Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed November 24, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 16 has been amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 26, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 24, 2025, have been entered and fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has presented a set of arguments pointing out their rational of how the prior art reference made of record in the most recent Office Action does not teach the currently recited claim limitations. Applicant in their submitted response has presented the argument that the primary reference, Park et al. (US20230273086A1), and the secondary reference, Seok-Jeong (KR20210128145A), fail to disclose, teach or suggest each and every limitation recited in the original independent claims 1 & 12.
In response to the applicant’s arguments, please see pages 7-11 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of the original independent claims 1 & 12, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references Park and Seok-Jeong, as cited by the applicant, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, to show certain features of the invention, “the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board” and “determine a type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees based on three reasonings, regarding the argument that Park and Seok-Jeong, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, “the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board”. The first reason, in regard to obviousness, upon review, the examiner’s rejection satisfied the requirements for applying Rationales (C), (D), (F), (G) in 2143 (I)(C), 2143(I)(D), 2143(I)(F), and 2143(I)(G). Therefore, argument is not persuasive because the argument does not meet the requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b), and upon review, the rejection does make a case of obviousness using either Rationale C, D, F, and G. The second reason, applicant’s argument against references individually is discussed in MPEP § 2145(IV). Nonobviousness cannot be demonstrated by critiquing a prior art reference individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Applicant’s reply fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references and instead argues that each reference individually does not teach all of the claim limitations. All of the limitations of the claim are disclosed in combination of Park, in view of Seok-Jeong, and it is the combination of the references that renders the claimed invention obvious.
Third reason is that the primary art reference, Park, not Seok-Jeong, as presented by the applicant, individually discloses, “the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board”, in Fig. 7, paragraphs [0137] & [0140]-[0143] of the prior art reference and also disclosed in the Non-Final OA Pg. 9, where the paragraphs and figure disclose all the features of the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
The examiner respectfully disagrees based on three reasonings, regarding the argument that Park and Seok-Jeong, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, “determine a type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board”. The first reason, in regard to obviousness, upon review, the examiner’s rejection satisfied the requirements for applying Rationales (C), (D), (F), (G) in 2143 (I)(C), 2143(I)(D), 2143(I)(F), and 2143(I)(G). Therefore, argument is not persuasive because the argument does not meet the requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b), and upon review, the rejection does make a case of obviousness using either Rationale C, D, F, and G. The second reason, applicant’s argument against references individually is discussed in MPEP § 2145(IV). Nonobviousness cannot be demonstrated by critiquing a prior art reference individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Applicant’s reply fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references and instead argues that each reference individually does not teach all of the claim limitations. All of the limitations of the claim are disclosed in combination of Park, in view of Seok-Jeong, and it is the combination of the references that renders the claimed invention obvious.
Third reason is that the primary art reference, Park, in view of Seok-Jeong, in combination, disclose, “determine a type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board”, in Fig. 7, paragraphs [0026], [0036]-[0038], & [0063] of the prior art reference, and also disclosed in the Non-Final OA Pgs. 9-10, 14, 23, 25-26, 31, 34, 40, & 42 where Seok-Jeong teaches distinguishing between water and organic solvent (brake oil) to allow the user to “respond properly.” In combination with Park, who discloses the measurement of Rliquid (resistance of the liquid) via the voltage divider at R12, in paragraph [0143] of the prior art reference, and Pgs. 19, 22, & 37 of the Non-Final OA, teaching that different fluids have different measurement of Rliquid. Park uses the resistance to determine the amount of position, but does not state “determine a type of substance” (e.g., oil vs. water). Seok-Jeong teaches the importance of distinguishing between water (rain/wash water) and organic solvent (brake oil) in a vehicle ECU. Modifying the controller of Park to determine the type of substance based on the monitored voltage, as taught by the motivation in Seok-Jeong, since Park’s controller already measures resistance (Rliquid), and different fluids (water vs. oil) have different conductivities (resistances), the hardware in Park is already capable of distinguishing them with the disclosed electronic voltage monitoring structure. Seok-Jeong provides an incentive to do so, allowing the user to know if the leak is rain water (less critical) or brake oil (critical system failure), and respond accordingly to prevent a fire in the ECU caused by a power short circuit due to liquid.
Based on the reasons explained above, the examiner believes that the prior art references teach all the limitations currently recited in the original independent claim 1, and applicant’s arguments are unconvincing, to include dependent claims 2-11, original independent claim 12, to include dependent claims 13-15 & 17-20, and amended dependent claim 16, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of the original independent claims 1 & 12, therefore, the rejections are respectively maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-12, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20230273086 A1, Fil. Date Sep. 2, 2021, hereinafter Park), in view of Seok-Jeong (KR 20210128145 A, Pub. Date Oct. 26, 2021, hereinafter Seok-Jeong).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park, teaches:
An electronic control unit comprising (Fig. 1; [Abstract] & [0018]: electronic control device (not illustrated) interpreted as electronic control unit):
a housing (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0080], & [0090]-[0091]: control device housing 150);
a circuit board disposed inside the housing (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0080]-[0081], & [0090]-[0091]: circuit board 3) and including a first pattern (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], & [0119]-[0120], [0125] & [0127]: first electrode 31 (forming a first connection pattern 311 and first sensing pattern 312) interpreted as a first pattern) and a second pattern (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], & [0119]-[0120], [0125] & [0127]: second electrode 32 (forming a second connection pattern 321 and second sensing pattern 322) interpreted as a second pattern), wherein the first pattern and second pattern of the circuit board are spaced apart from each other and disposed parallel to each other (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], [0113], [0119]-[0120], [0125] & [0127]: first sensing pattern 312 interpreted as a first pattern); and
a controller mounted on the circuit board (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0081] & 90: MCU (not illustrated)),
wherein the controller is configured to (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0140], & [0142]: controller applies a voltage to the circuit and the “first calculator 21 measures a voltage” to determine the resistance of the liquid):
control an output of a voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0018], [0140] & [0142]) depending on whether a substance is flowed into an inside of the housing (Fig. 7; [0018], [0140]-[0142] liquid 6 interpreted as substance “flowed into an inside of the housing”);
monitor a voltage of a circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0137] & [0140]-[0143]) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0027], [0032], [0137], &[0140]-[0143); and
Park, is silent in regard to:
determine a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
determine a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing (Fig. 7; [0026], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], [0073]-[0076]: teaches a liquid sensor designed to determine the type of liquid by using a “first part (151)…made of a water-soluble material” and “a second part (152)…made of a lipid-soluble material”, states the sensor “detection unit (150) detects whether the inflow liquid is broken depending on whether the first part (151) or the second part (152) is broken” and “the type can be determined”) based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board ([0035]-[0039], [0043]-[0047], [0052]-[0053], & [0058]-[0065]: printed circuit board (PCB) (11) of an electronic control unit (10), second part (152) interpreted as second pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate being able to determine a type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, modifying Park’s sensor with differential sensing materials taught by Seok-Jeong, in order to improve Park’s monitored voltage system and provide more specific information about a leak, distinguishing from an oil leak (urgent) to a water leak (less critical), incorporating Seok-Jeong’s differential materials into Park’s parallel patterns, Park’s controller (monitors for electrical changes), measuring resistance (Rliquid), and different fluids (water vs. oil), which have different conductivities (resistances), this hardware is capable of distinguishing them, and furthermore, would be able to determine the liquid type based on the specific electrical signature of the pattern affected, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to detect a voltage of the circuit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0027], [0081], [0140], [0142]-[0144], [0150]-[0151], & [0161]), electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], [0142]-[0145], [0150]-[0151], & [0160]-[0161]: includes a first calculator 21 that measures a continuous voltage change, figure further illustrates the first calculator 21 connected to the circuit that includes the second electrode 32 (second pattern)), caused by a resistance formed between the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board due to the substance flowed into the inside of the housing ([0018], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the first calculator is “for calculating a resistance formed between the first sensing pattern and the second sensing pattern by a liquid introduced into the housing”, where the monitored voltage is a direct function of the resistance (Rliquid)).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 8 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0084], [0090], [0098], & [0105]), wherein:
the first pattern of the circuit board is electrically connected to a first power supply line of a power source (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a first electrode 31 (first pattern) on the circuit board, first electrode is connected to a power source 4 via a voltage V_1 and a resistor, R0/R11, the connection makes up a “first power supply line”),
the controller is electrically connected to a second power supply line of the power source (Figs. 2 & 3; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the controller 20 is powered by and receives power from the power source 4, this constitutes the “second power supply line” that provides operational power to the controller) and the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a second electrode 32 (second pattern) on the circuit board, the second electrode is connected to the controller’s calculation unit (first calculator 21), where “R11 is the self-resistance of the second electrode 32”, figures further illustrate the connection to the calculator 21 via R12), and
the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board comprises a pull-down circuit connected between the controller and the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a resistor R12 between the second electrode 32 (second pattern) and ground (G), constitutes a pull-down resistor configuration circuit, the purpose is to pull the input to the first calculator 21 to a known state (ground) and allow a voltage divider to form when liquid creates a resistance Rliquid between the first and second electrodes, figure further illustrates “R12 is a resistance connected to a first calculator 21 in order to sense a change in resistance…through a voltage distributed to R12” ).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein each of the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board includes a linear pattern ([0018], [0081], [0131], & [Claim 1]) extending along an edge of the circuit board ([0024] & [Claim 2]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein the type of the substance includes at least one of salt water, water, washer fluid, brake oil, or oil ([0006], [0042], & [0070]: teaches the detection of brake oil and oil, where the other substances (water, salt water, washer fluid) are known common fluids in a vehicle environment).
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the type of the substance includes at least one of salt water, water, washer fluid,
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
wherein the type of the substance includes at least one of salt water, water, washer fluid ([0014], [0036]-[0038], & [0059]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the type of substance including at least one of salt water, water, water fluid, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, modifying Park’s sensor with differential sensing
materials taught by Seok-Jeong, in order to improve Park’s system, distinguishing from an oil leak to a form of a water leak, incorporating Seok-Jeong’s differential materials into Park’s parallel patterns, Park’s controller (monitors for electrical changes), would be able to determine the liquid type based on the specific electrical signature of the pattern affected, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 12, Park, teaches:
A method for controlling an electronic control unit (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]), the method comprising:
controlling an output of a voltage of a first pattern of a circuit board (Fig. 7; [0018] & [0140]-[0143]: discloses a first calculator 21 that measures a “continuous voltage change”, figure further illustrates the first calculator 21 connected to the circuit that includes the first pattern 31, where first electrode 31 (forming a first connection pattern 311 and first sensing pattern 312) interpreted as a first pattern) disposed inside a housing of the electronic control unit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0080]-[0081], & [0090]-[0091]: circuit board 3) depending on whether a substance is flowed into an inside of the housing of the electronic control unit (Fig. 7; [0018], [0084], [0090]-[0091], [0102]-[0103], [0113]-[0114], [0117], [0120]-[0122], & [0140]-[0143] liquid 6 interpreted as substance “flowed into an inside of the housing”);
while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0018], [0027], [0032], [0140], & [0142]), monitoring a voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0137], [0140]-[0143]), wherein the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board are spaced apart from each other and disposed parallel to each other (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], [0113], [0119]-[0120], [0125] & [0127]: first sensing pattern 312 interpreted as a first pattern); and
Park, is silent in regard to:
determining a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
determining a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing (Fig. 7; [0026], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], [0074]-[0076]: teaches a liquid sensor designed to determine the type of liquid by using a “first part (151)…made of a water-soluble material” and “a second part (152)…made of a lipid-soluble material”, states the sensor “detection unit (150) detects whether the inflow liquid is broken depending on whether the first part (151) or the second part (152) is broken” and “the type can be determined”) based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board ([0035]-[0039], [0043]-[0047], [0052]-[0053], & [0058]-[0065]: printed circuit board (PCB) (11) of an electronic control unit (10), second part (152) interpreted as second pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining a type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, modifying Park’s sensor with differential sensing materials taught by Seok-Jeong, in order to improve Park’s monitored voltage system and provide more specific information about a leak, distinguishing from an oil leak (urgent) to a water leak (less critical), incorporating Seok-Jeong’s differential materials into Park’s parallel patterns, Park’s controller (monitors for electrical changes), measuring resistance (Rliquid), and different fluids (water vs. oil), which have different conductivities (resistances), this hardware is capable of distinguishing them, and furthermore, would be able to determine the liquid type based on the specific electrical signature of the pattern affected, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 12 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]), further comprising detecting a voltage of the circuit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0027], [0081], [0140], [0142]-[0144], [0150]-[0151], & [0161]), electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], [0142]-[0145], [0150]-[0151], & [0160]-[0161]: includes a first calculator 21 that measures a continuous voltage change, figure further illustrates the first calculator 21 connected to the circuit that includes the second electrode 32 (second pattern)), caused by a resistance formed between the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board due to the substance flowed into the inside of the housing ([0018], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the first calculator is “for calculating a resistance formed between the first sensing pattern and the second sensing pattern by a liquid introduced into the housing”, where the monitored voltage is a direct function of the resistance (Rliquid)).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 19 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]), wherein:
the first pattern of the circuit board is electrically connected to a first power supply line of a power source (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a first electrode 31 (first pattern) on the circuit board, first electrode is connected to a power source 4 via a voltage V_1 and a resistor, R0/R11, the connection makes up a “first power supply line”),
the controller is electrically connected to a second power supply line of the power source (Figs. 2 & 3; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the controller 20 is powered by and receives power from the power source 4, this constitutes the “second power supply line” that provides operational power to the controller) and the second pattern of the circuit board, and
the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board comprises a pull-down circuit connected between the controller and the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a resistor R12 between the second electrode 32 and ground (G), constitutes a pull-down resistor configuration circuit, the purpose is to pull the input to the first calculator 21 to a known state (ground) and allow a voltage divider to form when liquid creates a resistance Rliquid between the first and second electrodes, figure further illustrates “R12 is a resistance connected to a first calculator 21 in order to sense a change in resistance…through a voltage distributed to R12”).
Claims 2-7 & 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Seok-Jeong, and further in view of Kube (US 20180017462 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 18, 2018, hereinafter Kube).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]),
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
further comprising a memory configured to store reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum of the reference voltage level,
wherein the controller is configured to determine the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing using the reference data stored in the memory.
However, Kube, further teaches:
further comprising a memory configured to store reference data (Fig. 3B; [0018]-[0019], [0059]-[0060]: The system needs to store the “setpoint maximum state of charge” or “setpoint maximum voltage 227” as a reference value for comparing, requiring a memory) including at least one of a reference voltage level (Fig. 3B; [0005], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0059]-[0060], & [0067]: teaches comparison to a “predefined voltage threshold value”) corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances (Fig. 3B; [0004]-[0005], [0015], [0019], & [0059]-[0060]: The system needs to store the “setpoint maximum state of charge” or “setpoint maximum voltage 227” (a specific voltage level), which is a reference value for comparing the “dry” state) or a spectrum of the reference voltage level (Figs. 4A, 4B, & 4C; [0004]-[0005], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0024], [0059]-[0060], & [0067]: The system needs to store the “setpoint maximum state of charge” or “setpoint maximum voltage 227” (a specific voltage level), which is a reference value for comparing the “dry” state),
wherein the controller is configured to determine the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing using the reference data stored in the memory (Fig. 4A; [0009], [0018]-[0019], [0051], [0059]-[0060], [0063]: teaches the evaluation circuit (controller) 150 is “ascertaining state-of-charge information” and is “constructed for outputting an alarm signal” based on a deviation from the stored reference value (setpoint maximum voltage)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a memory configured to store reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level that corresponds to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum voltage level, where the controller is configured to determine the type of the substance that flowed into the inside of the housing using the reference data stored in the memory, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, implementing Seok-Jeong’s type-distinguishing sensor into Park’s system, to store the known, expected voltage/resistance values for each substance (e.g., a reference voltage for water, a different voltage for oil) as a reference data in the memory that both Park and Kube provide, and the controller, which both Park and Kube teach is capable of comparing a measured value to a stored reference value, that would be configured to perform the comparison to determine the substance type, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 2 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to monitor the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103] [0140], [0142]-[0145], & [0150]-[0151] : teaches the electronic controller 20 (interpreted as a voltage-monitoring device), that includes a “first calculator” 21 that measures voltage across resistor R12 or the voltage change caused by switch 50, the voltage being dependent on the resistance between the first electrode 31 (first pattern) and the second electrode 32 (second pattern)) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], & [0142]-[0143]: teaches the system applies a voltage (V_1) to the circuit containing the first electrode 31 (first pattern), the controller 20 controls this power source)
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value.
However, Kube, further teaches:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage value (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [0005], [0059]-[0060] & [0065]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215) and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value (Figs. 3B & 3D; [0005], [0059]-[0060] & [0062]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215 and then decreasing to a predetermined second value 0 V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board, increased to a predetermined first voltage, then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, implementing Kube’s method to achieve a robust detection through active voltage pulsing and monitoring, incorporating the specific voltage control and monitoring of Kube into the ECU-based liquid detection system of Park to improve its operation, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 3 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to monitor the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103] [0140], [0142]-[0145], & [0150]-[0151]) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board Fig. 7; [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], & [0142]-[0143])
Park, and Seok-Jeong, are silent in regard to:
and controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range.
However, Kube, further teaches:
and controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0049]-[0052],[0059]-[0060] & [0065]) such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0051]-[0052], [0059]-[0060] & [0065]: defines a pulse train with a specific frequency and duty cycle, the repetition frequency is taught to be “in the range between 10 Hz and 100 kHz” (predetermined range), the pulsed (AC) approach is used to differentiate the sensing signal from fault conditions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range, of Kube to Park, and
Seok-Jeong, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, to improve the accuracy, reliability, and fault discrimination of Park’s liquid detection system using a pulsed (AC signal, replacing Park’s DC voltage source with Kube’s pulsed current source, operating within a predetermined frequency range, using AC characteristics for robust sensing, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 4 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0103], & [0105]), based on the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0140]-[0145]: teaches the system works by measuring a voltage change on a circuit connected to the second electrode (32) (second pattern), where R12 is a resistance connected to a “first calculator 21” in order to sense a change in resistance due to the “liquid 6” through a voltage distributed to R12).
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the controller is configured to determine the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured ([0003]-[0005], [0031]-[0034]) to determine the type of the substance (Fig. 7; [0003]-[0005], [0026], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], & [0073]-[0076]) flowed into the inside of the housing ([0026], [0036]-[0039], [0059], [0063], & [0078]: “the liquid detection device (100) detects the liquid flowing into the electronic control unit (10)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the controller configured to determine the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, and to improve the diagnostic capabilities of Park’s liquid detection system, modifying Park’s controller to not only detect a voltage change indicating the presence, but to also analyze the voltage signal (e.g., its characteristics, magnitude, or behavior over time) to distinguish between substances with different electrical properties (e.g., the distinct conductivity of water versus oil), to achieve the desired result of substance identification taught by Seok-Jeong, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 5 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0103], & [0105]),
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the controller is configured to determine the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured ([0003]-[0005], [0031]-[0034]) to determine the type of substance (Fig. 7; [0003]-[0005], [0026], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], & [0073]-[0076]) flowed into the inside of the housing ([0026], [0036]-[0039], [0059], [0063], & [0078]: “the liquid detection device (100) detects the liquid flowing into the electronic control unit (10)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the controller configured to determine the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, to improve the diagnostic capabilities of Park’s liquid detection system, modifying Park’s controller to not only detect a voltage change indicating the presence, but to also analyze the voltage signal (e.g., its characteristics, magnitude, or behavior over time) to distinguish between substances with different electrical properties (e.g., the distinct conductivity of water versus oil), to achieve the desired result of substance identification taught by Seok-Jeong, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Kube, further teaches:
based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Figs.3B, 4B, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0011], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0051]-[0052], [0057], [0059]-[0060]: teaches analyzing the voltage-time characteristic, that is time-domain equivalent, the evaluation circuit 150 analyzes the voltage progression 220 (shape, rise time, maximum value) to determine the system’s state, where the voltage-vs-time data contains the spectral information needed for analysis, “the evaluation circuit 150 is a voltage measuring circuit which evaluates a voltage that drops across the measuring capacitor 144”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain and improve, by combining prior arts, the diagnostic capabilities of Park’s system to identify specific leak sources (e.g., oil vs. coolant), would integrate Kube’s method of voltage progression/spectrum analysis into Park’s electric controller, to allow the controller to analyze the spectrum of the voltage from the sensor circuit to identify the type of substance present, to achieve the claimed invention using known techniques, improve reliability, and yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0140], [0142]-[0144], & [0161]) to control the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0098], [0109]-[0113], [0140] & [0142]-[0144], [0161])
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
to be a predetermined magnitude using supply of power from a power supply, monitor whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude, and determine that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage.
However, Kube, further teaches:
to be a predetermined magnitude using supply of power from a power supply (Figs. 3B, 4B, & 5B; [Abstract], [0051]-[0052], [0059]-[0060]: discloses a “pulsed source” 120 for energizing the measuring head (electrodes), where the system is designed to output a predetermined voltage/current magnitude, further illustrated in the voltage-time diagrams, where the source voltage 210 pulses to a consistent, predetermined maximum voltage 215), monitor whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]: discloses an evaluation circuit 150 that “ascertains the state of charge” information regarding the measuring capacitor 144, the circuit monitors/evaluates the voltage 220 and compares it to a “setpoint maximum voltage 227”, which is the predetermined reference voltage, the system then triggers an alarm if the measured voltage deviates from the setpoint by more than an “alarm tolerance value 228”) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude (Figs. 3B, 3D, 4B & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]), and determine that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]: teaches determining fluid presence based on a voltage comparison, the evaluation circuit 150 determines that fluid has penetrated the container when the measured capacitor voltage 225 is less than the setpoint reference voltage 227).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a predetermined magnitude of a power supply, to monitor whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board, to be the predetermined magnitude, and determine that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain and improve, by combining prior arts, using a comparator logic design choice based on electrical behavior of the sensing system (resistive increase vs. capacitive decrease upon substance intrusion), integrating Kube’s method of voltage control, monitoring, and reference comparison into the liquid detection system of Park, to improve reliability and diagnostic capabilities, and yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 12 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]),
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance comprises determining the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing using reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum of the reference voltage level.
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance (Fig. 7; [0026], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], [0074]-[0076]) comprises determining the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing (Fig. 7; [0026], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], [0074]-[0076])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, modifying Park’s sensor with differential sensing materials taught by Seok-Jeong, in order to improve Park’s system and provide more specific information about a leak, distinguishing from an oil leak (urgent) to a water leak (less critical), incorporating Seok-Jeong’s differential materials into Park’s parallel patterns, Park’s controller (monitors for electrical changes), would be able to determine the liquid type based on the specific electrical signature of the pattern affected, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
using reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum of the reference voltage level.
However, Kube, further teaches:
using reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level (Fig. 3B; [0005], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0059]-[0060], & [0067]: teaches comparison to a “predefined voltage threshold value”) corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances (Fig. 3B; [0004]-[0005], [0015], [0019], [0059]-[0060]: The system needs to store the “setpoint maximum state of charge” or “setpoint maximum voltage 227” (a specific voltage level), which is a reference value for comparing the “dry” state) or a spectrum of the reference voltage level (Figs. 4A, 4B, & 4C; [0004]-[0005], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0024], [0059]-[0060], [0067]: The system needs to store the “setpoint maximum state of charge” or “setpoint maximum voltage 227” (a specific voltage level), which is a reference value for comparing the “dry” state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum voltage level, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, implementing Seok-Jeong’s type-distinguishing sensor into Park’s system, to store the known, expected voltage/resistance values for each substance (e.g., a reference voltage for water, a different voltage for oil) as reference data that both Park and Kube provide, and comparing a measured value to a stored reference value, that would be configured to perform the comparison to determine the substance type, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]), wherein the monitoring of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103] [0140], [0142]-[0145], & [0150]-[0151] : teaches the electronic controller 20 (interpreted as a voltage-monitoring device), that includes a “first calculator” 21 that measures voltage across resister R12 or the voltage change caused by switch 50, the voltage being dependent on the resistance between the first electrode 31 (first pattern) and the second electrode 32 (second pattern)) is performed while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], & [0142]-[0143]: teaches the system applies a voltage (V_1) to the circuit containing the first electrode 31 (first pattern), the controller 20 controls this power source)
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage value and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value.
However, Kube, further teaches:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage value (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005],[0051]-[0052], [0059]-[0060] & [0065]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215) and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value (Figs. 3B & 3D; [0005], [0059]-[0060] & [0062]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215 and then decreasing to a predetermined second value 0 V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board, increased to a predetermined first voltage value, then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, implementing Kube’s method to achieve a robust detection through active voltage pulsing and monitoring, incorporating the specific voltage control and monitoring of Kube into the ECU-based liquid detection system of Park to improve its operation, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 14 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]), wherein the monitoring of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103] [0140], [0142]-[0145], & [0150]-[0151])
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
is performed while controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be with a predetermined range.
However, Kube, further teaches:
is performed while controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0049]-[0052],[0059]-[0060] & [0065]) such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be with a predetermined range (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0051]-[0052], [0059]-[0060] & [0065]: defines a pulse train with a specific frequency and duty cycle, the repetition frequency is taught to be “in the range between 10 Hz and 100 kHz” (predetermined range), the pulsed (AC) approach is used to differentiate the sensing signal from fault conditions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, to improve the accuracy, reliability, and fault discrimination of Park’s liquid detection system using a pulsed (AC signal, replacing Park’s DC voltage source with Kube’s pulsed current source, operating within a predetermined frequency range, using AC characteristics for robust sensing, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]),
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance (Fig. 7; [0003]-[0005], [0026], [0031]-[0034], [0037], [0058]-[0063], [0066], & [0073]-[0076]) flowed into the inside of the housing ([0026], [0037]-[0039], [0059], [0063], & [0078]: “the liquid detection device (100) detects the liquid flowing into the electronic control unit (10)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, to improve the diagnostic capabilities of Park’s liquid detection system, modifying Park’s methodology to not only detect a voltage change indicating the presence, but to also analyze the voltage signal (e.g., its characteristics, magnitude, or behavior over time) to distinguish between substances with different electrical properties (e.g., the distinct conductivity of water versus oil), to achieve the desired result of substance identification taught by Seok-Jeong, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Park, and Seok-Jeong, are silent in regard to:
is performed based on the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Kube, further teaches:
is performed based on the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]: teaches determining fluid presence based on a voltage comparison, the evaluation circuit 150 determines that fluid has penetrated the container when the measured capacitor voltage 225 is less than the setpoint reference voltage 227 and measuring head electrode (second pattern of the circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a determining a substance flowed into the inside of the housing, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain and improve, by combining prior arts, modifying Park’s sensor with differential sensing materials taught by Seok-Jeong, in order to improve Park’s system and provide more specific information about a leak, distinguishing from an oil leak to a water leak, and integrating the comparator logic design choice based on electrical behavior of the sensing system (resistive increase vs. capacitive decrease upon substance intrusion), integrating Kube’s method of voltage control, monitoring, and reference comparison into the liquid detection system of Park, to improve reliability and diagnostic capabilities, and yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 16 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]),
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing includes determining the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Seok-Jeong, further teaches:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance (Fig. 7; [0003]-[0005], [0026], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], [0058]-[0063], [0066], & [0073]-[0076]) flowed into the inside of the housing ([0026], [0036]-[0039], [0059], [0063], & [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, to improve the diagnostic capabilities of Park’s liquid detection system, modifying Park’s methodology to not only detect a voltage change indicating the presence, but to also analyze the voltage signal (e.g., its characteristics, magnitude, or behavior over time) to distinguish between substances with different electrical properties (e.g., the distinct conductivity of water versus oil), to achieve the desired result of substance identification taught by Seok-Jeong, and by combining the system’s capability, yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
includes determining the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Kube, further teaches:
includes determining the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on a spectrum (Figs. 4A, 4B, & 4C; [0004]-[0005], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0024], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0057]-[0063], [0065], & [0067]: teaches analyzing the voltage-time characteristic, that is time-domain equivalent, the evaluation circuit 150 analyzes the voltage progression 220 (shape, rise time, maximum value) to determine the system’s state, where the voltage-vs-time data contains the spectral information needed for analysis, “the evaluation circuit 150 is a voltage measuring circuit which evaluates a voltage that drops across the measuring capacitor 144”) of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Figs.3B, 4B, & 5B; [0011], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0051]-[0052], [0057], [0059]-[0060]: teaches analyzing the voltage-time characteristic, that is time-domain equivalent, the evaluation circuit 150 analyzes the voltage progression 220 (shape, rise time, maximum value) to determine the system’s state, where the voltage-vs-time data contains the spectral information needed for analysis, “the evaluation circuit 150 is a voltage measuring circuit which evaluates a voltage that drops across the measuring capacitor 144”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the type of substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on a spectrum of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain and improve, by combining prior arts, the diagnostic capabilities of Park’s system to identify specific leak sources (e.g., oil vs. coolant), would integrate Kube’s method of voltage progression/spectrum analysis into Park’s electric controller, as well as Seok-Jeong’s substance identification, to allow the controller to analyze the spectrum of the voltage from the sensor circuit to identify the type of substance present, to achieve the claimed invention using known techniques, improve reliability, and yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 12 (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], & [0018]), further comprising:
controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0098], [0109]-[0113], [0140] & [0142]-[0144], [0161])
Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, are silent in regard to:
to be a predetermined magnitude using supply of power from a power supply;
monitoring whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude; and
determining that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage.
However, Kube, further teaches:
to be a predetermined magnitude using supply of power from a power supply (Figs. 3B, 4B, & 5B; [Abstract], [0051]-[0052], [0059]-[0060]: discloses a “pulsed source” 120 for energizing the measuring head (electrodes), where the system is designed to output a predetermined voltage/current magnitude, further illustrated in the voltage-time diagrams, where the source voltage 210 pulses to a consistent, predetermined maximum voltage 215);
monitoring whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]: discloses an evaluation circuit 150 that “ascertains the state of charge” information regarding the measuring capacitor 144, the circuit monitors/evaluates the voltage 220 and compares it to a “setpoint maximum voltage 227”, which is the predetermined reference voltage, the system then triggers an alarm if the measured voltage deviates from the setpoint by more than an “alarm tolerance value 228”) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude (Figs. 3B, 3D, 4B & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]); and
determining that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0005], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0063] & [0065]: teaches determining fluid presence based on a voltage comparison, the evaluation circuit 150 determines that fluid has penetrated the container when the measured capacitor voltage 225 is less than the setpoint reference voltage 227).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a predetermined magnitude of a power supply, monitoring whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board, to be the predetermined magnitude, and determining that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing, of Kube to Park, and Seok-Jeong, in order to attain and improve, by combining prior arts, using a comparator logic design choice based on electrical behavior of the sensing system (resistive increase vs. capacitive decrease upon substance intrusion), integrating Kube’s method of voltage control, monitoring, and reference comparison into the liquid detection system of Park, to improve reliability and diagnostic capabilities, and yield predictable results of a more robust and accurate liquid detection system (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Man (KR20230155819) discloses a vehicle abnormality detection device before starting that detect liquid flowing into the housing of an electronic control device. Seok-Jeong (KR20200099396A) discloses an electronic control unit, comprising a substrate and a power supply. Kim (US2017/0282743A1) discloses a system and method for controlling a voltage. Daizo (JPH1062476A) discloses a deterioration detector for printed board in electronic apparatus. Ha (KR20170119593A) discloses a liquid inflow detection device and liquid inflow detection method of electronic control unit.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 01/25/2025
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/29/2026