DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/22/26 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 09/22/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Noted is reference US 2022/0098013 A1 (to Huang), which was provided in the Non-Patent literature of Applicant’s IDS. Specifically, the Canadian search report NPL listed the Huang reference, and was made known to the Office by Applicant on 1/22/26. This action is made final under the provisions of MPEP 609.04(b)(II)(A)(2) due to the IDS containing a new reference which prompted the new grounds of rejection (below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Applicant has incorporated original claim 16 (previously indicated allowable) into independent claim 13.
The indicated allowability of previous claim 16 (currently claim 1) is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to Huang (submitted in the IDS of ). Rejections based on the newly cited references follow.
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to anticipate or make obvious the entire combination of claim recitations set forth in any of claims 1, 17, or 18. Specifically, these claims require:
[Claims 1 and 17] wherein the first frame portion includes a motor module connection interface configured to mount a winch motor; wherein the spool frame is attachable to the recreational vehicle in at least two orientations including a horizontal orientation, and a vertical mounting orientation; and wherein in the horizontal orientation the fairlead is attached to the spool frame via the plurality of vehicle mounting holes of the first and second frame portions and the top plate is attached to the spool frame via the secondary mounting hole of the first and second frame portions, and wherein in the vertical orientation the top plate is attached to the spool frame via the plurality of vehicle mounting holes and the fairlead is attached to the spool frame via the secondary mounting hole of the first and second frame portions.
[Claim 18] wherein the first frame portion includes a motor module connection interface configured to mount the winch motor; wherein the spool frame is attachable to the recreational vehicle in at least two orientations including a horizontal orientation, and a vertical mounting orientation; and wherein the spool extends along a spool plane substantially perpendicular to each of the first frame portion and the second frame portion, wherein the plurality of vehicle mounting holes are approximately parallel with the first and second face, wherein at least a first vehicle mounting hole of each of the first frame portion and the second frame portion is substantially normal to the spool plane, and wherein at least a second vehicle mounting hole of each for the first frame portion and the second frame portion intersects the spool plane at a non-perpendicular angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0098013 A1 (hereinafter “Huang”) in view of US 2021/0316972 A1 (hereinafter “Shih-Jyi”).
Regarding claim 13 Huang discloses a modular winch system comprising:
a spool (13);
a spool frame (14/15) including a first frame portion (15) and a second frame portion (14) configured to rotatably support the spool (13) therebetween, the first and second frame portions (14/15) each including:
a first face (F1; see annotated fig. below, with corresponding features in element 14) and a second face (F2), and a sidewall (i.e. 14 and 15 could be considered “sidewalls”) extending between the first and second faces (F1/F2);
a plurality of vehicle mounting holes (H1; i.e. 151 on underside in fig. 4) for fastening (capable of fastening; i.e. this is a functional recitation) the modular winch system to a recreational vehicle, the vehicle mounting holes (H1; i.e. 151 on underside in fig. 4) extended (at least partially) through the sidewall (i.e. 14 and 15 could be considered “sidewalls”);
a secondary mounting hole (H2; i.e. 151 at front in fig. 4) extended partially through the sidewall (i.e. 14 and 15 could be considered “sidewalls”) approximately perpendicular to the vehicle mounting holes (H1; i.e. 151 on underside in fig. 4); and
a spool connection interface (I; see annotated fig. below) including a bearing aperture for rotatably supporting an end of the spool (13), the bearing aperture extended through the first (F1) and second face (F2) approximately parallel with the sidewall (i.e. 14 and 15 could be considered “sidewalls”);
a plurality of winch modules including a winch motor (11), a winch gearbox (12), and a fairlead (18) each connected to the spool frame (14/15),
wherein the second frame portion (14) includes a gearbox module connection interface (GC, see annotated fig. below) configured to mount the winch gearbox (12) and has a rotational orientation defined by one of a pair of module attachment holes (H3) of the second frame portion (14); and
wherein the spool frame (14/15) is attachable (capable of being attached; i.e. this is a functional recitation) to the recreational vehicle in at least two orientations including a horizontal orientation (fig. 4) where the plurality of vehicle mounting holes (H1; i.e. 151 on underside in fig. 4) are approximately horizontal relative to the earth, and a vertical mounting orientation (fig. 8) where the plurality of vehicle mounting holes (H1; i.e. 151 on underside in fig. 4) are approximately vertical relative to the earth.
Huang teaches only an indirect connection between the motor and the first frame portion (e.g. fig. 3), and thus fails to teach the motor module connection interface of claim 13. Shih-Jyi teaches a winch with two frame portions, a drum, a gear connection interface, and a motor.
Shih-Jyi further teaches wherein a first frame portion (35) includes a motor module connection interface (MC, see annotated fig. below) configured to mount a winch motor (e.g. 31/32/40) and has a rotational orientation defined by a pair of module attachment holes of a plurality of module attachment holes (see screw holes in fig. 6) of (fixed to) the first frame portion (35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the motor of Huang to the first frame portion of Huang, as taught by Shih-Jyi with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to more securely mount the motor to the frame.
Regarding claim 15 modified Huang teaches the above winch, and further teaches wherein the gearbox module connection interface (Huang GC, above) including a plurality of winch module attachment holes (Huang H3, above) extended through [only one of] the first (Huang F1) and second face (Huang F2) approximately parallel with the sidewall (i.e. Huang 14 and 15 could be considered “sidewalls”), the plurality of attachment holes (Huang H3) circumferentially spaced (non-arcuately) about the spool bearing aperture (at Huang “I,” above) and defining at least two pairs of attachment holes, each pair of attachment holes corresponding to a different rotational orientation (see figs. 4 and 8) about the spool bearing aperture for an attached winch gearbox (12).
Huang fails to teach the module attachment holes extending through both the first and second faces. Bolted connections are shown in Huang (and other prior art references), and the depth thereof is considered a mere design choice by those of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the bolt holes of any size, including making them through holes, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to more securely fasten the gearbox to the winch.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0320709 A1 (hereinafter “Frazier”) in view of Huang.
Regarding claim 13 Frazier teaches a modular winch system comprising:
a spool (104);
a spool frame (F1/F2, see annotated figure below) including a first frame portion (F1) and a second frame portion (F2) configured to rotatably support the spool (104) therebetween, the first and second frame portions (F1/F2) each including:
a first face (FA1, see annotated figure below) and second face (FA2), and a sidewall (S) extending between the first and second faces (FA1/FA2);
a secondary mounting hole (H2) extended partially through the sidewall (S) approximately perpendicular to [a vertical axis]; and
a spool connection interface (C) including a bearing aperture (B) for rotatably supporting an end of the spool (104), the bearing aperture (B) extended through the first and second face (FA1/FA2) approximately parallel with the sidewall (S); and
a plurality of winch modules including a winch motor (106), a winch gearbox (128), [each] connected to the spool frame (F1/F2), wherein the first frame portion (F1) includes a motor module connection interface (i.e. apertures for bolts shown in upper left of figure 2) configured to mount the winch motor (106) and has a rotational orientation defined by a pair of module attachment holes (i.e. apertures for bolts shown in upper left of figure 2) of the first frame portion (F1), wherein the second frame portion (F2) includes a gearbox module connection interface (i.e. apertures for bolts shown in lower right of figure 2) configured to mount the winch gearbox (128) and has a rotational orientation defined by one of the pair of module attachment holes (i.e. apertures for bolts shown in upper left of figure 2) of the second frame portion (F2).
While Frazier teaches mounting the winch on a vehicle (paragraph 24), Frazier fails to teach how the winch is mounted, in which orientation the winch could be mounted, or whether a fairlead could be used therewith.
Huang teaches these limitations, as explained above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the winch of Frazier with the structure taught by Huang with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to securely mount the winch to the vehicle. It furthermore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the fairlead of Huang to the winch of Frazier with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to guide the line and prevent unwanted abrasion thereof.
Regarding claim 14 modified Frazier teaches the above system. Frazier further teaches wherein the motor module connection interface (i.e. apertures for bolts shown in upper left of figure 2) including (being) a plurality of winch module attachment holes extended through the first and second face (FA1/FA2) approximately parallel with the sidewall (S), the plurality of attachment holes circumferentially spaced about the bearing aperture and defining at least two pairs of attachment holes (i.e. there are 8 in each frame member), each pair of attachment holes corresponding to a different rotational orientation about the bearing aperture for an attached winch motor (106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 01/22/26 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619