Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the polishing the polishing control groove” which should be “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8414357 to Wang.
(a) Regarding Claim 1:
(i) Wang discloses an apparatus for processing a substrate (see abstract), comprising:
a pad disposed on a platen (see abstract; platen 110, polishing pad 112, Figs 4B/5A),
wherein the pad has a pad radius and a central axis from which the pad radius extends (as defined, Fig 5A);
a carrier assembly (substrate carriers 120, Fig 4B) configured to be disposed on a surface of the pad (Col 3 Lns 25-27) and having a carrier radius that extends from a rotational axis of the carrier assembly (as defined, Fig 4B; aligned with rotational axis of substrate 140, Fig 5A),
wherein the rotational axis is disposed at a first radial distance from the central axis (as defined, Fig 5A);
a first fluid delivery arm (any one of dispenser arms 123, Figs 3/5A) having a first nozzle (one or both of slurry dispensing nozzles 124a-b, Fig 5B) configured to provide a first fluid (Col 7 Lns 38-40) to a first point on a surface of the pad at a second radial distance from the central axis (radially inward or aligned with nozzles 124a-b, Fig 5A-B); and
a second nozzle configured (any one, combination, or all of rinsing nozzles 138a-f, Fig 3) to provide a second fluid (Col 6 Lns 19-21) to a second point on the surface of the pad (radially aligned with respective rinsing nozzles 138a-f, notably radially outward of distal end of the arm, Fig 3),
the second point disposed a third radial distance from the central axis (respective rinsing nozzles 138a-f located radially outward of distal end of the arm, Fig 3),
wherein the third radial distance is greater than or equal to the first radial distance and the second radial distance (Figs 3/5B).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Wang further discloses wherein the second nozzle is positioned on a second fluid delivery arm (both arms 123a-b have rinsing nozzles 138a-f) that is positionable over a portion of the surface of the pad (Col 7 Lns 63-66).
(c) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Wang further discloses wherein the second nozzle is positioned on the first fluid delivery arm (each arm 123 have both slurry dispensing nozzles 124a-b and rinsing nozzles 138a-f; Fig 3).
(d) Regarding claim 4:
(i) Wang discloses an apparatus for processing a substrate (see abstract), comprising:
a platen (platen 110, Fig 4B);
a pad disposed on the platen (polishing pad 112, Figs 4B/5A),
the pad having a pad radius extending from a central axis (as defined, Fig 5A);
a carrier assembly (substrate carriers 120, Fig 4B) disposed on the pad (Col 3 Lns 25-27) having a carrier radius that extends from a rotational axis of the carrier assembly (as defined, Fig 4B; aligned with rotational axis of substrate 140, Fig 5A);
a first fluid delivery arm (any one of dispenser arms 123, Figs 3/5A) configured to provide a first fluid (Col 7 Lns 38-40) to a first point on the pad (radially inward or aligned with nozzles 124a-b located at distal end of respective arm 123, Figs 5A-B); and
a second fluid delivery arm (any other one of dispenser arms 123, Figs 3/5A) configured to provide a second fluid (Col 6 Lns 19-21) to a second point on the pad (radially aligned with respective rinsing nozzles 138a-f, notably radially outward of distal end of respective arm 123, Fig 3),
the second point disposed a radial distance from the central axis (respective rinsing nozzles 138a-f located radially outward of distal end of arm, Fig 3),
the radial distance being greater than about 75% of the pad radius (can be located at any point along entire radial length of pad 112, Col 7 Lns 65-67).
(e) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Wang discloses a method of polishing a substrate (see abstract) comprising:
urging a substrate (140, Figs 4B/5A) against a surface of a pad (polishing pad 112, Figs 4B/5A) of a polishing system (polisher 100, Fig 4B) using a carrier assembly (carrier assembly 120, Fig 4B; Col 2 Lns 60-63; Col 3 Lns 28-32),
wherein the pad has a pad radius and a central axis from which the pad radius extends (as defined, Fig 5A);
translating the carrier assembly across a surface of the pad while rotating the carrier assembly about a rotational axis (Col 3 Lns 28-32);
dispensing a first fluid (Col 7 Lns 38-40) onto the pad from a first fluid nozzle (radially innermost nozzle 124c, Fig 5B) at a first flow rate (must exist),
wherein the first fluid is delivered to the pad at a second radial distance that is measured from the central axis (radially aligned with radially innermost nozzle 124c, Fig 5B); and
dispensing a second fluid (Col 7 Lns 38-40) onto the pad from a second fluid nozzle (any one or combination of nozzles 124c radially outward of radially innermost nozzle 124c, Fig 5B) at a second flow rate (must exist),
wherein the second fluid is delivered to the pad at a third radial distance that is measured from the central axis (corresponding to a radial distance of respective nozzle 124c, Fig 5A-B),
such that the third radial distance is greater than the second radial distance (Figs 3/5B).
(f) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang further discloses wherein the second fluid is dispensed onto the pad at a radial position outward from an innermost edge of the carrier assembly with respect to the central axis of the pad, but inward from an outermost edge of the carrier assembly with respect to the central axis of the pad (Col 7 Lns 56-59; moreover, can be located at any point along entire radial length of pad 112, Col 7 Lns 65-67).
(g) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang further discloses wherein the carrier assembly and the second fluid nozzle are both moveable and track one another so the fluid dispensed from the second fluid delivery nozzle intersects a same portion of the carrier assembly as the carrier assembly is translated across the surface of the pad (Col 7 Lns 56-59; contact region 147, Fig 5A).
(h) Regarding claim 18:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang further discloses wherein the second fluid is provided through a plurality of nozzles having at least a first and a second nozzle (any combination of at least two of nozzles 124c radially outer to radially innermost nozzle 124c, Fig 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8414357 to Wang in view of US 11103970 to Huang.
(a) Regarding claim 6-7:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang does not disclose:
wherein the first fluid and the second fluid are different; nor
wherein the first fluid flow rate and the second fluid flow rate are different.
(iii) Huang is also in the field of CMP (see title) and teaches first and second nozzles (conduits 118/126, Fig 1A) dispensing first and second fluids (first and second polishing slurries 116/126, Fig 1A), wherein the two fluids are different (each having separate reservoirs 120/130 and temperatures T1 and T2, Fig 1A) and have different fluid flow rates (Col 2 Lns 50-54).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second fluids as disclosed by Wang to be different and have different flow rates as taught by Huang for the purpose of maintaining the pad at a pre-defined constant value (see abstract; Col 2 Lns 54-62).
(b) Regarding claims 8-9:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang does not disclose:
wherein the first fluid is at a first temperature and the second fluid is at a second temperature, and the temperatures are controlled by a temperature control unit to adjust a polishing rate; nor
wherein the first fluid temperature and the second fluid temperature are different.
(iii) Huang is also in the field of CMP (see title) and teaches dispensing first and second fluids (first and second polishing slurries 116/126, Fig 1A), wherein:
the first fluid is at a first temperature (temperature T1, Fig 1A) and the second fluid is at a second temperature (temperature T2, Fig 1A), and the temperatures are controlled by a temperature control unit to adjust a polishing rate (control unite 150, Figs 1A; Col 4 Lns 26-31); and
wherein the first fluid temperature and the second fluid temperature are different (see abstract).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second fluids as disclosed by Wang with the first temperature, second temperature, and temperature control unit as taught by Huang for the purpose of maintaining the pad at a pre-defined constant value (see abstract; Col 2 Lns 54-62).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8414357 to Wang in view of US 20210154796 to Zhang.
(a) Regarding claims 12-14:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang does not disclose:
wherein the pad has a polishing control groove, the polishing control groove has a depth of between about 10 mils to about 80 mils and a width of between about 3 to 50 millimeters;
wherein the polishing the polishing control groove is positioned near the outer edge of the pad; nor
wherein the polishing control groove is positioned within 15% of the outer edge of the pad by radius.
(iii) Zhang is also in the field of polishing (see abstract) and teaches a pad (polishing pad 30, Fig 1) and:
wherein the pad has a polishing control groove (control groove 102a, Fig 1), the polishing control groove has a depth of between about 10 mils to about 80 mils (Par 0030) and a width of between about 3 to 50 millimeters (Par 0034);
wherein the polishing the polishing control groove is positioned near the outer edge of the pad (Par 0031); and
wherein the polishing control groove is positioned within 15% of the outer edge of the pad by radius (Par 0031).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pad as disclosed by Wang with the above aforementioned control groove as taught by Zhang for the purpose of reducing non-uniformity and particularly angularly asymmetric non-uniformity near the substrate edge (Par 0012).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8414357 to Wang in view of US 9498866 to Lee.
(a) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 5.
(ii) Wang does not disclose a vacuum pressure provided from a vacuum nozzle and the vacuum nozzles is positioned between about 1 and 5 mm above the top surface of the substrate.
(iii) Lee is also in the field of polishing (see title) and teaches a vacuum pressure provided from a vacuum nozzle (vacuum assembly 128, Fig 1; vacuum port 200, Fig 2) and the vacuum nozzle is positioned above the top surface of the substrate (adjustable distance 202, Fig 2).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Wang to include a vacuum pressure as taught by Lee for the purpose of vacuuming water and debris from the pad (Col 5 Lns 57-60).
(v) Lee suggests (distance 202 is adjustable, Fig 2) but does not explicitly teach wherein the vacuum nozzle is positioned between about 1 and 5 mm above the top surface of the substrate.
(vi) The Applicant has disclosed no criticality, nor any new or unexpected results, from having the vacuum nozzle being positioned about 1 and 5 mm above the top surface of the substrate and shifting the position of the vacuum nozzle of the prior art would not modify the operation of the prior art method. Mere rearrangement of parts supports a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
(vii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vacuum nozzle as taught by Wang as modified by Lee to be 1 to 5 mm above the top surface of the substrate through mere rearrangement of parts, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
(b) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Wang as modified by Lee teaches the method of claim 15.
(ii) Wang as modified by Lee further teaches wherein providing a vacuum pressure along the edge of the substrate removes fluid from the edge of the substrate (when the vacuum nozzle of the proposed combination is placed at an edge of the substrate, such as shown in Fig 5A of Wang, it would remove fluid as claimed).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8414357 to Wang in view of US 20210154796 to Zhang as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 9498866 to Lee.
(a) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Wang as modified by Zhang teaches the method of claim 12.
(ii) Wang does not disclose providing a vacuum pressure along the edge of the substrate removing fluid from the polishing control groove.
(iii) Lee is also in the field of polishing (see title) and teaches providing a vacuum pressure provided from a vacuum nozzle (vacuum assembly 128, Fig 1; vacuum port 200, Fig 2).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Wang to include providing vacuum pressure as taught by Lee for the purpose of vacuuming water and debris from the pad (Col 5 Lns 57-60).
(v) The Examiner notes that in the proposed combination, the vacuum pressure would be located along the edge of the substrate (as shown in Fig 5A of Wang) and remove fluid from the polishing control groove (Wang: nozzles travel entire radial length of the pad which would include the radial location of the control groove, Col 7 Lns 65-67).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8414357 to Wang in view of US 20210046604 to Wu.
(a) Regarding claims 19-20:
(i) Wang discloses the method of claim 18.
(ii) Wang does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of nozzles are angled to project the second fluid at an angle with regards to the top surface of the pad that is not perpendicular to the pad; nor
wherein the plurality of nozzles are further angled to project the second fluid toward the pad edge and avoid spraying the second fluid towards the center of the pad.
(iii) Wu is also in the field of CMP (see abstract) and teaches a plurality of nozzles (openings 144, nozzles 120/154; Fig 2) spraying a second fluid (“steam”, Par 0045; “cleaning fluid”, Par 0052; spray 122, Par 0067), and:
wherein the plurality of nozzles are angled to project the second fluid at an angle with regards to the top surface of the pad that is not perpendicular to the pad (fluid sprayed with a “horizontal component”, Pars 0045/0052/0067); nor
wherein the plurality of nozzles are further angled to project the second fluid toward the pad edge and avoid spraying the second fluid towards the center of the pad (“horizontal component that is radially outward”, Par 0052).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of nozzles as disclosed by Wang to be angled as taught by Wu for the purpose of causing the fluid to slough off the pad more quickly thereby leaving a thinner region of fluid on the pad (Par 0052).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 12296427 to Wu is the patent resulting from US PGPub 20210046604 to Wu as described above. US 20190143477 to Baba teaches a CMP unit comprising three nozzles supplying three fluids at three different radial locations relative to the center axis of the pad (Fig 6). US 9630295 to Peng teaches a CMP unit comprising a plurality of nozzles each spraying fluid in a radially outward direction (Fig 6). US 20160167195 to Diao teaches providing a vacuum pressure along substantially an entire radial length of a pad (Figs 2-3).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745