DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election of invention I without traverse on July 6, 2026, claims 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
Paragraph 20 of the specification includes the following: “In addition, and the well region 110 laterally extends around and encircles the finger structures F as shown in FIG. 1A.” This is ungrammatical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims [] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a transistor finger structure extending longitudinally along the first direction and including a drain finger having opposite drain finger ends spaced apart from one another along the first direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of a second type, and source fingers laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the drain finger along the second direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of the second type”. It is not clear whether the source fingers are listed along with the drain fingers as part of the transistor finger structure, or if they are listed along with the transistor finger structure.
Claim 1 recites “source fingers laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the drain finger along the second direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of the second type; and a well region including majority carrier dopants of the first type in the semiconductor layer, the source fingers extending in respective portions of the well region, and the well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure.” Claim 2 recites “the source fingers comprise a second well region extending in the respective portions of the well region, the second well region including majority carrier dopants of the first type in the semiconductor layer, the second well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure, and the second well region having an end portion that extends beyond a lateral end of the well region along the first direction.” Thus there are a three elements recited: a source finger of the second conductivity type; a well region of the first type; and a second well region of the first type. These appear to correspond to the source finger S, the well region 110, and the second well region 114. 110 and 114 are of the first type ([0020], [0022]). Looking at FIG. 1, the source finger S appears to identify the source electrode. The specification states at [0018] that “The respective transistor finger structures also include two source fingers S laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the corresponding drain finger D along the second direction Y in the semiconductor layer 104. The source fingers S includes majority carrier dopants of the second type N.” However, there is no identification of what is the N-doped source finger.
Claims 8 and 10 have the same problem.
Claim 3 recites “the end portion”, which lacks antecedent basis.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Todd, US 2020/0006550 A1.
Claim 1: Todd discloses
a semiconductor layer (106) having a side extending in a plane of orthogonal first and second directions and including majority carrier dopants of a first type (P, [0010]);
a transistor finger structure extending longitudinally along the first direction (horizontal, FIG. 2) and including a drain finger having opposite drain finger (DRAIN) ends spaced apart from one another along the first direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of a second type (112, N), and source fingers (SOURCE, FIG. 2) laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the drain finger along the second direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of the second type (110, N);
and a well region (108) including majority carrier dopants of the first type (P, FIG. 1) in the semiconductor layer, the source fingers extending in respective portions of the well region, and the well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure. Note that the well region 108 is on both sides of FIG. 1, corresponding to the vertical direction of FIG. 2, and on the horizontal end of FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 3 (as well as the other end that is not shown in that figure.)
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang, US 2021/0167205 A1.
Claim 1: Wang discloses
a semiconductor layer (214) having a side extending in a plane of orthogonal first and second directions and including majority carrier dopants of a first type (P, [0017]);
a transistor finger structure extending longitudinally along the first direction (vertical, FIG. 3) and including a drain finger (23oD) having opposite drain finger ends spaced apart from one another along the first direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of a second type ([0045]), and source fingers (230S) laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the drain finger along the second direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of the second type ([0046]);
and a well region (242) including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0049]) in the semiconductor layer, the source fingers extending in respective portions of the well region, and the well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure (FIG. 3).
Claims 1-3m 6m and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Edwards, US 2017/0179260 A1.
Claim 1: Edwards discloses
a semiconductor layer (115) having a side extending in a plane of orthogonal first and second directions and including majority carrier dopants of a first type (p, [0023]);
a transistor finger (FIG. 2B) structure extending longitudinally along the first direction (horizontal, FIG. 2B) and including a drain finger (145) having opposite drain finger ends spaced apart from one another along the first direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of a second type (“n+ source-p-body-n+ drain”, [0029]), and source fingers (148) laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the drain finger along the second direction in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of the second type ([0035]);
and a well region (130) including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0026]) in the semiconductor layer, the source fingers extending in respective portions of the well region, and the well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure (FIGS. 2A and 2B).
Claim 2: the source fingers comprise a second well region (140) extending in the respective portions of the well region, the second well region including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0031]) in the semiconductor layer, the second well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure, and the second well region having an end portion that extends beyond a lateral end of the well region along the first direction (FIGS. 2A and 2B). As 140 surrounds 148, it will extend beyond it in all directions.
Claim 3: the lateral end of the well region has a first width along the first direction, and the end portion of the second well region is wider than the first width along the first direction (FIG. 3).
Claim 6: Edwards discloses an implanted region (142a) including majority carrier dopants of the first type (p, [0035]: “backgate/body contact region 142a can be formed within the DWELL 130 by adding a p+ SD (PSD) implant”) in a lateral top portion of the second well region spaced apart from the transistor finger structure along the second direction, and a conductive contact (142) extending from the implanted region to a metallization structure (FIG. 3).
Claim 7: a lateral end of the well region has a first width along the first direction, a lateral top portion of the well region has a second width along the second direction, and the first width is greater than the second width (FIG. 2A). As the well region tapers down, it will meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Birner, US 2017/0373187 A1.
Claim 4: Edwards discloses an implanted region (148) including majority carrier dopants of the first type (“n+ source 148”, [0035]) in the end portion of the second well region, and a conductive contact (143) extending from the implanted region to a metallization structure. The metallization structure is not shown but is mentioned (“metallization processing generally follow” the disclosed manufacturing steps [0033]). Those in the art would have recognized that the contact 142 would lead to the metallization structure. See Birner, FIG. 11, showing metallization structure 160 connected to source drain and gate contacts. This would have been understood to be the arrangement suggested by Edwards.
Claim 5: Edwards discloses a second implanted region (142a) including majority carrier dopants of the first type (p, [0035]: “backgate/body contact region 142a can be formed within the DWELL 130 by adding a p+ SD (PSD) implant”) in a lateral top portion of the second well region spaced apart from the transistor finger structure along the second direction, and a second conductive contact (142) extending from the second implanted region to a metallization structure (FIG. 3).
Claim 8: Edwards discloses
a semiconductor layer (115) having a side extending in a plane of orthogonal first and second directions and including majority carrier dopants of a first type (p, [0023]);
a transistor finger (FIG. 2B) structure extending longitudinally along the first direction (horizontal, FIG. 2B) and including a drain finger (145) having opposite drain finger ends spaced apart from one another along the first direction (horizontal, FIG. 2B) in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of a second type (“n+ source-p-body-n+ drain”, [0029]), and source fingers (148) laterally spaced apart from opposite sides of the drain finger along the second direction (vertical, FIG. 2B) in the semiconductor layer and including majority carrier dopants of the second type ([0035]);
a well region (130) including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0026]) in the semiconductor layer, the second well region laterally extending around and encircling the finger structure (FIGS. 2A and 2B);
an implanted region (142a) including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0035]) in an end portion of the well region spaced apart from the transistor finger structure along the first direction;
and a conductive contact (142) extending from the implanted region to a metallization structure.
The metallization structure is not shown but is mentioned (“metallization processing generally follow” the disclosed manufacturing steps [0033]). Those in the art would have recognized that the contact 142 would lead to the metallization structure. See Birner, FIG. 11, showing metallization structure 160 connected to source drain and gate contacts. This would have been understood to be the arrangement suggested by Edwards.
Claim 9 discloses a second implanted region including majority carrier dopants of the first type in a lateral top portion of the well region spaced apart from the transistor finger structure along the second direction, and a second conductive contact extending from the second implanted region to a metallization structure.
Claim 10: the source fingers extend in respective portions of a second well region (140) including majority carrier dopants of the first type in the semiconductor layer.
Claim 11: the second well region extends into the semiconductor layer along a third direction (vertical) that is orthogonal to the first and second directions, and the second well region is deeper than the well region along the third direction (FIG. 3).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Birner, and Mun, US 2023/0059226 A1.
Claim 12: Edwards does not disclose a deep trench isolation structure. Mun discloses a deep trench isolation structure (18) laterally surrounding the transistor finger structure in the semiconductor layer (FIG. 4), the deep trench isolation structure extending through the semiconductor layer to a semiconductor substrate along a third direction (vertical) that is orthogonal to the first and second directions (FIG. 7A), and the deep trench isolation structure laterally spaced apart from the well region along the first direction (well 38 and/or 40 of Mun would correspond to the well 130 of Edwards). It would have been obvious to have had such a structure in Edwards in order to electrically isolate and protect the device (Mun [0026]).
Claim 13: in Edwards in view of Mun, the deep trench isolation structure is adjacent to a portion of the well region along the second direction (Mun FIG. 7A).
Claim 14: a second implanted region (142a) including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0035]) in a lateral top portion of the well region spaced apart from the transistor finger structure along the second direction, and a second conductive contact extending from the second implanted region to a metallization structure.
The metallization structure is not shown but is mentioned (“metallization processing generally follow” the disclosed manufacturing steps [0033]). Those in the art would have recognized that the contact 142 would lead to the metallization structure. See Birner, FIG. 11, showing metallization structure 160 connected to contacts. This would have been understood to be the arrangement suggested by Edwards.
Claim 15: a second implanted region (142a) including majority carrier dopants of the first type ([0035]) in a lateral top portion of the well region spaced apart from the transistor finger structure along the second direction, and a second conductive contact extending from the second implanted region to a metallization structure.
The metallization structure is not shown but is mentioned (“metallization processing generally follow” the disclosed manufacturing steps [0033]). Those in the art would have recognized that the contact 142 would lead to the metallization structure. See Birner, FIG. 11, showing metallization structure 160 connected to contacts. This would have been understood to be the arrangement suggested by Edwards.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mori, US 2017/0250259 A1, drain finger DR, deep trench isolation DTI.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897