DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Lines 16-17: the limitation “wherein the heat transfer member includes a heat pipe configured to transfer heat from the second side to the first side of the module casing” identical to the limitation in lines 14-15 and should be deleted.
Claim 13, Lines 9 and 12: the periods at the end of lines 9 and 12 should be deleted and replaced with a comma.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "the base member" in line 14, “the cross-sectional area of the electronic module is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the slot” in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bucher (US 20230396023 A1).
As to Claim 1, Bucher discloses:
An electronic device (electrical connector assembly 100; see Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (cage 110);
a plurality of slot adjoining each other (upper and lower channels 116,118; adjoined within cage 110) in an interior of the housing 110 (Par. 0022 “the receptacle cage 110 constitutes a stacked cage member having an upper module channel 116 and a lower module channel 118”), each of the slots 116,118 being configured to hold an electronic module 106 (Par. 0022 “The receptacle cage 110 has module ports that open to the module channels 116, 118, respectively, which receive corresponding upper and lower pluggable modules 106”);
a cooling member (external heat dissipation device 202; see Fig. 3) disposed outside the slots 116,118 at a first end of the plurality of slots (202 disposed at back end of slots, away from opening for modules 106, rear end 142) and configured to cool the electronic modules 106 inserted into the slots 116,118 (Par. 0032 “the thermal transport assembly 200 includes an external heat dissipation device 202 located at an exterior of the receptacle cage 110. The external heat dissipation device 202 removes heat from the system from the exterior of the receptacle cage 110”); and
a heat transfer member for each electronic module 106 inserted into the slots 116,118 (upper heat pipe 306, lower heat pipe 406), the heat transfer member 306,406 configured to be connected to the electronic module 106 (306 thermally connected to top 106, 406 thermally connected to bottom 106) and to transfer heat from the electronic module 106 to the cooling member 202 when the electronic module 106 is inserted into the slots 116,118 (Par. 0037 “The upper thermal bridge 302 is configured to be thermally coupled to the upper pluggable module 106. The upper heat spreader 304 is configured to be thermally coupled to the upper thermal bridge 302. The upper heat pipe 306 is configured to thermally couple the upper heat spreader 304 and the cold plate 210”; Par. 0033 “The lower cooling module 400 is used for cooling the lower pluggable module 106 (FIG. 2) received in the lower module channel 118 (FIG. 1)”; Par. 0042 “the lower heat pipe 406 is configured to thermally couple the lower heat spreader 404 and the cold plate 210”; heat pipes 306. 406 thermally connected to 106 on top and bottom and cold plate 210 of 202; Par. 0032 “the heat dissipation device 202 includes a cold plate 210, which may be liquid cooled”),
wherein the electronic module 106 includes a module casing (pluggable body 180) having a first side (mating end 182) and a second side (top 190),
wherein the heat transfer member 306,406 includes a heat pipe (heat pipes 306, 406) configured to transfer heat from the second side 190 to the first side 182 of the module casing 180 (heat transferred from top side 190 via 302,304 to heat pipe 306 to 182 side of top module 106; heat transferred from top side 190 via 402,404 to heat pipe 406 to 182 side of bottom module 106), and
wherein the heat transfer member includes a heat pipe configured to transfer heat from the second side to the first side of the module casing, and (see claim objection above)
wherein, when the electronic module 106 is inserted into one of the slots 116,118, (i) the first side of the module casing 182 is positioned at the first end of the plurality of slots 116,118 in contact with the cooling member 202 (182 positioned at defined first end (e.g., rear end of cage 142) and in thermal contact with 202) and the second side 190 is spaced apart from the cooling member 202 (190 is spaced from 202 in horizontal direction), (ii) the heat pipe 306,406 is spaced apart from the housing 110 (at least outer surface of 306,406 spaced apart from 110 by thickness of heat pipe 306,406, and 306,406 spaced apart from inner surface of cage 110) and the cooling member 202 (front portions of 306,406 spaced apart from 202), and (iii) the heat pipe 306,406 is positioned in contact with the second side of the module casing 190 (306,406 are in thermal contact with 190 of module 106).
As to Claim 5, Bucher discloses:
wherein a cross-sectional area of the electronic module 106 is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the slot 116,118 (106 must have a smaller cross-sectional area in order to be inserted and removed from channel 116,118), and the heat pipe 306 is spaced apart from the housing 110 (at least the top portion of 306 is spaced apart from cage 110 by the thickness of heat pipe 306, also, heat pipe 306 is spaced apart from inner surface of cage 110).
As to Claim 6, Bucher discloses:
further comprising: a fastening member (combination of orientation feature 198 comprising slot 199 and orientation tab 392; Par. 0028 “the pluggable module 106 includes an orientation feature 198 used to orient the pluggable module 106 within the receptacle cage 110 (shown in FIG. 1). In the illustrated embodiment, the orientation feature 198 is a slot 199 formed in the top 190 of the pluggable body 180”) movably mounted on the electronic module 106 (Par. 0053 “The orientation tab 392 is configured to be received in the slot 199 (FIG. 2) in the pluggable module 106”; when received, 392 and 199 are mounted together, however, when 106 is removed from channel 116,118, tab 392 is moved from its mounted position within 199) and configured to selectively fasten the electronic module 106 to the housing 110 depending on a movement direction of the fastening member 199/392 (106 is fastened in cage 110 when 199 and 392 are mounted together, however, when 106 is removed and tab 392 is no longer in slot 199, 106 and 110 are no longer fastened).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucher (US 20230396023 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Gopalakrishna (US 20210282300 A1).
As to Claim 3, Bucher discloses:
wherein
the cooling member 202 comprises:
a heat sink 210 facing the first end 142 of the plurality of slots 116,118 (Par. 0036 “The cold plate 210 is located at the rear of the thermal transport assembly 200 and is configured to be located rearward of the receptacle cage 110 (FIG. 1)”) and configured to contact the electronic modules 106 inserted in the slots 116,118 (at least in thermal contact) and to permit a coolant to be introduced or discharged through the heat sink 210 (Par. 0032 “the heat dissipation device 202 includes a cold plate 210, which may be liquid cooled”; Par. 0036 “The cold plate 210 may include internal cooling tubes or channels to allow liquid coolant to flow through the cold plate 210”);
a circulation line 230,232 connected to the heat sink 210 and configured to permit the coolant to be circulated through the circulation line (Par. 0036 “A coolant supply 230 is coupled to the cold plate 210. A coolant return 232 is coupled to the cold plate 210. Coolant flows from the coolant supply 230, through the cold plate 210, to the coolant return 232”).
Bucher does not disclose:
a chiller connected to the circulation line and configured to cool the coolant flowing through the circulation line.
However, Gopalakrishna discloses:
a chiller connected to the circulation line and configured to cool the coolant flowing through the circulation line (Par. 0076 “After exiting the cold plate 205, the fluid will have been heated by heat generated by electronics within the housing 105, which has been conducted through the heat spreaders and the moveable heat spreaders. The heated fluid can then be cooled using cooling towers, chillers, radiators, or one of the other well-known means for removing heat from a coolant. Having been cooled, the coolant can again flow through a cold plate”);
in order to cool the heated coolant after exiting the cold plate and return cooled coolant back to the cold plate (Par. 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bucher as further suggested by Gopalakrishna e.g., providing:
a chiller connected to the circulation line and configured to cool the coolant flowing through the circulation line;
in order to cool the heated coolant after exiting the cold plate and return cooled coolant back to the cold plate.
As to Claim 7, Bucher discloses:
wherein a cross-sectional area of the electronic module 106 is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the slot 116,118 (106 must have a smaller cross-sectional area in order to be inserted and removed from channel 116,118).
Bucher does not disclose:
the fastening member comprises:
a base member reciprocally mounted along a first direction parallel to an insertion direction of the electronic module into the slot; and
a switching member disposed between the base member and the electronic module and configured to switch the movement direction of the base member from the first direction to a second direction intersecting the first direction, the base member being in contact with the housing as the base member moves in the second direction.
However, Gopalakrishna discloses:
a fastening member (110/115 and 120/125) movably mounted on the electronic module 100 (moveable heat spreaders 115 and 125 moveably mounted to 100) and configured to selectively fasten the electronic module 100 to the housing (chassis 200; Fig. 2) depending on a movement direction of the fastening member (110/115 and 120/125; See Fig. 8D; Par. 0059 “The locking device 150 may be threaded into the housing 105 such that the moveable heat spreaders 115 and 125 press against (with force) against the cold plates 205 and lock the device 100 and the housing 105 in place between the cold plates 205”; of claim 6);
wherein a cross-sectional area of the electronic module 100 is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the slot (bays chassis 200; 100 is smaller than bays of 200 as 100 is inserted into bay and then moveable heat spreaders 115,125 are moved outward and pressed against cold plates 205 within bays), and the fastening member (110/115 and 120/125) comprises:
a base member (115 and 125) reciprocally mounted along a first direction parallel to an insertion direction (805 Fig. 8A) of the electronic module 100 into the slot (bay; 115 and 125 are mounted parallel to 805); and
a switching member (110 and 120) disposed between the base member (115 and 125) and the electronic module 100 (110 is disposed between 115 and 100, 120 is disposed between 125 and 100) and configured to switch the movement direction of the base member (115 and 125) from the first direction (parallel to 805 of Fig. 8A) to a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Figs. below; 115 and 125 move in a direction intersecting direction of 805), the base member (115 and 125) being in contact with the housing (205 of 200) as the base member (115 and 125) moves in the second direction (Fig. 8D; Par. 0059 “The locking device 150 may be threaded into the housing 105 such that the moveable heat spreaders 115 and 125 press against (with force) against the cold plates 205 and lock the device 100 and the housing 105 in place between the cold plates 205”);
in order to provide easy removal when unplugging the electronics enclosure and very efficient thermal bonding when the electronics enclosure is locked into the system (Par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bucher as further suggested by Gopalakrishna e.g., providing:
further comprising: a fastening member movably mounted on the electronic module and configured to selectively fasten the electronic module to the housing depending on a movement direction of the fastening member; (of claim 6) and
wherein a cross-sectional area of the electronic module is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the slot, and the fastening member comprises:
a base member reciprocally mounted along a first direction parallel to an insertion direction of the electronic module into the slot; and
a switching member disposed between the base member and the electronic module and configured to switch the movement direction of the base member from the first direction to a second direction intersecting the first direction, the base member being in contact with the housing as the base member moves in the second direction;
in order to provide easy removal when unplugging the electronics enclosure and very efficient thermal bonding when the electronics enclosure is locked into the system.
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Bucher in view of Gopalakrishna discloses:
wherein the switching member (110 and 120 of Gopalakrishna) comprises:
a first wedge 405 having a first inclined surface protruding from the electronic module 100 and disposed in a position that is inclined relative to the first direction (Par. 0038 “the heat spreaders 110 and 120 may each include at least one wedge (e.g., 405) and/or at least one wedge surface”; see Fig. 8A, 405 has surface inclined relative to 805/defined first direction in Figs. In rejection of claim 7 above); and
a second wedge 505 having a second inclined surface protruding from the base member (115 and 125; Par. 0039 “The moveable heat spreaders 115 and/or 125 may each include at least one outer wedge (e.g. 505) and/or at least one outer wedge surface”) and being in contact with the first inclined surface (inclined surface of 405 and inclined surface of 505 are inContact, see Fig. 8A of Gopalakrishna).
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Bucher in view of Gopalakrishna discloses:
wherein the first wedge 405 has a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (see Fig. 8A, wedge 405 has trapezoidal shape; Par. 0061 “The shape and/or sizes of the wedges and/or outer wedges may vary with different implementations”; Gopalakrishna).
Additionally, a change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Bucher in view of Gopalakrishna discloses:
including a plurality of first wedges (405 of Gopalakrishna) and a plurality of the second wedges (505 of Gopalakrishna), and the plurality of the first wedges 405 and the plurality of the second wedges 505 are arranged alternately along a longitudinal direction of the base member (115 and 125; 405 and 505 are arranged alternately along a longitudinal direction of 115 and 125; see Fig. 8A of Gopalakrishna).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Bucher in view of Gopalakrishna discloses:
wherein a length of the first inclined surface (length of inclined surface of 405 of Gopalakrishna) and a length of the second inclined surface (length of inclined surface of 505 of Gopalakrishna) along the second direction (see Fig. below) are greater than a travel distance of the base member (115 and 125) in the second direction (Fig. 8D depicts locked position of device 100; Fig. 8D shows that inclined surfaces of 405 and 505 are still in contact therefore the length of the inclined surfaces are longer than the distance in which 115 and 125 travel in the second direction).
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Bucher in view of Gopalakrishna discloses:
further comprising an adjustment member (locking device 150 of Gopalakrishna) configured to be connected to the electronic module 100 to regulate movement of the base member (115 and 125; Par. 0044 “The locking device 150 may be configured to couple the front face 130 to the housing 105. The locking device 150 may be configured to set the front face 130 and/or the moveable heat spreaders (e.g., 115, 125) in a first position (e.g., locked position)”; regulates movement of 115 and 125 by locked 115 and 125 in place).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 13-15, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus in the independent claim 13, and at least in part, because claim 13 recites the limitations:
“wherein the adjustment member comprises:
an adjustment body configured to be rotatably connected to the electronic module;
a cam disposed on one side of the adjustment body and configured to press or release the base member in the first direction depending on a rotation direction of the adjustment body; and
a lever extending from another side of the adjustment body.”
Bilski (US 10136556 B2) discloses a cam assembly to adjust a cage between two positions, but does not disclose a lever or the claimed details of the adjustment member.
Jia (US 20230240048 A1) discloses a heat dissipation apparatus with a fastening assembly, but does not disclose the claimed details of the adjustment member.
Arney (US 20120281359 A1) discloses a heat pipe and liquid cooling apparatus, however, does not disclose defined slots or a fastening assembly for the electronics.
Ling (US 20130194755 A1) discloses a board cooling apparatus comprising a heat pipe and liquid cooled member, however, does not disclose a fastening assembly for the electronics.
See previous PTO-892.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 13, are believed to render said claim 13 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims limitations have been fully addressed in the rejection above.
Additionally, Examiner attempted to contact Applicant’s representative, David Moorman (Reg. No. 59,323) on 05/14/2026 to discuss a potential Examiner’s amendment for claim 1 to bring case to allowance. Examiner did not receive a response, and proceeded with a Final Rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841