Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by US 20240411233 A1 (hereby referred to as De Vries).
The Examiner notes that whilst De Vries was published following the effective filing date of the instant application, the De Vries U.S. patent application was filed prior to the effective filing date of the instant application and thus qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 7, De Vries teaches a lithographic apparatus and associated methods. The lithographic apparatus is depicted in Fig. 1 (De Vries, paragraph 0192). The lithographic apparatus comprises a top module including a reticle stage (MT) (De Vries, paragraph 0192). The lithographic apparatus is further configured to include a gas nozzle (50), which directs a flow of gas adjacent to the reticle stage (De Vries, paragraph 0230). As shown in Fig. 3B of De Vries, the nozzle is provided under the reticle stage. The nozzle provides hydrogen gas (De Vries, paragraph 0231), which is a shielding gas according to paragraph 0033 of the instant application’s specification. Fig. 4 of De Vries shows a plan view of the reticle stage assembly (De Vries, paragraph 0232) and shows that the flow of gas (52) is contained between a pair of guides extending from opposite sides of the nozzle, such that the gas flows in a cross-flow manner across the surface of the reticle (De Vries, paragraph 0230). The guides extend in the same direction as the gas flow (i.e. the first horizontal direction) and are substantially parallel to each other, thereby forming a gap that is uniform. The guides are also parallel to the outer surfaces of the reticle. Furthermore, De Vries teaches that an optional spoiler that is arranged to guide hydrogen flow near the reticle assembly may be provided (De Vries, paragraph 0313).
Regarding Claims 10-11, De Vries teaches that the lithographic apparatus is provided with four reticle masking blades (De Vries, paragraph 0222). The blades are provided in pairs (reference items 32 and 34 are the first pair, reference items 36 and 38 are the second pair), with one pair provided in a first horizontal direction and the other pair provided in a second horizontal direction (De Vries, paragraph 0222-0223). Refer to Fig. 3A, which shows the pair of blades 32 and 34, and Fig. 3B, which shows the pair of blades 36 and 38. The pair of blades (36 and 38) is formed under the nozzle and extend in the same direction as the flow of the hydrogen gas, as shown in Fig. 3B (De Vries, paragraph 0223 and 0230). As shown in Fig. 4 of De Vries, the two sets of masking blades may be controlled such that an opening having a desired size is formed (De Vries, paragraph 0229).
Regarding Claims 12-13, De Vries teaches a lithographic apparatus and associated methods. The lithographic apparatus is depicted in Fig. 1 (De Vries, paragraph 0192). The lithographic apparatus comprises a top module including a reticle stage (MT) (De Vries, paragraph 0192). The lithographic apparatus is further configured to include a gas nozzle (50), which directs a flow of gas adjacent to the reticle stage (De Vries, paragraph 0230). As shown in Fig. 3B of De Vries, the nozzle is provided under the reticle stage. The nozzle provides hydrogen gas (De Vries, paragraph 0231), which is a shielding gas according to paragraph 0033 of the instant application’s specification. Fig. 4 of De Vries shows a plan view of the reticle stage assembly (De Vries, paragraph 0232) and shows that the flow of gas (52) is contained between a pair of guides extending from opposite sides of the nozzle, such that the gas flows in a cross-flow manner across the surface of the reticle (De Vries, paragraph 0230). The guides extend in the same direction as the gas flow (i.e. the first horizontal direction) and are substantially parallel to each other, thereby forming a gap that is uniform. The guides are also parallel to the outer surfaces of the reticle. Furthermore, De Vries teaches that an optional spoiler that is arranged to guide hydrogen flow near the reticle assembly may be provided (De Vries, paragraph 0313). The lithographic apparatus is provided with four reticle masking blades (De Vries, paragraph 0222). The blades are provided in pairs (reference items 32 and 34 are the first pair, reference items 36 and 38 are the second pair), with one pair provided in a first horizontal direction and the other pair provided in a second horizontal direction (De Vries, paragraph 0222-0223). Refer to Fig. 3A, which shows the pair of blades 32 and 34, and Fig. 3B, which shows the pair of blades 36 and 38. The pair of blades (36 and 38) is formed under the nozzle and extend in the same direction as the flow of the hydrogen gas, as shown in Fig. 3B (De Vries, paragraph 0223 and 0230). As shown in Fig. 4 of De Vries, the two sets of masking blades may be controlled such that an opening having a desired size is formed (De Vries, paragraph 0229). The exposure light applied to the reticle may be extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (De Vries, paragraph 0192).
Regarding Claims 17-20, De Vries teaches a lithographic apparatus and associated methods. The lithographic apparatus is depicted in Fig. 1 (De Vries, paragraph 0192). The lithographic apparatus comprises a top module including a reticle stage (MT) (De Vries, paragraph 0192). The lithographic apparatus is further configured to include a gas nozzle (50), which directs a flow of gas adjacent to the reticle stage (De Vries, paragraph 0230). As shown in Fig. 3B of De Vries, the nozzle is provided under the reticle stage. The nozzle provides hydrogen gas (De Vries, paragraph 0231), which is a shielding gas according to paragraph 0033 of the instant application’s specification. Fig. 4 of De Vries shows a plan view of the reticle stage assembly (De Vries, paragraph 0232) and shows that the flow of gas (52) is contained between a pair of guides extending from opposite sides of the nozzle, such that the gas flows in a cross-flow manner across the surface of the reticle (De Vries, paragraph 0230). The guides extend in the same direction as the gas flow (i.e. the first horizontal direction) and are substantially parallel to each other, thereby forming a gap that is uniform. The guides are also parallel to the outer surfaces of the reticle. Furthermore, De Vries teaches that an optional spoiler that is arranged to guide hydrogen flow near the reticle assembly may be provided (De Vries, paragraph 0313). The lithographic apparatus is provided with four reticle masking blades (De Vries, paragraph 0222). The blades are provided in pairs (reference items 32 and 34 are the first pair, reference items 36 and 38 are the second pair), with one pair provided in a first horizontal direction and the other pair provided in a second horizontal direction (De Vries, paragraph 0222-0223). Refer to Fig. 3A, which shows the pair of blades 32 and 34, and Fig. 3B, which shows the pair of blades 36 and 38. The pair of blades (36 and 38) is formed under the nozzle and extend in the same direction as the flow of the hydrogen gas, as shown in Fig. 3B (De Vries, paragraph 0223 and 0230). As shown in Fig. 4 of De Vries, the two sets of masking blades may be controlled such that an opening having a desired size is formed (De Vries, paragraph 0229). The exposure light applied to the reticle may be extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (De Vries, paragraph 0192).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240411233 A1 (hereby referred to as De Vries).
Regarding Claims 4-6 and 8-9, De Vries does not explicitly describe the alignment or dimensions according to claims 4-6 and 8-9. However, MPEP 2144.04 IV. (A) states that when the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a change in size and/or proportion (e.g. changing the height or length of the guides), then the claimed invention is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Similarly, MPEP 2144.04 IV. (B) states that changes in shape (e.g. the shape of the gap between the guides or the alignment of the guides with the reticle stage) are prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, absent of persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In this case, changing the dimensions of the guides would allow one having ordinary skill in the art to control the size of the flow channel, thereby providing the shielding gas flow in a desired area or volume. Furthermore, changing the shape or alignment of the guides would allow one having ordinary skill in the art to control the flow behavior, such as the localized flow velocity or the rate at which the gas spreads outwardly from the nozzle, thereby providing control over the removal of contaminants in the shielding gas flow. Therefore, claims 4-6 and 8-9 are obvious in view of the broader disclosure of De Vries.
Regarding Claims 14-16, De Vries does not explicitly describe the alignment or dimensions according to claims 14-16. However, MPEP 2144.04 IV. (A) states that when the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a change in size and/or proportion (e.g. changing the height or length of the guides), then the claimed invention is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Similarly, MPEP 2144.04 IV. (B) states that changes in shape (e.g. the shape of the gap between the guides or the alignment of the guides with the reticle stage) are prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, absent of persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In this case, changing the dimensions of the guides would allow one having ordinary skill in the art to control the size of the flow channel, thereby providing the shielding gas flow in a desired area or volume. Furthermore, changing the shape or alignment of the guides would allow one having ordinary skill in the art to control the flow behavior, such as the localized flow velocity or the rate at which the gas spreads outwardly from the nozzle, thereby providing control over the removal of contaminants in the shielding gas flow. Therefore, claims 14-16 are obvious in view of the broader disclosure of De Vries.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220365451 A1 (hereby referred to as Cheng) teaches a lithographic apparatus wherein a gas flow is provided to formed a particle shield from the surface of a reticle (Cheng, paragraph 0071). As shown in Fig. 6-8 of Cheng, guides having varying configurations are provided to guide the gas flow. US 20140111782 A1 (hereby referred to as Park) teaches a top module according to instant claim 1, differing only in that Park does not explicitly disclose the guides.
/JAYSON D COSGROVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734