acceleration factor, which defines a collapsed slice number (number of slice groups)) and the number of the multiple slices simultaneously excited in each of the slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0004], & [0050]: method is based on a simultaneity number (number of slices simultaneously excited) equal to an acceleration factor, which defines a collapsed slice number (number of slice groups)) comprises:
determining slice groups comprising slices numbered with NS/MB x n – i ([0002], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]) to be the plurality of target slice groups ([Abstract], [0002], [0005], [0020]-[0023], [0043], [0050], [0052]-[0053], & [0104]: defines and determines the slice groups), wherein: NS denotes a total number of the slices of the target object ([0002], [0007], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]: discloses using the “total number of slices” as a primary parameter for its method and “…magnetic resonance data set, which comprises a total number of slices…”); MB denotes the number of the multiple simultaneously excited slices ([0002], [0004], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]: “…magnetic resonance signals from a simultaneity number, which is equal to an acceleration factor, of at least two slices…”); NS/MB denotes the number of the slice groups ([0002], [0007]-[0008], [0020]-[0023], [0050], & [0052]-[0053]: defines the number of slice groups (collapsed slice number) is calculated by diving the total number of slices by the acceleration factor (MB) of slice groups); and n is any integer from 1 to MB ([0002], [0007]-[0008], [0020]-[0023], & [0050]-[0053]: discloses forming slice groups that each contain MB (simultaneity number/acceleration factor) slices, where a group containing MB items can be indexed by an integer n running from 1 to MB, defines the index for each slice within a simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) group, where the primary reference’s groups, e.g., (S1,S9) have two members (n=1 and n=2) for MB=2), where the slice number for n=1 is 1 = (1-1)*8 = 1 and for n=2 is 1 + (2-1)*8 = 9).
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
i is any integer from 0 to NS/MB/2-3;
However, Liu, further teaches:
i is any integer from 0 to NS/MB/2-3 ([Col. 5, ll. 39-49], [Col. 6, ll. 21-45], & [Col. 9, ll. 30-34]: teaches using an integer iteration count j to perform iterative ordering, the value of je is determined based on NS and NC (i.e., NS/MB), the range 0 to NS/MB/2-3 is a predictable design choice for the iteration count j (or I), defines a search space);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate i is any integer from 0 to NS/MB/2-3, from Liu to Zeller, in order to attain, improve, and optimize, by modifying Zeller’s method and incorporating Liu’s teaching of using an integer iteration parameter (I) and to select a conventional range for it based on the number of groups, represents a search space for the optimization of the algorithm, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Zeller, teaches:
The MR scanning system according to claim 17 (Fig. 2; [0002]-[0005], [0042]-[0043], [0050], [0100], [0102]-[0103], & [Claim 12]: magnetic resonance device 14 (MR scanning system)), wherein the adjusting the time sequence of each of the plurality of target slice groups based on the preset excitation order to obtain the target excitation order ([0015]-[0018], [0020]-[0032], [0041], [0043] & [0053]: teaches determining a new, optimized time sequence (interleaving scheme or target excitation order) by first generating multiple potential time sequences (reordering schemes) and then selecting the best one using at least one decision criterion (adjustment) to find the target order, where “the interleaving scheme is determined by: determining multiple different reordering schemes for the slice groups, and using at least one decision criterion, where the interleaving scheme is interpreted as a target excitation order, based on analysis that uses a conventional order as a starting point for comparison (via difference of numbers), which describes at least an estimated slice crosstalk strength for reordering schemes, to select one of the reordering schemes as the interleaving scheme” and “According to the approach presented here, in a step 3, multiple different reordering schemes, which are candidate schemes for the interleaving scheme, are first determined”, where the process of generating and selecting an optimal order is an adjustment of the time sequence to obtain the target excitation order) comprises:
wherein Tunit = TR/(NS/MB) is an acquisition time period corresponding to an excitation of each of the slice groups and defined as a unit acquisition time ([0002], [0018]-[0024]: describes a “repetition sequence”, which has a duration TR, that is divided in N, where N = NS/MB ( NS denotes a total number of the slices of the target object ; MB denotes number of multiple simultaneously excited slices, NS/MB denotes the number of slice groups, TR denotes a repetition time, and Tunit denotes a unit acquisition time) interpreted as “sequence sections”, therefore, the time allotted to each sequence section Tunit is the total repetition time TR divided by the number of sequence sections NS/MB);
Zeller, is silent in regard to:
moving the time sequence of the plurality of target slice groups comprising the slices numbered with NS/MB x n-i forwards by time values of Tunit x (NS/MB/2-2-i) respectively to obtain the target excitation, and TR denotes a repetition time.
However, Liu, further teaches:
moving the time sequence of the plurality of target slice groups ([Col. 4, ll. 35-47 & 60-67]: determines new slice data acquisition order (i.e., target excitation order) using an iterative odd/even arranging method to move the sequence or slice groups, “…changing the slice acquisition order and increasing the effective gap…between slices that are excited in order…”, and “…to implement an iterative odd/even slice ordering method so as to maximize an effective gap between slices excited in order”) comprising the slices numbered with NS/MB x n-i forwards by time values of Tunit x (NS/MB/2-2-i) respectively to obtain the target excitation order ([Col. 5, ll. 39-49], [Col. 6, ll. 21-67], & [Col. 9, ll. 30-34]: teaches the concept of shifting slice excitations in time by a calculated value based on TR and the number of slices/groups, the “first ordering general formula” ensures the time interval between excitations of adjacent slices is approximately (NS x TR/NC; where NS denotes slice data, NC denotes fractional acquisitions, and TR denotes repetition time)), and TR denotes a repetition time ([Col. 6, ll. 21-67]: “The first ordering general formula is TS+ij - TSj ≈ NS x TR/NC/i + TP…wherein TSj is the excitation time of the Sth slice after j iterations, TR is the repetition time of the excitation pulses, and TP is the timer interval between adjacent fractional acquisitions”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate moving the time sequence of the plurality of target slice groups comprising the slices numbered with NS/MB x n-i forwards by time values of Tunit x (NS/MB/2-2-i) respectively to obtain the target excitation order, and TR denotes a repetition time, from Liu to Zeller, in order to attain, and optimize, by modifying Zeller’s method and incorporating Liu’s mathematical time-shift approach, adapting Liu’s formula which uses TR/NC as a fundamental time unit, to Zeller’s SMS framework, where the analogous time unit is TR/(NS/MB), and yield predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US20220369948A1) discloses systems and methods for simultaneous multi-slice multitasking imaging. Kettinger et al. (US2021/0096200A1) discloses a simultaneous multi-slice (SMS) acquisition of measurement data by means of magnetic resonance technology. Beck et al. (US20170199259A1) discloses a magnetic resonance apparatus and method for simultaneous multi-slice imaging with arbitrary slice numbers. Zhen et al. (US2021/0116527A1) discloses systems and methods for simultaneous multi-slice magnetic resonance imaging. Huang (US2023/0210482A1) discloses medical devices and methods thereof, the medical device may include a housing, a positron emission tomography (PET) detector module, and a radio frequency (RF) coil. Kong (WO2023/169565A1) discloses an image registration method and system. Ding et al. (US11899085B2) discloses a system and method for magnetic resonance imaging. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 01/14/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/20/2026