Election/Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 - 10, 19 - 23 is acknowledged. Claims 11 - 18 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR. 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 10, 19 - 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sirinorakul et al (7205180).
With regard to claim 1, Sirinorakul et al. disclose an integrated circuit package (for example, see fig. 10) comprising:
a leadframe (32, and DAP) of a conductive material including a die attach pad (DAP) and a lead finger (32) separated from an edge of the die attach pad (DAP), wherein the leadframe has a first surface (a top surface) and a second surface (referred to as “32A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 below) opposite the first surface (the top surface);
retaining features (metallic coating features 38, as shown in fig. 10 below, functions as retaining features) on the lead finger (32) at the second surface (32A1);
a die (Die as shown in fig. 10) on the first surface (the top surface) at the die attach pad (DAP); and
a molding compound (referred to as “M1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 below) that encapsulates the leadframe (32, and DAP) and the die (Die as shown in fig. 10) and extends into the retaining features (metallic coating features 38, as shown in fig. 10 below, functions as retaining features).
With regard to claim 2, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the leadframe includes fabrication features (referred to as “38A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 above) on the second surface (32A1) and the retaining features (38) are arranged amongst the fabrication features (38A).
With regard to claim 3, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the retaining features (38) include an arrangement of retaining features (38) in the second surface (32A1).
With regard to claim 4, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the fabrication features (38A) extend in a first direction (for example, X-direction), and the retaining features (38) include spaced apart grooves (referred to as “G1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 above) that extend longitudinally along the lead finger (32) at the second surface (32A1) a second direction (for example, Y-direction) approximately perpendicular to the first direction (for example, X-direction).
With regard to claim 5, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the lead finger (for example, finger 30, fig. 4L) has a T-shape.
With regard to claim 6, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the retaining features (38) are a first set of retaining features (a first set of retaining features at the lead fingers 32), and a second set of retaining features (a second set of retaining features at the die pad DAP) are formed on the second surface (32A1) at the die attach pad (DAP).
With regard to claim 10, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the lead finger includes a plurality of lead fingers (32, fig. 10 or 30 fig. 4L) arranged around, coplanar with and spaced apart from a periphery of the die attach pad (DAP), each of the lead fingers (32) has respective retaining features (38) formed along the second surface thereof, and the molding compound (M1) extends into the respective retaining features (38).
With regard to claim 19, Sirinorakul et al. disclose a device (for example, see fig. 10) comprising:
a sheet (layers 32, DAP functions as a sheet) of a conductive material having a first surface (a top surface) and a second surface (referred to as “32A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 below) opposite the first surface (the top surface),
wherein fabrication features (referred to as “38A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 below) extend in a first direction (for example, X-direction) along at least one of the first and second surfaces,
the sheet (layers 32, DAP functions as the sheet) including: a die attach pad (DAP); and
a plurality of lead fingers (32, fig. 10) spaced apart from and surrounding (partially surrounding) the die attach pad (DAP), wherein an arrangement (a peak arrangement) of retaining features (metallic coating features 38, as shown in fig. 10 below, functions as retaining features) is formed in at least one lead finger (32) of the lead fingers (32) extending along a second direction (Y-direction) that is approximately perpendicular to the first direction (X-direction).
With regard to claim 20, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the sheet (layers 32, DAP) is a leadframe and the device further comprises: a die (Die as shown in fig. 10) affixed to the first surface at the die attach pad (DAP); and a molding compound (referred to as “M1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 10 above) that encapsulates the leadframe (layers 32, DAP) and the die (Die as shown in fig. 10) and extends into the retaining features of the arrangement of retaining features (38).
With regard to claim 21, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the lead finger (for example, finger 30, fig. 4L) has a T-shape and the retaining features (38) are grooves.
With regard to claim 22, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the arrangement of retaining features (38) includes voids (grooves forming in the features 38) formed on the second surface (32A1) at the die attach pad (DAP).
With regard to claim 23, Sirinorakul et al. disclose at least one void of the voids (grooves forming in the features 38) has spaced apart sidewalls that are tapered in a direction extending from the second surface (32A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirinorakul et al (7205180).
With regard to claim 7, Sirinorakul et al. disclose the retaining features (38) include spaced apart voids (grooves) that extend a depth from the second surface (32A1) towards the first surface (the top surface). Figure 10 of the Sirinorakul et al. reference (shown below) does appear to show the depth (grooves in the features 38) is less than or equal to approximately 40% of a thickness of the leadframe (layers 32, DAP), as claimed. However, since the patent drawings are not labeled as “to scale,” one cannot be certain that the depth is less than or equal to approximately 40% of a thickness of the leadframe as seemingly shown [see MPEP 2125].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form the depth is less than or equal to approximately 40% of a thickness of the leadframe, because Fig. 10 suggests the depth (grooves in the features 38) is less than or equal to approximately 40% of a thickness of the leadframe (layers 32, DAP) and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where device dimensions of the prior art are such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same performance {MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)}
With regard to claim 8, Sirinorakul et al. disclose at least one void of the voids (grooves) has spaced apart sidewalls that are tapered in a direction extending from the second surface (32A1) towards the first surface (the top surface).
With regard to claim 9, Sirinorakul et al. disclose at least one void of the voids (grooves in the retaining features 38) has cross-sectional V-shape.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812