DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's submittal of claims 1-20 in the “Claims” filed on 12/28/2023 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
This office action consider claims 1-20 pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-5, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (US 20070075316 A1; hereinafter Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a display device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [0029+], and as cited below), comprising:
a first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]) including an active area (see Fig. 1C; area where light emitting element 103 is disposed) in which a light emitting element (103; Fig. 1C; see [0054]) is disposed and a non-active area (see Fig. 1C; areas outside of where light emitting element is disposed and that surround the active area) surrounding the active area (see Fig. 1C; area where light emitting element 103 is disposed);
a second substrate (102; Fig. 1C; [0054]) disposed on the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]); and
a coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) disposed to contact a portion of the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]), and a portion of the second substrate (102; Fig. 1C; [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki further comprising an adhesive layer (105; Fig. 1C; [0054]) disposed between the first substrate (101) and the second substrate (102), and wherein the coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) is disposed to contact a portion of the adhesive layer (105; Fig. 1C; [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 2.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) is disposed on an end portion of the first substrate (101), an end portion of the second substrate (102), and an end portion of the adhesive layer (105; Fig. 1C; [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) covers at least a portion of an upper surface of the second substrate (102) corresponding to the non-active area (see Fig. 1C; areas outside of where light emitting element is disposed and that surround the active area).
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) covers an entire surface of the second substrate (102) corresponding to the active area (see Fig. 1C; area where light emitting element 103 is disposed) and the non-active area (see Fig. 1C; areas outside of where light emitting element is disposed and that surround the active area).
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) is configured to prevent penetration of moisture and/or oxygen.
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki teaches a display device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [0029+], and as cited below), comprising:
a first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]) including an active area (see Fig. 1C; area where light emitting element 103 is disposed) in which a light emitting element (103; Fig. 1C; see [0054]) is disposed and a non-active area (see Fig. 1C; areas outside of where light emitting element is disposed and that surround the active area) surrounding the active area (see Fig. 1C; area where light emitting element 103 is disposed);
a second substrate (102; Fig. 1C; [0054]) disposed on the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]); and
a side sealing part ({112, 105}; Fig. 1C; [0054, 0056-0058]; where DLC film is labeled as 112) positioned such that the side sealing part ({112, 105}; Fig. 1C; [0054, 0056-0058]; where DLC film is labeled as 112) covers a space between the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]) and the second substrate (102; Fig. 1C; [0054]), a portion of an upper surface of the second substrate (102; Fig. 1C; [0054]), and a side surface of an end portion of the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
3. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20140063432 A1; hereinafter Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a display device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [0008+], and as cited below), comprising:
a first substrate (101; Fig. 4B; [0037]) including an active area (102; Fig. 4B; [0076]) in which a (see below for “light emitting”) element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]) is disposed and a non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A) surrounding the active area (102; Fig. 4B; [0076]);
a second substrate (104; Fig. 4B; [0037]) disposed on the first substrate (101; Fig. 4B; [0037]); and
a coating layer (107; Fig. 4B; [0037]) disposed to contact a portion of the first substrate (101), and a portion of the second substrate (104; Fig. 4B; [0037]).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose in the current embodiment “a first substrate including an active area in which a light emitting element is disposed and a non-active area surrounding the active area”.
However, Yamazaki further teaches that examples of a display device include a liquid crystal display device, an electroluminescent display device (also referred to as an EL display device), and the like ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamazaki’s liquid crystal device in view of Yamazaki’s electroluminescent display device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s device will have a first substrate (101; Fig. 4B; [0037]) including an active area (102; Fig. 4B; [0076]) in which a light emitting element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device) is disposed and a non-active area (areas surrounding 102) surrounding the active area (102; Fig. 4B; [0076]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a display device comprising of an electroluminescent display device (Yamazaki [0005]) which helps increase the functionality and durability of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki further comprising an adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]) disposed between the first substrate (101; Fig. 4B; [0037]) and the second substrate (104; Fig. 4B; [0037]), and wherein the coating layer (107; Fig. 4B; [0037]) is disposed to contact a portion of the adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 2.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (107; Fig. 4B; [0037]) is disposed on an end portion of the first substrate (101; Fig. 4B; [0037]), an end portion of the second substrate (104; Fig. 4B; [0037]), and an end portion of the adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (107; Fig. 4B; [0037]) covers at least a portion of an upper surface of the second substrate (104; Fig. 4B; [0037]) corresponding to the non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki further comprising: a passivation layer (114; Fig. 4B; [0039]; an insulating layer) disposed over the light emitting element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device), the passivation layer (114; Fig. 4B; [0039]; an insulating layer) being formed of an inorganic material (in view of [0201], where an insulating layer is an inorganic insulating material)
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the coating layer (DLC film, labeled as 112; Fig. 1C; see [0056-0058]) is configured to prevent penetration of moisture and/or oxygen.
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 2.
Yamazaki further comprising (see below for “a dam part surrounding”) the adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]) and disposed in the non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A), (see below for “wherein the dam part includes a moisture absorption layer disposed within an interior of the dam part and extending along a longitudinal axis”).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose in the current embodiment “a dam part surrounding the adhesive layer and disposed in the non-active area, wherein the dam part includes a moisture absorption layer disposed within an interior of the dam part and extending along a longitudinal axis”.
However, Yamazaki further teaches sealant (116; Fig. 3B; [0080]) that surround the sealant (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]), where sealant (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) can enhance the effect of suppressing entry of impurities (such as water) from the outside which cause a malfunction of the display device.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yamazaki’s sealant 116 into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s device will have a dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) surrounding the adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]) and disposed in the non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A), wherein the dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) includes a moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) disposed within an interior of the dam part (inside portion of 116) and extending along a longitudinal axis.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a sealant further enhances the effect of suppressing entry of impurities (such as water) from the outside which cause a malfunction of the display device (Yamazaki [0083]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 8.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) includes a base dam portion surrounding the moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) such that the moisture absorption layer is disposed within the base dam portion (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]), wherein the base dam portion (116; Fig. 3B; [0080-0083] in view of [0047]) is made of at least one of an epoxy-based sealing material and an acrylic-based sealing material, and wherein the moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) is made of a moisture adsorbent.
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki teaches a display device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [0008+], and as cited below), comprising:
a first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) including an active area (102; Fig. 4B; [0076]) in which a (see below for “light emitting”) element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]) is disposed and a non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A) surrounding the active area (102; Fig. 5B; [0076]);
a second substrate (104; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) disposed on the first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037]); and
a side sealing part ({107, 108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) positioned such that the side sealing part ({107, 108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) covers a space between the first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) and the second substrate (104; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]), a portion of an upper surface of the second substrate (104; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]), and a side surface of an end portion of the first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose in the current embodiment “a first substrate including an active area in which a light emitting element is disposed and a non-active area surrounding the active area”.
However, Yamazaki further teaches that examples of a display device include a liquid crystal display device, an electroluminescent display device (also referred to as an EL display device), and the like ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamazaki’s liquid crystal device in view of Yamazaki’s electroluminescent display device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s device will have a first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037]) including an active area (102; Fig. 5B; [0076]) in which a light emitting element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device) is disposed and a non-active area (areas surrounding 102) surrounding the active area (102; Fig. 5B; [0076]).
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a display device comprising of an electroluminescent display device (Yamazaki [0005]) which helps increase the functionality and durability of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 12.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the side sealing part ({107, 108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) includes a first side sealing portion ({107}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) positioned to cover the portion of the upper surface of the second substrate (104; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) and the space between the first (101; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) and second substrates (104; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) and, wherein the first side sealing portion ({107}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) is made of a frit sealing material ([0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 16.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the side sealing part ({107, 108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) includes a second side sealing portion ({108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) positioned to cover the end portion of the first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]) while covering a portion of an upper surface of the first substrate (101; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0089]).
Regarding claim 18, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 17.
Yamazaki further teaches wherein the side sealing part {107, 108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) includes a third side sealing portion ({106}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0042-0045, 0047, 0081, 0087]) disposed between the first side sealing portion and the second side sealing portion ({108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) and wherein the second side sealing portion ({108}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0051-0052, 0085, 0089]) and the third side sealing portion ({106}; Fig. 5B; [0037, 0042-0045, 0047, 0081, 0087]) are made of at least one of an epoxy-based resin and an acrylic-based resin (see [0044, 0052]).
Regarding claim 20, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 12.
But, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose in in the current embodiment “further comprising a dam part surrounding an adhesive layer and disposed in the non-active area, wherein the dam part includes a moisture absorption layer disposed within an interior of the dam part and extending along a horizontal direction therein longitudinal axis, wherein, the dam part comprises a base dam portion surrounding the moisture absorption layer such that the moisture absorption layer is disposed within the base dam portion, wherein the base dam portion is made of at least one of an epoxy-based sealing material and an acrylic-based sealing material, and wherein the moisture absorption layer is made of a moisture adsorbent”.
However, Yamazaki further teaches sealant (116; Fig. 3B; [0080]) that surround the sealant (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]), where sealant (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) can enhance the effect of suppressing entry of impurities (such as water) from the outside which cause a malfunction of the display device.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yamazaki’s sealant 116 into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s device will have a dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) surrounding the adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]) and disposed in the non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A), wherein the dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) includes a moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) disposed within an interior of the dam part (inside portion of 116) and extending along a longitudinal axis.
further comprising a dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) surrounding an adhesive layer (106; Fig. 4B; [0043]) and disposed in the non-active area (areas outside of and surrounding 102; see also Fig. 1A), wherein the dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) includes a moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) disposed within an interior of the dam part (inside portion of 116) and extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein, the dam part (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) comprises a base dam portion surrounding the moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) such that the moisture absorption layer is disposed within the base dam portion (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]), wherein the base dam portion (116; Fig. 3B; [0080-0083] in view of [0047]) is made of at least one of an epoxy-based sealing material and an acrylic-based sealing material, and wherein the moisture absorption layer (116; Fig. 3B; [0080, 0083]) is made of a moisture adsorbent
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a sealant further enhances the effect of suppressing entry of impurities (such as water) from the outside which cause a malfunction of the display device (Yamazaki [0083]).
4. Claims 10-11, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20140063432 A1; hereinafter Yamazaki) in view of Khachatryan et al. (US 20180342566 A1; hereinafter Khachatryan).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki , further comprising (see below for “a thin film encapsulation layer disposed over”) the light emitting element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device) and (see below for “having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers”).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose “a polarizing plate disposed under the first substrate and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Khachatryan teaches a flexible display device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1+; [0043+]) a sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) over a display element comprising of an OLED or light emitting diode (230; Fig. 11B; [0056]), where the sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) comprises of a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Khachatryan’s a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s (by Khachatryan) device will have a thin film encapsulation layer (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) disposed over the light emitting element (Yamazaki 105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device) and having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked (Khachatryan ‘109 [0075]), where a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers can help further protect the device and increase the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 11, modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) teaches all of the features of claim 10.
Modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) further teaches wherein the plurality of inorganic layers and the plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) of the thin film encapsulation layer are alternately disposed.
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 12
Yamazaki , further comprising (see below for “a thin film encapsulation layer disposed over”) the light emitting element (105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device) and (see below for “having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers”).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose “a polarizing plate disposed under the first substrate and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Khachatryan teaches a flexible display device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1+; [0043+]) a sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) over a display element comprising of an OLED or light emitting diode (230; Fig. 11B; [0056]), where the sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) comprises of a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Khachatryan’s a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s (by Khachatryan) device will have a thin film encapsulation layer (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) disposed over the light emitting element (Yamazaki 105; see [0037] in view of [0005]; an electroluminescent display device) and having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked (Khachatryan ‘109 [0075]), where a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers can help further protect the device and increase the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 15, modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) teaches all of the features of claim 14.
Modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) further teaches wherein the plurality of inorganic layers and the plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) of the thin film encapsulation layer are alternately disposed.
Regarding claim 19, modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) teaches all of the features of claim 14.
Modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) further comprising: a passivation layer (Yamazaki 114; Fig. 4B; [0039]; an insulating layer) of an inorganic material (in view of [0201], where an insulating layer is an inorganic insulating material) under the thin film encapsulation layer (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]).
5. Claims 10-11, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20070075316 A1; hereinafter Yamazaki) in view of Khachatryan et al. (US 20180342566 A1; hereinafter Khachatryan).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Yamazaki , further comprising (see below for “a thin film encapsulation layer disposed over”) the light emitting element (103; Fig. 1C; see [0054]) and (see below for “having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers”).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose “a polarizing plate disposed under the first substrate and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Khachatryan teaches a flexible display device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1+; [0043+]) a sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) over a display element comprising of an OLED or light emitting diode (230; Fig. 11B; [0056]), where the sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) comprises of a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Khachatryan’s a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s (by Khachatryan) device will have a thin film encapsulation layer (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) disposed over the light emitting element (Yamazaki 103; Fig. 1C; see [0054]) and having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked (Khachatryan ‘109 [0075]), where a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers can help further protect the device and increase the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 11, modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) teaches all of the features of claim 10.
Modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) further teaches wherein the plurality of inorganic layers and the plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) of the thin film encapsulation layer are alternately disposed.
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 12
Yamazaki , further comprising (see below for “a thin film encapsulation layer disposed over”) the light emitting element (103; Fig. 1C; see [0054]) and (see below for “having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers”).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose “a polarizing plate disposed under the first substrate and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Khachatryan teaches a flexible display device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1+; [0043+]) a sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) over a display element comprising of an OLED or light emitting diode (230; Fig. 11B; [0056]), where the sealing member (300; Fig. 4; [0075]) comprises of a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Khachatryan’s a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s (by Khachatryan) device will have a thin film encapsulation layer (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) disposed over the light emitting element (Yamazaki 103; Fig. 1C; see [0054]) and having a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers that are alternately stacked (Khachatryan ‘109 [0075]), where a plurality of additional inorganic layers and organic layers can help further protect the device and increase the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 15, modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) teaches all of the features of claim 14.
Modified Yamazaki (by Khachatryan) further teaches wherein the plurality of inorganic layers and the plurality of organic layers (Khachatryan 300; Fig. 4; [0075]) of the thin film encapsulation layer are alternately disposed.
6. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20070075316 A1; hereinafter Yamazaki) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20160147109 A1; hereinafter Yamazaki ‘109).
Regarding claim 13, Yamazaki teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Yamazaki further comprising (see below for “a polarizing plate disposed under”) the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]) and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate (101; Fig. 1C; [0054]).
As noted above, Yamazaki does not expressly disclose “a polarizing plate disposed under the first substrate and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate”.
However, in the analogous art, Yamazaki ‘109 teaches a display device and an electronic device ([0002]), wherein (Fig. 1A+; [0043+]) a polarizing plate (303; Fig. 11B; [0202]) under a bottom substrate (100; Fig. 11B; [0204]), where the polarizing plate (303; Fig. 11B; [0202]) extends outside the bottom substrate (100; Fig. 11B; [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yamazaki ‘109’s polarizing plate into Yamazaki’s device, and thereby, modified Yamazaki’s (by Yamazaki ‘109) device will have a polarizing plate (Yamazaki ‘109 303; Fig. 11B; [0202]) disposed under the first substrate (Yamazaki 101; Fig. 1C; [0054]) and having an end portion thereof located outside the first substrate (Yamazaki 101; Fig. 1C; [0054])
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yamazaki in the manner set forth above, at least, because this inclusion provides a polarizing plate located under a bottom substrate (Yamazaki ‘109 [0202]), where a polarizing plate helps increase the functionality of the device.
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898