DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on February 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-58 are pending in this application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-18, 20-24, 27-30, 33, 34, 37, 38, 44, 45 and 50-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kochersperger et al. [US 20090046278 A1, hereafter Kochersperger].
As per Claim 1, Kochersperger teaches a pattern exposure apparatus (See fig. 2) comprising:
an illumination unit IL configured to irradiate illumination light to a spatial light modulating element PD including a plurality of micro mirrors that are driven to switch between an ON state and an OFF state based on drawing data;
a projection unit PS configured to allow incidence of reflected light from the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state as an image forming light flux and configured to project an image of a pattern corresponding to the drawing data to a substrate W (Para 63-65);
a control unit (a controller CR) configured to store information, which is related to an angular variation of the image forming light flux generated according to a distribution density of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state, together with the drawing data (desired patterns) as recipe information (Para 10-12 and 31); and
an adjustment mechanism 385 configured to adjust (i) a position or an angle of at least one optical member in the illumination unit or the projection unit (See fig. 3, Para 75-77) or (ii) an angle of the spatial light modulating element, according to the information related to the angular variation when a pattern is exposed on the substrate by driving the spatial light modulating element based on the recipe information.
As per Claim 2, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the projection unit includes an exit pupil which allows the image forming light flux to pass through a predetermined opening diameter 312, and wherein the adjustment mechanism is configured to perform adjustment such that an eccentric state of a distribution of the image forming light flux in the exit pupil defined from the information related to the angular variation is decreased (See fig. 3, Para 84-85).
As per Claim 3, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising a stage apparatus configured to move while supporting the substrate at an image surface side of the projection unit, wherein the stage apparatus includes an optical measurement part configured to measure a distribution of the image forming light flux formed in the exit pupil of the projection unit (Para 84).
As per Claim 4, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the control unit generates the information related to the angular variation based on the drawing data as a telecentric error amount and previously determines whether the telecentric error amount becomes a predetermined allowable limit or more defined according to the distribution density of the micro mirrors which are in the ON state, and wherein the adjustment mechanism performs an adjustment operation upon pattern exposure when the telecentric error amount becomes the predetermined allowable limit or more (Para 82, wherein to provide a real-time correction for telecentricity within the lithographic apparatus).
As per Claim 5, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the control unit stores drawing data for a test pattern (wherein the test pattern is the pattern transmitted before the correction is made) corresponding to a pattern form in which the telecentric error amount can become or exceed the predetermined allowable limit, and wherein the optical measurement part confirms the telecentric error amount by measuring a distribution in the exit pupil of the image forming light flux from the spatial light modulating element which is driven by the drawing data for the test pattern (Para 95, wherein provide real-time feedback on any induced telecentricity to an optical element positioned downstream from MFR module 404).
As per Claim 6, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the illumination unit includes an optical integrator configured to allow incidence of a beam from a light source device, and a condenser lens system configured to perform Koehler illumination by directing illumination light from a surface light source generated by the optical integrator toward a mirror surface of the spatial light modulating element, and wherein the projection unit includes an exit pupil having an optical conjugation relation with a position of the surface light source generated by the optical integrator, and reduces and projects an image of a pattern generated by the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state (Para 61 and 82-84).
As per Claim 7, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the adjustment mechanism is constituted by an adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an incidence position or an incidence angle of the beam entering the optical integrator or an adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a relative positional relation related to an eccentric direction of the optical integrator and the condenser lens system such that an incidence angle of the illumination light radiated to the spatial light modulating element is changed (Para 84).
As per Claim 8, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the control unit further stores information related to an illuminance variation of the image forming light flux generated according to a density distribution of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state as one of pieces of the recipe information (Para 83, wherein a control signal that activates elements 311 and 312 to adjust an angle at which respective beams 306 and 308 respectively illuminate patterning array 320).
As per Claim 9, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the illumination unit includes an illuminance adjustment filter configured to change an illuminance of the illumination light radiated to the spatial light modulating element, and wherein the adjustment mechanism further includes a mechanism configured to control the illuminance adjustment filter based on the information related to the illuminance variation (See fig. 3, Para 84-85).
As per Claim 10, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the control unit stores further information related to an illuminance variation of the image forming light flux generated according to the density distribution of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state as one of pieces of the recipe information, and wherein the stage apparatus adjusts a moving speed when a projection image by the projection unit, which is a pattern generated by the micro mirrors in the ON state, is scanned and exposed on the substrate based on the information related to the illuminance variation (Para 78).
As per Claim 11, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the projection unit includes a plurality of lenses disposed in front of and behind the exit pupil, and an optical member configured to correct an image surface inclination generated when an angle of the spatial light modulating element is adjusted by the adjustment mechanism (Para 96).
As per Claim 12, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the projection unit includes a plurality of lenses disposed in front of and behind the exit pupil, and wherein positions of some of the plurality of lenses are adjusted in an eccentric direction such that an image surface inclination, which is generated when an angle of the spatial light modulating element is adjusted by the adjustment mechanism, is corrected (Para 4).
As per Claim 13, Kochersperger teaches a pattern exposure apparatus (See fig.
2) comprising:
a spatial light modulating element PD including a plurality of micro mirrors
selectively driven based on drawing data; an illumination unit IL configured to irradiate
illumination light to the spatial light modulating element at a predetermined incidence
angle (See the figure),
a projection unit PS configured (i) to allow incidence of reflected light from the selected micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state as an image forming light flux, (ii) to project the reflected light to a substrate, and (iii) to project and expose a pattern corresponding to the drawing data to the substrate W (Para 63-65);
a telecentric error specifying part TCM configured to previously specify a
telecentric error (Para 77), which occurs in the image forming light flux projected to the
substrate from the projection unit upon projection exposure of the pattern, according to
a distribution state of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are
in the ON state (Para 83); and
an adjustment mechanism TCM configured to adjust a position or an angle of an
optical member of a part of the illumination unit or the projection unit such that the
telecentric error is corrected (Para 83-85).
As per Claim 14, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 13, wherein the telecentric error specifying part determines a
magnitude of the telecentric error by analyzing a density of the micro mirrors in the ON
state according to the pattern based on the drawing data (Para 82).
As per Claim 15, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 13, wherein the telecentric error specifying part determines a
magnitude of the telecentric error based on the drawing data when more than half of all
the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element are in the ON state (Para 78
and 91).
As per Claim 16, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 13, wherein the plurality of micro mirrors of the spatial light
modulating element are two-dimensionally disposed in each of a first direction and a
second direction, which are perpendicular to each other, in a neutral plane when a
reflecting surface which becomes flat when not being driven is set as the neutral plane,
and wherein the telecentric error specifying part determines a magnitude of the
telecentric error based on the drawing data when several or more micro mirrors
adjacent to each other in both the first direction and the second direction become the
micro mirrors in the ON state (See fig. 3, Para 91).
As per Claim 17, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 13, wherein the telecentric error specifying part determines a magnitude of the telecentric error based on an arrangement periodicity and a period
direction of the micro mirrors in the ON state among the micro mirrors of the spatial light
modulating element when the pattern to be exposed is a line and space pattern based
on the drawing data (Para 91).
As per Claim 18, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 14, wherein the adjustment mechanism adjusts a position or an
angle of the optical member when the magnitude of the telecentric error determined by
the telecentric error specifying part exceeds a predetermined allowable limit (Para 94-
95).
As per Claim 20, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 13, wherein the illumination unit includes a surface light source
member configured to allow incidence of a beam from a laser light source device and to
generate a surface light source of the illumination light, and a condenser lens system
configured to allow incidence of the illumination light from the surface light source and to
perform Koehler-illumination to a reflecting surface of the spatial light modulating
element, and wherein the adjustment mechanism adjusts a relative positional relation
related to an eccentric direction of the surface light source and the condenser lens
system (Para 61 and 82-84).
As per Claim 21, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 20, wherein the adjustment mechanism includes a first telecentric
adjustment mechanism configured to shift a position of a beam, which is from the laser
light source device and which enters the surface light source member, in an eccentric
direction (Para 83).
As per Claim 22, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 20, wherein the adjustment mechanism includes a second telecentric
adjustment mechanism configured to shift a position of the surface light source member
with respect to the beam from the laser light source device in an eccentric direction
(Para 81-83).
As per Claim 23, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 20, wherein the adjustment mechanism includes a third telecentric
adjustment mechanism configured to shift a position of the condenser lens system with
respect to a position of the surface light source generated by the surface light source
member in an eccentric direction (Para 96).
As per Claim 24, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 18, wherein the illumination unit includes a mirror 310 configured to
reflect the illumination light at a predetermined angle as the optical member, and
wherein the adjustment mechanism changes an angle of the mirror and adjusts an
incidence angle of the illumination light radiated to the spatial light modulating element
(See fig. 3, Para 84-85).
As per Claims 27, 37, 44 and 52, Kochersperger teaches a pattern exposure
apparatus (See fig. 2) comprising:
an illumination unit IL configured to irradiate illumination light to a spatial light
modulating element PD including a plurality of micro mirrors that are switched between
an ON state and an OFF state based on drawing data for pattern exposure;
a projection unit PS configured to allow incidence of reflected light from the
micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state as an image forming light flux and configured to project a pattern image corresponding to the
drawing data to a substrate W (Para 73);
a measurement unit configured to measure a degree of asymmetry of the pattern
image caused by a telecentric error of the image forming light flux occurring according
to a distribution density of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element
which are in the ON state (Para 84); and
an adjustment mechanism configured to adjust (i) a position or an angle of at
least one optical member in the illumination unit or the projection unit or (ii) an angle of
the spatial light modulating element such that the measured degree of asymmetry is reduced
when the spatial light modulating element is driven based on the drawing data and the
pattern image is exposed on the substrate (See fig. 3, Para 83-85).
As per Claim 28, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 27, further comprising a stage apparatus that is configured to support
the substrate a side of an image surface of the projection unit and that is movable along
the image surface, wherein the measurement unit is provided on a part of the stage
apparatus and is configured to measure the degree of the asymmetry by measuring an
intensity distribution of the pattern image (Para 84).
As per Claim 29, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 28, wherein the adjustment mechanism TCM adjusts a position or an
angle of at least one optical member in the illumination unit such that an incidence angle
of the illumination light radiated to the spatial light modulating element is changed (See
fig. 3, Para 83).
As per Claim 30, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 29, wherein the illumination unit includes a surface light source
member configured to allow incidence of a beam from a light source device and to
generate a surface light source of the illumination light, and a condenser lens system
configured to allow incidence of the illumination light from the surface light source and to
perform Koehler-illumination to the reflecting surface of the spatial light modulating
element, and wherein the adjustment mechanism adjusts a relative positional relation
related to an eccentric direction of the surface light source and the condenser lens
system (Para 61 and 82-84).
As per Claim 33, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 28, wherein the projection unit is a reduction projection optical
system constituted by a plurality of lenses and configured to project a reduced image of
a pattern generated by the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which
are in the ON state to the substrate, and wherein a position of a lens which is a part of
the reduction projection optical system is adjusted in the eccentric direction SO that an
inclination of an image surface of the reduction projection optical system is corrected
when the angle of the spatial light modulating element is adjusted by the adjustment
mechanism (See fig. 2, Para 4).
As per Claim 34, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure apparatus
according to claim 28, wherein the drawing data includes data for a test pattern
(wherein the test pattern is the pattern transmitted before the correction is made) in
which the micro mirrors which are in the ON state are arranged at a distribution density
to cause a telecentric error in the image forming light flux, and wherein the measurement unit measures the asymmetry of the projection image of the test pattern
generated by the spatial light modulating element from the projection unit (Para 95,
wherein provide real-time feedback on any induced telecentricity to an optical element
positioned downstream from MFR module 404).
As per Claim 38, Kochersperger teaches the device manufacturing method
according to claim 37, wherein the specifying step specifies the telecentric error of the
image forming light flux or the light quantity variation error based on a generation state
of diffraction light defined according to the distribution state in each of an isolation
pattern, a line and space pattern and a land-like pattern, the isolation pattern being a
pattern in which one or several of the micro mirrors in the ON state is arranged
independently or are arranged in a row, the line and space pattern being a pattern in
which the micro mirrors in the ON state are arranged such that the isolation patterns are
disposed at a constant period, the land-like pattern being a pattern in which the micro
mirrors in the ON state are densely arranged such that a dimension of the land-like
pattern is several times larger than the isolation pattern (Para 78).
As per Claim 45, Kochersperger teaches the device manufacturing method
according to claim 44, wherein the specifying step specifies the telecentric error, the
asymmetry error, or the light quantity variation error based on a generation state of
diffraction light defined according to the distribution state in each of an isolation pattern,
a line and space pattern and a land-like pattern, the isolation pattern being a pattern in
which one or several of the micro mirrors in the ON state is arranged independently or
are arranged in a row, the line and space pattern being a pattern in which the micro
mirrors in the ON state are arranged such that the isolation patterns are disposed at a constant period, the land-like pattern being a pattern in which the micro mirrors in the
ON state are densely arranged such that a dimension of the land-like pattern is several
times larger than the isolation pattern (Para 76 and 84).
As per Claim 50, Kochersperger teaches the device manufacturing method
according to claim 45, wherein, in the specifying step, the test pattern (wherein the test
pattern is the pattern transmitted before the correction is made) belonging to any one of
the isolation pattern, the line and space pattern, and the land-like pattern is generated
by the spatial light modulating element, and the asymmetry error is specified based on
an intensity distribution of a projection image of the test pattern projected via the
projection unit (Para 95, wherein provide real-time feedback on any induced
telecentricity to an optical element positioned downstream from MFR module 404).
As per Claim 51, Kochersperger teaches the device manufacturing method
according to claim 45, wherein, in the specifying step, in a state in which the image
forming light flux corresponding to any one of the isolation pattern, the line and space
pattern, and the land-like pattern generated by the spatial light modulating element is
projected by the projection unit, the telecentric error is specified by measuring a
deviation in the intensity distribution of the image forming light flux formed at the exit
pupil of the projection unit (Para (Para 78 and 84).
As per Claim 53, Kochersperger teaches the exposure method according to
claim 52, wherein the adjustment of the angular variation is performed by adjustment of
a position or an angle of an optical member in the illumination unit or the projection unit,
or an angle of the spatial light modulating element (See fig. 3, Para 81).
As per Claim 54, Kochersperger teaches an exposure apparatus (See fig. 2) comprising:
a spatial light modulating element (a patterning device PD) including a plurality of micro mirrors configured to take a plurality of states, the spatial light modulating element being disposed on a surface of a stage (Para 29);
an illumination unit (an illumination system IL) configured to irradiate illumination light to the spatial light modulating element;
a projection unit (a projection system PS) configured to allow incidence of light from the spatial light modulating element; and
an adjustment device (a controller CR) configured to:
set, based on information of a pattern to be exposed, an incident angle of the illumination light that is irradiated to the spatial light modulation element (Para 31);
set, based on the information, an inclination of the surface with respect to an optical axis of the projection unit; or
set, based on the information, a position or an angle of at least one optical member of the illumination unit or the projection unit.
As per Claim 55, Kochersperger teaches the exposure apparatus according to claim 54, wherein the pattern is selected from a plurality of predetermined patterns including a first pattern and a second pattern, and wherein the incident angle, an amount of the inclination, the position or the angle when the pattern is the first pattern is different from the incident angle, the amount of the inclination, the position or the angle when the pattern is the second pattern (Para 35).
As per Claim 56, Kochersperger teaches the exposure apparatus according to claim 54, wherein the adjustment device is configured to set, based on the information, the incident angle (See fig. 3, Para 77 and 89).
As per Claim 57, Kochersperger teaches the exposure apparatus according to claim 54, wherein the plurality of states includes an ON state and an OFF state, wherein reflected light from the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state enters the projection unit, and wherein reflected light from the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the OFF state goes other than the projection unit (Para 29-31).
As per Claim 58, Kochersperger teaches the exposure apparatus according to claim 54, wherein the projection unit is configured to project light to a substrate, wherein the substrate includes a first region in which a first patten is exposed and a second region in which a second patten whose line width or pitch is different from the first pattern is exposed, wherein the incident angle, an amount of the inclination, the position or the angle when the first region is exposed is different from the incident angle, the amount of the inclination, the position or the angle when the second region is exposed (Para 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 25, 26, 35, 36, 39-43 and 46-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochersperger in view of Baba-Ali et al. [US 20060132887 A1, hereafter Baba-Ali].
As per Claims 19, 25, 26, 35, 36, 39-42 and 46-49, Kochersperger teaches the
pattern exposure apparatus according to claim 18.
Kochersperger do not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined allowable limit
is set within ±2° as an inclination angle with respect to an optical axis of a principal ray
of the image forming light flux advancing from the projection unit toward the substrate;
and wherein the reflecting surfaces of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating
element which are in the ON state are inclined by a predetermined angle by design with
respect to a plane perpendicular to the optical axis of the projection unit.
Baba-Ali teaches the width of element 242 is given by M.sub.W, the width of the
non-tilting portion 246 (as viewed from a top view) is given by S.sub.W and the width of
tilting portion 244 is given by T.sub.W. It should be noted that S.sub.W is a measure of
the width of non-tilting portion 246 as seen from a top view only. In embodiments of the
present invention, the relative widths S.sub.W and T.sub.W are sized to obtain equal
amplitudes of positive and negative reflected light over a complete range of tilt angles
alpha., where alpha. ranges between a minimum and a maximum value. The minimum
value for alpha. is approximately equal to 0 and the maximum value for a is
approximately equal to .lamda./2M.sub.W, where again lamda. is the wavelength of
radiation beam 122 (See fig. 5, Para 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time
the invention was made to incorporate adjustment mechanism as claimed in order to
produce a desired image.
As per Claim 43, Kochersperger in view of Baba-Ali teaches the device
manufacturing method according to claim 42.
Kochersperger further disclosed wherein, in the adjusting step, adjustment of
beam intensity (energy distribution) from a light source device that is a source of the
illumination light or adjustment of transmittance of the illumination light by an
illuminance adjustment filter provided in the illumination unit is performed according to
the specified light quantity variation error (Para 84).
Claim(s) 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochersperger in view of Watanabe [US 20130222781 A1].
As per Claims 31 and 32, Kochersperger teaches the pattern exposure
apparatus according to claim 30.
Kochersperger do not explicitly teach wherein the surface light source member
includes a fly's eye lens configured to form the surface light source on an emission
surface side of a plurality of lens elements arranged two-dimensionally, and an opening
diaphragm disposed on an emission surface side of the fly's eye lens, and wherein the
adjustment mechanism adjusts a relative positional relation related to an eccentric
direction of an opening of the opening diaphragm and the condenser lens system.
Watanabe teaches the diffractive optical element 10A is provided for normal
illumination, the diffractive optical element 10B for small a illumination to generate
illumination light with a small coherence factor (.sigma. value), and other diffractive
optical elements (not shown) are also provided for dipolar illumination, for quadrupolar
illumination, for annular illumination, and so on. A spatial light modulator having an array
of a large number of microscopic mirrors an inclination angle of each of which is
variable, may be used instead of the plurality of diffractive optical elements 10A, 10B,
etc., and a fly's eye lens or the like can also be used instead of the microlens array 16
(See fig. 1, Para 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time
the invention was made to incorporate the illumination element as claimed in order to
produce a desired illumination light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark section, regarding claim 1, Applicant argued that the prior art to Kochersperger do not disclose “the corrected error much more specifically, namely as "an angular variation of the image forming light flux generated according to a distribution density of the micro mirrors of the spatial light modulating element which are in the ON state."”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. An adjustment mechanism of Kochersperger, for example [0077], disclosed an adjustment mechanism configured to adjust at least one of the two limitations in the claim which is the limitation expressed by (i) a position or an angle of at least one optical member 310 in the illumination unit or the projection unit. Therefore, Applicant’s argument on the above point is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESFIN T ASFAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882