Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment, filed on May 04, 2026 has been received and made of record. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-12, 14-16, and 18-20 remain pending. Claims 1, 3, 12, & 14 were amended. Claims 2, 5-6, 13, & 17 were cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 4, 2026, have been entered and fully considered, and are persuasive. Applicant in their submitted response has presented the argument that the primary reference, Park et al. (US2023/0273086A1), in view of secondary reference, Seok-Jeong (KR20210128145A), and further in view of Kube (US2018/0017462A1), fail to disclose, teach or suggest each and every limitation recited in the amended independent claim 1.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, please see pp. 7-10 of Applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of the amended independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references Park, in view of Seok-Jeong, and further in view of Kube, as cited by the applicant, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, to show certain features of the invention, “a memory configured to store reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum of the reference level” and “determine a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the reference data stored in the memory and a level or spectrum of the monitored voltage.”
The Examiner appreciates the detailed discussion. However, upon further consideration, in light of the amendments, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Park, in view of Stevens et al. (US2016/0019773A1), and further in view of Jol et al. (US2019/0079037A1), and Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot. Prior art references Seok-Jeong and Kube are relevant and corroborate the teachings of the included additional new prior art references. Therefore, the rejection(s) of amended independent claim 1, and dependent claims 3-4 & 7-11, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 1, are respectively maintained. Updated rejections based on amended features and new prior art references follow below.
Applicant in their submitted response has presented the argument that the primary reference, Park et al. (US2023/0273086A1), in view of secondary reference, Seok-Jeong (KR20210128145A), and further in view of Kube (US2018/0017462A1), fail to disclose, teach or suggest each and every limitation recited in the amended independent claim 12.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, please see pp. 10-11 of Applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of the amended independent claim 12, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references Park, in view of Seok-Jeong, and further in view, as cited by the applicant, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest individually or in combination, to show certain features of the invention, “a memory configured to store reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances or a spectrum of the reference level” and “determine a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the reference data stored in the memory and a level or spectrum of the monitored voltage.”
The Examiner appreciates the detailed discussion. However, upon further consideration, in light of the amendments, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Park, in view of Stevens et al. (US2016/0019773A1), and further in view of Jol et al. (US2019/0079037A1), and Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot. Prior art references Seok-Jeong and Kube are relevant and corroborate the teachings of the included additional new prior art references. Therefore, the rejection(s) of amended independent claim 12, and dependent claims 14-16 & 18-20, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 12, are respectively maintained. Updated rejections based on amended features and new prior art references follow below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0273086 A1, Fil. Date Sep. 2, 2021, hereinafter. Park), in view of Stevens et al. (US 2016/0019773 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 21, 2016, hereinafter, Stevens), and further in view of Jol et al. (US 2019/0079037 A1, Pub. Date Mar. 14, 2019, hereinafter, Jol).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park, teaches:
An electronic control unit comprising (Fig. 1; [Abstract] & [0018]: electronic control device (not illustrated) interpreted as electronic control unit):
a housing (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0080], & [0090]-[0091]: control device housing 150);
a circuit board disposed inside the housing (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0080]-[0081], [0090]-[0091], [0113], & [Claim1]: circuit board 3) and including a first pattern (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], [0113], [0119]-[0120], [0125], [0127], & [Claim1]: first electrode 31 (forming a first connection pattern 311 and first sensing pattern 312) interpreted as a first pattern) and a second pattern (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], [0113], [0119]-[0120], [0125], [0127], & [Claim1]: second electrode 32 (forming a second connection pattern 321 and second sensing pattern 322) interpreted as a second pattern), wherein the first pattern and second pattern of the circuit board are spaced apart from each other and disposed parallel to each other (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], [0113], [0119]-[0120], [0125], [0127], & [Claim1]: first sensing pattern 312 interpreted as a first pattern); and
a controller mounted on the circuit board (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0077], [0081], [0090], & [Claim 1]: MCU (not illustrated)),
wherein the controller is configured to (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0031], [0067], [0081], [0097], [0102], [0140]-[0145], & [0147]: controller applies a voltage to the circuit and the “first calculator 21 measures a voltage” to determine the resistance of the liquid):
control an output of a voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0018], [0021], [0027], [0032], [0045], [0067], [0097], [0102], [0140]-[0145], & [0158]) depending on whether a substance is flowed into an inside of the housing (Fig. 7; [0008], [0011], [0014], [0016], [0018], [0021], [0039]-[0041], [0067]-[0068], [0080], [0090]-[0091], [0095], [0097], [0102], [0108], [0122]-[0124], [0132], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0177], [0181], [Claim 4], [Claim 22], [Claim 23], [Claim 24]: liquid 6 interpreted as substance “flowed into an inside of the housing”);
monitor a voltage of a circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0020]-[0022], [0025], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0127], [0131], [0133], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0172]-[0174], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 10], [Claim 13], [Claim14], & [Claim 15]) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0018], [0021], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0045], [0067], [0097], [0102], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0147], & [0158]); and
Park, is silent in regard to:
a memory configured to store reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances
and determine a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the reference data stored in the memory and a level or spectrum of the monitored voltage.
However, Stevens, further teaches:
a memory configured to store reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances ([Abstract], [0008], [0010], [0021], [0024]-[0027], [0033], [0035], [0044], [0058], [0062]-[0074], [0076], [Claim 1], [Claim 17], [Claim 18], [Claim 20], [Claim 22], [Claim 28], & [Claim 29])
It is recognized that citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Stevens teaches a moisture detector 120 having a memory that stores reference properties (voltage) characteristic of exposure to different liquids, such as tap water and salt water, and a sensor module 312 to determine the exact type of the substance based on that reference data. Park discloses an electronic control unit with a housing, a circuit board, parallel patterns, and a controller that monitors voltage to detect liquid. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the control unit of Park by incorporating the memory and determination logic of Stevens to determine the type of substance flowed into the housing. By determining the type of substance, the modified device of Park would gain the benefit of executing specific safety protocols based on the specific conductivity and threat level of the leaked fluid. This combination represents a predictable result of differentiating between various liquids (e.g., tap water vs. salt water) to apply appropriate protective or corrective measurements (KSR).
Park, in combination with Stevens, are silent in regard to:
or a spectrum of the reference voltage level; and
However, Jol, further teaches:
or a spectrum of the reference voltage level ([0008],[0052], & [0058]); and
It is recognized that citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Jol teaches detecting liquid intrusion by applying a time-varying voltage over a range of frequencies and comparing the measured spectrum of complex impedance (phase and magnitude) to previously measured signatures of different known liquids. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the combination of Park and Stevens with the multi-frequency spectrum analysis of Jol to monitor the voltage spectrum of the circuit. Incorporating Jol’s frequency spectrum comparison into the modified device solves the problem of distinguishing harmful liquids from non-corrosive contaminants, improving the overall reliability and accuracy of the electronic control unit. This modification is a substitution of one known sensing technique for another to obtain the predictable result of reducing false positive detections caused by benign solids or debris (KSR).
However, Stevens, in combination with Jol, further teach:
and determine a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on the reference data stored in the memory and a level or spectrum of the monitored voltage (Stevens: [Abstract], [0004], [0007]-[0010], [0024]-[0027], [0032]-[0035], [0037]-[0040], [0044], [0046], [0049], [0051]-[0053], [0058]-[0059], [0061]-[0068], [0070]-[0074], [Claim 8], [Claim 17], [Claim 22], & [Claim 28]; Jol: [Abstract], [0003]-[0004], [0008]-[0013], [0034], [0038], [0042], [0044]-[0053], [0055], [0058], [0060], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], [Claim 3], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 13], [Claim 15], [Claim 16], [Claim 17], & [Claim 18]).
It is recognized that citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Stevens discloses a moisture detector 120 with a sensor module 312 and memory storing reference data models corresponding to a plurality of predetermined substances, such as tap water and salt water, to determine the type of substance flowed into a housing. Jol teaches a liquid detection module 330 configured to monitor a voltage circuit and determine the presence and type of a substance based on stored reference data representing a spectrum of previously measured signatures of phase and magnitude versus frequency. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the moisture detector of Stevens with the frequency spectrum analysis of Jol, as this is a known technique used to improve similar devices. The motivation for this combination is to identify false positive liquid detections, gaining the benefit of accurate substance identification by distinguishing harmful corrosive liquids from benign solids based on their unique frequency-dependent capacitance effects. This modification provides the predictable variation of comparing spectrum of the monitored voltage against a spectrum of reference voltage levels to identify the specific fluid (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to detect a voltage of the circuit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0027], [0081], [0140], [0142]-[0144], [0150]-[0151], & [0161]), electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], [0142]-[0145], [0150]-[0151], & [0160]-[0161]: includes a first calculator 21 that measures a continuous voltage change, figure further illustrates the first calculator 21 connected to the circuit that includes the second electrode 32 (second pattern)), caused by a resistance formed between the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board due to the substance flowed into the inside of the housing ([0018], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the first calculator is “for calculating a resistance formed between the first sensing pattern and the second sensing pattern by a liquid introduced into the housing”, where the monitored voltage is a direct function of the resistance (Rliquid)).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 8 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0084], [0090], [0098], & [0105]), wherein:
the first pattern of the circuit board is electrically connected to a first power supply line of a power source (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a first electrode 31 (first pattern) on the circuit board, first electrode is connected to a power source 4 via a voltage V1 and a resistor, R0/R11, the connection makes up a “first power supply line”),
the controller is electrically connected to a second power supply line of the power source (Figs. 2, 3, & 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the controller 20 is powered by and receives power from the power source 4, this constitutes the “second power supply line” that provides operational power to the controller) and the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a second electrode 32 (second pattern) on the circuit board, the second electrode is connected to the controller’s calculation unit (first calculator 21), where “R11 is the self-resistance of the second electrode 32”, figures further illustrate the connection to the calculator 21 via R12), and
the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board comprises a pull-down circuit connected between the controller and the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a resistor R12 between the second electrode 32 (second pattern) and ground (G), constitutes a pull-down resistor configuration circuit, the purpose is to pull the input to the first calculator 21 to a known state (ground) and allow a voltage divider to form when liquid creates a resistance Rliquid between the first and second electrodes, figure further illustrates “R12 is a resistance connected to a first calculator 21 in order to sense a change in resistance…through a voltage distributed to R12”).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein each of the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board includes a linear pattern ([0018], [0081], [0131], [0172], & [Claim 1]) extending along an edge of the circuit board ([0019], [0024], [0125], [0127], [0131], [0133], [0137], [0149], [0172], [Claim1], & [Claim 2]: discloses the linear patterns of the physical edge or edge portion of the circuit board).
Regarding independent claim 12, Park, teaches:
A method for controlling an electronic control unit (Fig. 1; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], & [0102]: discloses an operative method of controlling the electronic control unit upon detecting liquid), the method comprising:
controlling an output of a voltage of a first pattern of a circuit board (Fig. 7; [0018], [0021], [0045], [0067], [0097], [0102], [0140]-[0145], [0147], & [0158]: discloses a first calculator 21 that measures a “continuous voltage change”, figure further illustrates the first calculator 21 connected to the circuit that includes the first pattern 31, where first electrode 31 (forming a first connection pattern 311 and first sensing pattern 312) interpreted as a first pattern) disposed inside a housing of the electronic control unit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0080]-[0081], & [0090]-[0091]: circuit board 3 and control device housing 150) depending on whether a substance is flowed into an inside of the housing of the electronic control unit (Fig. 7; [0008], [0011], [0014], [0016], [0018], [0021], [0039]-[0041], [0067]-[0068], [0080], [0084], [0090]-[0091], [0095], [0097], [0102]-[0103], [0108], [0113]-[0114], [0117], [0120]-[0124], [0132], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0177], [0181], [Claim 4], [Claim 22], [Claim 23], [Claim 24]: liquid 6 interpreted as substance “flowed into an inside of the housing”);
while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board ([0018], [0021], [0027], [0032], [0045], [0067], [0097], [0102], [0140]-[0145], & [0158]), monitoring a voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0020]-[0022], [0025], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0127], [0131], [0133], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0172]-[0174], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 10], [Claim 13], [Claim14], & [Claim 15]) wherein the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board are spaced apart from each other and disposed parallel to each other (Figs. 1 & 4; [Abstract], [0018], [0113], [0119]-[0120], [0125], [0127], & [Claim 1]: first sensing pattern 312 interpreted as a first pattern); and
Park, is silent in regard to:
determining a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances
However, Stevens, further teaches:
determining a type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing based on reference data including at least one of a reference voltage level corresponding to each of a plurality of predetermined substances (Stevens: [Abstract], [0004], [0007]-[0010], [0024]-[0027], [0032]-[0035], [0037]-[0040], [0044], [0046], [0049], [0051]-[0053], [0058]-[0059], [0061]-[0068], [0070]-[0074], [Claim 8], [Claim 17], [Claim 22], & [Claim 28];
It is recognized that citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Stevens teaches a detection method that evaluates reference properties characteristic of exposure to various conductive liquids, such as tap water and salt water, to determine the exact type of the substance based on that reference data. Park discloses a method for controlling an electronic control unit, including controlling an output voltage of a first pattern and monitoring a voltage of a spaced, parallel second pattern to detect liquid ingress. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the method of Park by incorporating the reference data comparison step of Stevens to determine the type of the substance based on a reference voltage level. The motivation to combine these references is to solve the problem of leak alerts, executing safety protocols based on the conductivity and threat level of the leaked fluid. This combination represents a predictable variation of prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of differentiating between various liquids (e.g., tap water vs. salt water) to apply appropriate protective or corrective measurements (KSR).
Park, and Stevens, in combination, are silent in regard to:
or a spectrum of the reference voltage level, and a level or spectrum of the monitored voltage.
However, Jol, further teaches:
or a spectrum of the reference voltage level, and a level or spectrum of the monitored voltage ([Abstract], [0003]-[0004], [0008]-[0013], [0034], [0038], [0042], [0044]-[0053], [0055], [0058], [0060], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], [Claim 3], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 13], [Claim 15], [Claim 16], [Claim 17], & [Claim 18]).
It is recognized that citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Jol teaches a method of detecting liquid intrusion by generating a time-varying voltage over a range of frequencies and comparing the measured spectrum of complex impedance (phase and magnitude) to previously measured reference signatures of different known liquids. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the method of Park and Stevens with the multi-frequency spectrum analysis of Jol to determine the substance type based on a monitored voltage spectrum of the circuit. Incorporating Jol’s frequency spectrum comparison into the modified method solves and identifies false positive liquid detections, distinguishing harmful liquids from non-corrosive contaminants, improving the overall reliability and accuracy of the electronic control unit based on their frequency-dependent characteristics. This modification is a substitution of one known sensing technique for another to obtain the predictable result of accurate substance identification and reducing false positive detections caused by benign solids or debris (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 12 (Figs. 1& 2; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), further comprising detecting a voltage of the circuit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0027], [0081], [0140], [0142]-[0144], [0150]-[0151], & [0161]), electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0140], [0142]-[0145], [0150]-[0151], & [0160]-[0161]: includes a first calculator 21 that measures a continuous voltage change, figure further illustrates the first calculator 21 connected to the circuit that includes the second electrode 32 (second pattern)), caused by a resistance formed between the first pattern and the second pattern of the circuit board due to the substance flowed into the inside of the housing ([0018], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the first calculator is “for calculating a resistance formed between the first sensing pattern and the second sensing pattern by a liquid introduced into the housing”, where the monitored voltage is a direct function of the resistance (Rliquid)).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Park, teaches:
The method of claim 19 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], [0081], [0084], [0090], [0098], & [0105]), wherein:
the first pattern of the circuit board is electrically connected to a first power supply line of a power source (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a first electrode 31 (first pattern) on the circuit board, first electrode is connected to a power source 4 via a voltage V_1 and a resistor, R0/R11, the connection makes up a “first power supply line”),
the controller is electrically connected to a second power supply line of the power source (Figs. 2 & 3; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses the controller 20 is powered by and receives power from the power source 4, this constitutes the “second power supply line” that provides operational power to the controller) and the second pattern of the circuit board, and
the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board comprises a pull-down circuit connected between the controller and the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [0098], [0140], & [0142]-[0145]: discloses a resistor R12 between the second electrode 32 and ground (G), constitutes a pull-down resistor configuration circuit, the purpose is to pull the input to the first calculator 21 to a known state (ground) and allow a voltage divider to form when liquid creates a resistance Rliquid between the first and second electrodes, figure further illustrates “R12 is a resistance connected to a first calculator 21 in order to sense a change in resistance…through a voltage distributed to R12”).
Claims 3-4, 7, 14-16, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Stevens, in view of Jol, and further in view of Kube (US 20180017462 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 18, 2018, hereinafter, Kube).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 3 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to monitor the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0100]-[0103],[0105]-[0106], [0108]-[0109]-[0117], [0121], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0150]-[0153], [0158]-[0159], [0161], [0163], [0174], [0179]-[0180], [Claim 1], [Claim5], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]: teaches the electronic controller 20 (interpreted as a voltage-monitoring device), that includes a “first calculator” 21 that measures voltage across resistor R12 or the voltage change caused by switch 50, the voltage being dependent on the resistance between the first electrode 31 (first pattern) and the second electrode 32 (second pattern)) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0020]-[0022], [0025]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0090], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0125], [0127]-[0128], [0131], [0133], [0137], [0140], [0142]-[0143], [0150], [0158], [0172]-[0174], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], & [Claim 15]: teaches the system applies a voltage (V_1) to the circuit containing the first electrode 31 (first pattern), the controller 20 controls this power source)
Park, Stevens, and Jol, in combination, are silent in regard to:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value.
However, Kube, further teaches:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage value (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [0005], [0059]-[0060] & [0065]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215) and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value (Figs. 3B & 3D; [0005], [0059]-[0060] & [0062]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215 and then decreasing to a predetermined second value 0 V).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Park discloses an electronic control unit where a controller monitors the voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern while controlling the voltage output of a first pattern to detect liquid ingress. Kube teaches a moisture detection measuring circuit that utilizes a pulsed current source, wherein a rapid voltage increase to a maximum voltage takes place at the voltage source and subsequently drops to a predetermined second value of 0V. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the electronic control unit of Park by implementing the pulsed voltage control of Kube, increasing to a first maximum voltage value and decreasing to a second 0V value. The motivation to combine the references is to solve constant power drain by reducing the output utilized for measuring, improving energy efficiency and prolonged device lifespan. This combination is a substitution of one known voltage application method for another to yield the predictable result of detecting moisture using intermittent energization (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 3 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to monitor the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0100]-[0103],[0105]-[0106], [0108]-[0109]-[0117], [0121], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0150]-[0153], [0158]-[0159], [0161], [0163], [0174], [0179]-[0180], [Claim 1], [Claim5], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]) while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0018], [0020]-[0022], [0025]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0125], [0127]-[0128], [0131], [0133], [0137], [0140], [0142]-[0143], [0150], [0158], [0172]-[0174], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], & [Claim 15])
Park, and Stevens, in combination, are silent in regard to:
and controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range.
However, Jol, further teaches:
and controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range ([Abstract], [0009], [0011], [0013], [0043], [0051], [0054]-[0057], [Claim 1], [Claim 9], & [Claim 13]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic control unit of Park to incorporate the multi-frequency voltage control taught by Jol. Park discloses an electronic control unit where a controller monitors the voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern while controlling the voltage output of a first pattern. Jol teaches a liquid detection module that generates and applies a time-varying voltage signal to a contact at varying frequencies, increasing the frequency of the voltage across a predetermined range from 10 Hz up to 100 Hz. The motivation for this modification is to identify false positive liquid detections and improve accurate substance identification by distinguishing harmful corrosive liquids from benign solid contaminants based on their frequency-response signatures. This modification represents a predictable variation of prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of capturing a spectrum of frequency-dependent complex impedance measurements (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]), wherein the controller is configured to control the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0021], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0045], [0067], [0081], [0097]-[0098], [0102], [0109]-[0113], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0158], & [0161])
Park, Stevens, and Jol, in combination, are silent in regard to:
to be a predetermined magnitude using supply of power from a power supply, monitor whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude, and determine that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage.
However, Park, and Kube, in combination further teach:
to be a predetermined magnitude using supply of power from a power supply, monitor whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude (Park: [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0021], [0026]-[0027], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0081], [0085], [0097]-[0098], [0100]-[0103], [0109]-[0113], [0116], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0158], [0161], [0180]-[0182], [Claim 1], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]; Kube: Figs. 3B, 4B, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0008], [0011]-[0012], [0019], [0034], [0051]-[0052], [0056]-[0063], [0065], [Claim 1], & [Claim 3]: discloses a “pulsed source” 120 for energizing the measuring head (electrodes), where the system is designed to output a predetermined voltage/current magnitude, further illustrated in the voltage-time diagrams, where the source voltage 210 pulses to a consistent, predetermined maximum voltage 215 and further discloses an evaluation circuit 150 that “ascertains the state of charge” information regarding the measuring capacitor 144, the circuit monitors/evaluates the voltage 220 and compares it to a “setpoint maximum voltage 227,” which is the predetermined reference voltage, the system then triggers an alarm if the measured voltage deviates from the setpoint by more than an “alarm tolerance value 228”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic control unit of Park to incorporate the threshold comparison technique of Kube to monitor if the voltage is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage and thereby determine substance/liquid ingress. Park discloses an electronic control unit where a controller controls the output voltage of a first pattern using a power supply and monitors the voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern. Kube teaches a detection circuit that monitors a voltage output from a sensor and determines that a liquid leak has occurred when the measured voltage potential is greater than a predefined voltage threshold value. The motivation for this modification is to identify and solve ambiguous sensor readings, improving detection accuracy by establishing a predetermined voltage threshold to confirm the presence of the substance/liquid. This combination represents a substitution of one known liquid detection evaluation logic for another to yield the predictable result of reliably triggering a leak detection state (KSR).
However, Kube, further teaches:
and determine that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0002], [0004]-[0005], [0008]-[0013], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0021], [0024], [0032], [0034], [0049]-[0053], [0056]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0069], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], & [Claim 5]: teaches determining fluid presence based on a voltage comparison, the evaluation circuit 150 determines that fluid has penetrated the container when the measured capacitor voltage 225 is less than the setpoint reference voltage 227).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic control unit of Park to incorporate the threshold comparison technique of Kube to monitor if the voltage is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage and thereby determine substance/liquid ingress. Park discloses an electronic control unit where a controller controls the output voltage of a first pattern using a power supply and monitors the voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern. Kube teaches a detection circuit that monitors a voltage output from a sensor and determines that a liquid leak has occurred when the measured voltage potential is greater than a predefined voltage threshold value. The motivation for this modification is to solve the problem of ambiguous sensor readings, improving detection accuracy by establishing a predetermined voltage threshold to confirm the presence of the substance/liquid. This combination represents a substitution of one known liquid detection evaluation logic for another to yield the predictable result of reliably triggering a leak detection state (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 14, Park teaches:
The method of claim 12 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102], & [0105]), wherein the monitoring of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0100]-[0103],[0105]-[0106], [0108]-[0109]-[0117], [0121], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0150]-[0153], [0158]-[0159], [0161], [0163], [0174], [0179]-[0180], [Claim 1], [Claim5], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]: teaches the electronic controller 20 (interpreted as a voltage-monitoring device), that includes a “first calculator” 21 that measures voltage across resistor R12 or the voltage change caused by switch 50, the voltage being dependent on the resistance between the first electrode 31 (first pattern) and the second electrode 32 (second pattern)) is performed while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0100]-[0103],[0105]-[0106], [0108]-[0109]-[0117], [0121], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0150]-[0153], [0158]-[0159], [0161], [0163], [0174], [0179]-[0180], [Claim 1], [Claim5], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], & [Claim 21]: teaches the system applies a voltage (V_1) to the circuit containing the first electrode 31 (first pattern), the controller 20 controls this power source and the method of energizing (controlling the output voltage of the first pattern/electrode and monitoring the resulting voltage at the second pattern/electrode via the first calculator)
Park, Stevens, and Jol, in combination, are silent in regard to:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage value and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value.
However, Kube, further teaches:
such that the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to a predetermined first voltage value (Figs. 3B, 3D, & 5B; [0005], [0059]-[0060], &
[0065]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a
rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source
and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215) and then decreased to a predetermined second voltage value (Figs. 3B & 3D; [0005], [0059]-[0060], & [0062]: discloses that it is “clearly evident that, when a current is pulse generated, a rapid voltage increase 212 to a maximum voltage 215 takes place at the voltage source and after a time period 235…a voltage drop to 0 V takes place.”, figures further illustrate the voltage waveform increased to a predetermined first value 215 and then decreasing to a predetermined second value 0 V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park by implementing the pulsed voltage control taught by Kube, increasing the voltage to a first maximum value and decreasing it to a second 0V value. Kube teaches a moisture detection method utilizing pulsed energization wherein a rapid voltage increase to a maximum voltage takes place at the voltage source and subsequently drops to a predetermined second value of 0V. The motivation to combine these references is to solve the problem of constant power drain by reducing the continuous output used for measuring moisture, improving energy efficiency and prolonged device lifespan. This combination is a substitution of one known voltage application method for another to yield the predictable result of detecting moisture using intermittent energization (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 15, Park teaches:
The method of claim 14 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102], & [0105]), wherein the monitoring of the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0100]-[0103],[0105]-[0106], [0108]-[0109]-[0117], [0121], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0150]-[0153], [0158]-[0159], [0161], [0163], [0174], [0179]-[0180], [Claim 1], [Claim5], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]: teaches the electronic controller 20 (interpreted as a voltage-monitoring device), that includes a “first calculator” 21 that measures voltage across resistor R12 or the voltage change caused by switch 50, the voltage being dependent on the resistance between the first electrode 31 (first pattern) and the second electrode 32 (second pattern)) is performed while controlling the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 7; [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0020]-[0022], [0025]-[0028], [0030]-[0032], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102]-[0103], [0125], [0127]-[0128], [0131], [0133], [0137], [0140], [0142]-[0143] [0147], [0150], [0158], [0172]-[0174], [0179]-[0180], [Claim 1], [Claim5], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]: teaches the system applies a voltage (V_1) to the circuit containing the first electrode 31 (first pattern), the controller 20 controls this power source and the method of energizing (controlling the output voltage of the first pattern/electrode and monitoring the resulting voltage at the second pattern/electrode via the first calculator)
Park, and Stevens, in combination, are silent in regard to:
such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range.
However, Jol, further teaches:
such that a frequency of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board is increased to be within a predetermined range ([Abstract], [0009], [0011], [0013], [0043], [0051], [0054]-[0057], [Claim 1], [Claim 9], & [Claim 13]: teaches controlling the applied time-varying voltage such that its frequency is varied and increased across a specific, predetermined range (e.g., from 10 Hz stepping up to 100 KHz)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park to incorporate the multi-frequency voltage control taught by Jol. Jol teaches a liquid detection method that generates and applies a time-varying voltage signal to a contact, increasing the frequency of the voltage across a predetermined range from 10 Hz up to 100 KHz. The motivation for this modification is to identify false positive liquid detections, improving accurate substance identification by distinguishing harmful corrosive liquids from benign solid contaminants based on their unique frequency-response signatures. This modification represents the predictable result of capturing a spectrum of frequency-dependent complex impedance measurements (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 16, Park teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102]-[0103], & [0105]),
Park, is silent in regard to:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing is performed based on the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board.
However, Park, and Stevens, in combination, further teach:
wherein the determining of the type of the substance flowed into the inside of the housing is performed based on the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board (Park: [Abstract], [0002], [0008]-[0009], [0011]-[0015], [0018], [0020]-[0022], [0024], [0027], [0029], [0031]-[0032], [0038]-[0043], [0045]-[0050], [0067]-[0070], [0080], [0084], [0086]-[0088], [0090]-[0097], [0099]-[0100], [0102]-[0109], [0113]-[0114], [0116]-[0118], [0121]-[0125], [0127]-[0129], [0131], [0133], [0135]-[0154], [0157]-[0163], [0165], [0167], [0169]-[0181], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 5], [Claim 8], [Claim 10], [Claim 13], [Claim 14], [Claim 15], [Claim 21], [Claim 22], [Claim 23], [Claim 24], [Claim 25], [Claim 26]: teaches measuring/monitoring the voltage at the second pattern; Stevens: [Abstract], [0004], [0007]-[0010], [0024]-[0027], [0029], [0032]-[0035], [0037]-[0040], [0044], [0046], [0049], [0051]-[0053], [0058]-[0059], [0061]-[0068], [0070]-[0074], [Claim 8], [Claim 17], [Claim 22], [Claim 28], & [Claim 29]: teaches taking a measured property from a moisture circuit, a voltage, and using it to determine the exact type of the liquid substance).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. Park discloses a method for controlling an electronic control unit that includes measuring a voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern to detect substance ingress. Stevens teaches a moisture detector with a sensor module that determines the specific type of conductive liquid (e.g., tap water or salt water) based on evaluating monitored properties, which includes a voltage in the detection circuit. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the method of Park to determine the type of the substance based on the monitored voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern as taught by Park/Stevens. The motivation to combine the references is to improve leak alerts, executing safety protocols based on the specific conductivity and threat level of the identified intruding fluid(s). This combination is a predictable variation of prior art elements according to known prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable of differentiating between various liquids using the specific voltage readings obtained from the sensor pattern (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 18, Park teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Title: Device for Sensing Liquid Flowing Into Housing of Electronic Control Device], [Abstract], [0012], [0018], [0081], [0090]-[0091], [0098], [0102]-[0103], & [0105]), further comprising:
controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018], [0021], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0045], [0067], [0081], [0097]-[0098], [0102], [0109]-[0113], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0158], & [0161]: teaches controlling the application of a designated voltage magnitude to the first pattern/electrode utilizing the power supply (power source 4))
Park, Stevens, and Jol, in combination, are silent in regard to:
monitoring whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude; and
determining that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage.
However, Park, and Kube, in combination further teach:
monitoring whether the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage while controlling the output of the voltage of the first pattern of the circuit board to be the predetermined magnitude (Park: [Abstract], [0014], [0018], [0021], [0026]-[0027], [0031]-[0032], [0038], [0045], [0067], [0081], [0085], [0097]-[0098], [0100]-[0103], [0109]-[0113], [0116], [0137], [0140]-[0145], [0147], [0158], [0161], [0180]-[0182], [Claim 1], [Claim 9], [Claim 10], [Claim 15], [Claim 21]: teaches monitoring the voltage at the second pattern while the first pattern is energized; Kube: Figs. 3B, 4B, & 5B; [Abstract], [0005], [0008], [0011]-[0012], [0019], [0034], [0051]-[0052], [0056]-[0063], [0065], [Claim 1], & [Claim 3]: provides the logical method step of monitoring whether that measured voltage output is greater than a predefined threshold (reference voltage)); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park to incorporate the threshold comparison technique of Kube to monitor if the voltage is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage to determine substance/liquid ingress. Park discloses a method for controlling an electronic control unit where a controller controls the output voltage of a first pattern to a predetermined magnitude using a power supply and monitors the voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern. Kube teaches a detection circuit method that monitors a voltage output from a sensor and determines that a liquid leak has occurred when the measured sensor voltage potential is greater to a predetermined voltage threshold value. The motivation for this modification is to solve the problem of ambiguous sensor readings, improving detection accuracy by establishing a predetermined voltage threshold to confirm the presence of the substance/liquid. This combination represents a predictable variation of prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of reliably triggering a leak determination step based on defined voltage criteria (KSR).
However, Kube, further teaches:
determining that the substance has flowed into the inside of the housing when the voltage of the circuit electrically connected to the second pattern of the circuit board is greater than or equal to the predetermined reference voltage (Fig. 4B; [Abstract], [0002], [0004]-[0005], [0008]-[0013], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0021], [0024], [0032], [0034], [0049]-[0053], [0056]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0069], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], & [Claim 5]: teaches the method step of determining that liquid/substance ingress has occurred when the monitored voltage meets or exceeds the predetermined threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park to incorporate the threshold comparison technique of Kube to monitor if the voltage is greater than or equal to a predetermined reference voltage and determine substance/liquid ingress. Park discloses a method for controlling an electronic control unit where a controller controls the output voltage of a first pattern to a predetermined magnitude using a power supply and monitors the voltage of a circuit electrically connected to a second pattern. Kube teaches a detection circuit method that monitors a voltage output from a sensor and determines that a liquid leak has occurred when the measured sensor voltage potential is greater to a predetermined voltage threshold value. The motivation for this modification is to solve the problem of ambiguous sensor readings, improving detection accuracy by establishing a predetermined voltage threshold to confirm the presence of the substance/liquid. This combination represents a predictable variation of prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of reliably triggering a leak determination step based on defined voltage criteria (KSR).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Stevens, in view of Jol, and further in view of Seok-Jeong (KR 20210128145 A, Pub. Date Oct. 26, 2021, hereinafter, Seok-Jeong).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Park, teaches:
The electronic control unit of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018], [0090], & [0105]),
Park, Stevens, and Jol, in combination, are silent in regard to:
wherein the type of the substance includes at least one of salt water, water, washer fluid,
However, Park, and Seok-Jeong, in combination, further teach:
wherein the type of the substance includes at least one of salt water, water, washer fluid (Park: [0006]-[0011], [0014], [0016], [0042], [0070], [0085], [0178], & [Claim 25]: teaches the detection of brake oil and oil, where the other substances (water, salt water, washer fluid) are known common fluids in a vehicle environment such as “moisture”; Seok-Jeong: [0014], [0036]-[0038], & [0059]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the type of substance including at least one of salt water, water, water fluid, of Seok-Jeong to Park, in order to attain, by combining prior arts, modifying Park’s sensor with differential sensing materials taught by Seok-Jeong, in order to improve Park’s system, distinguishing from an oil leak to a form of a water leak. Incorporating Seok-Jeong’s differential materials into Park’s parallel patterns and Park’s controller, which monitors for electrical changes, would improve the detection and determination of the liquid type based on the specific electrical signature of the pattern affected, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 July 10, 2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/15/2026