DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cusson et al. (7166802) in view of Holzmueller et al. (9336929).
Cusson et al. discloses a system comprising a tubing (350); a tubing encapsulated conductor comprising at least one interior wire (305); a conductive ground wire (310); and an encapsulation layer (330) comprising a polymer and positioned to encoat the ground wire (re-claims 1 and 8).
Cusson et al. does not disclose the tubing encapsulated conductor comprising a metal sheath positioned around the at least one interior wire (re-claims 1 and 8).
Holzmueller et al. discloses a system comprising a tubing encapsulated conductor (Fig. 5) which includes a metal sheath (550) positioned around an interior wire (510).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before extruding layer 330, to provide a metal sheath as taught by Holzmueller et al. around the at least one interior wire of Cusson et al. to further protect the interior wire.
It is noted that since the modified system of Cusson comprises structure and material as claimed, the tubing (350) is positionable in a wellbore; at least a portion of the tubing encapsulated conductor is positionable downhole in the wellbore; the interior wire is positionable to transmit electric power from a power source associated with the wellbore to at least one piece of electrical equipment, positionable downhole in the wellbore, during a tubing deployment operation performed with respect to the wellbore; the metal sheath is positionable to provide a pressure barrier around the interior wire and to provide a ground-side electrical connection beween the power source and the electrical equipment; the conductive ground is in electrical contact with at least a portion of the metal sheath to reduce a resistance of the ground-side electrical connection; and the encapsulation layer is positionable to facilitate one or more electrical coupling between the metal sheath and the conductive ground wire (re-claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 13).
Re-claims 3 and 11, Cusson et al., as modified, discloses the encapsulation layer (330) is positionable to maintain the metal sheath (of Holzmueller) in contact with the conductive ground wire (310, Fig. 3A) at a plurality of locations along the length of the metal sheath.
Re-claims 4 and 12, Cusson et al. discloses the tubing encapsulated conductor further comprising at least one insulated tubing (320) positionable around the interior wire to provide electrical and mechanical isolation for the interior wire.
Re-claim 5, Cusson et al., as modified, discloses the tubing encapsulated conductor further comprising a filling material (320) positionable between the interior wire and the metal sheath to maintain the position of the interior wire within the tubing encapsulated conductor.
Re-claims 7 and 14, Cusson et al., as modified, discloses the encapsulation layer (330) being extrudable on the metal sheath and the conductive ground wire to maintain the electrical coupling between the metal sheath and the ground wire.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cusson et al. in view of Holzmueller et al. as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Nadakal et al. (10796822).
Claims 2 and 10 additionally recite the ground wire comprising a copper wire having a 14 gauge to 20 gauge thickness. Nadakal et al. discloses a system comprising ground (drain) wire (22) comprising a copper wire having a 14 gauge to 20 gauge thickness (col. 2, line 48). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a ground wire as taught by Nadakal et al. for the ground wire of Cusson et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting system.
Claims 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesgaard (2020/0115964) in view of Cusson et al. and Holzmueller et al.
Nesgaard discloses a method comprising electrically coupling an encapsulated conductor (cable 10) between a power source ([0036]) associated with a wellbore and at least one piece of electrical equipment (50) used downhole within the wellbore during a wellbore operation performed with respect to the wellbore; and controlling (control 200) a supply of power to the at least one piece of electrical equipment during the wellbore operation via the encapsulated conductor, wherein current is transmitted from the power source to the at least one piece of electrical equipment via at least one interior wire of the encapsulated conductor (re-claim 15).
Nesgaard does not disclose the encapsulated conductor being a tubing encapsulated conductor comprising at least one interior wire; a metal sheath; and a conductive ground wire positioned between an encapsulation polymer layer and the metal sheath (re-claim 15).
Cusson et al. and Holzmueller et al. disclose the encapsulated conductor as claimed, see the above rejection with respect to claims 1 and 8.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the encapsulated conductor (cable 10) of Nesgaard with the tubing encapsulated conductor, taught by Cusson et al. and Holzmueller et al. (modified cable 300 of Cusson), since such encapsulated conductor has improved physical properties, light weight and impact resistance. It is noted that in the modified method of Nesgaard, the current returns to the power source via the metal sheath of the tubing encapsulated conductor.
Re-claim 16, Nesgaard, as modified, discloses the metal sheath comprising aluminum (see Holzmueller, col. 8 line 15).
Re-claim 18, Nesgaard, as modified, discloses the tubing encapsulated conductor further comprising at least one insulated tubing (320 of Cusson) positionable around the at least one interior wire to provide electrical and mechanical isolation for the at least one interior wire.
Re-claim 19, Nesgaard, as modified, discloses the tubing encapsulated conductor further comprising a filling material (320) positionable between the interior wire and the metal sheath to maintain the position of the interior wire within the tubing encapsulated conductor.
Re-claim 20, Nesgaard discloses the wellbore operation being a tubing deployment operation.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesgaard in view of Cusson et al. and Holzmueller et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Nadakal et al.
Claim 17 additionally recites the ground wire comprising a copper wire having a 14 gauge to 20 gauge thickness. Nadakal et al. discloses a system comprising ground (drain) wire (22) comprising a copper wire having a 14 gauge to 20 gauge thickness (col. 2, line 48). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a ground wire as taught by Nadakal et al. for the ground wire (of Cusson et al.) in the modified method of Nesgaard to meet the specific use of the resulting system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 15, and 16 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that “Holzmueller's metallic shield 550 is electrically insulated on its inner side by insulation 530 and an insulation shield, and on its outer side by a barrier layer 560 and cable jacket 570. The metallic shield 550 plainly fails to teach or suggest a metal sheath in electrical contact with a ground wire.” Examiner would disagree. First, the metallic shield 550 of Holzmueller is NOT electrically insulated on its inner side. Inner side of metallic shield 550 is in direct contact with insulation shield 540 which is a semiconductive layer. Second, the rejection is a 103 rejection, where the combination of Cusson and Holzmueller teaches a metal sheath in electrical contact with a ground wire. If Holzmuller were disclosed a ground wire in electrical contact with metal sheath 550, it would be a 102 rejection.
Applicant argues that to meet the claimed invention, the Office Action (OA) must reconstruct a new cable arrangement, and such reconstruction would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Examiner would disagree because there is no new cable arrangement. The OA, instead, proposes that before extruding layer 330 in Cusson, one skilled in the art would add a metal sheath, 550 adjacent to outer semiconductive layer 540, as taught by Holzmueller to further protect the interior wire.
Applicant argues that there is no suggestion or motivation to retrofit Cusson with Holzmueller’s metallic shield 550 because:
(1) Holzmueller's metallic shield is not a ground path, as required by the claims;
(2) Cusson already teaches a metallic armor fulfilling the same pressure barrier purposes as the metal sheath in a separate location; and
(3) Placing Holzmueller's metallic shield internal and adjacent to the ground wire 310 would block the inner jacket 330, preventing jacket deformability.
Examiner would disagree:
Holzmueller does teach metallic shield 550 to serve as a ground plane (col. 8 lines 12-13).
Applicant states that Cusson already teaches a metallic armor fulfilling the pressure barrier purpose as the metal sheath in a sepration location, pointing to col. 5 lines 20-23 and col. 8 lines 36-41. However, neither of the two phrases disclose the pressure barrier function as argued by the applicant.
Placing Holzmueller’s metallic shield 550 adjacent to outer semiconductive layer 325 of Cusson before extruding layer 330 will NOT prevent the defomability of layer 330. The modification in the OA, metallic shield 550 of Holzmueller is placed inside layer 330, and layer 330 is extruded to bind the conductors (col. 5 lines 14-15). Adding metallic shield 550 of Holzmueller will NOT prevent the deformability of layer 330.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841