Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/29/2023 and 03/14/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,8,10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al, US 20240203868 A1 in view of You et al, US 20180033691 A1.
Pertaining to claim 1, Singh teaches ( see fig.8C above) A semiconductor interconnect structure, comprising: a first set of metal lines[815] running along a first orientation; and a second set of metal lines[840] and running along a second orientation, wherein the second set of metal lines[840] ( first two metal line 840 from left to right for example) are embedded within the first set of metal lines [815] at respective cross points between the first and second sets of metal lines[815 and 840], such that the second set of metal lines are located in a same metal level as the first set of metal lines ( see fig.8C where both are in a same metal level).
Singh is silent as to the second set of metal lines[840] having an insulating liner.
However, in the same filed of endeavor, You teaches ( see fig 6J above) wherein the second set of metal lines[MLb] having an insulating liner [141].In view of You, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate an insulating liner into that of Singh second metal line in order to prevent material diffusion.
Pertaining to claim 3, Singh teaches ( see fig.8C above) the semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 1, wherein the first orientation is parallel to the second orientation ( see fig.8C showing parallel orientation).
Pertaining to claim 8, Singh teaches ( see fig.8C above) A semiconductor interconnect structure, comprising: a first set of metal lines [840] and running along a first orientation; and a second set of metal lines[815] running along a second orientation, wherein the first set of metal lines[840] ( first two metal line 840 from left to right for example) are encapsulated by the second set of metal lines [815] at respective cross points between the first and second sets of metal lines [815 and 840], such that the first set of metal lines are located in a same metal level as the second set of metal lines ( see fig.8C where both are in a same metal level).
Singh is silent as to the first set of metal lines[840] having an insulating liner.
However, in the same filed of endeavor, You teaches ( see fig 6J above) wherein the first set of metal lines[MLb] having an insulating liner [141].In view of You, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate an insulating liner into that of Singh first set metal line in order to prevent material diffusion.
Pertaining to claim 10, Singh teaches ( see fig.8C above) The semiconductor interconnect structure of claim 8, wherein the first orientation is parallel to the second orientation ( see fig.8C showing parallel orientation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim15-20 is allowed.
The closest prior art of record of Singh et al, US 20240203868 A1 in view of You et al, US 20180033691 A1 teaches the limitation of " A method of forming a semiconductor interconnect structure, comprising: forming a first set of metal lines running along a first orientation; and forming a second set of metal lines running along a second orientation, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the independent claim 15 including “forming a first set of metal lines running along a first orientation; and forming a second set of metal lines running along a second orientation, such that the second set of metal lines intersect the first set of metal lines at respective cross points between the first and second set of metal lines, and the second set of metal lines are located in a same metal level as the first set of metal lines.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claims 2,4,5-7,9,11,12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record of Singh et al, US 20240203868 A1 in view of You et al, US 20180033691 A1 teaches the limitation of claim1 and 8, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 2 and 9 respectively including “wherein the first orientation is orthogonal to the second orientation.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not also teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 4 including “wherein: a top surface of the first set of metal lines is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the second set of metal lines; and a bottom surface of the first set of metal lines is located below a bottom surface of the second set of metal lines. ” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not also teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 5 and 12 including “wherein the insulating liner isolates the second set of metal lines from the first set of metal lines at the respective cross points between the first and second set of metal lines. ” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not again teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 5 including “wherein the insulating liner isolates the second set of metal lines from the first set of metal lines at the respective cross points between the first and second set of metal lines. ” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not again teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 6 including “wherein a first pitch between respective metal lines in the first set of metal lines is greater than a second pitch between respective metal lines in the second set of metal lines.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not again teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 7 and 13 including “wherein a first pitch between respective metal lines in the first set of metal lines is less than or equal to a second pitch between respective metal lines in the second set of metal lines.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not also teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 11 including “wherein: a bottom surface of the first set of metal lines[840] is substantially coplanar with a bottom surface of the second set of metal lines[815]; and a top surface of the first set of metal lines[840] is located below a top surface of the second set of metal lines.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not again teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 14 including “ wherein a first pitch between respective metal lines in the first set of metal lines is greater than or equal to a second pitch between respective metal lines in the second set of metal lines.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
/MAMADOU L DIALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897