DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ROSENSCHILD et al. (US 2021/0051765).
Regarding claim 1, Rosenschild discloses a method for using a radio intelligent controller with a distributed antenna system (DAS) (abstract; controller coupled to DAS), comprising:
receiving fronthaul information via an E2 interface from one or more nodes of the DAS included in a system (p. [0004], [0020], [0037], [0041], [0042]; the controller is communicatively coupled to each of the base stations via a respective communication link 112 or network (for example, USB, electrical, optical, Ethernet, SONET, etc.) and receive base station performance parameters from the base stations (i.e., nodes), the base stations communicate front haul data – p. [0020]);
automatically generating one or more operational parameters for one or more components of the system that includes the DAS based on the fronthaul information received via an E2 interface from the one or more nodes of the DAS (abstract; p. [0016], [0043], [0046]; the controller is configured to determine an updated or improved configuration (i.e., operational parameters) for the DAS components based on the base station performance parameters (i.e., fronthaul information)); and
adjusting operation of one or more components of the system that includes the DAS based on the one or more automatically generated operational parameters for the one or more components of the system that includes the DAS (p. [0049]-[0053], [0065], [0066]; the controller provides instructions to the master unit or controller of the DAS to adjust the configuration of the one or more remote antenna units (i.e., components of the system) of the DAS to correspond to the determined updated or improved configuration).
Regarding claim 2, Rosenschild discloses the method of claim 1, wherein automatically generating one or more automatically generated operational parameters for the one or more components of the system that includes the DAS includes automatically generating one or more predicted operational parameters for the one or more components of the system that includes the DAS using one or more machine learning models (p. [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Rosenschild discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more nodes of the DAS include a fronthaul multiplexer/fronthaul gateway (FHM/FHGW), a master unit, and/or an intermediary combining node (ICN) (abstract; the DAS system includes a master unit).
Regarding claim 6, Rosenschild discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more nodes of the DAS includes a master unit communicatively coupled to and located remotely from a plurality of radio units, wherein the master unit is communicatively coupled to the plurality of radio units via one or more switches (p. [0018]).
Regarding claim 7, Rosenschild discloses the method of claim 6, wherein adjusting operation of one or more components of the system that includes the DAS based on the one or more automatically generated operational parameters for the one or more components of the system that includes the DAS includes:
determining one or more modifications for the master unit, the one or more switches, and/or the plurality of radio units based on the one or more automatically generated operational parameters (p. [0049]; the controller determines a configuration to update or improve the configuration of the DAS to adjust for example, the configuration of one or more remote antenna units); and
providing control signals to the master unit, the one or more switches, and/or the plurality of radio units to implement the one or more modifications (p. [0049]; the controller provides instructions to adjust the configuration of one or more remote antenna units).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenschild discloses the method of claim 7, wherein providing control signals to the master unit, the one or more switches, and/or the plurality of radio units to implement the one or more modifications includes providing control signals to the one or more switches via a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more switches, wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the radio intelligent controller via an E2 interface (p. [0049]; the controller 104 is configured to provide instructions to the controller of the DAS to adjust the configuration of the one or more remote antenna units).
Regarding claim 9, Rosenschild discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting operation of one or more components of the system that includes the DAS based on the one or more automatically generated operational parameters for the one or more components of the system that includes the DAS includes:
activating or deactivating modulation schemes used by the system;
reducing a number of layers, flows, or streams supported by the DAS;
adjusting a transmit power and/or buffer size for one or more nodes of the DAS (p. [0066]);
enabling or disabling functionality performed by one or more components of the DAS; modifying dimensioning of a transport network of the system;
adjusting power consumption of the DAS; and/or
adjusting overall latency of the DAS to/from each radio unit of the DAS.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-20 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
(a) Claim 10 is allowed because the closest prior art of record, Rosenschild, fails to particularly disclose;
“receive fronthaul information via an E2 interface from the master unit;
automatically generate one or more operational parameters for one or more components of the system based on the fronthaul information received via an E2 interface from the master unit”.
(b) Claims 11-19 are allowed for being dependent on an independent claim that has been allowed.
(c) Claim 20 is allowed because the closest prior art of record, Rosenschild, fails to particularly disclose;
“receive fronthaul information via an E2 interface from the fronthaul multiplexer/fronthaul gateway (FHM/FHGW);
automatically generate one or more operational parameters for one or more components of the system based on the fronthaul information received via an E2 interface from the FHM/FHGW”.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a)Kummetz et al. (US 2013/0201916) – Optimized Telecommunications Distribution System
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643