DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending on the application, of which claims 1-3 are amended and claims 8-20 are withdrawn.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
The interpretation of certain terms under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is maintained
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, applicant argues that the limitation “transport system” should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because one of ordinary skill in the art who reads the specification, with specific emphasis on paragraphs [0038-0039] and Fig.2, provide the term to have a definite meaning as the name for the structure which performs the function. This is not found persuasive because the phrase transport system, even when read in light of the specification, would not be understood to be sufficiently definite. MPEP 2181 provides examples of such scenarios in which the name of the structure performs the function and would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as sufficiently definite even though the class is broad (i.e., filters, brakes, clamp, screwdriver, and locks). The phrase transport system would not be understood to fall under this category. Further, applicant references [0039] as a portion of the specification which indicates the term “transport system” is sufficiently definite. However, [0039] specifically addresses a conveyor system. It is noted that while 35 U.S.C. 112(f) would not apply to a conveyor system, it does apply to a transport system.
Applicants remarks do not address examiner's position that the location of the transport system being connected at an upper or lower portion of the tank is merely an obvious rearrangement of parts. Thus, such a rationale is believed to still hold true.
Applicant's argues that Brown does not disclose certain features (see pp.9). With exception to the statement pertaining to brown not suggesting a plurality of robot arms, this argument is not persuasive because Brown in not utilized for a teaching/suggestion of such features. Brown does indicate that a plurality of robot arms are utilized for transport of substrates through the tanks [0034].
Applicant argues that B1 does not teach/suggest a substrate carrier having a carrier body to carry an individual substrate and at least one lift handle at an upper portion of the carrier body and a plurality of robot arms. This is not found persuasive because B1 does showcase at least part of the transport system is located at a bottom of the tank (see refs 487-488), a carrier body (ref 50) which can carry an individual substrate and having a lift handle (ref 370) at an upper portion of the carrier body. B1 also shows the possibility of multiple robot arms (refs 330a/330b).
Applicant's argument directed towards the Lee reference is not persuasive. The Lee reference is utilized for showing that substrate transporting components can be located within a tank while still allowing for operation, and thereby reinforce that one of ordinary skill in the art would find placement of the transport system at any location of the container with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, applicant’s remarks do not address the Shindo reference which examiners sets forth as also providing the feature of a substrate holder.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The remaining arguments are dependent upon the previously addressed arguments as their basis and are not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transport system” in claims 1-2 & 6-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, & 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US20210407824A1) in view of Brown (WO1999017342A1, hereafter B1), Shindo (US5730162A), and Lee (KR20060114953A).
As to claim 1, Brown discloses a substrate cleaning system (abstract) comprising an input tank (Fig.2 ref 180); a cleaning tank (Fig.2 ref 124, see specifically portion that bounds ref 134) configured to contain a cleaning fluid (Fig.2 ref 134) for applying to the substrate, the cleaning tank comprising: a top surface (see Fig.2 top area above ref 134) and an outer surface (see Fig.2 upper and outer walls of ref 124 that bound ref 134 and define the inner volume in which ref 134 is contained) adjacent to the top surface, the top surface and the outer surface defining an inner volume (see ref 134), the outer surface comprising: an upper portion and a lower potion (see Fig.2 upper and lower portions of outer wall that bound ref 134); a transport system (see Figs.4A-7) provided at a top [0068] or bottom [0060] of the container and configured to transport the substrate; a stationary lid (Fig.2 portion between refs 150, see also [0037] stating that the access ports open and close to prevent fumes escaping and improve cleanliness thereby indicating the portion of the top which is not ref 150 is a closed surface) covering a majority of the top surface of the cleaning tank (see Fig.2); an input lid assembly adjacent to a first side of the stationary lid (see Fig.2 ref 150 disposed on left); an output lid assembly adjacent to a second side of the stationary lid (see Fig.2 ref 150 disposed on right), where the at least one input lid assembly, the stationary lid, and the at least one output lid assembly cover an entirety of the top surface (see Fig.2); a rinse tank (Fig.2 ref 126); an output tank (Fig.2 ref 182); and a robot system comprising a plurality of robot arms configured to transfer the substrate between the input tank, cleaning tank, rinse tank, and output tank [0034]. Brown does not explicitly disclose the transport system connected to the upper or lower portion of the cleaning tank. However, a skilled artisan recognizes that the connection of the transport system to the wall would merely amount to a rearrangement of the connection location for the transport system without affecting its operation. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to connect the transport system to any portion of the container so long as it remains capable of transporting the substrates (see MPEP 2144.04). Further, the connection of a transport system to a wall of a tank is known in the art as seen by Lee. Brown indicates the transport system and robot system transporting substrates and not substrate carriers which carry the substrate. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of B1. Although Brown does not disclose a carrier body, lift handle, and substrate holder at a bottom inner surface of the carrier body, such feature are also known by B1.
B1 discloses an art related wafer treating apparatus (abstract), wherein substrates can be provided in a cleaning tank (see Figs.9a-9b ref 465) within a carrier (see Fig.9a refs 50a & 50b) or as individual wafers (see Fig.9b). B1 also indicates the use of a transport system within the tank in order to transfer the substrates from one end of the tank, where they are inserted into said tank, to another end of the tank, where the substrates are removed [0066-0068]. Thus, B1 suggests that providing substrates within a cleaning tank in either a carrier or the substrates alone are known alternative arrangements in the art. Brown further indicates a substrate carrier comprises a body (see B1 Fig.9a ref 50a & 50b); a lift handle (B1 ref 370) feature incorporated in an upper portion of the body; and a substrate holder at a bottom inner surface of the body configured to hole the substrate (see B1 Fig.9a refs 50a & 50b also [0021 & 0030-0031] indicating slots for receiving and holding the substrate; thus a skilled artisan would reasonably understand, based on the drawing, that slots are provided on a bottom inner surface of the carrier in order to receive and hold the substrate). However, assuming arguendo that Brown does not explicitly show such a holder, providing holders at the bottom of a carrier for holding the substrate is well-known in the art, as seen by Shindo.
Shindo discloses an art related substrate treating apparatus (abstract), wherein it is shown that a substrate carrier (Fig.2 ref 3) can be provided with grooves (Fig.2 ref 34) on a bottom inner surface of the carrier for holding the substrates (Col.12 lines 20-25) that are to be submersed in a bath (Fig.2 ref 4).
Lee discloses an art related system for wet processing a wafer (abstract), wherein the substrate is provided in a bath (Fig.2 ref 30 or Fig.5 ref 70) defined by outer walls (Fig.2 ref 32 or Fig.5 ref 72) and a transport system is attached to the walls of bath (see Figs.2 & 5). Thus, Lee showcases that a known location for attachment of a transport mechanism within a bath is connected to the walls of said bath.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Brown to provide the transport system connected to an interior side of the outer wall portion, as such is a known location for attachment of a transport mechanism in the art. It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known attachment location when one is not explicitly disclosed. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to modify the transport system to transport a substrate carrier into an out of the cleaning tank with a reasonable expectation of success, as such is a known alternative to transporting individual substrates (B1 Figs.9a-9b). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would modify Brown to provide grooves on the bottom inner surface of the carrier in order to hold the substrates while in the bath, as is well-known in the art (Shindo Col.12 lines 20-25).
As to claim 3, Modified Brown teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the transport system is a conveyor system (Brown Fig.7), a walking beam system (Figs.5A-5F), or a running beam system (Figs.6A-6F).
As to claims 6-7, Modified Brown teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the input lid assembly is configured to be actuated to allow a first portion of the top surface to be exposed such that the robot system transporting the substrate carrier may access the inner volume of the cleaning tank (Brown [0037, 0040-0041], see also Figs.4C-4D). Further, the output lid assembly is configured to be actuated to allow a second portion of the top surface to be exposed such that the robot system may access the substrate carrier within the inner volume of the cleaning tank (Brown [0037, 0043], see also Figs.4C-4D).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US20210407824A1) in view of Brown (WO1999017342A1, hereafter B1), Shindo (US5730162A), and Lee (KR20060114953A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keigler (US20120308346A1) and Hua (US20240209893A1).
As to claim 2, Modified Brown teaches the system of claim 1, but does not disclose a protrusion extending from an outer surface of the carrier body. However, B1 does indicate that a hook/clamp arrangement can be provided for the lifting of the carrier, and the presence of a protrusion on the carrier when utilizing such a clamp configuration for the lifting of the carrier is known, as seen by Keigler. Furthermore, the use of protrusions on a carrier for ensuring proper alignment/positioning of a carrier is also known in the art, as seen by Hua.
Keigler discloses an art related semiconductor processing device (abstract), wherein an outer surface of a substrate carrier has a recessed handle portion to receive a clamp for lifting of the carrier and protrusions on the exterior surface of the carrier(see Figs.28A-29H). Such a configuration allows for lifting of the carrier while the protruding bottom portions prevent slipping.
Hua discloses an art related semiconductor handling apparatus (abstract), wherein it is known to provide a substrate carrier with protruding elements (ref 830) which interface with a complementary portion in order to properly position the substrate carrying assembly [0092-0093].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Brown to provide a protrusion on the carrier in order to allow for proper positioning/alignment of the carrier with a portion which receives the carrier (Hua [0092-0093]). Additionally, or alternatively, a skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide a protrusion below the lifting handle in order to lift the carrier, as is known in the art (Keigler Figs.28A-29H). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known configuration for a lifting portion of a wafer carrier in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US20210407824A1) in view of Brown (WO1999017342A1, hereafter B1), Shindo (US5730162A), and Lee (KR20060114953A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitazumi (US20080050208A1).
As to claim 4, Modified Brown teaches the system of claim 1, wherein, Brown indicates that a belt conveyor system can be utilized as the transport system (see Fig.7 & [0071-0072]) and isolation gaps exist between the substrates (see B1 Fig.9a). Modified Brown does not disclose the conveyor system having a plurality of belts on opposing sides of the tank. However, the use of two opposing belts for the carrying of a substrate is known in the art, as seen by Kitazumi.
Kitazumi discloses an art related transport system for substrates (abstract & [0003-0005]), wherein it is shown that a transport system for a substrate carrier may utilize two belts (Fig.2 refs 210 & 220) located on opposing sides of the carrier. The use of two belts allows for improved support and vibration management [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Brown to utilize two belts provided on opposing sides of the tank in order to provide improved support and vibration management (Kitazumi [0041]). Further, since isolation gaps are provided between the substrates and the substrate carriers (see B1 Fig.9a), the modification would ensure such gaps are maintained thereby preventing collision of the substrates or the substrate carriers.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US20210407824A1) in view of Brown (WO1999017342A1, hereafter B1), Shindo (US5730162A), and Lee (KR20060114953A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aust (US20210225677A1) and Kim (KR20220040927A).
As to claim 5, Modified Brown teaches the system of claim 1, but does not disclose the transport system as an electromagnetic coil levitation system with upper and lower tracks to repel a magnet in the carrier utilizing an electromagnetic force. However, Brown indicates that any transport system can be utilized for transporting the substrates through the container [0060]. Further, the use of electromagnetic levitation systems for moving substrate carriers is known in the art, as seen by Aust and Kim.
Aust discloses an art related substrate transfer systems wherein electromagnetic levitation is utilized (abstract & [0001]). Aust further discloses that the electromagnetic levitation transport system utilizes extended coils (refs 150 & 895, see also [0034, 0047, & 0096]) on both sides of the substrate carrier (ref 880) to interact with a magnet (refs 851 & 852) in the substrate carrier, in order to levitate the carrier while transporting said carrier. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that the extended coils on each side would read on upper and lower tracks as they are provided to counteract gravity and move the carrier [0090 & 0103].
Kim discloses an art related transfer unit for a wafer (abstract & [0002]), wherein a guide magnetic body (ref 543) is installed on the guide rail (ref 542) to guide the moving direction of the transport body (i.e., carrier; ref 547, see also [0071] and Fig.3). The guide rail defines an upper and lower rail (see Fig.3). A repulsive force is generated between the first floating magnetic body (ref 545) and the second floating magnetic body (ref 548) to lift the transport body in the upward direction (Fig.3 & [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify to utilize an electromagnetic coil levitation track system, as such is a known system for transport of a substrate (Aust abstract & Kim abstract). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known transport system in place of another, with a reasonable expectation of success, when it is stated that any transport system can be utilized. Such a modification would provide upper and lower tracks with the coil extending the length of the tank in order to move the substrate the entire length of the tank.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711