DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (FIG 7-11) claims 1-6 and 8-15 in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 7 is withdrawn for further consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 20220254288A1) in view of Kim et al (US20200393947A1)
Re claim 1 Huang teaches, a display device (108, fig 20) [0066] comprising:
a display panel (120, fig 20) [0066] including a display area (120A, fig 20) [0068], a non-display area (120B, fig 20) [0068] surrounding the display area (120A, fig 20), and a non-pad area (area outside 120A, fig 20) located outside the display area;
a dam-applied area (130, fig 20/21) [0069] disposed in the non-display area (120 B, fig 20/21) and surrounding the display area (120A, fig 20);
a gate driver (DR2, fig 20/21) disposed in at least one side of the non-display area (120B, fig 20); and
an overcoat layer (PR, fig 21) [0067] disposed in the display area (120A) [0067] and the non-pad area (120B) [0067], and disposed on the gate driver (DR2, fig 20) [0067],
wherein the gate driver (DR2) includes a gate driving circuit [0039].
Huang does not teach the gate driver includes a dummy gate driving circuit.
Kim teaches the gate driver (D-GIP, fig 11) [0140] includes a dummy gate driving circuit [0140].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Kim into the structure of Hung to include the gate driver includes a dummy gate driving circuit as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang based on the teaching of Kim in the above manner for the purpose of which may prevent degradation of display quality caused by a beacon signal. [0027].
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang modified by Kim as applied to the claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al (US 20140183479 A1).
Re claim 2 Huang in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the non-pad area (120B, fig 20/21) Huang 0050] includes: a non-pad bezel area (area under 110, fig 20/21) [0037] located on one side of the display area (120A, fig 20);
a moisture invasion prevention pattern array structure (128, fig 3) [0042] including a plurality of transmissive areas (126, fig 3) [Huang, 0042] and a plurality of display areas (100A, fig 3) [0043] is disposed,
wherein each of the plurality of display areas (100A) includes the overcoat layer (130, fig 20/21); and
a corner bezel area (110, fig 20) located outside the non-pad bezel area (top area of 130), wherein an outer side end of the overcoat layer (130, fig 20) is aligned with an outer side end of the corner bezel area (110, fig 20) [0037], wherein the moisture invasion prevention pattern array structure (128, fig 20/21) includes an undercut structure (fig 21) disposed under the overcoat layer (130, fig 20/21) .
Huang and Kim do not teach each of the plurality of transmissive areas and the plurality of display areas includes an organic material layer.
Park teaches each of the plurality of transmissive areas (left /right TA, fig 4) [0081] and the plurality of display areas (EA, fig 4) [0081] includes an organic material layer (352, fig 4) [0081].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Park into the structure of Huang and Kim to include each of the plurality of transmissive areas and the plurality of display areas includes an organic material layer as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang and Kim based teaching of Park in the above manner for the purpose of improving transparent organic light emitting display device [0012].
Re claim 3 Huang in view of Kim and Park teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the moisture invasion prevention pattern array structure (encapsulation part, fig 3) [Park 0084] including the plurality of transmissive areas (left/right TA, fig 3) [Park, 0077] and the plurality of display areas (EA, fig 3) is further disposed in the corner bezel area, (outer layer) and wherein the moisture invasion prevention pattern array structure (encapsulation part, fig 3) includes the undercut structure (middle cut in C, fig 3) disposed under the overcoat layer (317, fig 3) [Park, 0077].
Re claim 4 Huang in view of Kim and Park teach the display device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of transmissive areas (TA, fig 2) [Park, 0045] is spaced apart from each other (see fig 2) in a first direction (vertical, fig 2) and a second direction (horizontal , fig 2) different from the first direction (vertical, fig 2), and each of the display areas (EAs, fig 2) is disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of transmissive areas (TA, fig 2),
wherein the plurality of transmissive areas (left/right TA, fig 2) further includes a plurality of slit lines, (gap between each TA) wherein each of the slit lines is disposed between adjacent ones of the transmissive area (TA, fig 2), and
wherein the slit lines (gaps between Tas, fig 2) include a first slit line (middle gap) disposed between transmissive areas (TA, fig 2) adjacent to each other in the first direction vertical) and a second slit line (horizonal) disposed between transmissive areas (TA, fig 2) adjacent to each other in the second direction (horizontal, fig 2) [Park, 0045].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang modified by Kim and Park as applied to claims 1 & 2 above, and further in view of Yun et al (US20220199729A1).
Re claim 5 Huang in view of Kim and Park teaches the display device of claim 2.
Huang, Kim and Park do not teach the undercut structure is disposed under the overcoat layer, and the organic material layer is located on top of the overcoat layer, and wherein a side end of the organic material layer is aligned with a side end of the overcoat layer protruding inwardly beyond a side end of the undercut structure.
Yun teaches the undercut structure (Gv, fig 14) [0226] is disposed under the overcoat layer (310, fig 14) [0174], and the organic material layer (320, fig 14) [0174] is located on top of the overcoat layer (310, fig 14), and wherein a side end of the organic material layer (320, fig 14) is aligned with a side end (side ends in GV) of the overcoat layer (310, fig 14) protruding inwardly beyond a side end of the undercut structure (Gv, fig 14) [0226].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Yun into the structure of Huang, Kim and Park to include the undercut structure is disposed under the overcoat layer, and the organic material layer is located on top of the overcoat layer, and wherein a side end of the organic material layer is aligned with a side end of the overcoat layer protruding inwardly beyond a side end of the undercut structure as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang, Kim and Park based on the teaching of Yun in the above manner for the purpose of improving reliability of the display panel [0133].
Re claim 6 Huang, Kim, Park and Yun teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the undercut structure (Gv, fig 14) [Yun, 0226] is located in at least at a boundary of the display area (boundary of DA1, fig 14) [Yun, 0208] distinguishing the transmissive area (SNDA2, fig 14) [Yun, 0208] and the display area (DA1), fig 14) from each other [Yun, 0226].
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Kim and Park as applied to claims 1 & 2 above and further in view of Cheng et al (US20160284297A1).
Re claim 8 Huang, Kim and Park teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the gate driving circuit (GIP, fig 11/12) [Kim 0136] includes a plurality of gate driving patterns (GIP1/GIP2/GIP3/GIP4, fig 12) [Kim 0036] and a plurality of gate driving wirings (connections between GIP1 and AA) , wherein the dummy gate driving circuit (D-GIP) includes a plurality of dummy gate driving patterns (D-GIP1-DGIP2, fig 12) and a plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (connection wiring between D-GIP1-DGIP2 and AA, fig 12) [Kim 0136], and
Huang, Kim and Park do not teach the plurality of gate driving patterns, the plurality of gate driving wirings, the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns, and the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings are disposed at a same layer.
Cheng teaches teach the plurality of gate driving patterns (320_1/320_2, fig 7) [0047], the plurality of gate driving wirings (GD31/GD32 and GD33, fig 7)[0047], the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns (dummy GD, fig 7) [0047], and the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (GD 30, fig 7) [0047] are disposed at a same layer (same layer, fig 3/7) [0047].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Cheng into the structure of Huang, Kim and Park to include the plurality of gate driving patterns, the plurality of gate driving wirings, the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns, and the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings are disposed at a same layer the plurality of gate driving patterns, the plurality of gate driving wirings, the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns, and the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings are disposed at a same layer as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang, Kim and Park based on the teaching of Cheng in the above manner, doing so the effective charging times of the pixel units may be increased [0035].
Re claim 9 Huang, Kim and Park teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the display device (340, fig 7) further comprises: a metal wiring line (INA/INB, fig 7) disposed in a different layer (top of 320_1, fig 7) [0047] from the layer (layer of 320_1, fig 7) in which the plurality of gate driving patterns (320_1/320_2, fig 7), the plurality of gate driving wirings (GD31, GD32, fig 7), the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns (dummy GD, fig 7) and the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (GD30, fig 7) are disposed; and
a contact electrode (330_1, fig 7) [0042] electrically connecting each of the dummy gate driving pattern (dummy GD) and the dummy gate driving wiring (GD30, fig 7) to the metal wiring line (INA/INB, fig 7) [Cheng, 0047].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al modified by Kim as applied to claims 1and 2 above, and further in view of Kim II et al (US20080158124A1)
Re claim 10 Huang in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the gate driving circuit (GIP1, fig 12) [Kim, 0079] extends along a first direction (vertical) as a longitudinal direction (y-axis) of the display panel (AA, fig 12), wherein the dummy gate driving circuit (D-GIP1, fig 12) extends along a first direction as a width direction (x-axis) of the display panel (AA, fig 12), and wherein the dummy gate driving circuit (D-GIP1, fig 12) [Kim, 0079].
Huang and Kim do not teach the dummy gate is disposed outwardly of an outermost portion of the overcoat layer covering the gate driver.
Kim II teaches the dummy gate (30, fig 1) [0029] is disposed outwardly of an outermost portion of the overcoat layer (liquid crystal layer, fig 1) [0027] covering the gate driver (22, fig 1) [0031].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Kim II into the structure of Huang and Kim to include the dummy gate is disposed outwardly of an outermost portion of the overcoat layer covering the gate driver as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang and Kim based on the teaching of Kim II in the above manner for the purpose of improving the brightness uniformity by making a charge amount of a storage capacitor of a pixel connected to a last gate line be approximately equal to that of a storage capacitor of a pixel connected to other gate line [0011].
Re claim 11 Huang in view of Kim and Kim II teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the dummy gate driving circuit (30, fig 1) [0029] is located in the dam-applied area (area between 14 and 12, fig 1) and vertically non-overlaps the overcoat layer (liquid crystal layer) [Kim II 0027].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Kim and Kim II as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Cheng et al (US20160284297A1).
Re claim 12 Huang in view of Kim and Kim II teaches the display device of claim 10,
Huang, Kim and Kim II do not teach the dummy gate driving circuit includes a plurality of dummy gate driving patterns and a plurality of dummy gate driving wirings.
wherein the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns includes a first dummy gate driving pattern and a second dummy gate driving pattern spaced apart from the first dummy gate driving pattern , and wherein the first dummy gate driving pattern and the second dummy gate driving pattern are arranged in the first direction different from the second direction.
Cheng teaches the dummy gate driving circuit (GD30, fig 7) [0047] includes a plurality of dummy gate driving patterns (left GD30, right GD30, fig 7) [0047] and a plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (left/right wiring to INA, fig 7)
wherein the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns (left GD30/right GD30, fig 7) includes a first dummy gate driving pattern (left GD30, fig 7) and a second dummy gate driving pattern (right GD30, fig 7) spaced apart from the first dummy gate driving pattern (see fig 7), and wherein the first dummy gate driving pattern (left GD30, fig 7) and the second dummy gate driving pattern (right GD30, fig 7) are arranged in the first direction (x-direction) different from the second direction (Y-direction).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Cheng into the structure of Huang, Kim and Kim II to include the dummy gate driving circuit includes a plurality of dummy gate driving patterns and a plurality of dummy gate driving wirings.
wherein the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns includes a first dummy gate driving pattern and a second dummy gate driving pattern spaced apart from the first dummy gate driving pattern, and wherein the first dummy gate driving pattern and the second dummy gate driving pattern are arranged in the first direction different from the second direction as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang, Kim and Kim II based on the teaching of Cheng in the above manner for the purpose of doing so, the effective charging times of the pixel units may be increased [0035].
Further, it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al modified by Kim, Kim II and Cheng as applied to claims 1,2, 10 and 12 above, and further in view of Ha et al (US20200135764A1).
Re claim 13 Huang, Kim, Kim II and Cheng teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (wires of INA, fig 7) [ Cheng, 0047] includes first and second dummy gate driving wirings (wires of INA, fig 7) spaced apart from the first and second dummy gate driving patterns (left GD30 and right GD30) [ Cheng, 0047].
Huang, Kim., Kim II and Cheng do not teach the first and second dummy gate driving wirings outputting a reset signal, and wherein the display device further comprises:
a plurality of reset signal supply lines supplying the reset signal output from the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings to each of the first and second dummy gate driving patterns; and
a connection wiring line transmitting the reset signal supplied from the plurality of reset signal supply lines to the display area.
Ha does teach the first and second dummy gate driving wirings ( GCLK1 and GCLK2, fig 2) [0039-0040] outputting a reset signal (Gk-1 to Gk-2, fig 2) [0039-0040], and wherein the display device (fig 2) further comprises:
a plurality of reset signal supply lines (signal lines of GK-1 to GK-2, fig 2) supplying the reset signal output (fig 2) from the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (GCLK1 and GCLK2, fig 2) [0039-0040] to each of the first and second dummy gate driving patterns (fig 2); and
a connection wiring line (Connection lines among the gate stages (G(k−1), G(k), G(k+1)) may transmit the start signal (Vst), fig 2) [0039] transmitting the reset signal supplied from the plurality of reset signal supply lines to the display area (120, fig 1-2) [0035].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Ha into the structure of Huang, Kim., Kim II and Cheng to include the first and second dummy gate driving wirings outputting a reset signal, and wherein the display device further comprises:
a plurality of reset signal supply lines supplying the reset signal output from the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings to each of the first and second dummy gate driving patterns; and
a connection wiring line transmitting the reset signal supplied from the plurality of reset signal supply lines to the display area as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang, Kim, Kim II and Cheng based on the teaching of Ha in the above manner for the purpose of improving the functionality of the device.
Further, it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Re claim 14 Huang, Kim., Kim II, Cheng and Ha teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of dummy gate driving patterns (dummy GD, fig 7) [0047], and the plurality of dummy gate driving wirings (GD 30, fig 7) [0047] are disposed at a same layer (same layer, fig 3/7) [0047] in which the undercut structure(fig 7) is disposed .
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Kim as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shih et al (US 20220043296 A1).
Re claim 15 Huang in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the display device further comprises: a pad area (bottom part of BR, fig 20) disposed on one side of the display panel 108, fig 20) opposite to the non-pad area (top of 120);
Huang and Kim do not teach a cutting line located outside the non-pad area, and wherein the cutting line is constructed to control a size of the display panel.
Shih teaches a cutting line (pre cut domain C in NAA, fig 1A) [0033-0034] located outside the non-pad area, and wherein the cutting line is constructed to control a size of the display panel (fig 1A) [0033].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Shih into the structure of Huang and Kim to include a cutting line located outside the non-pad area, and wherein the cutting line is constructed to control a size of the display panel as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang and Kim based on the teaching of Shih in the above manner for the purpose of providing a driver circuit with a structure conducive to improvement of yield of a driver circuit cutting process and prevention of signal interference [0007].
. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al (US11075222B2) teaches the display apparatus includes an active area and a bezel area. The bezel area BA may be an area where a gate driving circuit, plurality of gate lines, dummy gate line are disposed.
/PRATIKSHA JAYANT LOHAKARE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/17/26