DETAILED ACTION
IDS
All references provided in the IDS have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 03/03/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner notes the cancellation of claims 13-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Claim 10, line 4 and claim 10, line 6 recites “an ohmic contact material”. “an ohmic contact material” is already recited in Claim 10, lines 2-3. It is unclear if the same “ohmic contact material” is required for the line 4 and line 6 recitations of “ohmic contact material” or if the “ohmic contact materials” can be different. It has been interpreted to mean different ohmic contact materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 10-12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 11114499 B2).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Lee discloses:
A laminated light-emitting unit (Lee, light emitting stacked structure; Fig. 12, not numbered), comprising:
a first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54), comprising a top surface (Lee, Fig 12, element 20 has a top surface), a bottom surface opposite to the top surface (Lee, Fig. 12, element 20 has a bottom surface opposite to the top surface) and a plurality of side surfaces disposed between the top surface and the bottom surface (Lee, Fig. 12, shows 2 portions of element 20 and therefore have a plurality of side surfaces);
a second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30), laminated on the top surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12 shows element 30 stacked the top surface of element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54);
a common electrode (Lee, third scan line, Fig. 12, element 130B, Col. 17, lines 11-19), disposed on a first side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, shows 130B disposed on the left side surface of the left portion of element 20, which can be considered a first side surface) of the plurality of side surfaces and connected to a negative electrode of the first light-emitting component (Lee, first n-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 21n) and a negative electrode of the second light-emitting component (Lee, second n-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 31n); wherein the common electrode extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12, a portion of the scan lines (130B) extends to the bottom surface of element 20);
a second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120), disposed on a second side surface of the plurality of side surfaces (Lee, Fig. 12, the right most portion of element 20 can be considered a second side surface); wherein the first side surface and the second side surface are different side surfaces, (Lee, Fig. 12 shows element 120 disposed on a different side surface than the first side surface, and can therefore be considered a second side surface); the second electrode is electrically connected to a positive electrode of the second light-emitting component (Lee, second p-type contact electrode; Fig 12, element 35pc, Col. 24, lines 57-60) and insulated from the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig.12, element 20 (right portion) is insulated from the second electrode (120) by the second insulating layer (element 83)), and the second electrode extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12 shows element 120 extending to the bottom surface of element 20); and
a first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p'), spaced apart from the common electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to a positive electrode of the first light-emitting component (Lee, first p-type contact electrode layer; Fig. 12, element 25, Col. 25, lines 59-60) and insulated from the second light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12, 25p' is insulated from stack 30 by insulating layer 81 and 83).
Re: Dependent Claim 3, Lee disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the first light- emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54) and the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) are inorganic light-emitting structures (Lee, Col. 11, lines 37-48 and Col. 12, lines 1-10), and the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p') is disposed on the second side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, element 120 and 25p' are disposed on the right portion of element 20 which is the second side surface) and extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12, shows element 25p' on the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component).
Re: Dependent Claim 4, Lee disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the first light- emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54) and the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) are inorganic light-emitting structures (Lee, Col. 11, lines 37-48 and Col. 12, lines 1-10), and the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p') is disposed on the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12).
Re: Dependent Claim 10, Lee disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p') is electrically connected to the positive electrode (Lee, first p-type contact electrode layer; Fig. 12, element 25, Col. 25, lines 59-60) of the first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54) through an ohmic contact material (Lee, Col. 24, lines 27-30), the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) is electrically connected to a positive electrode (Lee, second p-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 35pc, Col. 24, lines 57-60) of the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) through an ohmic contact material (Lee, Cols. 31-32, lines 66-2), and the common electrode (Lee, third scan line, Fig. 12, element 130B, Col. 17, lines 11-19) is electrically connected to the negative electrode (Lee, first n-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 21n) of the first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54) and the negative electrode (Lee, second n-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 31n) of the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) through an ohmic contact material (Lee, Col. 11, lines 60-67 and Col. 12, lines 17-24).
Re: Dependent Claim 11, Lee disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
the first side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, shows 130B disposed on the left side surface of the left portion of element 20, which can be considered a first side surface) and the second side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the right most portion of element 20 can be considered a second side surface) are opposite sides (Lee, Fig. 12).
Re: Dependent Claim 12, Lee disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the first side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, shows 130B disposed on the left side surface of the left portion of element 20, which can be considered a first side surface) and the second side surface(Lee, Fig. 12, the right most portion of element 20 can be considered a second side surface) are adjacent sides (Lee, Fig. 12).
Re: Dependent Claim 17, Lee disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
A display panel (Lee, display device; Fig.7, not numbered, Col. 19, lines 1-4) comprising: an array substrate (Lee, base substrate; Fig. 7, element 101); the laminated light-emitting unit as claimed in claim 1 (Lee, pixels; Fig. 7, element 110, Col. 19, lines 41-45), wherein the laminated light-emitting unit is disposed on the array substrate and connected to the array substrate (Lee, Fig. 7, Col. 19, lines 37-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,6,8, and 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11114499 B2) in view of Kim (US 11282981 B2).
Re: Claim 2, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
further comprises:
a third light-emitting component (Lee, third epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 40), laminated on a side of the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) facing away from the first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54);
a third electrode (Lee, third p-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 45p), spaced apart from the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p'), the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) and the common electrode (Lee, third scan line, Fig. 12, element 130B, Col. 17, lines 11-19); wherein the third electrode is disposed on a third side surface of the plurality of side surfaces (Lee, Fig. 12, shows element 45p disposed on the right most portion of element 20, which can be considered a third side surface of the plurality of side surfaces); the third side surface and the first side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the left most portion of element 20) are different sides, the third electrode is electrically connected to a positive electrode (Lee, third n-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 41n, Col. 13, lines 17-25) of the third light-emitting component and insulated from the first light-emitting component and the second light-emitting component (Lee, Col. 13, lines 23-31),
Lee does not disclose:
and the third electrode extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component;
Kim discloses:
and the third electrode (Kim, third thin film conductive pattern; Fig. 1B, element 164) extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Kim, first light emitting part; Fig. 1B, element LE1);
Lee discloses a third electrode, but does not disclose the third electrode to extend to the bottom surface of the first-light emitting component. Kim discloses a third electrode extending toward the bottom surface of the first light emitting component for use in a vertical light emitting unit stack. Kim and Lee both disclose light emitting stacks and are therefore analogous art. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) before the effective filing date to extend the third electrode of Lee, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of making some electrical connections between layers and insulating other connections (Kim, Cols. 19-20, lines 64-10).
Lee further discloses:
wherein the common electrode (Lee, third scan line, Fig. 12, element 130B, Col. 17, lines 11-19) is electrically connected to a negative electrode (Lee, third pad; Fig. 12, element 40P, Col. 25, lines 29-35) of the third light- emitting component,
the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p') and the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) are insulated from the third light- emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12),
and the first electrode is disposed on the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12).
Re: Claim 6, Lee and Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the first light- emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54), the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) and the third light-emitting component (Lee, third epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 40) are inorganic light-emitting structures (Lee, Col. 11, lines 37-48, Col. 12, lines 1-10 and lines 25-32).
Re: Claim 8, Lee and Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54) is a red light-emitting component (Lee, Col. 13, lines 25-31), the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) is a green light-emitting component (Lee, Col. 13, lines 25-31), and the third light-emitting component (Lee, third epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 40) is a blue light-emitting component (Lee, Col. 13, lines 25-31).
Re: Claim 19, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the laminated light-emitting unit (Lee, light emitting stacked structure; Fig. 12, not numbered) further comprises a third light-emitting component (Lee, third epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 40) and a third electrode (Lee, third p-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 45p), the third light-emitting component is laminated on a side of the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 30) facing away from the first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col. 9, lines 24-54); the third electrode is spaced apart from the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p'), the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) and the common electrode (Lee, third scan line, Fig. 12, element 130B, Col. 17, lines 11-19); wherein the third electrode is disposed on a third side surface of the plurality of side surfaces (Lee, Fig. 12, shows element 45p disposed on the right most portion of element 20, which can be considered a third side surface of the plurality of side surfaces); the third side surface and the first side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the left most portion of element 20) are different sides, the third electrode is electrically connected to a positive electrode (Lee, third n-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 41n, Col. 13, lines 17-25) of the third light-emitting component and insulated from the first light-emitting component and the second light-emitting component (Lee, Col. 13, lines 23-31),
Lee does not disclose:
and the third electrode extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component;
Kim discloses:
and the third electrode (Kim, third thin film conductive pattern; Fig. 1B, element 164) extends to the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Kim, first light emitting part; Fig. 1B, element LE1);
Lee discloses a third electrode, but does not disclose the third electrode to extend to the bottom surface of the first-light emitting component. Kim discloses a third electrode extending toward the bottom surface of the first light emitting component for use in a vertical light emitting unit stack. Kim and Lee both disclose light emitting stacks and are therefore analogous art. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to extend the third electrode of Lee, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of making some electrical connections between layers and insulating other connections (Kim, Cols. 19-20, lines 64-10).
Lee further discloses:
wherein the common electrode (Lee, third scan line, Fig. 12, element 130B, Col. 17, lines 11-19) is electrically connected to a negative electrode (Lee, third pad; Fig. 12, element 40P, Col. 25, lines 29-35) of the third light- emitting component, the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p') and the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) are insulated from the third light- emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12), and the first electrode is disposed on the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12).
Claim 5 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11114499 B2) in view of Gu (US 20150255012 A1).
Re: Claim 5, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
the second light- emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) is an inorganic light-emitting structure (Lee, Col. 12, lines 1-10),
Lee does not disclose:
the first light-emitting component is an organic light-emitting structure,
Gu discloses:
the first light-emitting component (Gu, first OLED; Fig. 7, element 702) is an organic light-emitting structure (Gu, ¶ [0042]),
Lee discloses a first and second light-emitting component, the second light-emitting component is an inorganic light-emitting component. Lee does not disclose that the first-light emitting component is an organic light-emitting component. Gu discloses a first OLED in a vertical stack for use in a display device and reducing light loss (Gu, ¶ [0002]). Lee and Gu disclose display devices and their configurations and are therefore analogous art. It would be obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date to include the first organic light emitting structure taught by Gu to the structure of Lee for the purpose of reducing pixel size as each organic light-emitting structure can direct emit light without a backlight (Gu, ¶ [0035]).
Lee further discloses:
and the first electrode (Lee, ohmic electrode; Fig. 12, element 25p') is disposed on the bottom surface of the first light-emitting component (Lee, Fig. 12).
Claim 7 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11114499 B2) in view of Kim (US 11282981 B2) and in further in view of Gu (US 20150255012 A1).
Re: Claim 7, Lee and Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
wherein the second light-emitting component (Lee, second epitaxial stack; Fig.12, element 30) and the third light-emitting component (Lee, third epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 40) are inorganic light-emitting structures (Col. 12, lines 1-10 and lines 25-32), and the first light-emitting component (Lee, first epitaxial stack; Fig. 12, element 20, Col.9, lines 24-54)
Lee does not disclose:
and the first light-emitting component is an organic light-emitting structure.
Gu discloses:
the first light-emitting component (Gu, first OLED; Fig. 7, element 702) is an organic light-emitting structure (Gu, ¶ [0042]),
Lee, as modified by Kim, discloses a first and second light-emitting component, the second light-emitting component is an inorganic light-emitting component. Lee, as modified by Kim, does not disclose that the first-light emitting component is an organic light-emitting component. Gu discloses a first OLED in a vertical stack for use in a display device and reducing light loss (Gu, ¶ [0002]). Lee, Kim, and Gu disclose display devices and their configurations and are therefore analogous art. It would be obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date to include the first organic light emitting structure taught by Gu to the structure of Lee, as modified by Kim, for the purpose of reducing pixel size as each organic light-emitting structure can direct emit light without a backlight (Gu, ¶ [0035]).
Claim 18 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 11114499 B2) in view of Guo (US 20240297154 A1).
Re: Claim 18, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Lee further discloses:
the display panel, (Lee, display device; Fig.7, not numbered, Col. 19, lines 1-4), the laminated light-emitting unit (Lee, pixels; Fig. 7, element 110, Col. 19, lines 41-45), and the array substrate (Lee, base substrate; Fig. 7, element 101)
Lee is silent regarding:
wherein the display panel further comprises a focusing lens, the focusing lens is disposed opposite to the array substrate, and the laminated light-emitting unit is disposed between the focusing lens and the array substrate and corresponds to the focusing lens.
Guo discloses:
wherein the display panel (Guo, display device; Fig. 1, not numbered) further comprises a focusing lens (Guo, optical micro-structure), the focusing lens is disposed opposite to the array substrate (Guo, lower transparent substrate; Fig. 1, element 100), and the laminated light-emitting unit (Guo, micro-LED chip; Figs. 1 and 2, element 310) is disposed between the focusing lens and the array substrate and corresponds to the focusing lens.
Lee discloses a display panel, an array substrate, and a laminated light-emitting unit, but does not disclose the display panel to further have a focusing lens. Guo discloses a lens, array substrate, and a laminated light-emitting unit for use in a display device. Lee and Guo both disclose elements and configurations of a display and are therefore analogous art. It would be obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date to include the laminated light-emitting unit of Lee with the display device structure of Guo for the benefit of reducing manufacturing processes (Guo, ¶ [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re: Dependent Claim 9,
Lee (US 11114499 B2) discloses:
wherein the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) extends to a side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the vertical portion of 120 can be considered a side surface) adjacent to the second side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the right most portion of element 20 can be considered a second side surface), the third electrode (Lee, third p-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 45p)
Lee and/or the combination made of prior art made of record considered pertinent to the instant application do not disclose:
the second electrode extends to a side surface adjacent to the second side surface, extends between the first light- emitting component and the second light-emitting component and extends between the second light- emitting component and the third light-emitting component;
the third electrode extends to a side surface adjacent to the third side surface, extends between the first light-emitting component and the second light-emitting component and extends between the second light-emitting component and the third light-emitting component.
It is not obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to extend the electrodes between the various light-emitting components to independently control certain structures but also allow for color mixing.
Re: Dependent Claim 20,
Lee (US 11114499 B2) discloses:
wherein the second electrode (Lee, data lines; Fig. 12, element 120) extends to a side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the vertical portion of 120 can be considered a side surface) adjacent to the second side surface (Lee, Fig. 12, the right most portion of element 20 can be considered a second side surface), the third electrode (Lee, third p-type contact electrode; Fig. 12, element 45p)
Lee and/or the combination made of prior art made of record considered pertinent to the instant application do not disclose:
the second electrode extends to a side surface adjacent to the second side surface, extends between the first light- emitting component and the second light-emitting component and extends between the second light- emitting component and the third light-emitting component;
the third electrode extends to a side surface adjacent to the third side surface, extends between the first light-emitting component and the second light-emitting component and extends between the second light-emitting component and the third light-emitting component.
It is not obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to extend the electrodes between the various light-emitting components to independently control certain structures but also allow for color mixing.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure.
Chae (US 10892297 B2) discloses a light emitting diode (LED) stack for a display, Li (US 20200403026 A1) discloses a micro-color LED with two or more LED structures, and Cao (US 20070170444 A1) discloses a multi color LED chip with light emitting structures.
Conclusion
/NIMARTA KAUR CHOWDHARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898