DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species 1 in the reply filed on 10/09/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant alleged that Species 1 read on claims 1 – 16; however, claim 11 is in species 2 Fig. 5 where the auxiliary layer protrude from the protective layer. Claims 1 – 10 and 12 -16 will be examine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 6 – 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by INAGAKI et al. (US 20160064318 A1, “INAGAKI”).
Regarding claim 1, INAGAKI discloses (Fig. 1, 2) a circuit board (10) comprising: a substrate portion that includes a first insulation layer (150Fb & 150Fa) and a first wiring layer (158Fa) buried by the first insulation layer, and a first element mounting portion and a second element mounting portion disposed on an upper surface of the substrate portion (See annotated figure below); a first protective layer (70F) disposed on the substrate portion; and an auxiliary layer (158Fb, 158FbP) that is disposed to overlap at least a part of a first boundary area including a region between the first element mounting portion and the second element mounting portion, the auxiliary layer having higher strength than the first protective layer (See para [0038] & [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first boundary area extends to an edge of the substrate portion (See Fig. 7A – B).
Regarding claim 6, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 1, further comprising: a pad layer that is disposed below the substrate portion; a second protective layer (70S) that is disposed below the substrate portion and includes an opening partially exposing the pad layer; and an external connection terminal (76S) connected to the pad layer through the opening of the second protective layer (See the lower part of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 1,further comprising: a first link pad that is disposed on the substrate portion and connected with the first element mounting portion; and a second link pad that is disposed on the substrate portion and connected with the second element mounting portion, wherein the auxiliary layer (158Fb, 158FbP) is disposed between the first link pad and the second link pad (See the upper part of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 7, wherein the first link pad, the second link pad, and the auxiliary layer are disposed on the upper surface of the substrate (See the upper part of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 8, wherein the first link pad, the second link pad, and the auxiliary layer are disposed on the same layer (See the upper part of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 8, wherein the auxiliary layer (158Fb, 158FbP) has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the first (72+76Ff) or second link pad (72+76Fs) (See the upper part of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary layer is completely embedded in the first protective layer (See the upper part of Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INAGAKI et al. (US 20160064318 A1, “INAGAKI”) in view LIANG et al. (US 20210043817 A1, “LIANG”).
Regarding claim 4, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 1,
INAGAKI is silent on wherein at least one or more holes are disposed inside the auxiliary layer.
However, LIANG discloses (Fig. 5e – 5g) wherein at least one or more holes (261, 262) are disposed inside the auxiliary layer (26).
INAGAKI and LIANG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified INAGAKI to incorporate the teachings of LIANG and provide wherein at least one or more holes (261, 262) are disposed inside the auxiliary layer (26). Doing so would provide physical integrity, manufacturable precision and mechanical robustness.
Claim(s) 13 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over INAGAKI et al. (US 20160064318 A1, “INAGAKI”) in view Nakatani (US 20040227258 A1, “Nakatani”).
Regarding claim 13, INAGAKI discloses the circuit board of claim 1, further comprising: an electronic element that is disposed on each of the first element mounting portion and the second element mounting portion (See Fig. 2); and
INAGAKI is silent on an interposer substrate portion that is disposed on the substrate portion and the electronic element, wherein the interposer substrate portion comprises: an interposer insulation layer that includes a first side facing the substrate portion and a second side opposite to the first side; a first pad layer that is disposed on the first side of the interposer insulation layer; and a first auxiliary layer that is disposed on the first pad layer.
However, Nakatani discloses (Fig. 13) an interposer substrate portion (180) that is disposed on the substrate portion (181) and the electronic element (191), wherein the interposer substrate portion comprises: an interposer insulation layer (182) that includes a first side facing the substrate portion and a second side opposite to the first side (See annotated figure above); a first pad layer that is disposed on the first side of the interposer insulation layer; and a first auxiliary layer that is disposed on the first pad layer (See annotated figure above)
INAGAKI and Nakatani are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified INAGAKI to incorporate the teachings of Nakatani and provide an interposer substrate portion (180) that is disposed on the substrate portion (181) and the electronic element (191), wherein the interposer substrate portion comprises: an interposer insulation layer (182) that includes a first side facing the substrate portion and a second side opposite to the first side (See annotated figure above); a first pad layer that is disposed on the first side of the interposer insulation layer; and a first auxiliary layer that is disposed on the first pad layer (See annotated figure above). Doing so would provide mechanically robust and electrically reliable connection (para [0093], [0149]).
Regarding claim 14, INAGAKI in view of Nakatani discloses the circuit board of claim 13, wherein the interposer substrate portion further comprises a third protective layer that is disposed to cover the first auxiliary layer under the first pad layer (See annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 15, INAGAKI in view of Nakatani discloses the circuit board of claim 13, wherein the first auxiliary layer is disposed to overlap with the first boundary area at least partially (INAGAKI provide the auxiliary layer to overlap with the first boundary, INAGAKI in view of Nakatani provide the first auxiliary layer that face the auxiliary layer. Hence, overlap with the first boundary).
Regarding claim 16, INAGAKI in view of Nakatani discloses the circuit board of claim 15, wherein the first auxiliary layer is disposed to face the auxiliary layer (See annotated figure above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847