Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/29/2026 has been accepted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1, 9, and 16, and their respective dependent claims and corresponding arguments, see page 7-8 of Applicant’s remarks filed 06/29/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The cited prior art does not teach all of the limitations of amended independent claims 1, 9, and 16 (i.e. ‘wherein the dielectric layer has a compressive stress configured to control warpage of the semiconductor device.’) and thus its respective dependent claims.
In view of the amendments, a new reference has been applied (US 2024/0258177 A1 Hsiao et al, see below).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 21-27 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0237540 A1 Gao et al (herein “Gao”) in view of US 2024/0258177 A1 Hsiao et al (herein “Hsiao”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gao discloses:
A semiconductor device (see generally Fig. 1 and descriptive paragraphs [0008]-[0017]) comprising:
a crystalline silicon layer (#1, Fig. 1, [0008], [0030]);
an amorphous silicon layer (#3, Fig. 1, [0008]: “the thin film layer(s) 3 is/are arranged on the device substrate 1 or/and the supporting substrate 2, and is/are one of a silicon dioxide layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, a silicon nitride layer, a polysilicon layer and an amorphous silicon layer.” emphasis added) on the crystalline silicon layer (#1) and extending along a first surface of the crystalline silicon layer (#1); and
a dielectric layer (#4, Fig. 1, [0008]) on the amorphous silicon layer (#3) and extending along a surface of the amorphous silicon layer (#3),
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) includes silicon oxynitride (Fig. 1, [0008])
Gao does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the dielectric has compressive stress.
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
See [0046] and [0052].
wherein the dielectric layer has a compressive stress configured to control warpage of the semiconductor device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the device disclosed by Gao and form the silicon oxynitride layer having compressive stress, like disclosed in Hsiao paragraph [0046]. Doing so would allow to fine tune for specific warpage control characteristics and could be achieved using a variety of deposition methods like PECVD, LPCVD, ALD… etc to meet device needs. Additionally, the layer disclosed by Gao is disclosed as comprising silicon oxynitride and formed using a plasma treatment process, and the layer taught by Hsiao as having compressive stress intended on being used to control warpage also comprises silicon oxynitride and is formed using a substantially identical plasma treatment process, see [0046], therefore the composition and method of forming of the claimed layer is substantially identical to the composition and method of forming of the cited prior art, and the resulting material characteristic of compressive stress and therefore warpage control is deemed to be an inherent property of the material itself. See MPEP 2112.01. See also Hsiao paragraph [0052] for an additional example of a dielectric layer used as a compressive stress warpage control layer.
Regarding Claim 2, Gao in view of Hsiao discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 1,
Gao further discloses:
wherein the amorphous silicon layer (#3) is in direct contact with the first surface (top surface) of the crystalline silicon layer (#1),
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) is in direct contact with the surface (top surface) of the amorphous silicon layer (#3), and
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) separates from the crystalline silicon layer (#1) with the amorphous silicon layer (#3) disposed between the dielectric layer (#4) and the crystalline silicon layer (#1).
Regarding Claim 3, Gao in view of Hsiao discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 1,
Gao further discloses:
wherein a thickness of the amorphous silicon layer (#3) is between about 1 nm and about 200 nm ([0015]).
Regarding Claim 4, Gao in view of Hsiao discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 1,
Gao further discloses:
wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer (#4) is between about 1 nm and about 200 nm ([0015]).
Regarding Claim 5, Gao in view of Hsiao discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 1,
Gao further discloses:
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) comprises at least one of:
a binary compound including a silicon element and a nitrogen element ([0035]),
a ternary compound including a silicon element, a nitrogen element, and a hydrogen element ([0035]), and
a quaternary compound including a silicon element, a nitrogen element, an oxygen element, and a hydrogen element ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 6, Gao in view of Hsiao discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 1,
Gao further discloses:
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) does not comprise carbon ([0035]).
Claims 7-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0237540 A1 Gao et al in view of US 2024/0258177 A1 Hsiao et al and further in view of US 2023/0062468 A1 Chiu et al (herein “Chiu”).
Regarding Claim 7, Gao in view of Hsiao discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 1,
Gao in view of Hsiao does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising an interconnect structure contacting a second surface of the crystalline silicon layer and including a wiring pattern, the second surface of the crystalline silicon layer being opposite to the first surface of the crystalline silicon layer.
However, in analogous art, Chiu teaches:
See generally Fig. 1A-1G, specifically Fig. 1G showing cross sectional view of second semiconductor structure #200 within molding layer #300 implemented into larger package structure including substrate #10 and first semiconductor element #100. See Fig. 1D for element numbers specifically drawn to second semiconductor structure #200. Chiu [0032] discloses the second semiconductor element #200 may have active elements and passive elements, i.e. semiconductor layers and dielectric layers. See also annotated Fig. 1F below.
further comprising an interconnect structure (see annotated Fig. 1F below) contacting a second surface (bottom surface) of the second semiconductor element (#200) and including a wiring pattern (see annotated Fig. 1F below), the second surface (bottom surface) of the second semiconductor element (#200)being opposite to the first surface (top surface) of the second semiconductor element (#200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider implementing the semiconductor layer stack disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao into a semiconductor device like the one disclosed by Chiu. Gao states in the abstract the objective of the layer stack is to solve problems of serious spontaneous heating of an existing SOI device, severe warpage of an existing SOI structure caused by high-temperature annealing, a poor radio frequency characteristic and the like, and paragraph [0006] states the layer structure may be used in a semiconductor product. Gao is silent on the constructional details of the larger semiconductor product the layer structure may be implemented into. In analogous art, Chiu teaches constructional details of a semiconductor device, specifically second semiconductor element #200 comprising stacked semiconductor (memory chips) in Chiu Fig. 1F, implemented into a larger package structure with an identical goal of preventing/relieving warpage of the semiconductor structure by using molding layer #300, see [0038], Doing so would be a substitution of individual semiconductor elements #204 (stacked memory chips) shown in Chiu Fig. 1D for the semiconductor layer structure disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao, both of which comprise active elements (semiconductor layers) and passive elements (dielectric layers). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to seek the teachings of Chiu to use the semiconductor layer structure disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao.
Chiu Fig. 1F – Annotated by Examiner
Regarding Claim 8, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses: The semiconductor device of claim 7,
Chiu further teaches:
further comprising a through electrode (see annotated Fig. 1F above) passing through the crystalline silicon layer (Gao #1), the amorphous silicon layer (Gao #3), and the dielectric layer (Gao #4), and electrically connected to the wiring pattern (see annotated Fig. 1F above).
Regarding Claim 9, Gao discloses:
A semiconductor device (see generally Fig. 1 and descriptive paragraphs [0008]-[0017]) comprising:
a crystalline silicon layer (#1, Fig. 1, [0008], [0030]);
an amorphous silicon layer (#3, Fig. 1, [0008]: “the thin film layer(s) 3 is/are arranged on the device substrate 1 or/and the supporting substrate 2, and is/are one of a silicon dioxide layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, a silicon nitride layer, a polysilicon layer and an amorphous silicon layer.” emphasis added) on the crystalline silicon layer (#1) and extending along a first surface of the crystalline silicon layer (#1); and
a dielectric layer (#4, Fig. 1, [0008]) on the amorphous silicon layer (#3) and extending along a surface of the amorphous silicon layer (#3),
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) includes silicon oxynitride (Fig. 1, [0008])
Gao does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the dielectric has compressive stress.
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
See [0046] and [0052].
wherein the dielectric layer has a compressive stress configured to control warpage of the semiconductor device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the device disclosed by Gao and form the silicon oxynitride layer having compressive stress, like disclosed in Hsiao paragraph [0046]. Doing so would allow to fine tune for specific warpage control characteristics and could be achieved using a variety of deposition methods like PECVD, LPCVD, ALD… etc to meet device needs. Additionally, the layer disclosed by Gao is disclosed as comprising silicon oxynitride and formed using a plasma treatment process, and the layer taught by Hsiao as having compressive stress intended on being used to control warpage also comprises silicon oxynitride and is formed using a substantially identical plasma treatment process, see [0046], therefore the composition and method of forming of the claimed layer is substantially identical to the composition and method of forming of the cited prior art, and the resulting material characteristic of compressive stress and therefore warpage control is deemed to be an inherent property of the material itself. See MPEP 2112.01. See also Hsiao paragraph [0052] for an additional example of a dielectric layer used as a compressive stress warpage control layer.
Gao in view of Hsiao does not explicitly disclose:
A semiconductor package comprising a plurality of semiconductor devices stacked in a vertical direction.
However, in analogous art, Chiu teaches:
See generally Fig. 1A-1G, specifically Fig. 1G showing cross sectional view of second semiconductor structure #200 within molding layer #300 implemented into larger package structure including substrate #10 and first semiconductor element #100. See Fig. 1D for element numbers specifically drawn to second semiconductor structure #200. See also annotated Fig. 1F above.
A semiconductor package comprising a plurality of semiconductor devices (#204, Fig. 1D, see also annotated Fig. 1F above) stacked in a vertical direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider implementing the semiconductor layer stack disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao into a semiconductor device like the one disclosed by Chiu. Gao states in the abstract the objective of the layer stack is to solve problems of serious spontaneous heating of an existing SOI device, severe warpage of an existing SOI structure caused by high-temperature annealing, a poor radio frequency characteristic and the like, and paragraph [0006] states the layer structure may be used in a semiconductor product. Gao is silent on the constructional details of the larger semiconductor product the layer structure may be implemented into. In analogous art, Chiu teaches constructional details of a semiconductor device, specifically second semiconductor element #200 comprising stacked semiconductor (memory chips) in Chiu Fig. 1F, implemented into a larger package structure with an identical goal of preventing/relieving warpage of the semiconductor structure by using molding layer #300, see [0038], Doing so would be a substitution of individual semiconductor layers #204 (stacked memory chips) shown in Chiu Fig. 1D for the semiconductor layer structure disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to seek the teachings of Chiu to use the semiconductor layer structure disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao.
Regarding Claim 10, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses:
The semiconductor package of claim 9, wherein each semiconductor device (#204) of the plurality of semiconductor devices (#204) further comprises:
an interconnect structure (see annotated Fig. 1F above) contacting a second surface (bottom surface) of the crystalline silicon layer (Gao #1) and including a wiring pattern (see annotated Fig. 1F above); and
a through electrode (see annotated Fig. 1F above) passing through the crystalline silicon layer (Gao #1), the amorphous silicon layer (Gao #3), and the dielectric layer (Gao #4), and electrically connected to the wiring pattern (see annotated Fig. 1F above).
Regarding Claim 12, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 9,
Chiu further teaches:
The semiconductor package of claim 9, wherein each semiconductor device (#204) of the plurality of semiconductor devices is a memory chip ([0032]).
Regarding Claim 13, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 9,
Gao further teaches:
wherein a thickness of the amorphous silicon layer (#3) is between about 1 nm and about 200 nm (Gao [0015]), and wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer (#4) is between about 1 nm and about 200 nm (Gao [0015]).
Regarding Claim 14, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 9,
Gao further discloses:
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) comprises at least one of:
a binary compound including a silicon element and a nitrogen element ([0035]),
a ternary compound including a silicon element, a nitrogen element, and a hydrogen element ([0035]), and
a quaternary compound including a silicon element, a nitrogen element, an oxygen element, and a hydrogen element ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 15, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses:
Gao further discloses:
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) does not comprise carbon ([0035]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0237540 A1 Gao et al in view of US 2024/0258177 A1 Hsiao et al and further in view of US 2023/0062468 A1 Chiu et al and further in view of US 2017/0256528 A1 Lim (herein “Lim”).
Regarding Claim 11, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 9.
Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, among the plurality of semiconductor devices, two neighboring semiconductor devices in the vertical direction are stacked offset in a lateral direction, and wherein the plurality of semiconductor devices are electrically connected through conductive wires.
However, in analogous art, Lim teaches:
See Fig. 8 and [0052]-[0056].
wherein, among the plurality of semiconductor devices (memory dies 1-8, Fig. 8), two neighboring semiconductor devices (memory dies 1-8, Fig. 8) in the vertical direction are stacked offset in a lateral direction (see Fig. 8), and
wherein the plurality of semiconductor devices are electrically connected through conductive wires (#176, using bonding pads #170).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lim to the device disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Chiu and form the stack of semiconductor structures such that adjacent semiconductor structures are laterally offset from one another and connected through wires. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one known connective structure (through vias) for another (connection wire and bonding pads) to achieve the predictable result of electrically connecting vertically adjacent semiconductor layers. Doing so in the manner disclosed by Lin (laterally offset) would also have the benefit of providing a horizontal space for bonding pads to be placed in order to electrically connect them to adjacent semiconductor devices, see Lin [0052]-[0056], which would be easier to manufacture as compared to bonding the wires to a vertical surface where the semiconductor structures are not laterally offset.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0237540 A1 Gao et al in view of US 2024/0258177 A1 Hsiao et al and further in view of US 9508674 B2 Pan et al (herein “Pan”).
Regarding Claim 16, Gao discloses:
A semiconductor device (see generally Fig. 1 and descriptive paragraphs [0008]-[0017]) comprising:
a crystalline silicon layer (#1, Fig. 1, [0008], [0030]);
an amorphous silicon layer (#3, Fig. 1, [0008]: “the thin film layer(s) 3 is/are arranged on the device substrate 1 or/and the supporting substrate 2, and is/are one of a silicon dioxide layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, a silicon nitride layer, a polysilicon layer and an amorphous silicon layer.” emphasis added) on the crystalline silicon layer (#1) and extending along a first surface of the crystalline silicon layer (#1); and
a dielectric layer (#4, Fig. 1, [0008]) on the amorphous silicon layer (#3) and extending along a surface of the amorphous silicon layer (#3),
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) includes silicon oxynitride (Fig. 1, [0008])
Gao does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the dielectric has compressive stress.
However, in analogous art, Hsiao teaches:
See [0046] and [0052].
wherein the dielectric layer has a compressive stress configured to control warpage of the semiconductor device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Hsiao to the device disclosed by Gao and form the silicon oxynitride layer having compressive stress, like disclosed in Hsiao paragraph [0046]. Doing so would allow to fine tune for specific warpage control characteristics and could be achieved using a variety of deposition methods like PECVD, LPCVD, ALD… etc to meet device needs. Additionally, the layer disclosed by Gao is disclosed as comprising silicon oxynitride and formed using a plasma treatment process, and the layer taught by Hsiao as having compressive stress intended on being used to control warpage also comprises silicon oxynitride and is formed using a substantially identical plasma treatment process, see [0046], therefore the composition and method of forming of the claimed layer is substantially identical to the composition and method of forming of the cited prior art, and the resulting material characteristic of compressive stress and therefore warpage control is deemed to be an inherent property of the material itself. See MPEP 2112.01. See also Hsiao paragraph [0052] for an additional example of a dielectric layer used as a compressive stress warpage control layer.
Gao in view of Hsiao does not explicitly disclose:
A semiconductor package comprising:
a first redistribution structure including a first redistribution pattern;
a semiconductor device on the first redistribution structure;
a molding layer disposed on the first redistribution structure and configured to cover the semiconductor device;
a second redistribution structure disposed on the molding layer and including a second redistribution pattern; and
a vertical connection conductor electrically connecting the first redistribution pattern to the second redistribution pattern, wherein the semiconductor device comprises:
an interconnect structure between the second surface of the semiconductor device and the first redistribution structure, wherein the interconnect structure includes a wiring pattern.
However, in analogous art, Pan teaches:
See Figs. 3A-3E showing formation of semiconductor device. See specifically Fig. 3E showing completed semiconductor device unless otherwise specified.
A semiconductor package (see Fig. 3E) comprising:
a first redistribution structure (#124) including a first redistribution pattern (#213*);
a semiconductor device (#121) on the first redistribution structure (#213*);
a molding layer (Fig. 3D, #123* and #128) disposed on the first redistribution structure (#213*) and configured to cover the semiconductor device (#121);
a second redistribution structure (#222*) disposed on the molding layer (#123* and #128) and including a second redistribution pattern (#222*); and
a vertical connection conductor (#207*) electrically connecting the first redistribution pattern (#124*) to the second redistribution pattern (#222*),
an interconnect structure (Fig. 3D, #127) between the second surface of the semiconductor device (#121) and the first redistribution structure (#124*), wherein the interconnect structure includes a wiring pattern (Fig. 3D, #127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider implementing the semiconductor layer stack disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao into a semiconductor device like the one disclosed by Pan. Gao states in the abstract the objective of the layer stack is to solve problems of serious spontaneous heating of an existing SOI device, severe warpage of an existing SOI structure caused by high-temperature annealing, a poor radio frequency characteristic and the like, and paragraph [0006] states the layer structure may be used in a semiconductor product. Gao is silent on the constructional details of the larger semiconductor product the layer structure may be implemented into. In analogous art, Pan teaches constructional details of a semiconductor device, specifically semiconductor element #121, implemented into a larger package structure with an identical goal of preventing/relieving warpage (Pan refers to this characteristic as “bowing”) of the semiconductor structure by using molding layers #123* and #128, and additionally dielectric layer #208* see (14) and (15), Doing so would be a substitution of individual semiconductor layer (device) #121 shown in Pan Fig. 3E for the semiconductor layer structure disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to seek the teachings of Pan to use the semiconductor layer structure disclosed by Gao in view of Hsiao.
Regarding Claim 17, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Pan discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 16,
Gao further teaches:
wherein a thickness of the amorphous silicon layer (#3) is between about 1 nm and about 200 nm (Gao [0015]), and wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer (#4) is between about 1 nm and about 200 nm (Gao [0015]).
Regarding Claim 18, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Pan discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 16,
Gao further teaches:
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) comprises at least one of:
a binary compound including a silicon element and a nitrogen element ([0035]),
a ternary compound including a silicon element, a nitrogen element, and a hydrogen element ([0035]), and
a quaternary compound including a silicon element, a nitrogen element, an oxygen element, and a hydrogen element ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 19, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Pan discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 16,
Gao further teaches:
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) does not comprise carbon ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 20, Gao in view of Hsiao and further in view of Pan discloses: The semiconductor package of claim 16,
Gao further teaches:
wherein the amorphous silicon layer (#3) entirely covers the first surface of the crystalline silicon layer (#1),
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) entirely covers the amorphous silicon layer (#3), and
wherein the dielectric layer (#4) separates from the crystalline silicon layer (#1) with the amorphous silicon layer (#3) disposed between the dielectric layer (#4) and the crystalline silicon layer (#1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW VICTOR PROSTOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812