Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Claims 1-11 is acknowledged.
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shue (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0320459).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 7 of Shue discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor chip that has a first principal surface and a second principal surface; and an element isolation portion that is formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip and that demarcates an active region (28), the element isolation portion comprising: a trench (148) formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip; a first insulating film (150) formed on a side surface of the trench; a second insulating film (138/238) formed inside the trench such that an air gap (154) is sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film; and a buried conductor (136/236) that is covered by the second insulating film and that is connected to the semiconductor chip at a bottom portion of the trench.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0403072), in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0166553)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Otsubo discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor chip that has a first principal surface and a second principal surface; and an element isolation portion (8) that is formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip and that demarcates an active region (2), the element isolation portion comprising: a trench formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip; a first insulating film (53, FIG. 3) formed on a side surface of the trench; a second insulating film (55) formed inside the trench; and a buried conductor (59) that is covered by the second insulating film and that is connected to the semiconductor chip at a bottom portion of the trench.
Otsubo is silent with respect to “an air gap is sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film”.
FIG. 9 of Lee discloses a similar trench formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip; a first insulating film (214) formed on a side surface of the trench; a second insulating film (220) formed inside the trench such that an air gap (350) is sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film; and a buried conductor (232) that is covered by the second insulating film and that is connected to the semiconductor chip at a bottom portion of the trench.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otsubo, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otsubo in the above manner for purpose of reducing stray capacitance ([0028] of Lee).
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 2 of Otsubo discloses the semiconductor chip includes a first-conductivity-type (p) first impurity region that is formed on the side of the second principal surface and to which the buried conductor is connected at the bottom portion of the trench, a second-conductivity-type (n) second impurity region formed on the side of the first principal surface, and a second-conductivity-type buried region (41) that is buried between the first impurity region and the second impurity region [0057]. FIG. 9 of Lee discloses the air gap is sandwiched between the buried region and the buried conductor in a lateral direction along the first principal surface.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 9 of Lee discloses the first insulating film (214) is formed on both the side surface on one side of the trench and the side surface on one other side of the trench, and the air gap (250) is formed both between the buried conductor (232) and the side surface on the one side of the trench and between the buried conductor and the side surface on the one other side of the trench.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 9 of Lee discloses the buried conductor (232) includes a protruding portion that protrudes toward the side of the second principal surface than the second insulating film (214), and the air gap (250) is located closer to the side of the first principal surface than a bottom wall of the protruding portion with regard to a depth direction of the trench.
Claims 2-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo and Lee in view of Shinohara (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0301669)
Regarding Claim 2
Otsubo as modified by Lee discloses Claim 1.
Otsubo as modified by Lee is silent with respect to “the side surface of the trench is formed in a shape in which a halfway portion in a depth direction of the trench is convex more outwardly from the trench than an open end of the trench in a cross-sectional view”.
FIG. 11 of Shinohara discloses a similar trench, wherein the side surface of the trench (TP) is formed in a shape in which a halfway portion in a depth direction of the trench is convex more outwardly from the trench than an open end of the trench in a cross-sectional view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otsubo, as taught by Shinohara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otsubo in the above manner for purpose of improving performance ([0015] of Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 11 of Shinohara discloses the side surface of the trench is formed in a tapered shape whose width becomes smaller from the bottom portion of the trench toward the first principal surface in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 11 of Shinohara discloses the side surface of the trench is formed in an arched shape that is convex outwardly from the trench in a cross-sectional view.
Claims 1, 5 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0403072), in view of Harame (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0284758)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Otsubo discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor chip that has a first principal surface and a second principal surface; and an element isolation portion (8) that is formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip and that demarcates an active region (2), the element isolation portion comprising: a trench formed on the side of the first principal surface of the semiconductor chip; a first insulating film (53) formed on a side surface of the trench; a second insulating film (55) formed inside the trench; and a buried conductor (59) that is covered by the second insulating film and that is connected to the semiconductor chip at a bottom portion of the trench.
Otsubo is silent with respect to “an air gap is sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film”.
FIG. 5 of Harame discloses a similar element isolation portion (48/50) comprising a first insulating film (outer portion of the filler [0033]) formed on a side surface of the trench; a second insulating film (inner portion of the filler) formed inside the trench such that an air gap (49/51) is sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film; and a buried conductor (23) that is covered by the second insulating film and that is connected to the semiconductor chip at a bottom portion of the trench.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otsubo, as taught by Harame. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otsubo in the above manner for purpose of enhancing the device performance ([0004] of Harame).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 5 of Harame discloses the buried conductor (23) has a tapered sidewall whose width becomes larger from a bottom wall of the buried conductor toward the first principal surface in a cross-sectional view, and the second insulating film is contiguous to the sidewall of the buried conductor.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 5 of Harame discloses the bottom wall of the buried conductor (23) is located closer to the side of the first principal surface than a lower end of the second insulating film and than a lower end of the air gap with regard to a depth direction of the trench.
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo and Lee in view of Schurz (CN 103578927, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 5
Otsubo as modified by Lee discloses Claim 1.
Otsubo as modified by Lee is silent with respect to “the buried conductor has a tapered sidewall whose width becomes larger from a bottom wall of the buried conductor toward the first principal surface in a cross-sectional view, and the second insulating film is contiguous to the sidewall of the buried conductor”.
FIG. 4 of Schurz discloses a similar trench, wherein the buried conductor (190) has a tapered sidewall whose width becomes larger from a bottom wall of the buried conductor toward the first principal surface in a cross-sectional view, and the second insulating film is contiguous to the sidewall of the buried conductor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otsubo, as taught by Schurz. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otsubo in the above manner for purpose of improving performance ([0015] of Schurz).
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo and Lee in view of Yeh (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0028054).
Regarding Claim 7
Otsubo as modified by Lee discloses Claim 6.
Otsubo as modified by Lee is silent with respect to “the side surface of the trench is formed in an arched shape that is convex outwardly from the trench in a cross-sectional view, and a top portion of the side surface having the arched shape is sandwiched between the buried region and the buried conductor”.
FIG. 8 of Yeh discloses a similar trench, wherein the side surface of the trench is formed in an arched shape that is convex outwardly from the trench in a cross-sectional view, thus, Otsubo as modified by Lee and Yeh discloses a top portion of the side surface having the arched shape is sandwiched between the buried region and the buried conductor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otsubo, as taught by Yeh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otsubo in the above manner for purpose of improving manufacturing process ([0003] of Yeh).
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo and Lee in view of Tokumitsu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0287912).
Regarding Claim 9
Otsubo as modified by Lee discloses Claim 1.
Otsubo as modified by Lee is silent with respect to “the first insulating film and the second insulating film are connected in an upper portion of the trench, and are not connected in a halfway portion in a depth direction of the trench”.
FIG. 3 of Tokumitsu discloses a similar trench, wherein the first insulating film (ILF) and the second insulating film (SSF) are connected in an upper portion of the trench, and are not connected in a halfway portion in a depth direction of the trench.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Otsubo, as taught by Tokumitsu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Otsubo in the above manner for purpose of suppressing leak current ([0009] of Tokumitsu).
Pertinent Art
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0151410, 20140231877, 20130032871, 20150340273, 20160064475, 20230369462, 20160204143, 20180083128, 20240304682, 20240297071, 20070037341, 9368608, WO 2024171905, DE 102016119799.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897