Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 01/03/2024. Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujita et al. (US-20220357155-A1; hereinafter Fujita).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita discloses A non-contact probe comprising: a light irradiating section that scans a measurement target object with spot-like laser beam; (see at least [0029] A distance measuring device 10 includes a lens 11, a light receiving unit 12, a signal processing unit 13, a light emitting unit 14, a light emission control unit 15, and a filter unit 16. The distance measuring device 10 in Fig. 1 irradiates an object with light, and receives light (reflected light) that is the light (irradiation light) reflected by the object, to measure the distance to the object.”) an image-capturing section that captures an image of the laser beam reflected by the measurement target object by using a plurality of pixel columns selected from a light-reception surface including a plurality of pixel columns, and generates a captured image; (see at least [0205]; "The display 204 displays an operation screen for performing processing with the application processing unit 221 and the operation system processing unit 222, an image captured by the imaging device 203, or the like." and see at least [0041]; "In the matrix-like pixel array of the pixel array unit 41, the pixel drive lines 46 are provided in the row direction in the respective pixel rows, and two vertical signal lines 47 are provided in the column direction in each pixel column. For example, the pixel drive lines 46 transmit drive signals for performing driving when signals are read from the pixels. Note that, in Fig. 2, each pixel drive line 46 is shown as one wiring line, but is not necessarily one wiring line. One end of each pixel drive line 46 is connected to the output end of the vertical drive unit 42 corresponding to the respective rows." and see at least [0106] Fig. 16 is a diagram in which the foreground object 101 and the background object 102 are represented by the pixels corresponding to the image shown in Fig. 14.") a position sensing section that senses an image-formation position of the laser beam on the captured image; and (see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element.") a pixel column changing section that selects a different plurality of pixel columns such that the image-formation position is included in the selected plurality of pixel columns. (see at least [0038]; "Specifically, the column processing unit 43 performs at least a denoising process such as a correlated double sampling (CDS) process, for example, as the signal processing. Through this correlated double sampling performed by the column processing unit 43, reset noise and the fixed pattern noise unique to the pixels, such as a threshold variation among amplification transistors, are removed. Note that the column processing unit 43 can be made not only to perform the denoising process but also to have an analog-digital (AD) conversion function, for example, and output signal levels as digital signals." and see at least [0039]; "The horizontal drive unit 44 is formed with a shift register, an address decoder, and the like, and sequentially selects the unit circuits corresponding to the pixel columns of the column processing unit 43. As a result of this selective scanning by the horizontal drive unit 44, the pixel signals subjected to the signal processing by the column processing unit 43 are sequentially output to the signal processing unit 48.").
Regarding claim 2, Fujita discloses The non-contact probe according to claim 1, wherein the pixel column changing section selects a different plurality of pixel columns such that the image-formation position is positioned at a center of the selected plurality of pixel columns in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to a pixel column direction. (see at least Figure 21 and see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element." and see at least [0038]; "Specifically, the column processing unit 43 performs at least a denoising process such as a correlated double sampling (CDS) process, for example, as the signal processing. Through this correlated double sampling performed by the column processing unit 43, reset noise and the fixed pattern noise unique to the pixels, such as a threshold variation among amplification transistors, are removed. Note that the column processing unit 43 can be made not only to perform the denoising process but also to have an analog-digital (AD) conversion function, for example, and output signal levels as digital signals." and see at least [0039]; "The horizontal drive unit 44 is formed with a shift register, an address decoder, and the like, and sequentially selects the unit circuits corresponding to the pixel columns of the column processing unit 43. As a result of this selective scanning by the horizontal drive unit 44, the pixel signals subjected to the signal processing by the column processing unit 43 are sequentially output to the signal processing unit 48.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita and Nahum et al. (US-20100145650-A1; hereinafter Nahum).
Regarding claim 3, Fujita discloses [Note: what Fujita fails to disclose is strike-through] The non-contact probe according to claim 1, further comprising a (see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element." and see at least [0032]; "The signal processing unit 13 functions as a calculation unit that calculates the distance (depth value) from the distance measuring device 10 to an object, on the basis of a detection signal (pixel data) supplied from the light receiving unit 12, for example. The signal processing unit 13 generates a depth map in which the depth value (depth information) is stored as the pixel value of each pixel 50 (Fig. 2) of the light receiving unit 12, and outputs the depth map to the filter unit 16. The signal processing unit 13 also calculates the confidence of the depth value calculated with respect to each pixel 50 of the light receiving unit 12, generates a confidence map storing the confidence (luminance information) as the pixel value of each pixel 50 of the light receiving unit 12, and outputs the confidence map to the filter unit 16.").
However, Fujita does not explicitly teach a calibration amount. Instead, Fujita teaches a calculating section to calculate distance to a measurement target object.
Fujita discloses a method to calculate distance to an object and Nahum is directed at utilizing sensors for calibration. Nahum teaches:
Calibration (see at least [Page 2, lines 13-17/ Paragraph 0004]; "An important issue with chromatic point sensors is the stability of their components relative to their calibration. Chromatic point sensors provide very high resolution and accuracy (e.g., sub-micron resolution and accuracy) based on distance calibration data that correlates known measurement distances with the resulting dominant wavelength position coordinate along the array.").
Both Fujita and Nahum can measure distances and evaluate data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Fujita to include sensors as taught by Nahum. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include chromatic point sensors to the sensor unit to increase accuracy in distance measuring but also would include a calibration dataset along with the sensors where the dataset would correlate to known measurements. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from both prior arts.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 contains analogous limitations to claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita and Kanev et al. (US- 20210382108-A1; hereinafter Kanev).
Regarding claim 5, Fujita discloses [Note: what Fujita fails to disclose is strike-through] The non-contact probe according to claim 1, further comprising a (see at least Figure 21 and see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element." and see at least [0038]; "Specifically, the column processing unit 43 performs at least a denoising process such as a correlated double sampling (CDS) process, for example, as the signal processing. Through this correlated double sampling performed by the column processing unit 43, reset noise and the fixed pattern noise unique to the pixels, such as a threshold variation among amplification transistors, are removed. Note that the column processing unit 43 can be made not only to perform the denoising process but also to have an analog-digital (AD) conversion function, for example, and output signal levels as digital signals." and see at least [0039]; "The horizontal drive unit 44 is formed with a shift register, an address decoder, and the like, and sequentially selects the unit circuits corresponding to the pixel columns of the column processing unit 43. As a result of this selective scanning by the horizontal drive unit 44, the pixel signals subjected to the signal processing by the column processing unit 43 are sequentially output to the signal processing unit 48.").
However, Fujita does not explicitly teach temperature assessing device/sensor nor measuring the external temperature increasing/decreasing. Instead, Fujita teaches a pixel column and image-formation position.
Fujita discloses a units that utilize sensors and column processing and Kanev is directed at using a device to measure and assess temperature changes. Kanev teaches:
Temperature assessing device (see at least [0030]; "Reference is made to Fig. 3. Fig. 3 is a graphic view of a first image M1 captured by the image taking device 150 of Fig. 1, in which the device under test (the chuck 110) is at the first temperature T1." and see at least [0032]; "(4) Changing the first temperature T1 of the device under test (the chuck 110) to a second temperature T2 (Step 304). In practical applications, the second temperature T2 of the device under test (the chuck 110) is either increased or decreased relative to the first temperature T1. For example, the second temperature T2 can be as high as 300 degrees or as low as -60 degrees, depending on the actual situations. However, this does not intend to limit the present disclosure.").
Both Fujita and Kanev can measure and record data changes. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Fujita to include a temperature measuring device as taught by Kanev. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a device that could measure temperature differences to the sensor unit in Fujita and gauge the effects the temperatures have on the readings of the sensor unit. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from both prior arts.
Regarding claim 6, Fujita discloses [Note: what Fujita fails to disclose is strike-through] The non-contact probe according to claim 5, (see at least Figure 21 and see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element." and see at least [0038]; "Specifically, the column processing unit 43 performs at least a denoising process such as a correlated double sampling (CDS) process, for example, as the signal processing. Through this correlated double sampling performed by the column processing unit 43, reset noise and the fixed pattern noise unique to the pixels, such as a threshold variation among amplification transistors, are removed. Note that the column processing unit 43 can be made not only to perform the denoising process but also to have an analog-digital (AD) conversion function, for example, and output signal levels as digital signals." and see at least [0039]; "The horizontal drive unit 44 is formed with a shift register, an address decoder, and the like, and sequentially selects the unit circuits corresponding to the pixel columns of the column processing unit 43. As a result of this selective scanning by the horizontal drive unit 44, the pixel signals subjected to the signal processing by the column processing unit 43 are sequentially output to the signal processing unit 48.").
However, Fujita does not explicitly teach temperature assessing device/sensor nor measuring the external temperature increasing/decreasing. Instead, Fujita teaches a pixel column and image-formation position.
Fujita discloses a units that utilize sensors and column processing and Kanev is directed at using a device to measure and assess temperature changes. Kanev teaches:
Temperature assessing device (see at least [0030]; "Reference is made to Fig. 3. Fig. 3 is a graphic view of a first image M1 captured by the image taking device 150 of Fig. 1, in which the device under test (the chuck 110) is at the first temperature T1." and see at least [0032]; "(4) Changing the first temperature T1 of the device under test (the chuck 110) to a second temperature T2 (Step 304). In practical applications, the second temperature T2 of the device under test (the chuck 110) is either increased or decreased relative to the first temperature T1. For example, the second temperature T2 can be as high as 300 degrees or as low as -60 degrees, depending on the actual situations. However, this does not intend to limit the present disclosure.").
Both Fujita and Kanev can measure and record data changes. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Fujita to include a temperature measuring device as taught by Kanev. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a device that could measure temperature differences to the sensor unit in Fujita and gauge the effects the temperatures have on the readings of the sensor unit. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from both prior arts.
Claims 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita, Nahum, and Kanev.
Regarding claim 7, Fujita discloses [Note: what Fujita fails to disclose is strike-through] The non-contact probe according to claim 6, (see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element.").
However, Fujita does not explicitly teach temperature assessing device/sensor, measuring the external temperature increasing/decreasing nor does not teach a calibration amount. Instead, Fujita teaches an image-formation position.
Fujita discloses a units that utilize sensors and image-formation positioning and Nahum is directed at utilizing sensors for calibration and Kanev is directed at using a device to measure and assess temperature changes. Nahum and Kanev teach:
Nahum teaches a temperature assessing device (see at least [0030]; "Reference is made to Fig. 3. Fig. 3 is a graphic view of a first image M1 captured by the image taking device 150 of Fig. 1, in which the device under test (the chuck 110) is at the first temperature T1." and see at least [0032]; "(4) Changing the first temperature T1 of the device under test (the chuck 110) to a second temperature T2 (Step 304). In practical applications, the second temperature T2 of the device under test (the chuck 110) is either increased or decreased relative to the first temperature T1. For example, the second temperature T2 can be as high as 300 degrees or as low as -60 degrees, depending on the actual situations. However, this does not intend to limit the present disclosure.").
Kanev teaches calibration (see at least [Page 2, lines 13-17/ Paragraph 0004]; "An important issue with chromatic point sensors is the stability of their components relative to their calibration. Chromatic point sensors provide very high resolution and accuracy (e.g., sub-micron resolution and accuracy) based on distance calibration data that correlates known measurement distances with the resulting dominant wavelength position coordinate along the array.").
Collectively, Fujita, Nahum, and Kanev can measure data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Fujita to add devices and sensors as taught by both Nahum and Kanev. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a device that could measure temperature differences to the sensor unit in Fujita and gauge the effects the temperatures have on the readings of the sensor unit. Additionally, including chromatic point sensors to the sensor unit to increase accuracy in distance measuring but also would include a calibration dataset along with the sensors where the dataset would correlate to known measurements. Fujita with both sets of device and sensors combined would be able to also have a set of temperature calibration data included that would be used similarly to how the original chromatic point sensors with their calibration set data not only for distance but also temperature as well. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from all prior arts mentioned in this rejection.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 contains analogous limitations to claim 7 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Fujita discloses [Note: what Fujita fails to disclose is strike-through] The non-contact probe according to claim 7, further comprising a distance calculating section that (see at least [0206]; "The sensor unit 208 senses velocity, acceleration, proximity, and the like, and the touch panel 209 acquires a touch operation performed by the user on an operation screen displayed on the display 204." and see at least [0357]; "Alternatively, in this case, laser light from each of the RGB laser light sources may be emitted onto the current observation target in a time-division manner, and driving of the imaging element of the camera head 11102 may be controlled in synchronization with the timing of the light emission. Thus, images corresponding to the respective RGB colors can be captured in a time-division manner. According to the method, a color image can be obtained without any color filter provided in the imaging element." and see at least [0032]; "The signal processing unit 13 functions as a calculation unit that calculates the distance (depth value) from the distance measuring device 10 to an object, on the basis of a detection signal (pixel data) supplied from the light receiving unit 12, for example. The signal processing unit 13 generates a depth map in which the depth value (depth information) is stored as the pixel value of each pixel 50 (Fig. 2) of the light receiving unit 12, and outputs the depth map to the filter unit 16. The signal processing unit 13 also calculates the confidence of the depth value calculated with respect to each pixel 50 of the light receiving unit 12, generates a confidence map storing the confidence (luminance information) as the pixel value of each pixel 50 of the light receiving unit 12, and outputs the confidence map to the filter unit 16.").
However, Fujita does not explicitly teach gauging temperature nor calibration. Instead, Fujita teaches distance calculating.
Fujita discloses a units that utilize sensors and distance calculation and Nahum is directed at utilizing sensors for calibration and Kanev is directed at using a device to measure and assess temperature changes. Nahum and Kanev teach:
Nahum teaches a temperature assessing device (see at least [0030]; "Reference is made to Fig. 3. Fig. 3 is a graphic view of a first image M1 captured by the image taking device 150 of Fig. 1, in which the device under test (the chuck 110) is at the first temperature T1." and see at least [0032]; "(4) Changing the first temperature T1 of the device under test (the chuck 110) to a second temperature T2 (Step 304). In practical applications, the second temperature T2 of the device under test (the chuck 110) is either increased or decreased relative to the first temperature T1. For example, the second temperature T2 can be as high as 300 degrees or as low as -60 degrees, depending on the actual situations. However, this does not intend to limit the present disclosure.").
Kanev teaches calibration (see at least [Page 2, lines 13-17/ Paragraph 0004]; "An important issue with chromatic point sensors is the stability of their components relative to their calibration. Chromatic point sensors provide very high resolution and accuracy (e.g., sub-micron resolution and accuracy) based on distance calibration data that correlates known measurement distances with the resulting dominant wavelength position coordinate along the array.").
Collectively, Fujita, Nahum, and Kanev can measure data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Fujita to add devices and sensors as taught by both Nahum and Kanev. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a device that could measure temperature differences to the sensor unit in Fujita and gauge the effects the temperatures have on the readings of the sensor unit. Additionally, including chromatic point sensors to the sensor unit to increase accuracy in distance measuring but also would include a calibration dataset along with the sensors where the dataset would correlate to known measurements. Fujita with both sets of device and sensors combined would be able to also have a set of temperature calibration data included that would be used similarly to how the original chromatic point sensors with their calibration set data not only for distance but also temperature as well. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from all prior arts mentioned in this rejection.
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648