DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 12/10/2025. The previous objections to specification and claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections and claim interpretations have been maintained. Claims 1-22 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first vibration insulating member” in claim 17.
“second vibration insulating member” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “first vibration insulating member”. The term “first vibration insulating member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the function of insulating the vibrations is performed. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of insulating vibrations. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitations “second vibration insulating member”. The term “second vibration insulating member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the function of insulating the vibrations is performed. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of insulating vibrations. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Claims 18 and 20 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “first vibration insulating member” in claim 17 and “second vibration insulating member” in claim 19 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 18 and 20 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosch (WO2020207785A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bosch teaches an outdoor unit (heat pump unit 15 Fig. 1) of an air conditioner (heat pump system 10 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0061]), comprising: a case (outer casing 55 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0065]) forming an outer appearance of the outdoor unit (Fig. 1); a barrier (second partition wall 155 Fig. 3) that divides an inner space of the case (corresponds to the inner space of outer casing 55 Figs. 1 and 3) into a heat exchange space (second housing interior space 100 Fig. 3) and an electric space (corresponds to the space that accommodates first inner housing 65 and second inner housing 70 Figs. 2-3); a heat exchanger (first heat exchanger 85 Fig. 2) disposed in the heat exchange space (Fig. 2); a fan (fan 90 Fig. 2) disposed in the heat exchange space (Fig. 2); a refrigerant cycle device (corresponds to all the components accommodated in first housing interior 95 Fig. 2) including a compressor (compressor device 75 Fig. 2) disposed in the electric space (Fig. 2); and a shield assembly (first inner housing 65 Fig. 3) disposed within the case (paragraph [0152]) in the electric space (Fig. 3) so as to completely surround an outside of the refrigerant cycle device (Figs. 2 and 5), wherein at least one pipe penetration hole (first feedthroughs 145 Fig. 3) through which a refrigerant pipe (first line 40 and second line 45 Fig. 1) connected to the refrigerant cycle device passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0097]), wherein the one side of the shield assembly faces into the electric space (Fig. 3 where first feedthroughs 145 face in the X direction), and wherein the refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device within the shield assembly passes through the at least one pipe penetration hole (paragraph [0097]) into the electric space outside of the shield assembly and within the case (referring to Figs. 6 and 9 along with paragraph [0152], a person skilled in the art would recognize that portions of first line 40 and second line 45 will be located within gap 235).
Regarding claim 2, Bosch teaches wherein the shield assembly includes: a shield base (first base plate 120 Fig. 3) that supports the refrigerant cycle device (Figs. 2-3); a shield rear case (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on a rear end portion of the shield base (Figs. 2-3); a shield side case (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on a side end portion of the shield base (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch); a shield top case (first housing cover 150 Fig. 3) disposed on an upper end portion of the shield rear case (Fig. 3); and a shield front case (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on a front end portion of the shield base (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch).
Regarding claim 4, Bosch teaches wherein an electric wire penetration hole (referring to paragraph [0081], a person skilled in the art would recognize that first housing cover 150 Fig. 3 is provide with a hole to allow the electrical connection of compressor device 75 to control unit 80 Fig. 2) through which an electric wire (corresponds to the disclosed “electrical connection” in paragraph [0081]) passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly (first housing cover 150 Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Bosch teaches wherein the shield rear case is disposed to face the barrier (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Bosch teaches wherein the shield rear case forms a first side (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) and an outer appearance of a rear surface of the shield assembly (rear wall 140 Fig. 3), and wherein the shield side case forms an outer appearance of a second side of the shield assembly (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch).
Regarding claim 11, Bosch teaches wherein the shield base includes a recessed portion (the middle of base plate 120 Fig. 3 is recessed when compared to the outer perimeter of base plate 120), the recessed portion being a portion of a center of an upper surface of the shield base (corresponds to a portion of the middle upper surface of base plate 120 Fig. 3) which is recessed downward (Fig. 3), and wherein the compressor is disposed above the recessed portion (Figs. 2 and 8).
Regarding claim 15, Bosch teaches wherein the shield base further includes at least one bracket coupling portion (decoupling element 205 Figs. 2 and 8) configured to be coupled to a compressor bracket (corresponds to the base plate of the compressor illustrated by the dotted lines in Fig. 7) that supports the compressor (Figs. 2 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch, in view of Mitsuyanagi et al. (JP2012072961A, herein after referred to as Mitsuyanagi), and in further view of Clendenin et al. (US 5151018, herein after referred to as Clendenin).
Regarding claim 3, Bosch teaches further comprising: a heat storage tank (domestic water tank 30 Fig. 1).
Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the heat storage tank disposed in the electric space to face the shield side case”.
However, Mitsuyanagi teaches a heat storage tank (heat storage tank 32 Fig. 4 corresponds to the heat storage tank of Bosch) disposed in an electric space (the space that accommodates soundproof material 64 Fig. 17 corresponds to the electric space of Bosch) to face a shield side case (Fig. 17 where the right side of soundproof material 64 corresponds to the shield side case of Bosch) to shorten the conduits that connect the outdoor unit to the heat storage tank.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “the heat storage tank disposed in the electric space to face the shield side case” in view of the teachings of Mitsuyanagi to shorten the conduits that connect the outdoor unit to the heat storage tank.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the at least one pipe penetration hole is formed in the shield side case”.
However, Clendenin teaches wherein at least one pipe penetration hole (aperture 14 Fig. 3) is formed in a shield side case (Fig. 3 where front side 33 corresponds to the shield side case of Bosch) to provide the holes at any convenient location when routing the refrigerant lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the at least one pipe penetration hole is formed in the shield side case” in view of the teachings of Clendenin to provide the holes at any convenient location when routing the refrigerant lines.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch in view of Clendenin.
Regarding claim 5, Bosch teaches further comprising: a control box assembly (second inner housing 70 Fig. 2) disposed in the electric space to face the shield side case (Fig. 2 where the bottom surface of second inner housing 70 is facing the upper surface of first inner housing 65 Fig. 2).
Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the electric wire penetration hole is formed in the shield side case”.
However, Clendenin teaches wherein an electric wire penetration hole (opening 25 Fig. 3 corresponds to the electric wire penetration hole of Bosch) is formed in a shield side case (Fig. 3 where front side 33 corresponds to the shield side case of Bosch) to simplify installation by providing all wiring and piping on one side of the shield assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “wherein the electric wire penetration hole is formed in the shield side case” in view of the teachings of Clendenin to simplify installation by providing all wiring and piping on one side of the shield assembly.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch, in view of Oku et al. (US 20210010712 A1, herein after referred to as Oku), and in further view of Clendenin.
Regarding claim 6, Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the shield side case includes: a first side case disposed on a side end portion of the shield base; and a second side case coupled to an upper end portion of the first side case”.
However, Oku teaches wherein a shield side case includes (outer peripheral surface 60a, side fixing element 63, and draining element 80 Fig. 4 correspond to the shield side case of Bosch): a first side case (outer peripheral surface 60a Fig. 4) disposed on a side end portion of the shield base (Figs. 3 and 4 where the right side end portion of bottom panel 4 corresponds to the side end portion of the shield base); and a second side case (side fixing element 63 Fig. 4) coupled to an upper end portion of the first side case (Fig. 10) to provide drainage for the top portion of the shield assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “wherein the shield side case includes: a first side case disposed on a side end portion of the shield base; and a second side case coupled to an upper end portion of the first side case” in view of the teachings of Oku to provide drainage for the top portion of the shield assembly.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the at least one pipe penetration hole is formed in the shield side case”.
However, Clendenin teaches wherein at least one pipe penetration hole (aperture 14 Fig. 3) is formed in a shield side case (Fig. 3 where front side 33 corresponds to the shield side case of Bosch) to provide the holes at any convenient location when routing the refrigerant lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the at least one pipe penetration hole is formed in the shield side case” in view of the teachings of Clendenin to provide the holes at any convenient location when routing the refrigerant lines.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the shield side case further includes a third side case (draining element 80 Fig. 4 of Oku) coupled to an upper end portion of the second side case (Fig. 10 of Oku), and wherein the shield top case (top cover 70 Fig. 10 of Oku corresponds to the shield top case of Bosch) is coupled to an upper end portion of the third side case (Fig. 10 of Oku).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch in view of Shin (KR100667100B1).
Regarding claim 10, Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a locking groove is formed in the shield front case, and wherein a locking protrusion configured to be coupled to the locking groove is formed on the shield top case”.
However, Shin teaches wherein a locking groove (engaging grooves 31 Fig. 4) is formed in a shield front case (Fig. 3 where side plate 14 corresponds to the shield front case of Bosch), and wherein a locking protrusion (locking projection 32 Fig. 4) configured to be coupled to the locking groove (Fig. 4) is formed on a shield top case (Fig. 3 where full-length plate 28 corresponds to the shield top case of Bosch) to provide a top cover that can be secured to the shield assembly but can also be easily removed to access components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “wherein a locking groove is formed in the shield front case, and wherein a locking protrusion configured to be coupled to the locking groove is formed on the shield top case” in view of the teachings of Shin to provide a top cover that can be secured to the shield assembly but can also be easily removed to access components.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch in view of Gotou et al. (US 20180080666 A1, herein after referred to as Gotou).
Regarding claim 12, Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a refrigerant hole through which the refrigerant is discharged in a downward direction is formed in the recessed portion”.
However, Gotou teaches wherein a refrigerant hole (drain hole 33 Fig. 1) through which refrigerant (the disclosed “moisture” in paragraph [0041] corresponds to the refrigerant of Bosch) is discharged in a downward direction (from top to bottom Fig. 1) is formed in a recessed portion (the inner area surrounded by reinforcing ribs 34 Fig. 1 corresponds to the recessed portion of Bosch) to remove any leaked refrigerant from the shield assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “wherein a refrigerant hole through which the refrigerant is discharged in a downward direction is formed in the recessed portion” in view of the teachings of Gotou to remove any leaked refrigerant from the shield assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the shield base further includes at least one refrigerant slit through which the refrigerant is discharged in a downward direction”.
However, Gotou teaches wherein a shield base (sound-insulating material bottom portion 31 Fig. 1 corresponds to the shield base of Bosch) further includes at least one refrigerant slit (corresponds to one of the holes located between the two reinforcing ribs 34 Fig. 1) through which a refrigerant (referring to paragraph [0041] and Fig. 1, a person skilled in the art would recognize that any moisture/refrigerant flowing down on the sidewalls of the compressor can be drained through the holes located between the two reinforcing ribs 34) is discharged in a downward direction (from top to bottom Fig. 1) is formed in a recessed portion (the inner area surrounded by reinforcing ribs 34 Fig. 1 corresponds to the recessed portion of Bosch) to remove any leaked refrigerant from the shield assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “wherein the shield base further includes at least one refrigerant slit through which the refrigerant is discharged in a downward direction” in view of the teachings of Gotou to remove any leaked refrigerant from the shield assembly.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the at least one refrigerant slit comprises a plurality of refrigerant slits (corresponds to the two holes located between the two reinforcing ribs 34 Fig. 1 of Gotou) spaced apart along an outer circumference of the recessed portion (Fig. 1 of Gotou).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch in view of Bonifas (US 9153225 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Bosch teaches wherein the at least one bracket coupling portion comprises a plurality of the bracket coupling portions (Fig. 7).
Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the plurality of the bracket coupling portions spaced apart along an outer circumference of the recessed portion”.
However, Bonifas teaches a plurality of the bracket coupling portions (second apertures 48 Fig. 2 corresponds to the plurality of the bracket coupling portions of Bosch) spaced apart along an outer circumference of a recessed portion (Fig. 2 where the circular region in the middle of base 24 corresponds to the recessed portion of Bosch) to provide more bracket coupling portions allowing for a tighter coupling between the two parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “the plurality of the bracket coupling portions spaced apart along an outer circumference of the recessed portion” in view of the teachings of Bonifas to provide more bracket coupling portions allowing for a tighter coupling between the two parts.
Regarding claim 17, Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “further comprising: a first vibration insulating member that connects the compressor bracket and the at least one bracket coupling portion”.
However, Bonifas teaches further comprising: a first vibration insulating member (third isolation member 44 Fig. 2) that connects a compressor bracket (lower shell member 34 Fig. 2 corresponds to the compressor bracket of Bosch) and at least one bracket coupling portion (Figs. 2 and 6 where second aperture 48 corresponds to the bracket coupling portion of Bosch) to dampen the compressor vibrations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “further comprising: a first vibration insulating member that connects the compressor bracket and the at least one bracket coupling portion” in view of the teachings of Bonifas to dampen the compressor vibrations.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the shield base (base 24 Figs. 2 and 6 of Bonifas corresponds to the shield base of Bosch) further includes at least one base coupling portion (fastener 38 Figs. 2 and 6 of Bonifas) configured to be coupled to a base panel (mounting structure 97 Fig. 6 of Bonifas) that forms a bottom surface of the case (Fig. 6 of Bonifas where mounting structure 97 corresponds to the bottom surface of the case of Bosch).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a second vibration insulating member (second isolation member 42 Figs. 2 and 6 of Bonifas) that connects the base panel and the at least one base coupling portion (Fig. 6 of Bonifas).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein the at least one base coupling portion comprises a plurality of base coupling portions (fasteners 38 Fig. 2 of Bonifas) spaced apart along an outer edge of the shield base (Figs. 2 and 6 of Bonifas).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch, in view of Shin, and in further view of Choi (KR20060039592A).
Regarding claim 21, Bosch teaches an outdoor unit (heat pump unit 15 Fig. 1) of an air conditioner (heat pump system 10 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0061]), comprising: a case (outer casing 55 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0065]) forming an outer appearance of the outdoor unit (Fig. 1); a barrier (second partition wall 155 Fig. 3) that divides an inner space of the case (corresponds to the inner space of housing 35 Fig. 3) into a heat exchange space (second housing interior space 100 Fig. 3) and an electric space (corresponds to the space that accommodates first inner housing 65 and second inner housing 70 Figs. 2-3); a heat exchanger (first heat exchanger 85 Fig. 2) disposed in the heat exchange space (Fig. 2); a fan (fan 90 Fig. 2) disposed in the heat exchange space (Fig. 2); a control box assembly (second inner housing 70 Fig. 2) disposed in the electric space (Fig. 2); a refrigerant cycle device (corresponds to all the component accommodated in first housing interior 95 Fig. 2) including a compressor (compressor device 75 Fig. 2) disposed in the electric space (Fig. 2); and a shield assembly (first inner housing 65 Fig. 3) disposed within the case (paragraph [0152]) in the electric space (Fig. 3) and configured to completely surround an outside of the refrigerant cycle device (Figs. 2 and 5), wherein at least one pipe penetration hole (first feedthroughs 145 Fig. 3) through which a refrigerant pipe (first line 40 and second line 45 Fig. 1) connected to the refrigerant cycle device passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0097]), wherein the one side of the shield assembly faces into the electric space (Fig. 3 where first feedthroughs 145 face in the X direction), and wherein the refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device within the shield assembly passes through the at least one pipe penetration hole (paragraph [0097]) into the electric space outside of the shield assembly and within the case (referring to Figs. 6 and 9 along with paragraph [0152], a person skilled in the art would recognize that portions of first line 40 and second line 45 will be located within gap 235).
Bosch teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the control box assembly, including at least one printed circuit board”.
However, Shin teaches a control box assembly (machine room C3 corresponds to the control box assembly of Bosch), including at least one printed circuit board (circuit board 27 Fig. 1) to control the operations of the air conditioner unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bosch to include “the control box assembly, including at least one printed circuit board” in view of the teachings of Shin to control the operations of the air conditioner unit.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the shield assembly disposed between the barrier and the control box assembly”.
However, Choi teaches a shield assembly (intake Enclosures 40 Figs. 1-2 corresponds to the shield assembly of Bosch) disposed between a barrier (partition 17 Fig. 3 corresponds to the barrier of Choi) and a control box assembly (electrical component bracket 19 Figs. 1 and 3) to ease the installation process (paragraph [10]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the shield assembly disposed between the barrier and the control box assembly” in view of the teachings of Choi to ease the installation process.
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach wherein the shield assembly includes: a shield base (first base plate 120 Fig. 3 of Bosch) that supports the refrigerant cycle device (Figs. 2-3 of Bosch); a shield rear case (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on a rear end portion of the shield base (Figs. 2-3 of Bosch); a shield side case (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on a side end portion of the shield base (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch); a shield top case (first housing cover 150 Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on an upper end portion of the shield rear case (Fig. 3 of Bosch); and a shield front case (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch) disposed on a front end portion of the shield base (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Bosch).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant' s arguments on pages 10-11 that the terms “first vibration insulating member” in claim 17 and “second vibration insulating member” in claim 19 should not invoke 112f, the Examiner disagrees. The claim language uses a generic placeholder, “member,” coupled with functional language (“insulating”), without reciting sufficient structure in the Specification. Further the term “member” is merely a nonce word of “non-structural generic placeholder” equivalent to the term “means” because it fails to connote sufficiently definite structure and, in the context of claims 17 and 19, invokes § 112(f). Therefore, the Applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-13, that Bosch fails to teach or disclose “a shield assembly disposed within the case in the electric space so as to completely surround an outside of the refrigerant cycle device, wherein at least one pipe penetration hole through which a refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly, wherein the one side of the shield assembly faces into the electric space, and wherein the refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device within the shield assembly passes through the at least one pipe penetration hole into the electric space outside of the shield assembly and within the case” as recited by amended claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 1 is repeated below:
Bosch teaches a shield assembly (first inner housing 65 Fig. 3) disposed within a case (paragraph [0152] where outer casing 55 Fig. 1 corresponds to the case) in an electric space (Figs. 2-3 where the space that accommodates first inner housing 65 and second inner housing 70 corresponds to the electric space) so as to completely surround an outside of a refrigerant cycle device (Figs. 2 and 5 where all the components accommodated in first housing interior 95 correspond to the refrigerant cycle device), wherein at least one pipe penetration hole (first feedthroughs 145 Fig. 3) through which a refrigerant pipe (first line 40 and second line 45 Fig. 1) connected to the refrigerant cycle device passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0097]), wherein the one side of the shield assembly faces into the electric space (Fig. 3 where first feedthroughs 145 face in the X direction), and wherein the refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device within the shield assembly passes through the at least one pipe penetration hole (paragraph [0097]) into the electric space outside of the shield assembly and within the case (referring to Figs. 6 and 9 along with paragraph [0152], a person skilled in the art would recognize that portions of first line 40 and second line 45 will be located within gap 235).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pages 14-15, that Bosch fails to teach or disclose “a case forming an outer appearance of the outdoor unit; a control box assembly; a refrigerant cycle device including a compressor disposed in the electric space; and a shield assembly disposed within the case in the electric space between the barrier and the control box assembly and configured to completely surround an outside of the refrigerant cycle device, wherein at least one pipe penetration hole through which a refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly, wherein the one side of the shield assembly faces into the electric space, and wherein the refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device within the shield assembly passes through the at least one pipe penetration hole into the electric space outside of the shield assembly and within the case” as recited by amended claim 21, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 21 is repeated below:
Bosch teaches a case (outer casing 55 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0065]) forming an outer appearance of the outdoor unit (Fig. 1); a control box assembly (second inner housing 70 Fig. 2); a refrigerant cycle device (corresponds to all the components accommodated in first housing interior 95 Fig. 2) including a compressor (compressor device 75 Fig. 2) disposed in an electric space (Figs. 2-3 where the space that accommodates first inner housing 65 and second inner housing 70 corresponds to the electric space); and a shield assembly (first inner housing 65 Fig. 3) disposed within a case (paragraph [0152] where outer casing 55 Fig. 1 corresponds to the case) in an electric space (Figs. 2-3 where the space that accommodates first inner housing 65 and second inner housing 70 corresponds to the electric space) and configured to completely surround an outside of a refrigerant cycle device (Figs. 2 and 5 where all the components accommodated in first housing interior 95 correspond to the refrigerant cycle device), wherein at least one pipe penetration hole (first feedthroughs 145 Fig. 3) through which a refrigerant pipe (first line 40 and second line 45 Fig. 1) connected to the refrigerant cycle device passes is formed on one side of the shield assembly (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0097]), wherein the one side of the shield assembly faces into the electric space (Fig. 3 where first feedthroughs 145 face in the X direction), and wherein the refrigerant pipe connected to the refrigerant cycle device within the shield assembly passes through the at least one pipe penetration hole (paragraph [0097]) into the electric space outside of the shield assembly and within the case (referring to Figs. 6 and 9 along with paragraph [0152], a person skilled in the art would recognize that portions of first line 40 and second line 45 will be located within gap 235).
The apparatus of Bosch is modified by the teachings of Choi to include a shield assembly (intake Enclosures 40 Figs. 1-2 corresponds to the shield assembly of Bosch) disposed between a barrier (partition 17 Fig. 3 corresponds to the barrier of Choi) and a control box assembly (electrical component bracket 19 Figs. 1 and 3) to ease the installation process (paragraph [10]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763