DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Specie A (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 4/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Election Requirement identifies the species with respect to claims of the application rather than figures, and because the identified features are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because the Election Requirement identifies both Figures, and specific distinctions between the different species. Moreover, Specie A pertains to components of the memory dies, whereas Species B and C pertain to the relative placement of the memory dies. Rejoinder issues will be addressed upon the indication of allowable subject matter.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2016/0155724).
With respect to Claim 1, Kim et al discloses a semiconductor package (Figure 3A) comprising: a package substrate (paragraph 55, mold layer of bottom chip); a buffer die (Figure 3A, 300, paragraphs 85-88 and 122) mounted on the package substrate; and a plurality of memory layers (Figure 3A, 911, paragraphs 85-88) stacked on the buffer die (Figure 3A, 300), wherein each of the plurality of memory layers includes a pair of memory dies (Figure 3A, 100a and 200a; Figures 2A-2B, 113 and 213), wherein each memory die of the pair of memory dies includes a semiconductor substrate (Figures 2A-2B, 111 and 211), a plurality of semiconductor elements (Figures 2A-2B, 103 and 203) formed on the semiconductor substrate, a plurality of via structures (Figures 2A-2B, 115 and 215) penetrating through the semiconductor substrate, a plurality of lower pads (Figure 1F, 118 and 218) formed on a lower surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 1F and Figures 2A-2B, 111 and 211)and connected to the plurality of via structures (Figures 2A-2B, 115 and 215) , and a plurality of upper pads (Figure 1F and Figures 2A-2B, 117 and 217) formed on an upper surface of an insulating layer (Figures 2A-2B, 105, 106 and 205, 206) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (Figures 2A-2B, 111 and 211) and connected to the plurality of via structures (Figures 2A-2B, 115 and 215), and wherein the plurality of upper pads (Figure 1F and Figures 2A-2B, 117 and 217) included in one memory die of the pair of memory dies are directly attached to the plurality of upper pads included in another memory die of the pair of memory dies. See Figures 1F, 2A-2B and 3A and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 83-125.
With respect to Claim 2, Kim et al discloses wherein an upper surface of the insulating layer included in the one memory die of the pair of memory dies is in contact with an upper surface of the insulating layer included in the another memory die of the pair of memory dies. See Figures 2A-2B, 106 and 206)
With respect to Claim 3, Kim et al discloses wherein in each memory die of the pair of memory dies, a number of the plurality of upper pads (Figure 1F and Figures 2A-2B 117 and 217) is identical to a number of the plurality of lower pads (Figure 1F, 118 and 218).
With respect to Claim 6, Kim et al discloses wherein the plurality of memory layers includes a first memory layer (Figure 3A, 911 bottom) stacked on the buffer die (Figure 3A, 300) and a second memory layer (Figure 3A, 911 top) stacked on the first memory layer, and wherein the plurality of lower pads of the one memory die of the pair of memory dies included in the first memory layer are attached to the plurality of lower pads of the another memory die of the pair of memory dies included in the second memory layer by a plurality of bumps (Figure 3A, 219).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2016/0155724).
Kim et al is relied upon as discussed above.
With respect to Claim 4, Kim et al does not explicitly disclose “wherein in each memory die of the pair of memory dies, a gap between the plurality of upper pads is identical to a gap between the lower pads”.
Kim et al appears to disclose the gap between the plurality of upper pads is identical to a gap between the lower pads in Figure 3A, but does not explicitly state so.
With respect to Claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the same size pads for the upper and lower pads, and arrive at the presently claimed limitations, as changes in size are prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 5, Kim et al does not y disclose “wherein in each memory die of the pair of memory dies, a gap between the plurality of upper pads is less than a gap between the plurality of lower pads”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use larger size pads for the upper pads, and arrive at the presently claimed limitations, as changes in size are prima facie obvious, in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 7, Kim et al does not disclose “ wherein the plurality of memory layers include first to sixth memory layers sequentially stacked on the buffer die”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use six memory layers, as duplication of parts for their known benefit is prima facie obvious, in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 8, Kim et al does not disclose “wherein among the plurality of memory layers, an uppermost memory layer has a different structure from other memory layers”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use an uppermost memory layer with a different structure from other memory layers, as rearrangement of parts for their known benefit is prima facie obvious, in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 9, Kim et al does not disclose “wherein the one memory die of the pair of memory dies included in the uppermost memory layer has a different thickness from the another one of the pair of memory dies included in the uppermost memory layer”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations, as changes in size are prima facie obvious, in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 10, Kim et al does not disclose “wherein the one memory die of the pair of memory dies included in the uppermost memory layer is a memory die disposed at an uppermost, and wherein a thickness of the one memory die of the pairs of memory dies included in the uppermost memory layer is greater than a thickness of each of the other memory dies”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations, as changes in size are prima facie obvious, in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
June 23, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812