DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in the current application.
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 1-9 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on January 23rd 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 23rd 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: The viscosity range in line 2 recites to be between “500 and 15.00 mPa.s.” instead of “.500 and 15.00 mPa.s.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikkelsen et al., (WO 2015/059245 A1). Evidenced by NPL Fabian et al., “Isolation and characterization of starch from defatted rice bran” (from Journal of the Taiwan Institute of Chemical Engineers 42 (2011) pp. 86-91).
Regarding claims 1 and 4: Mikkelsen discloses a high-protein fermented dairy product (i.e., yogurt) comprising 21-25wt% of protein (see Mikkelsen abstract; page 25, lines 28-32), where 0-20wt% of the protein comprises micellar casein (see Mikkelsen page 22, lines 10-16) and at least 60wt% of the protein comprise denatured whey protein (see Mikkelsen page 6, lines 4-5). Since the claimed total protein, micellar casein and whey protein content ranges overlap the total protein, micellar casein and whey protein contents ranges in Mikkelesen, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
As to the whey protein being “microparticulated” recited in claim 1: Mikkelsen discloses denatured whey protein is heat denatured, cooled and subjected to high shear treatment (see Mikkelsen from page 17, line 34 to page 18, line 16) where 50-100wt% have particles size in the range of 1-10 microns, where at least 80wt% have a diameter of about 1 micron (see Mikkelsen page 8, lines 19-31; page 9, lines 4-15). Since the current application discloses microparticulated whey protein is attained by heat-treating whey protein, cooling and subjecting to high shear treatment to attain particle size diameter of 0.1-3 microns (see Specification page 5, lines 6-18; page 7, lines 1-13), the heat-denatured whey protein in Mikkelsen reads on the claimed microparticulated whey protein.
As to the claimed stabilizer and fat contents: Mikkelsen discloses the high-protein fermented dairy product comprises at most 15wt% fat (see Mikkelsen page 17, lines 17-22) and 0.01-5wt% stabilizers and 0.01-3wt% emulsifiers (see Mikkelsen page 24, lines 10-12 and 21-23). Since the claimed stabilizer and fat content ranges, overlap, or lie inside the stabilizer and fat content ranges in Mikkelsen, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 2: Mikkelsen discloses at least 60wt% of the protein comprise heat-denatured whey protein (i.e., microparticulated whey protein) (see Mikkelsen page 6, lines 4-5). Since the claimed microparticulated whey protein content range lies inside the microparticulated whey protein content range in Mikkelesen, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 3: Mikkelsen discloses a high-protein fermented dairy product (i.e., yogurt) comprising 21-25wt% of protein (see Mikkelsen abstract; page 25, lines 28-32). Since the claimed total protein content range overlaps the total protein content range in Mikkelesen, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 5: Mikkelsen disclose the high-protein fermented dairy product comprises 0.01-5wt% stabilizers and 0.01-3wt% emulsifiers, such as rice bran extract (see Mikkelsen page 24, lines 10-12 and 18-23) and non-dairy protein, such as gelatin (see Mikkelsen page 22, lines 18-20). Since rice bran is known to comprise starch (see Fabian page 87, left column, top paragraph), Mikkelsen meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6: Mikkelsen discloses denatured whey protein is heat denatured, cooled and subjected to high shear treatment (see Mikkelsen from page 17, line 34 to page 18, line 16) where 50-100wt% have particles size in the range of 1-10 microns, where at least 80wt% have a diameter of about 1 micron (see Mikkelsen page 8, lines 19-31; page 9, lines 4-15). Since the claimed mean particle diameter overlaps the particle size in Mikkelsen, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 7: Mikkelsen discloses an example where the composition comprised fruit composition (see Mikkelsen page 56, line 4).
Regarding claims 8 and 9: Mikkelsen discloses the high-protein composition has a viscosity of at most 2500cp (i.e., 2.5 mPas). Since the ranges of viscosity recited in claims 8 and 9, overlap the range of viscosity in Mikkelsen, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shang et al., (WO 2019/048513 A1) discloses a stable fermented heat-inactivated dairy product from 0.45 to 0.60% by weight of carboxymethylcellulose, from 0.015 to 0.030% by weight of gellan gum , from 0.45 to 0.60% by weight of pectin, from 0.35 to 0.55% by weight of glutinous starch, said product having a pH of 4.15 to 4.3, a protein content of milk of 2.3 to 3.0 g / 100 ml and a fat content of 1.8 to 4.0 g / 100 ml (see Shang abstract).
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792