DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2026, 04/10/2025 and 09/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202341073254, filed on 10/27/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al [US 2020/0157682 A1] in view of Lubomirsky [US 2018/0096819 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Sung discloses a dual-channel showerhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 150), comprising:
a first plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 156) defining two or more channels (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 50); and
a second plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 152 and 154) comprising a bottom surface (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 40, 60 and 70) and defining a plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]), wherein:
each of the two or more channels (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 50) is fluidly coupled with at least one of the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]) to define a fluid path extending from the first plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 156) of the showerhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 152) through the bottom surface of the showerhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 152) and the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]) is arranged in a series of concentric rings about a center of the bottom surface (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 60 and 70), the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]) further comprising: a first subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]), wherein each aperture of the first subset of apertures extends through the first plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 156) and the bottom surface; and (see Paragraph [0030-32] and figure 1-3, 5: the first distribution plate 154) disposed on a showerhead (152), and the upper passages (50) connected 10 open communication with the lower pages (40))
Sung does not specify a second subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures, wherein each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a first concentric ring of the series of concentric rings has a first opening area, and each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a second concentric ring has a second opening area smaller than the first opening area, such that a flow conductance of the first concentric ring is within 5% of the second concentric ring, and wherein the second concentric ring is radially outward of the first concentric ring.
Lubomirsky discloses a second subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures, wherein each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a first concentric ring of the series of concentric rings has a first opening area, and each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a second concentric ring has a second opening area smaller than the first opening area, such that a flow conductance of the first concentric ring is within 5% of the second concentric ring, and wherein the second concentric ring is radially outward of the first concentric ring (see paragraph [0040-42] and figures 2-4: a first feed gas is flowed directly into the first chamber region (284) via apertures (283) which are isolated from the second chamber region (281) as denoted by dashed line (223) and second feed gas source coupled with a gas inlet (276) such via dashed line (224)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lubomirsky with combination Sun to discloses or teach a second subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures, wherein each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a first concentric ring of the series of concentric rings has a first opening area, and each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a second concentric ring has a second opening area smaller than the first opening area, such that a flow conductance of the first concentric ring is within 5% of the second concentric ring, and wherein the second concentric ring is radially outward of the first concentric ring for purpose of provide an improved ground path that may limit plasma leakage as disclosed by Lubomirsky (Paragraph [0012])
In regards to claim 2. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein each ring within the series of concentric rings is arranged substantially hexagonally (Sung: Fig. 1-3, and 5 & Paragraph [0022] the arrangement of the injection holes (30) correspond to the shape of a substrate W)
In regards to claim 3. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein each ring within the series of concentric rings is arranged substantially annularly (Sun: Fig. 1-3, and 5 & Paragraph [0022] the arrangement of the injection holes (30) correspond to the shape of a substrate W)
In regards to claim 4. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein the first plate defines a recess and the second plate is disposed within the recess (see Sun paragraphs [0030-33] and figures 1-3 and 5: the second distribution plate (156) has a plurality of upper passages (50J; and the first distribution plate (154 J has a plurality of lower passages (40)).
In regards to claim 8. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein a diameter of each aperture of the second subset of apertures decreases as a distance from the center of the bottom surface increases (see Sun paragraph [0030] and Fig. 1-3 and 5 the lower passages (40) include lower grooves (46) and the lower holes (48) open to the lower grooves (46) at the bottom of the lower grooves (46))
In regards to claim 9. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein a diameter of each of the second subset of apertures are within a range of 10 mm to 40 mm, inclusive (see Sun paragraph [0030] and Fig. 1-3 and 5 the lower passages (40) include lower grooves (46) and the lower holes (48) open to the lower grooves ( 46) at the bottom of the lower grooves (46)).
In regards to claim 10. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein a total opening area of each concentric ring of apertures is defined by a total of the opening areas of each of the second subset of apertures within the respective concentric ring, and wherein the total opening area of each respective concentric ring is substantially equal (see Sun paragraph [0030] and figures 1-3, 5: the first distribution plate (154) has the lower passages (40) including the lower groove; (46) and the lower holes (48)).
In regards to claim 11. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, each of the first subset of apertures and each of the second subset of apertures are generally cylindrical (see Sun paragraphs [0030-37] and figures 1-3 and 5: lower holes (60) of a lower plate (155) on the first distribution plate ( 154) and intermediate holes (70) of intermediate plate (157) are aligned with the lower holes (48) of the distribution plate (154))
In regards to claim 12. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1, wherein each aperture of the plurality of apertures comprises a square shape (see Sun paragraphs [0030-37] and figures 1-3 and 5: lower holes (60) of a lower plate (155) on the first distribution plate ( 154) and intermediate holes (70) of intermediate plate (157) are aligned with the lower holes (48) of the distribution plate (154))
In regards to claim 13. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1 wherein the first subset of apertures comprises a uniform diameter (Sun: Paragraph [0036-37] and figures 1-3 and 5, the intermediate holes (70) are connected to the lower holes (60)).
In regards to claim 14. Sun discloses a semiconductor processing system (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 100) comprising:
a processing chamber (Fig. 1, 110); and
a dual-channel showerhead (Fig. 1, 152) within the processing chamber (Fig. 1, 110), further comprising:
a first plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 156) defining two or more channels (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 50); and
a second plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 152 and 154) comprising a bottom surface (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 40, 60 and 70) and defining a plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]), wherein:
each of the two or more channels (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 50) is fluidly coupled with at least one of the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]) to define a fluid path extending from the first plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 156) of the dual-channel showerhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 152) through the bottom surface of the dual-channel showerhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 152); and
the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]) is arranged in a series of concentric rings about a center of the bottom surface (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 60 and 70), the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]) further comprising: a first subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures (Paragraph [0030-37]), wherein each aperture of the first subset of apertures extends through the first plate (Fig. 1-3 and 5, 156) and the bottom surface; and (see Paragraph [0030-32] and figure 1-3, 5: the first distribution plate 154) disposed on a showerhead (152), and the upper passages (50) connected 10 open communication with the lower pages (40))
Sung does not specify a second subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures, wherein each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a first concentric ring of the series of concentric rings has a first opening area, and each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a second concentric ring has a second opening area smaller than the first opening area, such that a flow conductance of the first concentric ring is within 5% of the second concentric ring, and wherein the second concentric ring is radially outward of the first concentric ring.
Lubomirsky discloses a second subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures, wherein each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a first concentric ring of the series of concentric rings has a first opening area, and each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a second concentric ring has a second opening area smaller than the first opening area, such that a flow conductance of the first concentric ring is within 5% of the second concentric ring, and wherein the second concentric ring is radially outward of the first concentric ring (see paragraph [0040-42] and figures 2-4: a first feed gas is flowed directly into the first chamber region (284) via apertures (283) which are isolated from the second chamber region (281) as denoted by dashed line (223) and second feed gas source coupled with a gas inlet (276) such via dashed line (224)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lubomirsky with combination Sun to discloses or teach a second subset of apertures of the plurality of apertures, wherein each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a first concentric ring of the series of concentric rings has a first opening area, and each aperture of the second subset of apertures in a second concentric ring has a second opening area smaller than the first opening area, such that a flow conductance of the first concentric ring is within 5% of the second concentric ring, and wherein the second concentric ring is radially outward of the first concentric ring for purpose of provide an improved ground path that may limit plasma leakage as disclosed by Lubomirsky (Paragraph [0012])
In regards to claim 15. Sun discloses a method of processing a substrate (Fig. 1, 100), comprising:
providing a first gas (Fig. 1-3, 10) into a processing chamber through a first subset of apertures (Fig. 1-3, 50) of a showerhead (Fig. 1-3, 120 & Paragraph [0014 & 0030-33 and 0059]);
depositing a material on a substrate (Fig. 1-3, W) positioned within the processing chamber (Fig. 1-3, 110 & Paragraph [0014 & 0030-33 and 0059])).
Sung does not specify providing a second gas into the processing chamber through a second subset of apertures of the showerhead, the second subset of apertures being fluidly connected to a gas inlet via at least one of a channel or a plenum formed in the showerhead, wherein a flow conductance of the gas inlet is the same as the flow conductance of the second subset of apertures; and
Lubomirsky discloses providing a second gas into the processing chamber through a second subset of apertures of the showerhead, the second subset of apertures being fluidly connected to a gas inlet via at least one of a channel or a plenum formed in the showerhead, wherein a flow conductance of the gas inlet is the same as the flow conductance of the second subset of apertures; (see paragraph [0040-42 and Fig. 2-4: providing a first feed gas flowed directly into the first chamber region (284) via apertures (283))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lubomirsky with combination Sun to discloses or teach providing a second gas into the processing chamber through a second subset of apertures of the showerhead, the second subset of apertures being fluidly connected to a gas inlet via at least one of a channel or a plenum formed in the showerhead, wherein a flow conductance of the gas inlet is the same as the flow conductance of the second subset of apertures for purpose of provide an improved ground path that may limit plasma leakage as disclosed by Lubomirsky (Paragraph [0012])
In regards to claim 17. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the method of claim 15, wherein a saturation of at least the second gas in the processing chamber is reached within a range of 0.1 to 0.4 seconds, inclusive (see Lubomirsky paragraphs [0041-0042] and figures 2-4: the second feed gas within the second chamber region (281)).
In regards to claim 18. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the method of claim 17, wherein a radial uniformity associated with the saturation is reached within a range of 0.1 to 0.4 seconds, inclusive (see Sun paragraph [0031] and figures 1-3, 5: the second lower grooves (44) include a lower radially outer groove (45 land a lower radially outermost groove (47)).
In regards to claim 19. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the method of claim 15, wherein a diameter of each of the second subset of apertures are within a range of 10 mm to 60 mm, inclusive (see Sun paragraphs [0030-0037] and figure 1-3, 5: the lower passages (40) include lower grooves 146), lower hole& (48) open to the lower grooves (46) at the bottom of the lower groove (46), the second upper passages (54) include an upper radially outer passage (55i and an upper radially outermost passage (57), the second lower holes; (64) include lower radially outer holes (65) and lower radially ou1ennos1 holes (67), and the second in1ennedia1e holes (74) include intermediate radially outer holes 05 J and in1em1ediate radially outermost holes (77))
In regards to claim 20. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the method of claim 15, wherein each of the first subset of apertures is fluidly connected to a first gas line (see Sun paragraphs [0038-39] and figures 1-3. 5: the upper grooves (80) are connected to the intermediate holes (70)).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al [US 2020/0157682 A1] in view of Lubomirsky [US 2018/0096819 A1] and further in view of Choi et al [US 2005/0183826 A1].
In regards to claim 5. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 1,
Sun in view of Lubomirsky does not specify wherein a gas inlet comprises an opening formed on a lateral surface of the first plate.
Choi discloses wherein a gas inlet comprises an opening formed on a lateral surface of the first plate. wherein a gas inlet comprises an opening formed on a lateral surface of the first plate. (see paragraphs [0054-61] and figures 2-7: a first gas supply line (226) having tubular shape is inserted into a first horizontal hole (224) and a second gas supply line (236) b inserted into corresponding ones of second horizontal holes (234))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Choi with Sun in view of Lubomirsky to discloses or teach wherein a gas inlet comprises an opening formed on a lateral surface of the first plate for purpose of improve gas distribution processing as disclosed by Choi (Paragraph [0113])
In regards to claim 6. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 5, wherein the second plate defines a plenum that fluidly couples the gas inlet with each aperture of the second subset of apertures (see Lubomirsky paragraph [0075] and figure 7 A: a volume (680) of the showerhead (600) is fluidly accessible from the apertures (670)).
In regards to claim 7. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the dual-channel showerhead of claim 6, wherein a total opening area of the second subset of apertures is substantially equal to an area of an inlet (see Sun paragraph [0030] and Figures 1-3, 5: first distribution plate (154 J has a plurality of lower passages (40))
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al [US 2020/0157682 A1] in view of Lubomirsky [US 2018/0096819 A1] and further in view of Lubomirsky [2] et al [US 2009/0277587 A1]
In regards to claim 16. Sun in view of Lubomirsky discloses the method of claim 15,
Sun in view of Lubomirsky wherein the first gas comprises oxygen and the second gas comprises bis(diethylamino)silane
Lubomirsky [2] discloses wherein the first gas comprises oxygen and the second gas comprises bis(diethylamino)silane (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0035] a process gas containing oxygen, hydrogen and/or nitrogen (e.g. oxygen (02) and silane is introduced through a gas inlet assembly (225) into a fast plasma region (215))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lubomirsky [2] with combination Sun in view of Lubomirsky to discloses or teach wherein the first gas comprises oxygen and the second gas comprises bis(diethylamino)silane for purpose of treatment gas is delivered through showerhead, after being excited in a remote plasma or a plasma in the first plasma region, to the second plasma region after a chamber maintenance procedure (clean and/or season) to remove residual fluorine from the interior of the processing chamber as disclosed by Lubomirsky [2] (Paragraph [0013])
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844