DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “303” has been used to designate both the first intermediate flow channel and the second intermediate flow channel (in addition to the other channels).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 132, 133.
The drawings are objected to because fig. 3B is presented as a photograph, but is not the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1). The drawing should be presented as a line drawing. (Fig. 4A is acceptable as a photographic black-and-white drawing.)
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schödel et al. (US Pub. 2019/0118478).
Claim 1: Schödel discloses a system, comprising:
a material removal apparatus (¶ 2 mentions an “additive manufacturing apparatus”) comprising a laser (¶ 6, “laser”), wherein the material removal apparatus is configured to perform a material removal operation with respect to a workpiece (¶ 2 describes that, for its additive manufacturing apparatus, “Due to the irradiation of the build material, particles and/or residues are generated such as fumes, smoke and smolder or for example particles of build material, e.g. stirred up or partially evaporated in the manufacturing process”; furthermore, the laser of an additive manufacturing apparatus would be inherently capable of performing material removal on some workpieces);
a vacuum system (2, 9) configured to provide suction during the material removal operation; and
a manifold (3) configured to remove debris from the workpiece responsive to the suction provided by the vacuum system (via 4), wherein the manifold comprises:
a plurality of vanes (11) arranged radially around an open center portion (8) of the manifold (see figs. 1 and 4); and
a shell (7) at least partially enclosing the plurality of vanes.
Claim 4: Schödel discloses that the manifold is configured to provide substantially uniform suction across an area of the open center portion of the manifold (appreciable from the flow depicted in fig. 4; the functional limitation of this claim is broad enough to read on Schödel as it does not demand specific structure).
Claim 5: Schödel discloses that the workpiece comprises a component of a substrate processing chamber (the claimed workpiece is the apparatus worked upon and does not meaningfully limit the claim; see MPEP § 2115; the additive manufacturing apparatus of Schödel would be capable of housing a component of a substrate processing chamber).
Claim 6: Schödel discloses that the vacuum system comprises a filter to catch the removed debris (¶ 53, “filter unit”).
Claim 7: Schödel discloses that the manifold further comprises a substantially ring-shaped profile (see fig. 1) and a substantially round cross-section (base body 7 has a substantially round cross-section, see fig. 3).
Claim 8: Schödel discloses that the material removal apparatus is configured to direct the laser through the open center portion of the manifold towards a top surface of the workpiece to perform the material removal operation (¶ 45, “The energy beam (not shown) can pass through the inner suction volume 8 to irradiate build material in the build plane 6, for example along the rotation axis 10”).
Claim 9: Schödel discloses that the shell is configured to substantially surround the workpiece within the open center portion (the workpiece in at Schödel’s build plane (not positively recited, see MPEP § 2115) may be of such a size that it can be surrounded by Schödel’s shell 7).
Claim 10: Schödel discloses a movable stage configured to support the workpiece, wherein the movable stage is movable relative to the laser and the manifold (¶ 50, “the build plane 6 and the combined module 1 are movable relative to one another, for example by moving the combined module 1 relative to the build plane 6 or vice versa or a combination of both movements”).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schödel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xuan (CN 1952408 A, cited by, and translation provided by, the Office).
Claim 2: Schödel discloses that the vacuum system (9) is coupled to an outlet of the manifold (20; appreciable from fig. 4).
Schödel does not disclose that the manifold further comprises: one or more dividers configured to direct a flow of air from the open center portion to an outlet of the manifold.
However, Xuan discloses a similar construction with a manifold (1) that comprises one or more dividers (3) configured to direct a flow of air from a center portion (at 2) to an outlet of the manifold (at 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the dividers of Xuan to the manifold of Schödel to reduce flow interference and improve the flow efficiency, as taught by Xuan.
Claim 3: Modified as per claim 2 above, Xuan discloses that one of the one or more dividers form one or more channels within the shell (see fig. 2), and wherein a subset of the plurality of vanes guide a portion of the flow of air from the open center portion into a first channel of the one or more channels (appreciable from 2 and 3 in fig. 2).
Claims 11–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schödel in view of Xuan.
Claim 11: Schödel discloses a manifold (3) configured to remove debris during a material removal operation performed with respect to a workpiece (¶ 2 describes that, for its additive manufacturing apparatus, “Due to the irradiation of the build material, particles and/or residues are generated such as fumes, smoke and smolder or for example particles of build material, e.g. stirred up or partially evaporated in the manufacturing process”; furthermore, the laser of an additive manufacturing apparatus would be inherently capable of performing material removal on some workpieces), the manifold comprising:
a plurality of vanes (11) arranged radially around an open center portion (8) of the manifold; and
a shell (7) at least partially enclosing the plurality of vanes (appreciable from figs. 1 and 4).
Schödel does not disclose one or more dividers configured to direct a flow of air from the open center portion to an outlet of the manifold.
However, Xuan discloses a similar construction with a manifold (1) that comprises one or more dividers (3) configured to direct a flow of air from a center portion (at 2) to an outlet of the manifold (at 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the dividers of Xuan to the manifold of Schödel to reduce flow interference and improve the flow efficiency, as taught by Xuan.
Claim 12: Modified as per claim 11 above, Xuan discloses that the one or more dividers form one or more channels within the shell (see fig. 2), and wherein a subset of the plurality of vanes guide a portion of the flow of air from the open center portion into a first channel of the one or more channels (appreciable from 2 and 3 in fig. 2).
Claim 13: The manifold of claim 11, wherein the manifold is configured to provide substantially uniform suction across an area of the open center portion of the manifold (appreciable from the flow depicted in fig. 4; the functional limitation of this claim is broad enough to read on Schödel as it does not demand specific structure; Schödel’s combination with Xuan would further aid in providing a uniform suction).
Claim 14: Schödel discloses that the manifold further comprises a substantially ring-shaped profile (see fig. 1) and a substantially round cross-section (base body 7 has a substantially round cross-section, see fig. 3).
Claim 15: Schödel discloses that the manifold is configured to fluidly couple to a vacuum system (9) configured to provide suction during a material removal operation.
Claim 16: Schödel discloses a material removal system, comprising:
a vacuum system (2, 9) configured to provide suction during a material removal operation performed with respect to a workpiece (¶ 2 describes that, for its additive manufacturing apparatus, “Due to the irradiation of the build material, particles and/or residues are generated such as fumes, smoke and smolder or for example particles of build material, e.g. stirred up or partially evaporated in the manufacturing process”; furthermore, the laser of an additive manufacturing apparatus would be inherently capable of performing material removal on some workpieces); and
a manifold (3) configured to remove debris during the material removal operation, wherein the manifold comprises:
a plurality of vanes (11) arranged radially around an open center portion (8) of the manifold; and
a shell (7) at least partially enclosing the plurality of vanes.
Schödel does not disclose one or more dividers configured to direct a flow of air from the open center portion to an outlet of the manifold.
However, Xuan discloses a similar construction with a manifold (1) that comprises one or more dividers (3) configured to direct a flow of air from a center portion (at 2) to an outlet of the manifold (at 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the dividers of Xuan to the manifold of Schödel to reduce flow interference and improve the flow efficiency, as taught by Xuan.
Claim 17: Modified as per claim 16 above, Xuan discloses that the one or more dividers form one or more channels within the shell (see fig. 2), and wherein a subset of the plurality of vanes guide a portion of the flow of air from the open center portion into a first channel of the one or more channels (appreciable from 2 and 3 in fig. 2).
Claim 18: Schödel discloses that the manifold is configured to provide substantially uniform suction across an area of the open center portion of the manifold (appreciable from the flow depicted in fig. 4; the functional limitation of this claim is broad enough to read on Schödel as it does not demand specific structure; Schödel’s combination with Xuan would further aid in providing a uniform suction).
Claim 19: Schödel discloses that the workpiece comprises a component of a substrate processing chamber (the claimed workpiece is the apparatus worked upon and does not meaningfully limit the claim; see MPEP § 2115; the additive manufacturing apparatus of Schödel would be capable of housing a component of a substrate processing chamber).
Claim 20: Schödel discloses that the shell is configured to substantially surround the workpiece within the open center portion (the workpiece in at Schödel’s build plane (not positively recited, see MPEP § 2115) may be of such a size that it can be surrounded by Schödel’s shell 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ye et al. (CN 109441855 A, cited by the Office), Zhang et al. (CN 209557336 U, cited by the Office), and Liao et al. (CN 104373385 A, cited by the Office) are similar to Xuan.
Park et al. (KR 2018-0002958 A, cited by the Office) is cited as related to suction units for laser apparatuses.
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761