Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 2-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), applicant amendment has been fully considered. The amendment overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, hence 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn for claims 2-5.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Deleu fails to disclose a curved surface and a plane surface disposed on two opposite sides of the curved unit. The Examiner agrees that Deleu’s curved connection surface 4 and straight connection sides 9/10, as previously relied upon, do not expressly disclose the newly recited opposite-side relationship. However, the present rejection relies on Lin (US 11635657 B1) for this limitation. Lin expressly teaches curved units having respective curved surfaces and plane surfaces disposed on two opposite sides of the curved units.
Hence the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 111048006 A) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1).
Re: Independent Claim 1 (Currently amended), Duan discloses an electronic device (spliced screen 200), comprising:
a first curved module (Abstract, display screen module 100 with a radian), comprising a first electronic element (light board 140) and a first curved unit (Paragraph referring to Fig. 1 and 2, box body/case 110 together with first supporting parts 120, second supporting parts 130 make a first curved unit; and the curvature comes from the support geometry: the first and second supporting parts are at a non-180 degree angle, and after the lamp panels are fixed, the entire display screen of the single box body has radian); and
a second curved module, spliced to one side of the first curved module (Fig. 6 and its description, another display screen module 100 spliced adjacent to the first curved module via the side-surface splicing arrangement of the cases) and
comprising a second electronic element (light board 140) and a second curved unit (module support structure including case 110, first supporting parts 120, and second supporting parts 130).
Regarding “wherein the first curved unit comprises a first curved surface and a first plane surface and the second curved unit comprises a second curved surface and a second plane surface”, Duan teaches that the first and second supporting portions 120, 130 support respective lamp panels 140 at non-180-degree angle such that each display screen module 100 has an overall radian/curvature and multiple modules 100 may be spliced together to form curved spliced screen 200. Duan, however, does not expressly teach wherein the first curved unit comprises a first curved surface and a first plane surface, and the second curved unit comprises a second curved surface and a second plane surface, wherein the first curved surface and the first plane surface are disposed on two opposite sides of the first curved unit, and the second curved surface and the second plane surface are disposed on two opposite sides of the second curved unit.
However, Lin teaches wherein the first curved unit comprises a first curved surface and a first plane surface, and the second curved unit comprises a second curved surface and a second plane surface, wherein the first curved surface and the first plane surface are disposed on two opposite sides of the first curved unit, and the second curved surface and the second plane surface are disposed on two opposite sides of the second curved unit (Lin teaches, in Fig. 2, a first support structure 132 comprising a first surface 132u and an opposite second surface 132b, wherein first surface 132u comprises at least one plane surface and second surface 132b is a curved surface, the surfaces 132u and 132b being located on two opposite sides of first support structure 132. Lin similarly teaches a second support structure 134 comprising a third surface 134u and an opposite fourth surface 134b, wherein third surface 134u comprises at least one plane surface and fourth surface 134b is a curved surface, the surfaces 134u and 134b being located on two opposite sides of second support structure 134).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the support structure of each curved display screen module 100 of Duan to include a plane surface and an opposite curved surface as taught by Lin, in order to provide a planar supporting surface for the respective light-emitting element that avoids bending stress, thereby improving service life and operational reliability, while providing an opposite curved surface that conforms to and stably couples with the curved display structure. The modification would have predictably provided Duan’s known spliced curved display modules with the claimed opposite planar and curved surfaces.
Re: Claim 6 (Currently amended), Duan and Lin disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Duan and Lin further teaches
wherein the first curved surface of the first curved unit and the second curved surface of the second curved unit form a continuous curved surface (Duan, in Fig. 6 and its description, teaches the spliced screen 200 is formed by splicing at least two display screen modules 100 with radians, and the resulting spliced display screen has an enlarged overall arc/radian configuration. Lin further teaches first and second support structures 132, 134 having respective curved surfaces 132b and 134b configured to correspond to the curvature of the curved portion 136 of back plate 130).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the respective curved surfaces of the adjacent curved support structures in the modified Duan device so that the first curved surface and the second curved surface form a continuous curved surface, in order to maintain a smooth overall curvature across adjacent spliced display modules and provide the continuous curved display configuration suggested by Duan.
Re: Claim 9 (Original), Duan and Lin disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Lin further teaches
wherein the first curved unit and the second curved unit comprise side wall surfaces, and the side wall surface of the first curved unit is in contact with the side wall surface of the second curved unit (Lin teaches, in Fig. 2, first support structure 132 and second support structure 134 disposed adjacent to each other and meeting at the central region of back plate 130 near center C, thus 132 and 134 comprise sidewalls that are in contact with each other .
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 111048006 A) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1).
Re: Claim 3 (Currently amended), Duan and Lin disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Lin further teaches the first plane surface of the first curved unit and the second plane surface of the second curved unit (first support structure 132 having planar first surface 132u, and second support structure 134 having planar third surface 134u).
Duan and Lin are silent regarding
further comprising: a fixing bracket; and a plurality of fasteners, wherein the first plane surface of the first curved unit and the second plane surface of the second curved unit are fixed to the fixing bracket through the plurality of fasteners.
However, Hall teaches
further comprising: a fixing bracket (Hall, in Figs. 8A and ¶ [0052] – [0059], frame 800 is the support structure to which the display panels are fixed through multiple fasteners, hence frame 800 corresponds to fixing bracket); and a plurality of fasteners (fastener (e.g., a bolt) through front plate 902, vertical bar 812, and back plate 904, plus panel-securing fasteners through back plate 904/front plate 902 into the panel housing at each corner), wherein the first plane surface of the first curved unit and the second plane surface of the second curved unit are fixed to the fixing bracket through the plurality of fasteners (Hall teaches, in Figs. 9A-9C and ¶¶ [0068] – [0070], coupling mechanism 900 including front plate 902 and back plate 904 mounted on opposite sides of a vertical bar 812 of frame 800, with a fastener securing the coupling mechanism to the frame and another fastener securing the panel to the frame, including at each corner of the panel. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fix the respective planar surfaces of the first and second curved support units of the modified Duan device to a fixing bracket using a plurality of fasteners as taught by Hall, in order to provide secure but removable mounting of adjacent curved modules to a support structure (Hall, ¶ [0005]). Such modification would have predictably resulted in the first plane surface of the first curved unit and the second plane surface of the second curved unit being fixed to the fixing bracket through the plurality of fasteners.
Re: Claim 4 (Original), Duan, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 3 on which this claim depends.
Hall further teaches
wherein the fixing bracket is a frame comprising a plurality of straight bars (Hall, in Fig. 8B and ¶ [0055], frame 800 made from multiple straight members, including bottom bar 806, left bar 808, vertical bar 812 connecting the top and bottom bars, and optional additional horizontal bars 814).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fixing bracket for the curved modules of Duan, as configured in view of Lin, as the multi-member frame taught by Hall, in order to provide a modular support structure that facilitates installation of multiple display modules while providing structural support.
Re: Claim 5 (Original), Duan, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 3 on which this claim depends.
Hall further teaches
wherein the plurality of fasteners comprise magnets, screws, adhesive members, position-adjustable functional members, or a combination of the above (Hall, in ¶ [0072], teaches coupling mechanisms may use bolts, screws, latches, clips, and/or any other fastener suitable for removably attaching a panel to the frame 800. Hall further teaches, in ¶ [0070], that once a panel is aligned on the frame, a fastener is inserted through the back plate 904 and front plate 902 into the panel to secure the panel to the frame 800, that this occurs at each corner of the panel).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the screw-based fastening arrangement of Hall to secure the curved modules/curved units of Duan as configured in view of Lin to a fixing bracket, in order to provide a secure yet removable attachment of the modules to the support frame and simplify installation (Hall, ¶ [0072]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 111048006 A) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) in view of Yan (US 20210407337 A1).
Re: Claim 7 (Original), Duan and Lin disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Duan and Lin are silent regarding
wherein the electronic element comprises: a flexible substrate; a driving circuit, disposed on the flexible substrate; and a plurality of light-emitting elements, disposed on the flexible substrate and electrically connected to the driving circuit.
However, Yan teaches
wherein the electronic element comprises: a flexible substrate; a driving circuit, disposed on the flexible substrate; and a plurality of light-emitting elements, disposed on the flexible substrate and electrically connected to the driving circuit (Yan, in ¶ [0005], teaches a driving circuit layer disposed on the flexible substrate and provided with a plurality of driving circuit corresponding to each of pixels, and a light-emitting functional layer disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the flexible substrate and provided with a plurality of light-emitting units of the pixels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electronic element/LED module used in the curved modules of Duan and Lin with the flexible display structure taught by Yan in order to provide integrated pixel-driving circuitry on the flexible structure while maintaining a compact flexible light-emitting display construction.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 111048006 A) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Yan (US 20210407337 A1) and further in view of Bibl (US 20150169011 A1).
Re: Claim 8 (Original), Duan, Lin and Yan disclose all the limitations of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Yan further teaches
wherein the driving circuit comprises: a first driving circuit, disposed between the flexible substrate and the plurality of light-emitting elements (Yan teaches, in ¶ [0005], a flexible substrate, a driving circuit layer disposed on the flexible substrate, and a light emitting functional layer disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the flexible substrate and including a plurality of light-emitting units).
Duan, Lin and Yan are silent regarding
a second driving circuit, wherein the flexible substrate is disposed between the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit.
However, Bibl teaches a second driving circuit, wherein the flexible substrate is disposed between the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit (Bibl, in ¶ [0036], teaches display substrate having LEDs on the front surface and one or more driver circuits on the back surface of the display substrate, including directly behind the display area, with electrical connection through interconnects/ vias extending through the substrate. Thus, Bibl teaches a second driving circuit on the opposite side of the substrate, such that the substrate is disposed between front-side display-driving structure and back-side driver circuitry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electronic element of the curved modules of Duan/Lin using the flexible display stack of Yan, because Yan provides a known flexible light-emitting panel structure in which the driving circuit layer is integrated on the flexible substrate directly beneath the light-emitting functional layer. It would have been further obvious to provide the additional opposite-side driver circuit taught by Bibl, because Bibl teaches backside driver placement with through-substrate electrical connection, which shortens routing paths and supports compact packaging behind the display area (Bibl, ¶ [0039]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (CN 111048006 A) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Chen (CN 106024835 A).
Re: Claim 10 (Original), Duan and Lin disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Both Duan and Lin are silent regarding
wherein the first electronic element and the second electronic element are transparent display panels, and the first curved unit and the second curved unit are light-transmissive units and are respectively located on light-emitting sides of the first electronic element and the second electronic element.
However, Chen teaches
wherein the first electronic element and the second electronic element are transparent display panels, and the first curved unit and the second curved unit are light-transmissive units and are respectively located on light-emitting sides of the first electronic element and the second electronic element (Chen teaches, in Fig. 2a, a transparent display panel including a substrate 1 and a display unit, wherein the display unit is divided into a display area (a) and a non-display area (b), the non-display area is made of light-transmitting material, and the display area includes light-emitting components. Chen further teaches that the light-emitting components include, in sequence, semi-transparent semi-reflective electrode (2), light-emitting layer (3), transparent electrode (4), and light extraction layer (5), and states that the structure improves the transmittance of the transparent display panel. Thus, Chen teaches that the electronic element may be a transparent display panel, and also teaches a light-transmissive structure on the emission side of the light-emitting layer in the form of transparent electrode (4) and light extraction layer (5). When this transparent emission-side structure is applied to the curved module arrangement of Duan and the curved support structure of Deleu, the resulting first and second curved units are light-transmissive units located on the light-emitting sides of the first and second electronic elements).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the electronic elements of Duan’s curved modules as the transparent display panels taught by Chen, and to provide on the light-emitting side of those electronic elements the transparent/light-transmissive emission-side structure taught by Chen, while using Lin’s curved frame arrangement as the curved unit of the module, in order to obtain a curved modular display that remains light-transmissive and viewable through the emission side while preserving the curved , spliced module architecture.
Claims 11-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleu (US 20210071417 A1) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 11 (Currently amended), Deleu discloses an electronic device, comprising:
N curved modules (Deleu teaches, in Figs. 1 and 5, and its claim 19, a plurality of building elements 1), and N being a positive integer greater than 2 (Deleu teaches, in ¶ [0050] that each building element 1 is curved over an angle α and that α may be 360/N degrees, where N is a natural number between 2 and 10, preferably four), wherein the N curved modules comprise electronic elements (Deleu teaches, in Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], building element LED modules 5, e.g., LED modules 5a, 5b, 5c, 5d) and curved units (Deleu, Fig. 3, curved frames 3), the curved units comprise curved surfaces and plane surfaces (curved frame 3 includes a connection surface 4 that forms the curved visible side, and , opposite thereof, a back surface, while the frame further extends between first straight connection side 9 and second straight connection side 10, and between first curved connection side 12 and second curved connection side 13. Thus, Deleu teaches a curved unit having both curved-surface and plane-surface portions), and the N curved modules form a ring-shaped curved module (Deleu teaches, in ¶¶ [0049] – [0051], that each curved frame is curved around an axis over about 360/N degrees, where N is a natural number between 2 and 10, preferably 4. Deleu also teaches a plurality of building elements coupled together, and teaches adjacent curved frames are interconnected through their connection sides. So, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that is N such modules and each contributes about 360/N degrees, the natural result is a closed 360-degree ring around the axis. With Deleu’s example of N=4, that is four modules of about 90 degrees each, which reads naturally to a ring-shaped assembly).
Deleu is silent regarding
the curved surfaces and the plane surfaces are disposed on two opposite sides of the curved units.
However, Lin teaches curved support structures having respective curved and plane surfaces disposed on opposite sides. Specifically, Lin teaches a first support structure 132 comprising a first surface 132u including at least one plane surface and an opposite second surface 132b that is a curved surface. Lin similarly teaches a second support structure 134 comprising a plane surface 134u and an opposite curved surface 134b.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the curved frames of Deleu to include a plane surface and an opposite curved surface as taught by Lin, in order to provide a planar supporting surface for the respective light-emitting element that avoids bending stress, thereby improving service life and operational reliability, while providing an opposite curved surface that conforms to and stably couples with the curved display structure.
Deleu is further silent regarding
a fixing bracket; and a plurality of fasteners, wherein the plane surface is fixed to the fixing bracket through at least one of the plurality of fasteners, and the N curved modules form a ring-shaped curved module.
However, Hall teaches a fixing bracket (Hall teaches, in ¶ [0055], a frame 800 having a plurality of straight structural members, including top bar 804, bottom bar 806, left bar 808, right bar 810, and vertical bars 812 which reads on the claimed fixing bracket); and a plurality of fasteners, wherein the plane surface is fixed to the fixing bracket through at least one of the plurality of fasteners (Hall further teaches, in ¶¶ [0067] – [0068], a coupling mechanism 900 including front plate 902 and back plate 904 mounted on opposite side of a vertical bar 812 of frame 800, with a fastener (e.g. bolt) securing the plates to the frame. Hall additionally teaches, in ¶ [0070], that once aligned, a panel is secured to the frame by another fastener inserted through hole 922 of back plate 904 and hole 912 of front plate 902 into the panel, and that this occurs at each corner of the panel, so that the panel is secured to the frame using four different coupling mechanisms 900. Hall further teaches that, in lighter-weight displays, the back of the panel can abut directly with the beam, and the entire connection is made by the screws through the plate 904 into the panel. Thus, Hall teaches a plurality of fasteners fixing a plane-facing rear portion of a display structure to a support frame.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the plurality of curved building elements of Deleu to a support frame/bracket using Hall’s panel-to-frame fastening arrangement, in order to provide a secure yet removable mounting of multiple display modules to a supporting structure while preserving modularity and ease of assembly/disassembly. Deleu itself emphasizes modularity and the ability to create multiple structures having different shapes and sizes and outer appearances, while Hall teaches a known frame-and-fastener arrangement for securing multiple display panels to a support structure.
Re: Claim 12 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Hall further teaches
wherein the fixing bracket is a frame comprising a plurality of straight bars (Hall, in Fig. 8B and ¶ [0055], frame 800 made from multiple straight members, including bottom bar 806, left bar 808, vertical bar 812 connecting the top and bottom bars, and optional additional horizontal bars 814).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fixing bracket for the plurality of curved modules of Deleu as the multi-member frame 800 taught by Hall, in order to provide a modular support structure that facilitates installation of multiple display modules while providing structural support.
Re: Claim 13 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Hall further teaches
wherein the plurality of fasteners comprise magnets, screws, adhesive members, position-adjustable functional members, or a combination of the above (Hall, in ¶ [0072], teaches coupling mechanisms may use bolts, screws, latches, clips, and/or any other fastener suitable for removably attaching a panel to the frame 800. Hall further teaches, in ¶ [0070], that once a panel is aligned on the frame, a fastener is inserted through the back plate 904 and front plate 902 into the panel to secure the panel to the frame 800, that this occurs at each corner of the panel).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the screw-based fastening arrangement of Hall to secure plurality of curved modules of Deleu to a fixing bracket, in order to provide a secure yet removable attachment of the modules to the support frame and simplify installation (Hall, ¶ [0072]).
Re: Claim 17 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Deleu further teaches
wherein the plurality of the curved surfaces in the N curved modules form a continuous curved surface (Deleu teaches, in ¶¶ [0004] – [0005], that the LED modules connect to the connection surface of the curved frame so that the LED display adapts to the shape of the curved frame, resulting in a curved surface. Deleu further teaches that curved surfaces can be integrated in the modular construction and also teaches that the curved frame is curved around an axis over about 360/N degrees, where N is a natural number between 2 and 10, preferably 4, and that adjacent curved frames are interconnected through their connection sides. Thus, Deleu teaches that when the plurality of curved modules is assembled together, the curved surfaces of those modules join together into a continuous curved surface).
Re: Claim 18 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Deleu further teaches
wherein the curved unit further comprises a side wall surface, and a plurality of the side wall surfaces in the N curved modules are in contact with each other in pairs (Deleu teaches, in ¶¶ [0040] – [0042], that the curved frame extends between two straight connection sides 9 and 10, and between two curved connection sides 12 and 13. Deleu further teaches that these connection sides are provided with connection means to enable interconnection of adjacent curved frames. Thus, Deleu teaches that each curved unit includes side wall surface portions, and when a plurality of the curved modules is assembled together, the side wall surfaces of adjacent curved units are brought into contacting adjacency in pairs in order to interconnect the modules).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleu (US 20210071417 A1) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1) and further in view of Yan (US 20210407337 A1).
Re: Claim 14 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Deleu further teaches
wherein the electronic element comprises: a flexible substrate (Deleu teaches flexible substrate 6);
Deleu, Lin and Hall are silent regarding
a driving circuit, disposed on the flexible substrate; and a plurality of light-emitting elements, disposed on the flexible substrate and electrically connected to the driving circuit.
However, Yan teaches
a driving circuit, disposed on the flexible substrate; and a plurality of light-emitting elements, disposed on the flexible substrate and electrically connected to the driving circuit (Yan, in ¶ [0005], teaches a driving circuit layer disposed on the flexible substrate and provided with a plurality of driving circuit corresponding to each of pixels, and a light-emitting functional layer disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the flexible substrate and provided with a plurality of light-emitting units of the pixels). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electronic element/LED module used in the curved modules of Deleu with the flexible display structure taught by Yan in order to provide integrated pixel-driving circuitry on the flexible structure while maintaining a compact flexible light-emitting display construction.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleu (US 20210071417 A1) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1) further in view of Yan (US 20210407337 A1) and further in view of Bibl (US 20150169011 A1).
Re: Claim 15 (Original), Deleu, Lin, Hall and Yan disclose all the limitations of claim 14 on which this claim depends.
Yan further teaches
wherein the driving circuit comprises: a first driving circuit, disposed between the flexible substrate and the plurality of light-emitting elements (Yan teaches, in ¶ [0005], a flexible substrate, a driving circuit layer disposed on the flexible substrate, and a light emitting functional layer disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the flexible substrate and including a plurality of light-emitting units).
Deleu, Lin, Hall and Yan are silent regarding
a second driving circuit, wherein the flexible substrate is disposed between the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit.
However, Bibl teaches a second driving circuit, wherein the flexible substrate is disposed between the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit (Bibl, in ¶ [0036], teaches display substrate having LEDs on the front surface and one or more driver circuits on the back surface of the display substrate, including directly behind the display area, with electrical connection through interconnects/ vias extending through the substrate. Thus, Bibl teaches a second driving circuit on the opposite side of the substrate, such that the substrate is disposed between front-side display-driving structure and back-side driver circuitry). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electronic element of the curved modules of Deleu using the flexible display stack of Yan, because Yan provides a known flexible light-emitting panel structure in which the driving circuit layer is integrated on the flexible substrate directly beneath the light-emitting functional layer. It would have been further obvious to provide the additional opposite-side driver circuit taught by Bibl, because Bibl teaches backside driver placement with through-substrate electrical connection, which shortens routing paths and supports compact packaging behind the display area (Bibl, ¶ [0039]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleu (US 20210071417 A1) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 20160172623 A1).
Re: Claim 16 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Deleu, Lin and Hall are silent regarding
wherein the curved unit has a thin center and a thick periphery, a thick center and a thin periphery, or a combination of the above.
However, Lee teaches wherein the curved unit has a thin center and a thick periphery, a thick center and a thin periphery, or a combination of the above (Lee teaches, in ¶ [0098], a flexible display device having a support member 116 with a rounded end portion and an elongated body portion, and expressly teaches that the elongated body portion may be thinner than the rounded end portion. Lee explains that this thinning profile at the elongated body portion helps support the bend allowance section while avoiding unnecessary increase in overall thickness, and also teaches an embodiment in which the elongated body portion is thinner than the rounded end portion while providing a flat bottom. Thus, Lee teaches a support/curved-unit structure having a thin center and a thick periphery).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the curved units/ curved frames of Deleu with the thickness profile taught by Lee, namely a relatively thinner central portion and relatively thicker peripheral/end portions, in order to maintain structural support at the peripheral portions while avoiding unnecessary increase in the thickness in the central portion of the curved unit (Lee, ¶ [0098]).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleu (US 20210071417 A1) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1) and further in view of Cross (US 20170114971 A1).
Re: Claim 19 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 18 on which this claim depends.
Deleu, Lin and Hall are silent regarding
wherein the two side wall surfaces that are opposite to each other in the N curved modules are respectively formed with a convex portion and a concave portion, and the convex portion and the concave portion have complementary shapes.
However, Cross teaches
wherein the two side wall surfaces that are opposite to each other in the N curved modules are respectively formed with a convex portion and a concave portion, and the convex portion and the concave portion have complementary shapes (Cross teaches, in Fig. 2A and ¶ [0096], that a display module includes an alignment feature 100 and a complementary alignment feature 110, and that the alignment feature is designed to operatively engage the complementary alignment feature on an adjacent display module. Cross further teaches, in ¶ [0103], that the complementary alignment feature 110 is positioned to receive the alignment feature 100 of the adjacent display module, and teaches (see Fig. 2C) multiple pairs such as first alignment feature 100a/ first complementary alignment feature 110a, second alignment feature 100b/ second complementary alignment feature 110b, and so on. Accordingly, the projecting alignment feature 100 reads on the claimed convex portion, and the receiving complementary alignment feature 110 reads on concave portion with the receiving/engaging relationship teaching that the two have complementary shapes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the opposing side wall surfaces of adjacent curved units in Deleu with the complementary alignment structure taught by Cross, in order to improve alignment and registration between adjacent modules and maintain desired spacing/positioning between neighboring display modules when assembled. Cross expressly teaches, in ¶ [0096], that operative engagement of the alignment feature and complementary alignment feature constrains the relative position and orientation of adjacent display modules and helps maintain alignment between adjacent modules. Applying that known complementary engagement structure to the adjacent side wall surfaces of Deleu’s interconnected curved frames would have yielded the predictable result that two opposite side wall surfaces are respectively formed with a convex portion and a concave portion, and those portions have complementary shapes.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deleu (US 20210071417 A1) in view of Lin (US 11635657 B1) further in view of Hall (US 20150187237 A1) and further in view of Duan (CN 111048006 A).
Re: Claim 20 (Original), Deleu, Lin and Hall disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Deleu, Lin and Hall are silent regarding
wherein the curved unit further comprises a side wall surface, and a plurality of the side wall surfaces in the N curved modules are spliced together by means of adhesion, buckling or magnetic attraction.
However, Duan teaches
wherein the curved unit further comprises a side wall surface, and a plurality of the side wall surfaces in the N curved modules are spliced together by means of adhesion, buckling or magnetic attraction (Duan teaches, in Figs. 5 and 6 and related description, that a spliced screen 200 is formed by splicing at least two display screen modules 100 having curvature, and specifically teaches that the side surfaces of the case 110 of the display screen modules may be spliced by a known splicing structure. Duan further teaches that the side surface of each display screen module may be an inclined surface, and may be spliced by a conventional known structure, for example, an angle lock with angle splicing. Thus, Duan teaches joining adjacent module side surfaces by a lock-type splicing arrangement, which reads on the claimed side wall surfaces being spliced together by buckling).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the side-surface interconnection of Deleu’s adjacent curved frames using the known angle-lock side-surface splicing arrangement taught by Duan, in order to provide a secure side wall joining technique for adjacent curved modules while preserving modular assembly and allowing the overall curved display shape to be built up from multiple modules.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BIPANA ADHIKARI DAWADI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898