DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 1/3/2024, 7/10/2024 and 1/20/2025 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (Kim), WO 2022/212706 A1
Kim is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 1, Kim teaches the invention including an apparatus, comprising:
At least one processor (pp. 0212-0214), and
At least one memory storing instructions (pp. 0213) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
Receive, from an access node of a communication network, a configuration for a small data transmission procedure (pp. 0374: base station may configure one or more CG configuration/resource for SDT to a wireless device),
Detect an occurrence of a failure associated with the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0374: detect a success or fa failure of a SDT procedure), and
Transmit, to the access node, a failure report (pp. 0375, 0447-0449) comprising information including at least one of the following: a reason for the failure (pp. 0375, 0377, 0448), information relating to the configuration for the small data transmission procedure used during the occurrence of the failure (pp. 0375, 0377, 0379, 0385), or information relating to a random access procedure used during the occurrence of the failure (pp. 0379, 0385, 0447-0449, 0467: RA problem during SDT procedure).
As per claim 2, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the detecting the occurrence of the failure is configured to determine the occurrence of the failure when a cell re-selection procedure is initiated during the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0376, 0409-0411, 0433, 0467),
A failure detection timer associated with the small data transmission procedure expires (pp. 0376, 0409-0411, 0433, 0467: SDT failure detection timer expiry),
A medium access control entity reaches a configured maximum number of random access preamble transmission (pp. 0389, 0391), or
A radio link control entity reaches a configured maximum number of retransmissions (pp. 0414, 0435).
As per claim 3, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Kim further teaches wherein the reason for the failure comprises at least one of the following:
Initiation of the cell re-selection procedure during the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0376, 0409-0411, 0433, 0467),
Expiry of the failure detection timer associated with the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0376, 0409-0411, 0433, 0467),
the medium access control entity reaching a configured maximum number of random access preamble transmission (pp. 0389, 0391), or
the radio link control entity reaching a configured maximum number of retransmissions (pp. 0414, 0435).
As per claim 4, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the configuration for the small data transmission procedure includes a request or a configuration for collecting or logging the information for the failure report (pp. 0370, 0374, 0383-0385).
As per claim 5, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches the apparatus configured to receive, from the access node, a request for the failure report (pp. 0433, 0453).
As per claim 6, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches the apparatus configured to collect or log the information for the failure report associated with the occurrence of the failure (pp. 0370, 0374, 0383-0385).
As per claim 7, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches the apparatus configured to:
Log and transmit, to the access node, an indication of a purpose for random access, an identifier of a cell associated with the small data transmission procedure, at least part of the configuration of the small data transmission procedure, or at least part of a random access configuration applicable for the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0374, 0422).
As per claim 8, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. Kim further teaches wherein the at least part of the configuration of the small data transmission procedure comprises at least one of the following:
A reference signal received power threshold (pp. 0176: RSRP threshold),
A data volume threshold (pp. 0469-0470),
A value of a logical channel scheduling request delay timer,
A value of the failure detection timer, or
A search space for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (pp. 0365).
As per claim 9, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the information relating to the random access procedure used during the occurrence of the failure comprise at least one of the following:
An indication that the occurrence of the failure occurred during a two-step random access procedure (pp. 0185, 0379, 0385, 0447-0449, 0467), or
An indication that the occurrence of the failure during a four-step random access procedure (pp. 0172, 0379, 0385, 0447-0449, 0467).
As per claim 10, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the failure report comprises a random access report (pp. 0375, 0379, 0385, 0447-0449, 0467).
As per claim 11, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Kim further teaches wherein the random access report comprises small data transmission data and/or the configuration for the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0375, 0379, 0385, 0447-0449, 0467).
As per claim 12, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches the apparatus configured to:
Transmit, to the access node, an indication of availability of the random access report or the failure report (pp. 0452).
As per claim 13, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Kim further teaches the apparatus configured to:
Transmit the random access report to the access node, in response to receiving a request for the random access report form the access node (pp. 0433, 0453).
As per claim 14, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Kim further teaches wherein the random access report comprises a user equipment information response radio resource control message, or wherein the request for the random access report comprises a user equipment information request radio resource control message (pp. 0234, 0450-0543).
As per claim 15, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the failure report is configured to be delivered to a network analysis function of the communication network for determining a cause for the failure (pp. 0057).
As per claim 16, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein small data transmission procedure comprises 3GPP small data transmission (SDT) procedure (pp. 0054, 0056, 0350, 0356-0358).
As per claim 17, Kim teaches the invention including an apparatus comprising:
At least one processor (pp. 0212-0214), and
At least one memory storing instructions (pp. 0213) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
Transmit a configuration for a small data transmission procedure to a device (pp. 0374: base station may configure one or more CG configuration/resource for SDT to a wireless device), wherein the configuration for the small data transmission procedure includes a request or a configuration for collecting or logging information for an occurrence of a failure associated with the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0370, 0374, 0383-0385).
As per claim 18, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 17. Kim further teaches the apparatus configured to:
Transmit, to the device, a request for a failure report associated with the small data transmission procedure (pp. pp. 0375, 0433, 0447-0449, 0453).
As per claim 19, Kim teaches the invention including a method, comprising:
Receiving, from an access node of a communication network, a configuration for a small data transmission procedure (pp. 0374: base station may configure one or more CG configuration/resource for SDT to a wireless device),
Detecting an occurrence of a failure associated with the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0374: detect a success or fa failure of a SDT procedure), and
Transmitting, to the access node, a failure report (pp. 0375, 0447-0449) comprising information including at least one of the following: a reason for the failure (pp. 0375, 0377, 0448), information relating to the configuration for the small data transmission procedure used during the occurrence of the failure (pp. 0375, 0377, 0379, 0385), or information relating to a random access procedure used during the occurrence of the failure (pp. 0379, 0385, 0447-0449, 0467: RA problem during SDT procedure).
As per claim 20, Kim teaches the invention including a method comprising:
Transmitting a configuration for a small data transmission procedure to a device (pp. 0374: base station may configure one or more CG configuration/resource for SDT to a wireless device), wherein the configuration for the small data transmission procedure includes a request or a configuration for collecting or logging information for an occurrence of a failure associated with the small data transmission procedure (pp. 0370, 0374, 0383-0385).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang, US 2024/0224093
Decarreau et al, US 2025/0193957
Kumar et al, US 2024/0276275
Zhou et al, US 2023/0063014
Zhang et al, US 2022/0086658
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
January 22, 2026