DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-6 are directed to an inhibitor comprising a compound of Formula 1 and then recites how the inhibitor is adsorbed on substrates, the types of substrates and the adsorption energy on the substrates. However, the claims are only directed towards an inhibitor (not a system including the inhibitor and other components) and the manner in which it is used or the substrates it is applied on does not change the actual inhibitor itself. Therefore, any prior art which teaches a compound having the formula as claimed meets the limitations of the claimed inhibitor regardless of what substrates or process the compound is used in.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
1. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 20 newly recites a thickness “greater than a thickness of any subsequently deposited material formed above the surface of the first layer”. This is not supported by the original disclosure. Rather, the original disclosure only supports a thickness in the range of from about 1.5 to about 5 and does not support that it relates to any subsequently deposited material. The original disclosure fails to provide support for the newly added limitations; therefore, claim 20 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braden et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4420433).
Regarding claims 1-6, Braden teaches a compound, 3-trifluoromethyl benzaldehyde (column 6, lines 51-61), which meets the limitations of the formula and is one of the compounds in the Markush group of claim 3. Additionally, as this is one of the compounds recited in claim 3 it inherently can act as an inhibitor and can be used in the intended use of application to substrates as claimed and can be provided on a substrate to yield an adsorption energy as claimed. Braden teaches an inhibitor as required by claims 1-6; therefore, Braden anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 7-10, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merkx et al. (“Area-Selective Atomic Layer Deposition of TiN Using Aromatic Inhibitor Molecules for Metal/Dielectric Selectivity”) in view of Ko et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0369039).
Regarding claims 7-10, and 14-20, Merkx teaches a process for selectively depositing a thin film (abstract) comprising: preparing a target surface comprising a first surface which is cobalt (Section 2.3 and Figure 4), and a second surface which is silica (Section 2.3 and Figure 4); forming an inhibitor layer by selective deposition on the metal surface of aniline
(abstract and Figure 1) at 250 ºC (Section 2.1); selectively forming a subsequent layer of ALD deposited TiN at 250 ºC (Section 2.1, and this selective deposition results in the thickness of the subsequent layer having a greater thickness than the layer deposited above the first surface) on the second surface by atomic layer deposition over the substrate including the inhibitor layer and second surface (abstract); and then removal of the inhibitor layer (Figure 1) by hydrogen plasma for 10 seconds (Figure 1 and Section 2.1). Merkx also teaches the second layer is positioned on both sides of the first layer and spaced apart from each other (Figures 1 and 4), and a physical vapor deposition step after removing the inhibitor layer (Section 2.3). Merkx fails to teach the inhibitor being a compound of Formula I or a compound selected from the group of claim 8
However, Ko teaches a similar process for selectively depositing a thin film (abstract and Figure 1A) using an inhibitor compound, such as 4-trifluoromethyl benzaldehyde or aniline (claim 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Merkx’s process by substituting 4-trifluoromethyl benzaldehyde for the aniline of Merkx’s process. One would have been motivated to make this substitution as one could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success (note the similarities between the processes and that Ko teaches that the inhibitor can be any selected from a group including aniline at claim 3, which is used by Merkx, and other aniline variants such as 4-(methythio)aniline), and the predictable result of providing a blocking layer for selective deposition of a subsequent layer.
4. Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merkx in view of Ko as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Leoncini et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0130660).
I. Regarding claims 11 and 12, Merkx in view of Ko make obvious claim 7, but fail to teach a pretreatment step as claimed in claims 11 and 12. However, Leoncini teaches a similar process for selectively depositing a thin film (abstract) comprising: preparing a target surface comprising a first surface (abstract), which is metal (claim 3), such as copper or cobalt (claim 3), and a second surface (abstract) which is a dielectric (claim 5), such as silica (claim 5); forming an inhibitor layer by selective deposition on the metal surface of an anchor reactant (claim 1) which is a 4-ethynylbenzene derivative
(claim 4) where A represents an anchor group for adhering to the metal surface (0026); selectively forming a subsequent layer, such as TiN (0028), on the second surface by atomic layer deposition over the substrate including the inhibitor layer and second surface (claim 14); and then removal of the inhibitor layer (claim 18), potentially by hydrogen plasma (0031). Leoncini also teaches pretreating the first metal surface by using a hydrogen plasma (0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Merkx in view of Ko’s process by including a hydrogen pretreatment step on the metal surface. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Leoncini teaches that the pretreatment cleans the substrate to form an optimal surface for the selective deposition process (0029).
II. Regarding claim 13, Merkx in view of Ko and further in view of Leoncini make obvious claim 11, but fail to teach the length of time the hydrogen plasma is conducted for. However, adjusting the amount of time will alter the efficiency of the process, the cleanliness of the resultant surface and the damage done to the substrate by the plasma. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed range through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
November 4, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717