DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 11, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “theoretical density” in claims 1 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “theoretical density” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The “measurement density” is rendered indefinite by the relative term “theoretical density.” Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-15 and 17-19 are rejected based on their dependency on rejected claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, and 12-15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US Pub 2024/0213369).
In re claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor device (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 6) comprising: a first electrode (i.e. 191); a second electrode (i.e. 192); an oxide semiconductor layer (i.e. 150) between the first electrode and the second electrode; a gate electrode (i.e. 170) spaced apart from the oxide semiconductor layer; and a gate insulating layer (i.e. 160) insulating the oxide semiconductor layer from the gate electrode, wherein a measurement density of the oxide semiconductor layer is about 90% or more of a theoretical density of the oxide semiconductor layer (i.e. in this case, it is implicit from Kim that the oxide semiconductor layer has a measurement density and that it is about 90% or more of a theoretical density, as best understood by one of ordinary skill in the art).
In re claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises an oxide of at least one of In, Zn, Sn, Ga, or Hf (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
In re claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises at least one of InGaZnO (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
In re claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and a content of the In in the oxide semiconductor layer is greater than or equal to at least one of a content of the Ga or a content of the Zn (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
In re claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and the In, the Ga, and the Zn included in the oxide semiconductor layer is represented by X:Y:Z (1≤X≤7, 1≤Y≤3, and 1≤Z≤3), respectively (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
In re claim 8, Kim discloses further comprising: a substrate (i.e. 110), wherein a longitudinal direction of the oxide semiconductor layer is parallel to a thickness direction of the substrate (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 6).
In re claim 9, Kim discloses wherein each of the oxide semiconductor layer, the gate insulating layer, and the gate electrode are in line such that the oxide semiconductor layer, the gate insulating layer, and the gate electrode are stacked in a horizontal direction with respect to the surface of the substrate and the longitudinal direction of the oxide semiconductor layer, a longitudinal direction of the gate insulating layer, and a longitudinal direction of the gate electrode are perpendicular to a surface of the substrate (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 6).
In re claim 12, Kim discloses wherein, when viewed in cross-section, the gate electrode is thicker than the gate insulating layer (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 6).
In re claim 13, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer is rod-shaped, the gate insulating layer surrounds the oxide semiconductor layer, and the gate electrode surrounds the gate insulating layer (i.e. see at least Figures 1, 2, and 6).
In re claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the first electrode comprises at least Mo, Cr, Al, Cu, etc. (i.e. see at least paragraph 0057).
In re claim 15, Kim discloses further comprising: an oxide isolation layer (i.e. 180) adjacent to the gate electrode, the gate insulating layer, and the oxide semiconductor layer (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 19, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Pub 2020/0044095) in view of Kim (US Pub 2024/0213369).
In re claim 16, Wang et al discloses an electronic device comprising: a plurality of memory cells (i.e. 401), wherein each of the memory cells comprises a switching element (i.e. 101), and a data storage element (i.e. 189) connected to the switching element (i.e. see at least Figure 4; paragraph 0039).
Wang et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the switching element comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, an oxide semiconductor layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; a gate electrode spaced apart from the oxide semiconductor layer; and a gate insulating layer insulating the oxide semiconductor layer from the gate electrode, wherein a measurement density of the oxide semiconductor layer is about 90% or more of a theoretical density of the oxide semiconductor layer.
However, Kim discloses a semiconductor device (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 6) comprising: a first electrode (i.e. 191); a second electrode (i.e. 192); an oxide semiconductor layer (i.e. 150) between the first electrode and the second electrode; a gate electrode (i.e. 170) spaced apart from the oxide semiconductor layer; and a gate insulating layer (i.e. 160) insulating the oxide semiconductor layer from the gate electrode, wherein a measurement density of the oxide semiconductor layer is about 90% or more of a theoretical density of the oxide semiconductor layer (i.e. in this case, it is implicit from Kim that the oxide semiconductor layer has a measurement density and that it is about 90% or more of a theoretical density, as best understood by one of ordinary skill in the art).
The advantage is to provide a transistor capable of allowing high current to flow while occupying a small area (i.e. see at least paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the electronic device as taught by Wang et al with wherein the switching element comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, an oxide semiconductor layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; a gate electrode spaced apart from the oxide semiconductor layer; and a gate insulating layer insulating the oxide semiconductor layer from the gate electrode, wherein a measurement density of the oxide semiconductor layer is about 90% or more of a theoretical density of the oxide semiconductor layer as taught by Kim in order to provide a transistor capable of allowing high current to flow while occupying a small area.
In re claim 18, Wang et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and a content of the In in the oxide semiconductor layer is greater than or equal to at least one of a content of the Ga or a content of the Zn.
However, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and a content of the In in the oxide semiconductor layer is greater than or equal to at least one of a content of the Ga or a content of the Zn (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
The advantage is to provide a transistor capable of allowing high current to flow while occupying a small area (i.e. see at least paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the electronic device as taught by Wang et al with wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and a content of the In in the oxide semiconductor layer is greater than or equal to at least one of a content of the Ga or a content of the Zn as taught by Kim in order to provide a transistor capable of allowing high current to flow while occupying a small area.
In re claim 19, Wang et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and the In, the Ga, and the Zn included in the oxide semiconductor layer is represented by X:Y:Z (1≤X≤7, 1≤Y≤3, and 1≤Z≤3), respectively.
However, Kim discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and the In, the Ga, and the Zn included in the oxide semiconductor layer is represented by X:Y:Z (1≤X≤7, 1≤Y≤3, and 1≤Z≤3), respectively (i.e. see at least paragraph 0084).
The advantage is to provide a transistor capable of allowing high current to flow while occupying a small area (i.e. see at least paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the electronic device as taught by Wang et al with wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, Ga, and Zn, and the In, the Ga, and the Zn included in the oxide semiconductor layer is represented by X:Y:Z (1≤X≤7, 1≤Y≤3, and 1≤Z≤3), respectively as taught by Kim in order to provide a transistor capable of allowing high current to flow while occupying a small area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Wu et al (US Pub 2024/0355933)
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817