Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "electrical activation system" (claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kann (US 5,716,103) in view of Kouri (US 2006/0280582).
With respect to claims 1 & 16, Kann discloses a refuse vehicle comprising:
a chassis 22;
a cab 20 coupled to a chassis;
a body 16 coupled to a chassis and defining a hopper 66a, 66b, 66c; and
a subhopper (indicated generally as the area near 98a, 98b, 98c) disposed at least partially within a hopper, wherein a subhopper comprises a main body having an upper surface 64a, 64b, 64c configured to direct refuse deposited into a hopper toward an end of a hopper, e.g. the bottom of the hopper.
Kann discloses a subhopper having a main body with an upper surface and does not disclose a main body that has a sloped or angled upper surface.
Kouri discloses a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis 10, cab 1, body 3, 5 and a subhopper 4, wherein subhopper includes a main body having a sloped upper surface 11, 16 as shown in FIG. 2. Kouri teaches that sloped upper surfaces "guide refuse from the collection container into the compaction" subhopper as well as "prevent refuse from being expelled over the compaction" subhopper into the street. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Kann to provide a main body having a sloped upper surface, as taught by Kouri, to direct refuse into a subhopper as well as contain refuse from falling into the street.
With respect to claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 9, 17 & 18, Kann discloses a subhopper that further comprises a plurality of packer members (the movable element identified in FIGS. 1, 2 as 60a, 60b, 60c) coupled to respective rams 72a, 72b, 72c, e.g. actuators, wherein a packer member is above and movable relative to, e.g. extendable/retractable, a main body as well as a subhopper between a first position and a second position. Kann's discloses that packer members 60a, 60c are positioned in vertical arrangement, and packer members 60a, 60b are positioned side-by-side.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kann in view of Kouri and further in view of Huang (US 6,854,949).
With respect to claims 3 & 20, Kann does not disclose a packer member movable by rotation. Huang discloses a subhopper (indicated generally as 6) that further comprises a packing assembly comprising a rotable packer member 9, 19 coupled to an actuator 16, wherein a packer member is movable relative to a main body between a first position (FIG. 2) and a second position (FIG. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Kann to include a packer member movable between a first position and a second position by rotation of a packer member, as taught by Huang, because the floor of the subhopper "is normally curved to correspond to the arc of the pendular packing device and a refuse engaging face of the packing device transfers the refuse through the aperture. Since the transfer of refuse is aided by gravity and since this type of packing device is typically equipped with low-volume, fast-acting hydraulic cylinders, refuse can be transferred to the storage compartment at a faster rate than with a conventional sliding packing device, which usually increases the overall efficiency of refuse collection."
With respect to claims 4 & 6, Kann discloses "electrical control means which form cab 20" (C5/L56-60), e.g. an electric system by which actuators operate, coupled to a subhopper, and does not disclose an electric actuation system configured to reposition a subhopper relative to a body within at least a portion of a hopper between a receiving position and an eject position. Huang discloses an actuation system 21 configured to reposition a subhopper 6 relative to a body within at least a portion of a hopper 7 between a receiving position (FIG. 3) and an eject position (FIG. 5). Huang further discloses a packing member movable from a first ready position (FIG. 2) to a second packing position (FIG. 3), and a subhopper and packing member are together movable to a third eject position (FIG. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrical actuation system of Kann to provide an actuation system configured to reposition a subhopper relative to a body within at least a portion of a hopper between a receiving position and an eject position as well as a packing member movable from a first ready position to a second packing position, and a subhopper and packing member are together movable to a third eject position, as taught by Huang, for ejection of contents of the subhopper as well as the storage hopper 7.
Claim(s) 10, 12 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Phelps (US 2,663,439).
With respect to claim 10, Huang discloses a subhopper for use in a refuse vehicle, a subhopper comprising:
a main body 7 defining an interior cavity of a subhopper;
a packer member 9, 19 disposed within an interior cavity and movable relative to a main body between a receiving position (FIG. 2) and a packing position (FIG. 3); and
an actuator 16, 21 coupled to a packer member and a main body and configured to selectively reposition-
a packer member with respect to a main body, and
both a main body and a packer member at a same time.
Huang disclose that a pair of actuators selectively reposition (i) a packer member with respect to a main body, and (ii) both a main body and a packer member at a same time. Huang does not disclose a single actuator that accomplishes bullets 'i' and 'ii'. Phelps discloses a main body 1 defining an interior cavity of a subhopper 5, a packer member (indicated generally as 6 in FIGS. 1-3, e.g. the back wall of subhopper 5), and a single actuator 16 which selectively repositions (i) a packer member 6 with respect to a main body, and (ii) both a main body 4 and a packer member 6 at a same time. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Huang to include an actuator coupled to a packer member and a main body and configured to selectively reposition (i) a packer member with respect to a main body, and (ii) both a main body and a packer member at a same time, as taught by Phelps, because telescopic main body and subhoppers allow for larger bodies and lighter weight construction.
With respect to claim 12, Huang discloses a subhopper that includes a sloped upper surface (shown but unlabeled in FIG. 1) configured to direct refuse deposited into a subhopper toward an end of the interior cavity of a subhopper.
With respect to claim 15, Huang discloses a subhopper (indicated generally as 6) that further comprises a packing assembly comprising a rotable packer member 9, 19 coupled to an actuator 16, wherein a packer member is movable relative to a main body between a first position (FIG. 2) and a second position (FIG. 3).
Claim(s) 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang In view of Phelps and further in view of Kann which discloses a plurality of packer members (the movable element identified in FIGS. 1, 2 as 60a, 60b, 60c) coupled to respective rams 72a, 72b, 72c, e.g. actuators, wherein a packer member is movable, e.g. extendable/retractable, relative to a main body as well as a subhopper between a first position and a second position. Kann's discloses that packer members 60a, 60c are positioned in vertical arrangement, and packer members 60a, 60b are positioned side-by-side. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Huang to include a second packer member positioned alongside a packer member in a horizontal relation, a second packer member actuatable between a first ready position and a second packing position and a second packer member positioned above the packer member in a vertical relation, as taught by Kann, such that the refuse collection industry can respond to trends in recent years whereby "communities and states have developed programs for the segregation and collection of recyclable materials to minimize the consumption of natural resources and the exhaustion of landfills. In several states and communities, recycling programs have been mandated."
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 & 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652