DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding rejections to its dependent claims, if applicable) is maintained.
The rejection of pending claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 13, 15-16, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), 112(a), and 112(b), is maintained. The claim limitation of “NFT engine” in claims 1, 9, and 16 recites a generic placeholder term paired with functional steps (analyzing data, classifying memories, generating NFTs, and minting NFTs) without actually reciting the sufficient structure in the claim to perform the recited functions. Terms such as “engine” does not denote a specific structural component but instead acts as a nonce word for replacing “means”. Therefore, the claim limitation is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the specification must include corresponding structure, material, or acts performing the entire claimed function and clearly link or associate that structure with the claimed function. The written disclosure describes an “NFT engine” as "may be or include AI/ML based models, such as a machine learning model trained on various memory data and/or transaction data" but does not provide sufficient corresponding structure to perform the recited function of classifying memories based no thresholds and generating and minting NFTs to a blockchain. Independent claims 1, 9, and 16 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and there is no written disclosure in the specification that provides a sufficient corresponding structure, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Accordingly, the claims are indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), therefore the rejection is maintained. The disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), and therefore the rejection is maintained. See remarks on page 8-10.
The rejection of pending claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, is maintained in view of MPEP 2106.04(a). Applicant argument of the claims provide a technical improvement are not persuasive because the claims do not recite any improvements to the functionality of the computer, blockchain, or any other technological elements. Instead, the claims are directed to receiving data of a user from a time period, analyzing the data to classify a memory experienced by the user during the time period based on a memory threshold, generating an NFT based on the memory, and minting the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, which is analyzing data to classify memories and reflect on past experiences. Such claim limitations amounts to mental processes, as evaluating data to determine whether experiences qualifies as a memory and associating that memory with a digital representation, which can be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. The claims merely implement the abstract idea using a generic computer components, including one or more processors, memories storing instruction, and NFT engine. The additional elements amounts to no more than mere instructions for analyzing data to classify memories and reflect on past experiences on a generic computer. Therefore, the mere implementation of the steps above does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See remarks on page 10-14.
The Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits the rejections should be withdrawn because the applied references fail to disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed NFT engine that generates "for display to a user, an NFT based on [a] memory," and mints "the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT."
The examiner states that, Vijayan describes “generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT” at “Para. 0081- 0082, In a number of embodiments, the content engagement platform enables authorized users to mint NFTs to an NFT blockchain. As is discussed further below, provision of a dedicated NFT blockchain can assist with verification of the authenticity of the NFTs. Once minted, the NFTs may be able to be transferred from the NFT blockchain to other compatible blockchains. Content engagement platforms in accordance with many embodiments of the invention can also incorporate a permissioned analytics blockchain as a store of verified media consumption data.; and Para. 0027-0031, A yet further embodiment also includes user devices configured by media wallet applications capable of securely storing NFTs owned by the user on the user device. In yet another embodiment, the media wallet applications are capable of enabling purchase of NFTs using fungible tokens via at least one distributed exchange. In a further embodiment again, wherein media wallet applications are capable of receiving NFTs distributed via push notification. In another embodiment again, the media wallet application manages accounts on multiple immutable ledgers using a deterministic wallet key. In a further additional embodiment, the media wallet applications are capable of causing media consumption data to be written to the at least one immutable ledger.) Under broad reasonable interpretation, “generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT” is interpreted as the platform enables authorized users to mint NFTS to an NFT blockchain and media wallet applications capable of securely storing NFTs owned by the user on the user device and wallets are capable of causing media consumption data to be written to the at least one immutable ledge in the cited prior art. The examiner states that “NFT based on the memory” is interpreted as “media consumption data storing NFTs owned by the user written to immutable ledger”. Modifying the system to include generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that users can review and see memories before minting the nft, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention. See remarks on page 14-17.
Status of Claims
This is the office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 12/04/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "NFT engine" in claims 1, 9, and 16. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation as “NFT engine” as in claims 1, 9, and 16 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to describe structure of this limitation, describes as may be or include AI/ML based models, such as a machine learning model trained on various memory data and/or transaction data without structural detail. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim phrase “NFT engine” in claims 1, 9, and 16 purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 1:
Claims 1-8 are directed to a system, claims 9-15 are directed to a method, and claims 16-20 are directed to an article of manufacture. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groups: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independents claims 1, 9, and 16 include limitations that recite at least one abstract idea.
Claim 1, 9, and 16 is directed to the abstract idea of “receive data of a user from a time period, and execute the NFT engine to: analyze the data to classify a memory experienced by the user during the time period based on a memory threshold, generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT.” Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim is analyzing data to classify memories and reflect on past experiences, hence falls under mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Dependent Claims:
Claims 2 and 10 recites: wherein: the system further comprises a sensory feedback system; the time period is a first time period; and the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: access the data linked to the NFT during a second time period that is different from the first time period, display, via the sensory feedback system, a recreation of the memory for the user based on the data, and cause the sensory feedback system to provide sensory feedback to the user in conjunction with the recreation; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Claims 3 and 11 recites: wherein the sensory feedback includes one or more of: (i) visual feedback, (ii) audio feedback, (iii) haptic feedback, or (iv) olfactory feedback; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Claims 4, 12, and 18recites: wherein: the system further comprises a plurality of sensors; the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to capture, by the plurality of sensors, the data of the user from the time period; and the data of the user includes one or more of: (i) heartbeat data, (ii) brainwave data, (iii) emotional context data, (iv) scent data, (v) temperature data, (vi) audio data, (vii) image data, or (viii) video data; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Claims 5 and 13 recites: aggregate the data from a plurality of data sources including one or more of: (i) a wearable device, (ii) a smart home device, (iii) a social media platform, or (iv) a user computing device; and determine, by a contextual memory detection algorithm, whether the data satisfies the memory threshold based on a plurality of thresholds associated with the plurality of data sources; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Claims 6 and 14 recites: layering, into the data from at least one of the plurality of data sources, one or more of: (i) a photo, (ii) a video, (iii) an audio track, or (iv) a text sequence corresponding to the memory that was not included in the data, or generating, by the contextual memory detection algorithm, a contextual narrative configured to explain one or more of: (i) a backstory, (ii) a character, (iii) an emotion; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Claims 7 , 15, and 20 recites: determine an experience within the memory based on the data satisfying the memory threshold and an experience threshold that is different from the memory threshold; generate, for display to the user, a second NFT based on the experience; and mint the second NFT corresponding to the experience to the blockchain, wherein a second portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the second NFT; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Claim 8 recites: receive, from the user, an approval indication or a rejection indication corresponding to the NFT; responsive to receiving the rejection indication, prompt the user to provide supplemental data corresponding to the memory; and generate a second NFT based on the memory and the supplemental data; further describes the abstract idea of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind).
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong Two:
Claims 1, 9, and 16 recites to one or more processors; and one or more memories storing a set of computer-readable instructions as an additional element to the judicial exception in the preamble. Viewed individually and in combination, this additional element to the identified judicial exception of Step 2A.1, amounts to no more than mere instructions for analyzing data to classify memories and reflect on past experiences on a generic computer. Therefore, at Step 2A.2, these additional elements do not act in combination to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of claims 1, 9, and 16 considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a generic computer does no more than “[s]imply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.” See MPEP 2106.05 (citing to Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225 (2014)).
Therefore claims 1, 9, and 16 is found ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2B:
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind) in analyzing data to classify memories and reflect on past experiences is performed by a generic computer. The method claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koukoumidis et al. (US 20180365570 A2), in view of Vijayan et al. US 20200005284 A1), and further in view of Vaish et al. (US 20240069627 A1).
8. Regarding claims 1, 9, and 16, Koukoumidis discloses a system, (A computer-implemented method for preserving memories and experiences through a Non-Fungible Token (NFT) engine, A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for preserving memories and experiences through a Non-Fungible Token (NFT) engine that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the computing device to, (Para. 0075) the system comprising:
one or more memories storing a set of computer-readable instructions including the NFT engine; (Para. 0017, As described herein, users experience numerous events every day, some of which are memorable events that carry positive or negative emotional weight. Users oftentimes fail to record such memorable events for many reasons. For example, a memorable event may catch a user by surprise, preventing the user from recording the event. Furthermore, it may also be too tedious for a user to even record such memorable events. The emotional event based memory system described herein discloses systems and methods for detecting memorable events of a user, storing those memorable events, and later recalling those events to the user.)
and one or more processors interfacing with the one or more memories, and configured to execute the set of computer-readable instructions to cause the system to: execute the NFT engine to: analyze the data to classify a memory experienced by the user during the time period based on a memory threshold, (Para. 0061-0062, Furthermore, in operation 304, the determined emotion and the determined event may be correlated together. For example, the determined emotion and event, which are based on emotional reaction information and event information, respectively, may have associated therewith, a timestamp. Accordingly, each emotion and event may be correlated based on time so as to track which emotion corresponds to which event. In operation 306, the event detection server applies a threshold to the determined emotion to determine whether the corresponding event is memorable. In some aspects, the event detection server applies a threshold value to the emotion to determine whether the emotion is significant. As described herein, each emotion is based on emotional reaction information. In an example, the event detection server may determine whether a user's emotion indicating excitement exceeds a certain predetermined threshold value (e.g., if the user's underlying breathing rate increases above a certain threshold value) to determine whether the corresponding event is memorable.)
Koukoumidis does not explicitly disclose generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT.
However, Vijayan teaches generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT, (Para. 0081- 0082, In a number of embodiments, the content engagement platform enables authorized users to mint NFTs to an NFT blockchain. As is discussed further below, provision of a dedicated NFT blockchain can assist with verification of the authenticity of the NFTs. Once minted, the NFTs may be able to be transferred from the NFT blockchain to other compatible blockchains. Content engagement platforms in accordance with many embodiments of the invention can also incorporate a permissioned analytics blockchain as a store of verified media consumption data.; and Para. 0027-0031, A yet further embodiment also includes user devices configured by media wallet applications capable of securely storing NFTs owned by the user on the user device. In yet another embodiment, the media wallet applications are capable of enabling purchase of NFTs using fungible tokens via at least one distributed exchange. In a further embodiment again, wherein media wallet applications are capable of receiving NFTs distributed via push notification. In another embodiment again, the media wallet application manages accounts on multiple immutable ledgers using a deterministic wallet key. In a further additional embodiment, the media wallet applications are capable of causing media consumption data to be written to the at least one immutable ledger.) Under broad reasonable interpretation, “generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT” is interpreted as the platform enables authorized users to mint NFTS to an NFT blockchain and media wallet applications capable of securely storing NFTs owned by the user on the user device and wallets are capable of causing media consumption data to be written to the at least one immutable ledge in the cited prior art. The examiner states that “NFT based on the memory” is interpreted as “media consumption data storing NFTs owned by the user written to immutable ledger”.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis to the known invention of Vijayan would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate nfts system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include generate, for display to the user, an NFT based on the memory, and mint the NFT corresponding to the memory to a blockchain, wherein a portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the NFT results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that users can review and see memories before minting the nft, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose receive data of a user from a time period.
However, Vaish teaches receive data of a user from a time period, (Para. 0059, A collection management system 230 is operationally responsible for managing sets or collections of media (e.g., collections of text, image video, and audio data). A collection of content (e.g., messages, including images, video, text, and audio) may be organized into an “event gallery” or an “event story.” Such a collection may be made available for a specified time period, such as the duration of an event to which the content relates. For example, content relating to a music concert may be made available as a “story” for the duration of that music concert. The collection management system 230 may also be responsible for publishing an icon that provides notification of a particular collection to the user interface of the interaction client 104. The collection management system 230 includes a curation function that allows a collection manager to manage and curate a particular collection of content. For example, the curation interface enables an event organizer to curate a collection of content relating to a specific event (e.g., delete inappropriate content or redundant messages). Additionally, the collection management system 230 employs machine vision (or image recognition technology) and content rules to curate a content collection automatically. In certain examples, compensation may be paid to a user to include user-generated content into a collection. In such cases, the collection management system 230 operates to automatically make payments to such users to use their content.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate receiving user experiences and memories into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include receive data of a user from a time period results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that users are able to capture experiences and memories to preserve them using nfts, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
9. Regarding claims 2 and 10, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein: the system further comprises a sensory feedback system; the time period is a first time period; and the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: access the data linked to the NFT during a second time period that is different from the first time period, display, via the sensory feedback system, a recreation of the memory for the user based on the data, and cause the sensory feedback system to provide sensory feedback to the user in conjunction with the recreation.
However, Vaish teaches wherein: the system further comprises a sensory feedback system; the time period is a first time period; and the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: access the data linked to the NFT during a second time period that is different from the first time period, display, via the sensory feedback system, a recreation of the memory for the user based on the data, and cause the sensory feedback system to provide sensory feedback to the user in conjunction with the recreation, (Para. 0016-0018, An augmented reality (AR) experience includes application of virtual content to a real-world environment whether through presentation of the virtual content by transparent displays through which a real-world environment is visible or through augmenting image data to include the virtual content overlaid on real-world environments depicted therein…An AR content item may include audio content, visual content, or a visual effect. A device that supports AR experiences in any one of these approaches is referred to herein as an “AR device.”…The VR virtual content may also include audio content, visual content, or a visual effect... The AR and/or the VR devices may also provide for multisensory experiences in addition to visual experiences and auditory experiences, such as haptics experiences (e.g., touch-based experiences), smell, and taste experiences. The techniques disclosed herein include a system that captures a variety of data, including AR and VR data, from a “moment” in time experienced by a user. The data captured is used, for example, for creating multisensory AR/VR experiences that may be triggered to relive the moment, as further describe below. Such a system enables a user to relive memories via AR and/or VR devices in a more immersive and contextual manner. For example, the system provides for AR and VR experiences that relieves the captured moment by providing for a multisensory and multi-perspective user experience, thus creating a more compelling memory that immerses the user into a certain moment in time. The techniques described herein include a capture system that uses a series of sensors and sensing devices to capture a variety of foreground, background, and metadata for a target area, such as an area that includes one or more users. For example, cameras on smart glasses and a camera rig capture first, second, and third perspective video and volumetric AR and VR content, and additionally capture details of ambient lighting and background objects. Likewise, smart watches may capture biosignal user data (e.g., heartbeat data, pulse oximetry data, electrocardiogram (ECG) data), and microphones on smart glasses may capture background music/noise and foreground conversations. The data captured is indexed or fused as a memory experienced to be stored for future use.; and Para. 0019-0020, The data captured may additionally include various types of sensory information (e.g., smells, taste, touch, speech, local and surround sound, visuals), capture of user activity as well an activity around the user (e.g., sports activities, social activities, and so on), and certain activity metadata (e.g., location, time, weather information, accelerometer data, gyroscopic data, lighting levels, season of the year, elevation, and so on). The capture process may occur passively (e.g., via cameras continuously recording a scene) or actively (e.g., via a user recording a desired scene). In one example, the data capture process also records users engaging in a virtual activity, for instance, playing an AR or a VR game. Once the data is captured, a trigger system determines, based on certain conditions (e.g., sensor information, detected activities, location), whether one or more memories are available for re-experiencing. The techniques described herein provide for multi-use of triggers. In a first use, trigger data is used to detect that a memory experience is present. In a second use, the trigger data is used to create AR and/or VR content that may be projected as part of the memory experience. In addition to the AR and/or VR content, the projected memory experience may include the use of internet-of-things (IOT) devices, such as lights, fans, smart power outlets and so on, to further project a certain ambiance based on the created memory experience. By enabling the capture of certain experiences and by using triggers both for the detection of a memory as well as for the creation of a memory experience, the techniques described herein provide for a more efficient and immersive reliving of memories.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein: the system further comprises a sensory feedback system; the time period is a first time period; and the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: access the data linked to the NFT during a second time period that is different from the first time period, display, via the sensory feedback system, a recreation of the memory for the user based on the data, and cause the sensory feedback system to provide sensory feedback to the user in conjunction with the recreation results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that memories can be re-experienced through the system, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensory feedback includes one or more of: (i) visual feedback, (ii) audio feedback, (iii) haptic feedback, or (iv) olfactory feedback.
However, Vaish teaches wherein the sensory feedback includes one or more of: (i) visual feedback, (ii) audio feedback, (iii) haptic feedback, or (iv) olfactory feedback, (Para. 0016-0017, The AR and/or the VR devices may also provide for multisensory experiences in addition to visual experiences and auditory experiences, such as haptics experiences (e.g., touch-based experiences), smell, and taste experiences. The techniques disclosed herein include a system that captures a variety of data, including AR and VR data, from a “moment” in time experienced by a user. The data captured is used, for example, for creating multisensory AR/VR experiences that may be triggered to relive the moment, as further describe below. Such a system enables a user to relive memories via AR and/or VR devices in a more immersive and contextual manner. For example, the system provides for AR and VR experiences that relieves the captured moment by providing for a multisensory and multi-perspective user experience, thus creating a more compelling memory that immerses the user into a certain moment in time.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the sensory feedback includes one or more of: (i) visual feedback, (ii) audio feedback, (iii) haptic feedback, or (iv) olfactory feedback results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the system can include a plurality of sensory feedback to help the user experience memories more realistically, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 18, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein: the system further comprises a plurality of sensors; the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to capture, by the plurality of sensors, the data of the user from the time period; and the data of the user includes one or more of: (i) heartbeat data, (ii) brainwave data, (iii) emotional context data, (iv) scent data, (v) temperature data, (vi) audio data, (vii) image data, or (viii) video data.
However, Vaish teaches wherein: the system further comprises a plurality of sensors; the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to capture, by the plurality of sensors, the data of the user from the time period; and the data of the user includes one or more of: (i) heartbeat data, (ii) brainwave data, (iii) emotional context data, (iv) scent data, (v) temperature data, (vi) audio data, (vii) image data, or (viii) video data, (Para. 0018-0019, The techniques described herein include a capture system that uses a series of sensors and sensing devices to capture a variety of foreground, background, and metadata for a target area, such as an area that includes one or more users. For example, cameras on smart glasses and a camera rig capture first, second, and third perspective video and volumetric AR and VR content, and additionally capture details of ambient lighting and background objects. Likewise, smart watches may capture biosignal user data (e.g., heartbeat data, pulse oximetry data, electrocardiogram (ECG) data), and microphones on smart glasses may capture background music/noise and foreground conversations. The data captured is indexed or fused as a memory experienced to be stored for future use. The data captured may additionally include various types of sensory information (e.g., smells, taste, touch, speech, local and surround sound, visuals), capture of user activity as well an activity around the user (e.g., sports activities, social activities, and so on), and certain activity metadata (e.g., location, time, weather information, accelerometer data, gyroscopic data, lighting levels, season of the year, elevation, and so on). The capture process may occur passively (e.g., via cameras continuously recording a scene) or actively (e.g., via a user recording a desired scene). In one example, the data capture process also records users engaging in a virtual activity, for instance, playing an AR or a VR game.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein: the system further comprises a plurality of sensors; the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to capture, by the plurality of sensors, the data of the user from the time period; and the data of the user includes one or more of: (i) heartbeat data, (ii) brainwave data, (iii) emotional context data, (iv) scent data, (v) temperature data, (vi) audio data, (vii) image data, or (viii) video data results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the system is able to capture contextual data to make an accurate memory representation to the user, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: aggregate the data from a plurality of data sources including one or more of: (i) a wearable device, (ii) a smart home device, (iii) a social media platform, or (iv) a user computing device; and determine, by a contextual memory detection algorithm, whether the data satisfies the memory threshold based on a plurality of thresholds associated with the plurality of data sources.
However, Vaish teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: aggregate the data from a plurality of data sources including one or more of: (i) a wearable device, (ii) a smart home device, (iii) a social media platform, or (iv) a user computing device; and determine, by a contextual memory detection algorithm, whether the data satisfies the memory threshold based on a plurality of thresholds associated with the plurality of data sources, (Para. 0018, The techniques described herein include a capture system that uses a series of sensors and sensing devices to capture a variety of foreground, background, and metadata for a target area, such as an area that includes one or more users. For example, cameras on smart glasses and a camera rig capture first, second, and third perspective video and volumetric AR and VR content, and additionally capture details of ambient lighting and background objects. Likewise, smart watches may capture biosignal user data (e.g., heartbeat data, pulse oximetry data, electrocardiogram (ECG) data), and microphones on smart glasses may capture background music/noise and foreground conversations. The data captured is indexed or fused as a memory experienced to be stored for future use.; and Para. 0046-0047, The database server 128 and/or the third-party server 112 may store the memory experience by relating or otherwise linking the data captured by the memory experience capture system 206 to each other and/or to a date and a time, for example, by using indexes, tables, collections (e.g., object-oriented database collections), and the like. Accordingly, queries may be provided, that may include a list of participants, a social network, a song name, a location (e.g., geographic coordinates, street address, venue name, microlocation), an event name (e.g, sporting event, concert, family event), an activity name (sporting activity, family activity, school activity), a weather description (e.g., cloud shapes, weather event such as rain), a picture, a video, one or more biosignals, or a combination thereof. The queries may be used by a trigger system 210 to determine if memory experience data is currently stored, and to create an AR and/or VR memory experience presentation based on the data. For example, the trigger system 210 continuously monitors various sensors of the sensor system 204 and/or the external sensors/devices 208 to extract certain data (e.g., people, pets, weather conditions, location, microlocation, objects, smells, tastes, lighting conditions, biosignals). In certain embodiments, the trigger system 210 submits a query that includes a picture, a video, a sound, a smell, a taste, a weather condition (e.g., cloud pattern, rain pattern, temperature, pressure, humidity), a location, a microlocation, a lighting condition (e.g., a lighting level, an ambient light color), a time, a date, a person, a pet, a social network, and/or a biosignal to a data store via the database server 128 and/or the third-party server 112 to determine if there is data stored that matches data associated with one or more stored memory experiences. If there is a match, the trigger system 210 is used to create, via an AR/VR creation system 212, an AR and/or a VR memory experience. Accordingly, a trigger may include a picture, a video, a sound, a smell, a taste, a weather condition, a location, microlocation, a lighting condition, a time, a date, a person, a pet, a social network, and/or a biosignal, and used to determine if certain memory experiences are stored. The trigger may additionally be used to create an AR and/or a VR memory experience.; and Para. 0020] Once the data is captured, a trigger system determines, based on certain conditions (e.g., sensor information, detected activities, location), whether one or more memories are available for re-experiencing.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: aggregate the data from a plurality of data sources including one or more of: (i) a wearable device, (ii) a smart home device, (iii) a social media platform, or (iv) a user computing device; and determine, by a contextual memory detection algorithm, whether the data satisfies the memory threshold based on a plurality of thresholds associated with the plurality of data sources results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the system is able to detect data from a plurality of devices to capture satisfy the user memory thresholds, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
13. Regarding claims 6 and 14, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to enrich the data associated with the memory by: layering, into the data from at least one of the plurality of data sources, one or more of: (i) a photo, (ii) a video, (iii) an audio track, or (iv) a text sequence corresponding to the memory that was not included in the data, or generating, by the contextual memory detection algorithm, a contextual narrative configured to explain one or more of: (i) a backstory, (ii) a character, (iii) an emotion.
However, Vaish teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to enrich the data associated with the memory by: layering, into the data from at least one of the plurality of data sources, one or more of: (i) a photo, (ii) a video, (iii) an audio track, or (iv) a text sequence corresponding to the memory that was not included in the data, or generating, by the contextual memory detection algorithm, a contextual narrative configured to explain one or more of: (i) a backstory, (ii) a character, (iii) an emotion, (Para. 0025, Such operations include transmitting data to, receiving data from, and processing data generated by the interaction clients 104. This data may include memory experience data, message content, client device information, geolocation information, media augmentation and overlays, message content persistence conditions, social network information, and live event information. Data exchanges within the interaction system 100 are invoked and controlled through functions available via user interfaces (UIs) of the interaction clients 104. Augmentations include augmented reality (AR), virtual reality (VR) and mixed reality (MR) content items, overlays, image transformations, images, and modifications that may be applied to image data (e.g., videos or images).; and Para. 0017, The techniques disclosed herein include a system that captures a variety of data, including AR and VR data, from a “moment” in time experienced by a user. The data captured is used, for example, for creating multisensory AR/VR experiences that may be triggered to relive the moment, as further describe below. Such a system enables a user to relive memories via AR and/or VR devices in a more immersive and contextual manner. For example, the system provides for AR and VR experiences that relieves the captured moment by providing for a multisensory and multi-perspective user experience, thus creating a more compelling memory that immerses the user into a certain moment in time.; and Para. 0020, In a first use, trigger data is used to detect that a memory experience is present. In a second use, the trigger data is used to create AR and/or VR content that may be projected as part of the memory experience. In addition to the AR and/or VR content, the projected memory experience may include the use of internet-of-things (IOT) devices, such as lights, fans, smart power outlets and so on, to further project a certain ambiance based on the created memory experience. By enabling the capture of certain experiences and by using triggers both for the detection of a memory as well as for the creation of a memory experience, the techniques described herein provide for a more efficient and immersive reliving of memories.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to enrich the data associated with the memory by: layering, into the data from at least one of the plurality of data sources, one or more of: (i) a photo, (ii) a video, (iii) an audio track, or (iv) a text sequence corresponding to the memory that was not included in the data, or generating, by the contextual memory detection algorithm, a contextual narrative configured to explain one or more of: (i) a backstory, (ii) a character, (iii) an emotion results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that enhances the data uses to make more meaningful memories, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Claims 7 , 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koukoumidis et al. (US 20180365570 A1), in view of Vijayan et al. (US 20200005284 A1), in view of Vaish et al. (US 20240069627 A1), and further in view of Yang et al. (US 12307530 B2).
15. Regarding claims 7 , 15, and 20, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: determine an experience within the memory based on the data satisfying the memory threshold and an experience threshold that is different from the memory threshold;
However, Vaish teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: determine an experience within the memory based on the data satisfying the memory threshold and an experience threshold that is different from the memory threshold, (Para. 0020, Once the data is captured, a trigger system determines, based on certain conditions (e.g., sensor information, detected activities, location), whether one or more memories are available for re-experiencing. The techniques described herein provide for multi-use of triggers. In a first use, trigger data is used to detect that a memory experience is present.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Vaish would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: determine an experience within the memory based on the data satisfying the memory threshold and an experience threshold that is different from the memory threshold results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the system identifies memories and experiences to mint separate NFTs, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose generate, for display to the user, a second NFT based on the experience; and mint the second NFT corresponding to the experience to the blockchain, wherein a second portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the second NFT.
However, Yang teaches generate, for display to the user, a second NFT based on the experience; and mint the second NFT corresponding to the experience to the blockchain, wherein a second portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the second NFT, (Abstract Section, A NFT is generated for the virtual asset to allow tracking use of the virtual asset in the video game.; and Summary Section, a non-fungible token (NFT) is minted for each virtual asset designed by a user. The NFT minted virtual assets are stored in a blockchain and used to keep track of the use of the respective virtual asset by other users, including the developers. The virtual asset can be a game character that can be used to represent a player in a video game when incorporated within or can be a game asset that can be included in one or more game scenes of the video game. The virtual asset is designed to include a plurality of characteristics to define the virtual asset. The plurality of characteristics can include rendering characteristics used to define how the virtual asset is to be rendered in the video game, and interaction characteristics to define how the virtual asset is to behave in response to interactions during play of the video game.; and Detailed Description Section, In addition to incorporating the virtual asset in the video game, a non-fungible token (NFT) is also minted for the virtual asset, as illustrated in operation 106. The NFT may be minted for the game asset using a proprietary blockchain or a publicly available blockchain. The NFT is used to keep track of the virtual asset within the video game.; and Detailed Description Section, As part of incorporating the virtual asset as game asset in the video game, a non-fungible token (NFT) is minted for the virtual asset, as illustrated in operation 116. The NFT for the virtual asset is minted to include metadata providing details of the virtual asset and is stored in a blockchain.; Detailed Description Section, An NFT is minted for the newly created virtual asset, as illustrated in operation 122. The NFT for the virtual asset includes metadata providing details of the virtual asset, such as creator of (i.e., user who created) the virtual asset, virtual asset creation date, NFT creation date, current owner, plurality of characteristics, price, transaction history of the asset, location links to the virtual asset, etc).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Yang would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include generate, for display to the user, a second NFT based on the experience; and mint the second NFT corresponding to the experience to the blockchain, wherein a second portion of the data associated with the memory is linked to the second NFT results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the system identifies memories and experiences to mint separate NFTs that are linked together, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koukoumidis et al. (US 20180365570 A1), in view of Vijayan et al. US 20200005284 A1), in view of Vaish et al. (US 20240069627 A1), and further in view of Jakobsson et al. (US 20230075884 A1).
17. Regarding claim 8, Koukoumidis as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: receive, from the user, an approval indication or a rejection indication corresponding to the NFT; responsive to receiving the rejection indication, prompt the user to provide supplemental data corresponding to the memory; and generate a second NFT based on the memory and the supplemental data.
However, Jakobsson teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: receive, from the user, an approval indication or a rejection indication corresponding to the NFT; responsive to receiving the rejection indication, prompt the user to provide supplemental data corresponding to the memory; and generate a second NFT based on the memory and the supplemental data, (Para. 0048, One embodiment includes a method for spawning new tokens. The method obtains a spawning request associated with an original token, wherein the original token includes one or more spawning rules. The method determines an identity of a requesting party. The method reviews the one or more spawning rules to confirm authorization to spawn new tokens. Authorization is determined based on: access rights of the requesting party; and policies of the original token. When authorization is confirmed, the method generates one or more spawned tokens from the original token. The spawned tokens have the policies of the original token; and content elements of the original token.; and Para. 0017-0018, In another embodiment, the at least one user action descriptor is determined for the at least one output, based on a user indication. In a further embodiment, the user indication is received using a user interface.; and Para. 0049, In a further embodiment the spawning request includes information identifying at least one of: a number indicating an amount of tokens to generate, the identity of the requesting party, and confirmation that the original token satisfies at least one condition for spawning.; and Para. 0063, The processor obtains a spawning request associated with an original token, wherein the original token includes one or more spawning rules…When authorization is confirmed, the processor generates one or more spawned tokens from the original token. The spawned tokens have the policies of the original token; and content elements of the original token.; and Para. 0059, In still yet another embodiment, the original token and the spawned tokens are NFTs.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koukoumidis as modified to the known invention of Jakobsson would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sensory feedback system into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the set of computer-readable instructions further cause the system to: receive, from the user, an approval indication or a rejection indication corresponding to the NFT; responsive to receiving the rejection indication, prompt the user to provide supplemental data corresponding to the memory; and generate a second NFT based on the memory and the supplemental data results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the user can modify and revise their nfts with additional data to ensure the memory is complete, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
System For Linking And Partitioning Non-fungible Tokens, Has Processing Device That Transmits Control Signals Configured To Cause Computing Device Of First User And Second User To Display Notification Indicating Recording (US 20230073545 A1) teaches system has a processing device coupled to a non-transitory storage device (106,154). The processing device is configured to receive a first request to transfer ownership of a resource from a first user to a second user, where the resource is a physical object. A first non-fungible token (NFT) is retrieved for the resource from the computing device of the first user. A first value of the first NFT is determined using an NFT valuation engine. An NFT generator is initiated on the resource based on receiving the request. A control signal is transmitted to cause the computing devices of the users to display a notification.
In addition to the foregoing, other aspects are described in the claims, drawings, and text. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Davida L. King whose telephone number is (571) 272-4724. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm.
/D.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3699
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699