DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 16 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that some overlap exists among the identified groups of inventions (see Response at Pg. 1). This is not found persuasive because search and examination of one group is not necessarily coextensive with the remaining groups, due in part to the diverse statutory classes of inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to due to a minor informality: Line 2 should read “… substrate comprises a plurality of …” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 3, the compound Si3H8 is not contemplated by the halosilane formula recited by Claim 2, from which Claim 3 depends. Accordingly, the claim is ambiguous. For purposes of examination, Claim 3 is understood as directed to currently recited halosilanes conforming with the formula of Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0073144 to Chatterjee et al. (“Chatterjee”) in view of US 6,440,860 to DeBoer et al. (“DeBoer”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 5-6, Chatterjee teaches a method of forming a silicon oxide dielectric gap-filling material within a substrate gap feature comprising placing the substrate into a reaction chamber, introducing an oxygen-free halogenated silicon precursor and an oxygen-free co-reactant comprising a noble gas into the chamber, and generating a plasma within the chamber to form a silicon containing gap-filling material which flows into substrate gaps (see Abstract; FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0007]-[0008]; [0018]-[0020], [0023]). According to Chatterjee, exclusion of oxygen during film formation yields increased flowability and improved material properties (see ¶¶ [0018], [0020]).
Chatterjee is noted as disclosing oxidizing agents (see ¶¶ [0007], [0036]). To the extent that Chatterjee does not expressly teach subsequently contacting the substrate with a an oxidizing agent within the context of previously-conducted oxygen-free reaction schemes as claimed, DeBoer is similarly directed to semiconductor processing techniques, and teaches vapor deposition of silicon-based dielectric layer materials (see Abstract; Col. 5, Lns. 3-8). According to DeBoer, such deposited layers can be oxidized to comprise silicon dioxide via exposure to an oxidizing agent (see Col. 4, Lns. 46-57). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have obtained a post-flow dielectric material residing in substrate gaps in the method of Chatterjee via subsequent exposure to an oxidizing agent as taught by DeBoer, in order to obtain silicon oxide dielectric material.
With regard to Claims 2-3, Chatterjee taches halosilanes of the claimed formula (see ¶ [0019]).
With regard to Claim 4, Chatterjee teaches subsequent heating at temperatures within the claimed range without transferring the substrate from the reaction chamber (see ¶ [0029]).
With regard to Claim 7, Chatterjee teaches repeated cycles as claimed (see ¶ [0030]).
With regard to Claim 8, Chatterjee teaches transferring the substrate from the reaction chamber to an ex-situ curing chamber containing moisture (see ¶¶ [0030], [0036]).
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712