Election/Restrictions
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Improper Claim Scope (Hybrid/Apparatus vs. Component): Claim 12 depends from Claim 6, which defines a specific substrate structure (a core, two sets of metallization layers, and an offset layer). Claim 12 improperly attempts to redefine this specific, structural component as an entire, high-level end-product ("at least one of: a music player, a video player, [etc.]"). The substrate is merely a part of a device, not the device itself. Thus, the claim is indefinite as to whether it claims the substrate structure of Claim 6 or the final electronic device.
Breadth and Functional Vagueness: The phrase "comprises at least one of" followed by a long, disparate list of items (e.g., a "fixed location terminal" and a "wearable device" and "a laptop computer") is considered overly broad and functionally vague. It covers nearly every imaginable electronic product without defining which features of the Claim 6 substrate are necessary for, or adapted to, those specific products.
Lack of Functional Relationship (Technical Improvement): The claim fails to explain how the specific, claimed substrate structure (offset layer, unequal metallization layers) contributes to any of the listed devices. By merely stating the substrate is part of a device, the claim is "wholly functional" and fails to define the technical improvement within that device, making it impossible to determine the true scope of the invention.
Redundancy and Lack of Definiteness: The list of devices is overly broad, mixing types of devices (e.g., "communication device" which could be a smartphone, alongside "mobile phone" and "smartphone" specifically) in a way that makes it difficult to determine the exact scope of the invention.
Suggested Correction:To correct these issues, the claim should be amended to clearly define the application of the substrate, rather than redefining the substrate as the end product.
Example correction: "The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the substrate is configured for use in at least one of..." or "The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the device is a [specific device]."
Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chavali et al. (US 10624213 B1).
CLAIM 1. Chavali teaches a substrate comprising:
a core 104/202 having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (Figs. 1 & 2);
a first set of metallization layers 120 disposed over the first surface (Figs. 1 & 2);
an offset layer structure 116 disposed over the second surface (Figs. 1 & 2 – While the offset layer structure is explicitly labeled as element 116 in Figure 1, an analogous structure appears in Figure 2 without numerical labeling.); and
a second set of metallization layers 120 disposed over the second surface wherein the second set of metallization layers includes a larger number of metallization layers than the first set of metallization layers (Figure 2 – Chavali demonstrates a greater number of metallization layers over the analogous “offset layer structure” observable on the second surface of the core 202.).
CLAIM 2. Chavali teaches an substrate of claim 1, wherein: the offset layer structure is disposed between metallization layers of the second set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2).
CLAIM 4. Chavali teaches an substrate of claim 1, further comprising: a first set of one or more connection pads 218 disposed at a first outer surface of the substrate over the first set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2). ; and
a second set of one or more connection pads 218 disposed at a second outer surface of the substrate over the second set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2),
wherein the second set of one or more connection pads are spaced from the second surface of the core at a greater distance than the first set of one or more connection pads are spaced from the first surface of the core (Figs 2 – spaced further with the inclusion of offset laminated layer 116 and higher number of metallization layers.).
CLAIM 5. Chavali teaches an substrate of claim 1, further comprising: an electronic component 110/210 embedded in the core and electrically coupled to one or more metallization layers of the first set of metallization layers. (Figs 1 & 2).
CLAIM 6. (Original) An electronic device, comprising: a substrate comprising: a core104/204 having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (Figs 1 & 2);
a first set of metallization layers 118/218 disposed over the first surface (Figs 1 & 2);
an offset layer 116 structure disposed over the second surface Figs. 1 & 2 – While the offset layer structure is explicitly labeled as element 116 in Figure 1, an analogous structure appears in Figure 2 without numerical labeling.); and
a second set of metallization layers 118/218 disposed over the second surface, wherein the second set of metallization layers includes a larger number of metallization layers than the first set of metallization layers (Figure 2 – Chavali demonstrates a greater number of metallization layers over the analogous “offset layer structure” observable on the second surface of the core 202.).
CLAIM 7. Chavali teaches an electronic device of claim 6, wherein: the offset layer structure is disposed between metallization layers of the second set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2).
CLAIM 9. Chavali teaches an electronic device of claim 6, further comprising: a first set of one or more connection pads 118/218 disposed at a first outer surface of the substrate over the first set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2); and
a second set of one or more connection pads 118/218 disposed at a second outer surface of the substrate over the second set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2), wherein the second set of one or more connection pads are spaced from the second surface of the core at a greater distance than the first set of one or more connection pads are spaced from the first surface of the core (Figs 2 – spaced further with the inclusion of offset laminated layer 116 and higher number of metallization layers.).
CLAIM 10. Chavali teaches an electronic device of claim 6, further comprising: an electronic component 110/210 embedded in the core and electrically coupled to one or more metallization layers of the first set of metallization layers (Figs 1 & 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavali et al. (US 10624213 B1) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20140327137 A1).
CLAIM 3. Chavali teaches an substrate of claim 1, however may be silent upon wherein: the offset layer structure 116 comprises one or more pre-preg (PPG) layers, each PPG layer comprising a fabric that has been impregnated with a resin.
While Chavali teaches the offset layer 116 is a laminated layer, Chavali does not specifically teach the layer as a fabric resin impregnated l type of laminated layer. Hayashi teaches an analogous core substrate comprising a dielectric layer with metallization layers on opposing sides. Hayashi further explicitly teaches that dielectric layers—structurally analogous to the "offset structure layer" claimed herein—are known to be formed of a fabric mesh impregnated with resin (e.g., pre-preg). Providing a mesh within a dielectric layer was a well-known, routine method of adding structural strength in insulating layers as needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to form the "offset structure layer" of Chavali with the fabric-reinforced resin taught by Hayashi. Such a substitution constitutes the application of a known technique (using fabric mesh for strength) to a known material (dielectric resin) to achieve a predictable result (increased structural strength of the offset layer). It is well-established that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
CLAIM 8. Chavali teaches an electronic device of claim 6, however may be silent upon wherein: the offset layer structure 116 comprises one or more pre-preg (PPG) layers, each PPG layer comprising a fabric that has been impregnated with a resin.
While Chavali teaches the offset layer 116 is a laminated layer, Chavali does not specifically teach the layer as a fabric resin impregnated l type of laminated layer. Hayashi teaches an analogous core substrate comprising a dielectric layer with metallization layers on opposing sides. Hayashi further explicitly teaches that dielectric layers—structurally analogous to the "offset structure layer" claimed herein—are known to be formed of a fabric mesh impregnated with resin (e.g., pre-preg). Providing a mesh within a dielectric layer was a well-known, routine method of adding structural strength in insulating layers as needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to form the "offset structure layer" of Chavali with the fabric-reinforced resin taught by Hayashi. Such a substitution constitutes the application of a known technique (using fabric mesh for strength) to a known material (dielectric resin) to achieve a predictable result (increased structural strength of the offset layer). It is well-established that selecting a known material on the basis of its suitability for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 11 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavali et al. (US 10624213 B1) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 10910321 B2).
CLAIM 11. Chavali teaches an electronic device of claim 10, however is silent upon wherein: the electronic component comprises at least one deep trench capacitor.
Hsieh et al. teaches core substrates with metalization layers on opposing sides were known at the time of the invention to be capable in comprising “deep trench capacitors” It would have been obvious to a POSITA to incorporate the deep trench capacitors taught by Hsieh et al. into the core substrate of Chavali. Because Hsieh demonstrates that such trench capacitors are directly compatible with metallization layers on opposing sides of a core, applying this technique to Chavali is simply a matter of engineering choice to improve electrical performance. Substituting Hsieh’s known structure into Chavali’s, in light of these teachings, produces predictable, expected results in terms of capacitance and density, rendering the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 (KSR, 550 U.S. 398).
CLAIM 12. Chavali in view of Hsiech teaches electronic device of claim 6, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of: a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, or a device in an automotive vehicle ( Hsiech – Col. 1 lines 10-25 – interposer core substrates are routinely known to be used in electronic devices (computers, tablets, mobile/smart phones/devices, etc.. Note: The subject matter of this claim is unclear. It is not understood how the electronic device (e.g. core substrate) comprises a high-level end-product. For purposes of compact prosecution the claim is interpreted to mean that the electronic device is to be used in one of the listed devices. ).
Conclusion
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
4/29/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898