Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 06/30/2026, in which: claims 1, 7, 9, 14, 18, 20, and 21 are amended; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-24 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20210126056 and US 20150090985.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view of Park et al, US 20150090985.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches : A display device comprising: a first substrate including a first light emitting area(Fig 3, #LA1), a second light emitting area(#LA2), and a third light emitting area(#LA3) that are configured to emit light of different colors(Different colors light may be generated [0048]), respectively; a light emitting element on the first substrate and overlapping each of the first, second, and third light emitting areas(#L1 in each light emitting area); a bank layer on the light emitting element and defining a first opening overlapping the first light emitting area(#152), a second opening overlapping the second light emitting area, and a third opening overlapping the third light emitting area(Opening defined by #150 in #BA); and an optical filter filling the first, second, and third openings(#232, #236, and #234).
Kim teaches : Opening may have various planar shapes (Fig. 2, #LA1, LA2, and #LA3 [0053]).
Kim does not teach : wherein each of the first opening and the third opening has a rectangular planar shape and the second opening has an "L" shape planar shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches : wherein each of the first opening and the third opening has a rectangular planar shape and the second opening has an "L" shape planar shape(Fig. 22, #R and #G is rectangular and #B is l-shaped).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to apply the teachings of Park to Kim to modify the shape of openings in the pixel definition layer, since it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Park teaches : wherein the second opening has a planar shape surrounding at least a part of the third opening(#B overlapping #G).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Park teaches : wherein the second opening has an "L" shaped planar shape rotated clockwise by 90 degrees(Fig. 23, #B is an l-shape rotated 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Park teaches : wherein the first, second, and third openings at least partially overlap each other in a first direction (Fig. 22, #R, #B, and #G overlaps in the x-direction) and the third opening at least partially overlaps with the second opening in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction(#B overlaps #G in the y-direction).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 4.
Park teaches : wherein the second opening has a first area and a second area protruding from the first area in a direction opposite to the second direction(Fig. 22, #B is an L-shape), and the third opening partially overlaps the first area in the second direction and partially overlaps the second area in the first direction(#G overlaps #B in the x and y direction).
Regarding claim 6, The display device of claim 4.
Kim teaches : wherein the first light emitting area, the second light emitting area, and the third light emitting area are repeatedly arranged in an order of the first light emitting area, the second light emitting area, and the third light emitting area along the first direction(Fig. 3, #LA1, #LA2, and #LA3 arranged in the x-direction).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Kim teaches : wherein the first light emitting area has a same planar shape as the first opening, the second light emitting area has a same planar shape as the second opening, and the third light emitting area has a same planar shape as the third opening(Fig. 3, #LA1, #LA2, #LA3 shown to be directly above where #L1 is emitted).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Kim teaches : wherein the first light emitting area is configured to emit red light, the second light emitting area is configured to emit green light, and the third light emitting area is configured to emit blue light(Light emitting areas may emit red, blue and green [0013, 0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 9, wherein an area of the first light emitting area is greater than or equal to an area of the second light emitting area and the area of the second light emitting area is greater than an area of the third light emitting area(Fig. 2, #LA1 larger than #LA3 and #LA3 larger than #LA2 [0054]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Kim teaches : wherein the optical filter includes: a first color conversion layer filling the first opening and including quantum dot(Fig. 15, #232c); a second color conversion layer filling the second opening and including quantum dot(#234c); and a light transmission layer filling the third opening(#246).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view of Park et al, US 20150090985 in further view of Shin et al, US 20210391395.
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Kim as modified by Park does not disclose : wherein a width of the bank layer between two adjacent openings among the first, second, and third openings is 5 micrometers (um) to 25um.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches : wherein a width of the bank layer between two adjacent openings among the first, second, and third openings is 5 micrometers (um) to 25um(Fig. 1, width of bank is 10um [0283]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to apply the teachings of Shin to Kim and Park to modify the size of the width of a bank between opening, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view of Park et al, US 20150090985 in further view of Lee, US 20210359011.
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Park discloses : The display device of claim 11.
Kim as modified by Park does not disclose : further comprising: a second substrate on the optical filter; a first color filter between the second substrate and the first color conversion layer, and overlapping the first light emitting area; a second color filter between the second substrate and the second color conversion layer, and overlapping the second light emitting area; and a third color filter between the second substrate and the light transmission layer, and overlapping the second light emitting area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches : further comprising: a second substrate on the optical filter(Fig. 4, #210); a first color filter between the second substrate and the first color conversion layer(#CFL_3), and overlapping the first light emitting area(#CFL_3 overlapping #EMA3); a second color filter between the second substrate and the second color conversion layer(#CFL_2), and overlapping the second light emitting area(#CFL_2 overlapping #EMA2); and a third color filter between the second substrate and the light transmission layer, and overlapping the second light emitting area(CFL_1 overlapping #EMA1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Lee to Kim and Park to include separate color filters in different areas to selectively transmit light of a specific color (Lee [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Park and Lee discloses : The display device of claim 12.
Lee teaches : wherein a (1-1)th opening overlapping the second light emitting area and a (2-1)th opening overlapping the third light emitting area are defined in the first color filter(Fig. 4, Opening defined in #CFL_3 in #EMA1 and #EMA2), a (1-2)th opening exposing a part of an upper surface of the first color filter in the first light emitting area and a (2-2)th opening connected to the (2-1)th opening are defined in the second color filter(Opening defined in #CFL_2 in #CFL_1 and #CFL_3), and a (1-3)th opening connected to the (1-1)th opening and a (2-3)th opening exposing a part of an upper surface of the second color filter in second light emitting area defined in the third color filter(Opening defined in #CFL_1 and #CFL_3).
Claim(s) 14-16, 18, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view Sonoda et al, US 20230134804.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses : A display device comprising: a first substrate including a first light emitting area, a second light emitting area, and a third light emitting area that are configured to emit light of different colors, respectively(Fig. 15, #LA1, #LA2, #LA3 emits light [0048]); a light emitting element on the first substrate and overlapping each of the first, second, and third light emitting areas(#L1 under each light emitting area); a bank layer on the light emitting element and defining a first opening overlapping the first light emitting area, a second opening overlapping the second light emitting area, and a third opening overlapping the third light emitting area(#150 defining opening in #BA); and an optical filter filling the first, second, and third openings(#242 and #246 in openings in #LA1, #LA2, and #LA3).
Kim teaches : Opening may have various planar shapes (Fig. 2, #LA1, LA2, and #LA3 [0053]).
Kim does not disclose : wherein the third opening has a rectangular planar shape and each of the first opening and the second opening has an "L" shaped planar, the first opening and the second opening at least partially overlapping each other in both a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first direction extending parallel to at least one edge of the first opening or the second opening.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sonoda teaches : wherein the third opening has a rectangular planar shape and each of the first opening and the second opening has an "L" shaped planar, the first opening and the second opening at least partially overlapping each other in both a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first direction extending parallel to at least one edge of the first opening or the second opening(Fig. 11, #24g is rectangular with #34b and #34r l-shaped. #34b and #34r overlapping each other in the x and y direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Sonoda to Kim to have openings of various shapes to improve display quality (Sonoda [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Sonoda teaches : wherein the first opening has a planar shape surrounding at least a part of the second opening and the second opening has a planar shape surrounding at least a part of the first opening(Fig. 11, #34b and #34r surround each other).
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Sonoda teaches : wherein the second opening has an "L" shaped planar shape rotated by 180 degrees in a counterclockwise direction or a clockwise direction(#Fig. 11, #34b is #34r rotated 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Sonoda teaches : wherein the first opening at least partially overlaps the[[,]] second opening[[,]] and the third opening(#24g, #34r, and 34b overlapping in the x direction).
Regarding claim 20, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Kim teaches : wherein the first light emitting area has a same planar shape as the first opening, the second light emitting area has a same planar shape as the second opening, and the third light emitting area has a same planar shape as the third opening(Fig. 3, #LA1, #LA2, #LA3 shown to be directly above where #L1 is emitted).
Regarding claim 21, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Kim teaches : wherein the first light emitting area is configured to emit red light, the second light emitting area is configured to emit green light, and the third light emitting area is configured to emit blue light(#LA1, #LA2, and #LA3 configured to emit red, blue, and green [0048-0051]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 21.
Kim teaches : wherein an area of the first light emitting area is greater than or equal to an area of the second light emitting area and the area of the second light emitting area is greater than an area of the third light emitting area(Fig. 2, #LA1 greater in area than #LA3 and #LA3 greater in area than #LA2 [0054]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Kim teaches : wherein the optical filter includes: a first color conversion layer filling the first opening and including quantum dot; a second color conversion layer filling the second opening and including quantum dot; and a light transmission layer filling the third opening(Fig. 15, #232c in #LA1, #234c in #LA3, and #246 in #LA2).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view Sonoda et al, US 20230134804 in further view of Hsin et al, US 20180175120.
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 14.
Kim as modified by Sonoda does not disclose : wherein the first opening has an "L" shaped planar shape rotated 90 degrees clockwise and the second opening has an "L" shaped planar shape rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsin teaches : wherein the first opening has an “L” shaped planar shape rotated 90 degrees clockwise(Fig. 4, #R) and the second opening has an “L” shaped planar shape rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise direction(#G).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to apply the teachings of Hsin to Kim and Sonoda to modify the shape of opening, since it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view Sonoda et al, US 20230134804 in further view of Hsiao et al, US 20100284052.
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified by Hsiao discloses : The display device of claim 18.
Kim as modified by Hsiao does not disclose : wherein the first and second light emitting areas are repeatedly arranged along the second direction in odd-numbered columns and the third light emitting area is repeatedly arranged along the second direction in even-numbered columns.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsiao discloses : wherein the first and second light emitting areas are repeatedly arranged along the second direction in odd-numbered columns and the third light emitting area is repeatedly arranged along the second direction in even-numbered columns(Fig. 8, circle and rectangle in odd column and triangle in even column).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Hsiao to Shin, Kwak, and Hsin to improve the quality of a display device with openings (Hsiao [0052]).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20210126056 in view Sonoda et al, US 20230134804 in further view of Lee, US 20210359011.
Regarding claim 24, Kim as modified by Sonoda discloses : The display device of claim 23.
Kim as modified by Sonoda does not disclose : further comprising: a second substrate on the optical filter; a first color filter between the second substrate and the first color conversion layer, and overlapping the first light emitting area; a second color filter between the second substrate and the second color conversion layer, and overlapping the second light emitting area; and a third color filter between the second substrate and the light transmission layer, and overlapping the second light emitting area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches : further comprising: a second substrate on the optical filter(Fig. 4, #210); a first color filter between the second substrate and the first color conversion layer(#CFL_3), and overlapping the first light emitting area(#CFL_3 overlapping #EMA3); a second color filter between the second substrate and the second color conversion layer(#CFL_2), and overlapping the second light emitting area(#CFL_2 overlapping #EMA2); and a third color filter between the second substrate and the light transmission layer, and overlapping the second light emitting area(CFL_1 overlapping #EMA1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Lee to Kim and Sonoda to include separate color filters in different areas to selectively transmit light of a specific color (Lee [0072]).
Conclusion
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897