DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “specific parameters, comprises” appears to be in error for “specific parameters comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “inform users a delivery status” appears to be in error for “inform users of a delivery status”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0055834 (Cassebee) in view of US 2022/0143303 (Russo).
Regarding claim 1, 11, Cassebee teaches a drug delivery device (Fig 1), comprising: a drug container (24); a pump engaged with the drug container and adapted to deliver a therapeutic substance from the drug container to a subject (pump 26, 28; para 71); a drive system adapted to drive the pump to move the therapeutic substance from the drug container (drive system construed as the “motor” – para 71); an orientation sensor adapted to detect an orientation of the drug container relative to gravity (sensor 50 – para 70, 79-81, Fig 3; it is noted that the container 24 is part of the “pump” 20 – see para 68; thus sensing orientation of the “pump” 20 also senses orientation of the container 24); and an operation processor acquired a pre-set program, in response to delivered volumes of the therapeutic substance and the orientation of the drug container, and adapted to provide an output signal to control delivery of the therapeutic substance (processor of controller 36 – para 3-4, 79-81, 84-104; Fig 3; the “program” is construed as the set of instructions that determine and indicate acceptable or inacceptable orientation, which is a function of delivered volume of the therapeutic substance and the orientation; output signal would control the indication – e.g. the light, sound, or vibration), and an alarm system, based on the output signal from the operation processor, and adapted to provide an interface output to inform users a delivery status of the therapeutic substance (para 84-104; alarm system comprising the indication – e.g. the light, sound, or vibration; interface output comprising the display 40 – para 97).
Cassebee fails to teach the pump being a peristaltic pump. However, Russo teaches a drug delivery device comprising a peristaltic pump and a drive system (para 16-17, 75, drive motor 244). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the pump a peristaltic pump driven by a drive motor, as taught by Russo. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the pump a peristaltic pump driven by a drive motor, yields predictable results (drug delivery).
Regarding claim 2-3, 12-13, Cassebee in view of Russo further teaches the drug container is a vial made by hard materials, and the peristaltic pump takes out the therapeutic substance from the vial by suction (Cassebee para 73-75, 80-81; Russo para 8, 10), the orientation sensor acquires the orientation of the drug container by detecting an angle difference between a longitudinal direction of the drug container and a direction of the gravity (Cassebee para 70, 81, Fig 3; orientation relative to gravity implicitly comprises the angle difference between a longitudinal direction of the drug container 24 and direction of gravity g; as annotated below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the drug container a vial made by hard materials, in order to save time, money, and resources, as taught by Russo.
Regarding claim 4, 14, Cassebee in view of Russo further teaches the operation processor acquires the pre-set program containing specific parameters, comprises the delivered volumes and/or time progression of the delivery of the therapeutic substance (Cassebee, para 3-4, 79-81, 84-104; Fig 3; the “program” is construed as the set of instructions that determine and indicate acceptable or inacceptable orientation, which is a function of delivered volume of the therapeutic substance and the orientation in order to determine when conduit 38 is in communication with the drug 22 inside the container; positions A-E have a different volume/delivered volume than F-J, and thus different ranges of acceptable orientation).
Regarding claim 5, 15, Cassebee in view of Russo further teaches wherein the operation processor defines a first angle boundary and a second angle boundary in accordance with the specific parameters (para 84-104; Cassabee teaches multiple levels of alerts; for example, “a bullseye level including concentric rings, with illumination of a center-most one of the rings (or a central circle within concentric rings) being indicative of the pump 20 being determined to be within the predefined range of predetermined acceptable orientations with each one of the rings successively closer to the center ring (or center circle) being indicative of the pump 20 being determined to be closer to the predefined range of predetermined acceptable orientations” – para 86; each ring of the concentric rings would represent a different angle boundary; for example, the “first angle boundary” may be the inner, center-most ring and the “second angle boundary” may be the outermost ring – e.g. farthest from an acceptable orientation; the same can be applied to the other modes – e.g. sound alerts or vibration alerts, each having multiple levels/boundaries).
Regarding claim 8-9, 17-19, Cassebee in view of Russo further teaches the operation processor acquires the pre-set program containing the specific parameters, the operation processor maintains the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is smaller than or equal to the first angle boundary (as discussed above, being within/smaller than the inner center-most ring is indicative of being within the acceptable orientation range, thereby allowing delivery), the alarm system comprises a single or a plurality of alarm units, the operation processor activates the alarm units to output an alarm signal or a combined alarm signal in response to the orientation greater than the first angle boundary but smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary, and the operation processor maintains the delivery of the therapeutic substance (para 84-104; Cassabee teaches multiple levels of alerts; the alerts at a middle level – e.g. a middle ring between the first boundary and the second boundary – are construed as “an alarm signal” in response to the orientation greater than the first angle boundary but smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary; it is noted that the claim does not require maintaining delivery in response to the orientation greater than the first angle boundary but smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary), wherein the operation processor is further adapted to maintain the delivery of the therapeutic substance and not actuate the alarm system in response to the orientation smaller than or equal to the first angle boundary (Cassabee para 94; “an audio signal is provided to indicate that the pump 20 is determined to be within the predefined range of predetermined acceptable orientations, the control circuitry 36 can be configured to stop the audio signal in response to the start of drug delivery, e.g., in response to a ‘start’ button being pushed on the pump 20, since the pump 20 is at the desired orientation”), the drug delivery device further comprises a memory unit electrically connected to the operation processor, the operation processor acquires the specific parameters for searching the first angle boundary and the second angle boundary in accordance with the specific parameters from the memory unit (para 79, 93, 152; acceptable orientations stored in a memory of the controller 36).
Regarding claim 10, 20, Cassebee in view of Russo further teaches wherein the drug delivery device further comprises a case or multiple cases assembled together as a single structure adapted to accommodate the drug container, the peristaltic pump, the orientation sensor, the drive system, and the operation processor, and the alarm system is disposed inside the case or on an outer surface of the case (Cassebee; case 21 or 25, Fig 4 or 5-7; para 87, 96-106; alarm/indication system may be through the user interface 40 on the case, or from sound or vibration on the case).
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0055834 (Cassebee) in view of US 2022/0143303 (Russo), and further in view of US 2022/0233757 (Visser).
Regarding claim 6, 16, Cassebee in view of Russo teaches the operation processor acquires the pre-set program containing the specific parameters and the alarm system comprises a single or a plurality of alarm units, the operation processor activates the alarm units to output an alarm signal or a combined alarm signal in response to the orientation greater than the second angle boundary (Cassabee; para 91; “the vibrating mechanism can be configured as an electronic level with vibration of the vibrating mechanism being greater the farther the pump 20 is from the predefined range of predetermined acceptable orientations and the vibrating mechanism not vibrating when the pump 20 is determined to be within the predefined range of predetermined acceptable orientations”; in this case, processor activates the alarm unit – e.g. a greater vibration – in response to orientation greater than the second angle boundary – e.g. farther from the acceptable orientation) but fails to explicitly teach, the operation processor pauses the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is greater than the second angle boundary. However, Visser teaches that it was known in the art to pause delivery when orientation is unacceptable (para 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the processor pause the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is greater than the second angle boundary, as taught by Visser. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, the processor pausing the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is greater than the second angle boundary yields predictable results (drug delivery during desired conditions/orientations).
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0055834 (Cassebee) in view of US 2022/0143303 (Russo), and further in view of US 2013/0085443 (Lowery).
Regarding claim 7, 17, Cassebee in view of Russo further teaches the operation processor acquires the pre-set program containing the specific parameters (para 3-4, 79-81, 84-104; Fig 3; the “program” is construed as the set of instructions that determine and indicate acceptable or inacceptable orientation, which is a function of delivered volume of the therapeutic substance and the orientation in order to determine when conduit 38 is in communication with the drug 22 inside the container), the alarm system comprises a single or a plurality of alarm units, the operation processor activates the alarm units to output an alarm signal or a combined alarm signal in response to the orientation greater than the first angle boundary but smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary (para 84-104; Cassabee teaches multiple levels of alerts; the alerts at a middle level – e.g. a middle ring between the first boundary and the second boundary – are construed as “an alarm signal” in response to the orientation greater than the first angle boundary but smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary) but fails to explicitly teach the operation processor maintains the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary. However, Lowery teaches that it was well known in the art to continue delivery of a therapeutic substance after a first angle boundary but before a second angle boundary (Fig 6, para 76-80; tilt/orientation angle exceeds a first angle boundary – e.g. the warning threshold – but is less than a second angle boundary – the “alarm condition”, which stops flow). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the operation processor maintains the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary, as taught by Lowery. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, the operation processor maintaining the delivery of the therapeutic substance when the orientation of the drug container is smaller than or equal to the second angle boundary yields predictable results (drug delivery during desired conditions/orientations). Furthermore, Cassabee teaches that it was known in the art to take different actions at different levels of orientation (para 84-104). Determining the appropriate levels of warnings, alerts, and control of the therapeutic substance would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art and obvious in order to deliver the therapeutic substance, provide information to the user, and prevent air entry.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0108201 a drug delivery device with an orientation sensor (para 254, Fig 8-10). US 2017/0196771 teaches a drug delivery device with an angle sensor (para 269).
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741