DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0341768 to Hibino et al.
In regards to claim 8, Hibino recites a device (Figure 12) comprising: a first substrate (9-1), the first substrate comprising: an optical device layer; and a semiconductor die; a first waveguide structure over the first substrate, the first waveguide structure comprising a first optical component (9-2) surrounded by cladding material (9-3, 9-4, 9-5), wherein the first waveguide structure has a top surface, and a transition portion (9-6) between the first portion to the second portion, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance; and a first reflective structure (9-9) over the first portion and the transition portion, wherein a portion of the first reflective structure over the transition portion is a curved surface. Although Hibino does not expressly recite the top surface comprising a first portion at a first distance from the first substrate, a second portion at a second distance from the first substrate, Applicant has not clearly defined a reference point or specific facet of the first substrate. Therefore, the distance as claimed can be reasonably interpreted as any appropriate reference point on the first substrate or any appropriate side of the first substrate and therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the top surface comprising a first portion at a first distance from the first substrate, a second portion at a second distance from the first substrate.
In regards to claim 9, although Hibino does not expressly recite a sensor positioned adjacent to the first substrate, it would be advantageous to have included a sensor positioned adjacent to the first substrate since sensors allow for the detection of desired parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided a sensor positioned adjacent to the first substrate.
In regards to claim 10, Hibino recites the first reflective structure comprises a distributed Bragg reflector.
In regards to claim 13, Hibino recites the curved surface has a constant radius.(Figure 12)
In regards to claim 14, Hibino recites the curved surface curves outward away from the first substrate. (Figure 12)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a second waveguide structure over the first waveguide structure opposite the first substrate; and a second reflective surface embedded in the second waveguide structure in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 12, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a second substrate bonded to the first substrate opposite the first waveguide structure; a second waveguide structure on the second substrate opposite the first substrate; and a second reflective structure over a recessed portion of a bottom surface of the second waveguide structure, wherein the second reflective structure has a conformal shape with the recessed portion of the bottom surface in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-7 are allowed. The prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a method comprising: forming a first waveguide layer over a first substrate, wherein the forming the first waveguide layer comprises embedding a first waveguide component in an insulating layer; etching a top surface of the first waveguide layer, wherein the etching the top surface of the first waveguide layer forms a first portion of the top surface below a second portion of the top surface, and a transition portion of the top surface interposed between the first portion and the second portion; and forming a first reflective structure over the first portion of the top surface and over the transition portion of the top surface, wherein the first reflective structure is conformal with the first portion and the transition portion in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim.
Claims 15-20 are allowed. The prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a method comprising: depositing a first plurality of dielectric layers over a first substrate, wherein during the depositing the first plurality of dielectric layers a first waveguide component is formed within the first plurality of dielectric layers; etching a first recess through a portion of the first plurality of dielectric layers, wherein the first recess extends past the first waveguide component; conformally depositing a first reflective structure over the first recess and over a top surface of the first plurality of dielectric layers; and removing portions of the first reflective structure that are over the top surface of the first plurality of dielectric layers in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim.
References Cited
The references cited made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. None of the documents cited by the Examiner discloses or reasonably suggests the allowable subject matter discussed above.
The documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement have been considered and made of record. Note attached copy of form PTO-1449. None of the references submitted by Applicant discloses or reasonably suggest the allowable subject matter discussed above.
Inventorship
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874