DETAILED ACTION
The present invention application contains 20 claims. Claims 1 and 12 are independent. Claims 1-20 are examined and rejected by the following detail action.
Examiner Notes
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US PG-Pub. 2008/0106526 A1) in view of Kao et al. (“Kao”, US PG-Pub. 2008/0284754 A1).
Re-claim 1,
Chen teaches a portable display device comprising:
a display panel which displays an image with pixels of a display area (Fig. 1, [0029, 0035]. Chen describes the display module 30 includes a liquid crystal panel (LCD) that displaying the On-Screen Display (OSD) set menu and adjusted frame);
a touch sensor disposed in a front surface direction of the display panel area (Fig. 1, [0024]. Chen describes the plurality of touch sensors 11a-11d that constitute a touch sensing area 11, which disposed in front surface of the display panel 30);
a touch driving circuit which drives touch electrodes of the touch sensor, detects a touch occurrence position of at least one point, a touch movement direction, and a movement distance and generates touch coordinate data according to a detection result area (Fig. 1, [0024-0025]. Chen describes “When the user touches the touch sensing area 11, the sensing control module 10 generates a sensing signal corresponding to the triggered position in the touch sensing area 11. The type of the sensing signal can be classified into a single sensing signal and a directional sensing signal … whereas the directional sensing signal represents that the user touches any one of the first sensor 11a, the second sensor 11b, the third sensor 11c, or the fourth sensor 11d and then touches the next adjacent sensor, so as to form a directional touch (for example, sliding leftwards or rightwards)” ); and
a display driving circuit which displays an icon or a menu bar in the display area so that a user controls a screen control function and an operation control function of the display panel according to the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Figs. 1, 3, [0027, 0033]. Chen describes “The display control module 20 is connected to the sensing control module 10, for displaying an OSD set menu on the LCD upon receiving the sensing signal. Next, the display control module 20 analyzes an operation instruction corresponding to the sensing signal, generates a control signal corresponding to the operation instruction, and then outputs the control signal to the display module 30 … The type of the sensing signal corresponding to the OK option and the cancel option is a single sensing signal. The type of the sensing signal corresponding to the alteration option and the set value alteration option is a directional sensing signal, so the adjustment operations of the alteration option and the set value alteration option are performed in a direction along which the touch sensing area is triggered …”).
Chen fails to teach:
a touch sensor disposed in a front surface direction of the display area and a non- display area of the display panel.
However, Kao teaches:
a touch sensor disposed in a front surface direction of the display area and a non- display area of the display panel distance (Fig. 2, [0030]. Kao describes “… In the electronic device 200 illustrated in FIG. 2, the touch display 210 is divided into a display area 211 and a non-display area 213, wherein the display area 211 is a well-known touch screen area which is used for both displaying images and receiving operations such as text input or menu selections from the user. Even though the non-display area 213 cannot display images, it can also sense user contacts therefore can be used for detecting the operation of the input tool ...”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Re-claim 2,
Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 1, but Chen fails to teach a device, wherein the display driving circuit: divides a touch sensing area of the touch sensor into a plurality of peripheral areas, a plurality of divided areas, and a central divided area based on arrangement coordinates of touch nodes arranged in a matrix form in the touch sensing area, and compares touch coordinates of the touch coordinate data with the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and divides the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance for each of the plurality of peripheral areas, the plurality of divided areas, and the central divided area.
However, Kao teaches:
wherein the display driving circuit: divides a touch sensing area of the touch sensor into a plurality of peripheral areas, a plurality of divided areas, and a central divided area based on arrangement coordinates of touch nodes arranged in a matrix form in the touch sensing area (Figs. 1, 2, [0030, 0031]. Kao describes the sensing peripheral areas 213, the marginal area 215, the central area 230, the central area of the display area 211 excluding the marginal area), and
compares touch coordinates of the touch coordinate data with the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and divides the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance for each of the plurality of peripheral areas, the plurality of divided areas, and the central divided area (Figs. 1, 2, [0032, 0033]. Kao describes the concept of determining the touch position on a specific area and the touch movement direction and/or distance (as touch coordination data) based on comparison to a predetermined value (as touch nodes coordination)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Re-claim 3,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 2, Chen also teaches the device, wherein the display driving circuit:
generates digital video data including the icon or the menu bar by which the user confirms and controls at least one screen control function of brightness, chromaticity, resolution, and contrast control functions and at least one operation control function of volume, power, and mute control functions so that the at least one screen control function and the at least one operation control function correspond to the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Fig. 3, [0027, 0033]. Chen describes the OSD set menu is displayed on the LCD to control the screen display functions including brightness setting, contrast setting, color setting, etc. and operation control functions including sound setting (i.e. mute or on), adjusting and directional operation setting (i.e. volume adjusting), etc. that shown in step 100 of Figure 3), and
controls the screen control function or the operation control function according to the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance changed in real time (Fig. 3, [0034, 0035]. Chen describes the screen control function or operation control function is performed according to operation instruction by user shown in steps 102 – 104).
Chen fails to teach:
generates digital video data including the icon or the menu bar by which the user confirms and controls at least a function correspond to the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance divided for each of the plurality of peripheral areas, the plurality of divided areas, and the central divided area.
However, Kao teaches:
generates digital video data including the icon or the menu bar by which the user confirms and controls at least a function correspond to the touch occurrence position of the at least one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance divided for each of the plurality of peripheral areas, the plurality of divided areas, and the central divided area (Figs. 1, 2, [0030-0036]. Kao describes the process of activating a user interface (i.e. icon or menu bar) according to the touch position in a specific area shown in Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Re-claim 4,
Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 2, but Chen fails to teach a device, wherein the display driving circuit: divides an area included in an arrangement range of a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(n)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(m+a)), and a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m), Y(m+a)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m), Y(n)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in one direction as a first peripheral area, divides an area included in an arrangement range of the touch node of the coordinate point (X(m), Y(m+a)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(m+a)), and a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(m)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m), Y(m)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in a lower direction as a second peripheral area, divides an area included in an arrangement range of the touch node of the coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(m)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(n-a)), and a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n), Y(n-a)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n), Y(m)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in another direction as a third peripheral area, and divides an area included in an arrangement range of the touch node of the coordinate point (X(n), Y(n-a)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(n-a)), and the touch node of the coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(n)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n), Y(n)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in an upper direction as a fourth peripheral area, m is 0 or a positive integer greater than 0, a is a positive integer greater than m, and n is a positive integer greater than a, and the first to fourth peripheral areas are divided in a preset bezel area or an area corresponding to or overlapping the non-display area.
However, Kao teaches:
wherein the display driving circuit: divides an area included in an arrangement range of a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(n)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(m+a)), and a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m), Y(m+a)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m), Y(n)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in one direction as a first peripheral area, divides an area included in an arrangement range of the touch node of the coordinate point (X(m), Y(m+a)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(m+a)), and a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(m)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m), Y(m)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in a lower direction as a second peripheral area, divides an area included in an arrangement range of the touch node of the coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(m)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n-a), Y(n-a)), and a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n), Y(n-a)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n), Y(m)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in another direction as a third peripheral area, and divides an area included in an arrangement range of the touch node of the coordinate point (X(n), Y(n-a)), a touch node of a coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(n-a)), and the touch node of the coordinate point (X(m+a), Y(n)) based on a touch node of a coordinate point (X(n), Y(n)) along an outer edge of the touch sensing area in an upper direction as a fourth peripheral area, m is 0 or a positive integer greater than 0, a is a positive integer greater than m, and n is a positive integer greater than a, and the first to fourth peripheral areas are divided in a preset bezel area or an area corresponding to or overlapping the non-display area (Fig. 2, [0030, 0035]. Kao describes the concept of layout the peripheral areas 213 in a preset bezel area corresponding to the non-display area arranged and coordinated surrounding by the display area 211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Re-claim 5,
Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 2, but Chen fails to teach a device, wherein the display driving circuit: divides first to fourth peripheral areas by dividing arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes each disposed in outer areas having a preset size in one direction, a lower direction, another direction, and an upper direction of the touch sensing area, divides first to fourth divided areas in first to fourth corner directions according to arrangement positions of corner arrangement coordinates in four directions which do not overlap the first to fourth peripheral areas, and the first to fourth peripheral areas are divided in a preset bezel area or an area corresponding to or overlapping the non-display area, and divides a central area of the touch sensing area into the central divided area which does not overlap the first to fourth divided areas.
However, Kao teaches:
wherein the display driving circuit: divides first to fourth peripheral areas by dividing arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes each disposed in outer areas having a preset size in one direction, a lower direction, another direction, and an upper direction of the touch sensing area, divides first to fourth divided areas in first to fourth corner directions according to arrangement positions of corner arrangement coordinates in four directions which do not overlap the first to fourth peripheral areas, and the first to fourth peripheral areas are divided in a preset bezel area or an area corresponding to or overlapping the non-display (Fig. 2, [0030, 0035]. Kao describes the concept of layout the peripheral areas 213 in a preset bezel area corresponding to the non-display area arranged and coordinated surrounding by the display area 211), and
divides a central area of the touch sensing area into the central divided area which does not overlap the first to fourth divided areas (Fig. 2, [0031]. Kao describes the central display area 211 which does not overlap the peripheral areas 213).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Re-claim 6,
Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 5, but Chen fails to teach a device, wherein the display driving circuit decides the touch occurrence position, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance for each of the first to fourth peripheral areas, the first to fourth divided areas, and the central divided area according to a comparison result between divided arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates of the touch coordinate data which is input in real time.
However, Kao teaches:
wherein the display driving circuit decides the touch occurrence position, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance for each of the first to fourth peripheral areas, the first to fourth divided areas, and the central divided area according to a comparison result between divided arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates of the touch coordinate data which is input in real time (Figs. 1, 2, [0030-0033]. Kao describes the concept of determining the touch position on a specific area (i.e. the sensing peripheral areas 213, the marginal area 215, the central area 230, the central area of the display area 211 excluding the marginal area) and the touch movement direction and/or distance (as touch coordination data) based on comparison to a predetermined value (as touch nodes coordination)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Re-claim 12,
it is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claims 1-3; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 13,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 12, claim 13 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 14,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 13, claim 14 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 15,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 13, claim 15 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 5; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Kao, and further in view of Lyon et al. (“Lyon”, US PG-Pub. 2011/0265039 A1).
Re-claim 7,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 6, Chen also teaches the device, wherein the display driving circuit:
generates digital video data including a menu displaying any one screen control function selected among first to fourth screen control functions preset for each of the first to fourth peripheral areas, and executes a selected one screen control function according to the touch occurrence position of the one point, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Fig. 3, [0027, 0034, 0035]. Chen describes a screen control function or operation control function is performed according to operation instruction by user on a selected OSD function (i.e. sound setting (to mute or unmute)) displayed on the LCD screen shown in steps 102 – 104).
Chen fails to teach:
displaying the digital video data including an icon as an image.
However, Kao teaches:
displaying the digital video data including an icon as an image (Fig. 3, [0036]. Kao describes a finger-touchable image icon (i.e. speaker icon)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of Chen with the touched specific area context to activate on-screen menu teaching of Kao to improve in appearance and feeling designs and convenient access and operations to users.
Modified Chen fails to teach:
in a case in which a touch occurrence position of one point is detected in any one of the first to fourth peripheral areas and the touch occurrence position of the one point moves in preset Y-axis and -Y-axis directions or preset X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time.
However, Lyon teaches:
in a case in which a touch occurrence position of one point is detected in any one of the first to fourth peripheral areas and the touch occurrence position of the one point moves in preset Y-axis and -Y-axis directions or preset X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time (Fig. 7A, [0042]. Lyon describes single point dragging gesture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of modified Chen with the touch gesture format teaching of Lyon to diversify different type of gesture touch contact format to operate different type of function as design.
Re-claim 8,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 6, Chen also teaches the device, wherein the display driving circuit:
generates digital video data which includes a menu bar displaying any one operation control function selected among first to fourth operation control functions preset for each of the first to fourth divided areas and displays the digital video data as an image, and executes a selected one operation control function according to the touch occurrence positions of the touch, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Fig. 3, [0027, 0034, 0035]. Chen describes a screen control function or operation control function is performed according to operation instruction by user on a selected OSD function (i.e. adjusting and directional operation setting (i.e. volume adjusting)) displayed on the LCD screen shown in steps 102 – 104).
Modified Chen fails to teach:
in a case in which touch occurrence positions of two points are detected in any one of the first to fourth divided areas and the touch occurrence positions of the two points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y-axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time.
However, Lyon teaches:
in a case in which touch occurrence positions of two points are detected in any one of the first to fourth divided areas and the touch occurrence positions of the two points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y-axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time (Fig. 7B, [0042]. Lyon describes two-points dragging gesture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of modified Chen with the touch gesture format teaching of Lyon to diversify different type of gesture touch contact format to operate different type of function as design.
Re-claim 9,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 6, Chen also teaches the device, wherein the display driving circuit:
generates digital video data which includes a menu bar display a preset operation control function based on a touch of the central divided area and displays the digital video data as an image, and executes the preset operation control function based on the touch of the central divided area according to the touch occurrence positions of the touch, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Fig. 3, [0027, 0034, 0035]. Chen describes a screen control function or operation control function is performed according to operation instruction by user on a selected OSD function (i.e. adjusting and directional operation setting (i.e. contrast or color adjusting)) displayed on the LCD screen shown in steps 102 – 104).
Modified Chen fails to teach:
in a case in which touch occurrence positions of two points are detected in the central divided area and the touch occurrence positions of the two points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y-axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time.
However, Lyon teaches:
in a case in which touch occurrence positions of two points are detected in the central divided area and the touch occurrence positions of the two points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y-axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time (Fig. 7B, [0042]. Lyon describes two-points dragging gesture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of modified Chen with the touch gesture format teaching of Lyon to diversify different type of gesture touch contact format to operate different type of function as design.
Re-claim 10,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 6, Chen also teaches the device, wherein the display driving circuit:
generates digital video data which includes a menu bar displaying any one operation control function selected among fifth to eighth operation control functions preset for each of the first to fourth divided areas and displays the digital video data as an image, and executes a selected one operation control function according to the touch occurrence positions of the touch, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Fig. 3, [0027, 0034, 0035]. Chen describes a screen control function or operation control function is performed according to operation instruction by user on a selected OSD function (i.e. adjusting and directional operation setting (i.e. contrast or color adjusting)) displayed on the LCD screen shown in steps 102 – 104).
Modified Chen fails to teach:
in a case that touch occurrence positions of three points are detected in any one of the first to fourth divided areas and the touch occurrence positions of the three points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y- axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time.
However, Lyon teaches:
in a case that touch occurrence positions of three points are detected in any one of the first to fourth divided areas and the touch occurrence positions of the three points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y- axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time ([0042]. Lyon describes multi-touches dragging gesture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of modified Chen with the touch gesture format teaching of Lyon to diversify different type of gesture touch contact format to operate different type of function as design.
Re-claim 11,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 6, Chen also teaches the device, wherein the display driving circuit:
generates digital video data which includes a menu bar display a preset operation control function based on a touch of the central divided area and displays the digital video data as an image, and executes the preset operation control function based on the touch of the central divided area according to the touch occurrence positions of the touch, the touch movement direction, and the movement distance (Fig. 3, [0027, 0034, 0035]. Chen describes a screen control function or operation control function is performed according to operation instruction by user on a selected OSD function (i.e. adjusting and directional operation setting (i.e. contrast or color adjusting)) displayed on the LCD screen shown in steps 102 – 104).
Modified Chen fails to teach:
in a case that touch occurrence positions of three points are detected in the central divided area and the touch occurrence positions of the three points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y-axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time.
However, Lyon teaches:
in a case that touch occurrence positions of three points are detected in the central divided area and the touch occurrence positions of the three points move in any one of Y-axis and -Y-axis directions and X-axis and -X-axis directions according to the comparison result between the arrangement coordinates of the touch nodes and the touch coordinates which are input in real time ([0042]. Lyon describes multi-touches dragging gesture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch on-screen display control functions teachings of modified Chen with the touch gesture format teaching of Lyon to diversify different type of gesture touch contact format to operate different type of function as design.
Re-claim 16,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 5, claim 16 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 17,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 5, claim 17 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 8; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 18,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 5, claim 18 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 9; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 19,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 5, claim 19 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 10; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 20,
in addition to what Chen-Kao teaches the device in claim 5, claim 20 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 11; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/TUAN S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179