DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the RCE and amendments filed on 05/28/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1, 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the art rejections have been considered and appear to be directed solely to the instant amendments to the claims. Applicant appears to make the general allegation that the amendments overcome the art of record without specifically pointing out how the amendments distinguish themselves from the art of record. The examiner is unpersuaded that the amendments overcome the previously applied art as both McGavran and Bell explicitly teach having multiple layers that each provide data to a specific process of the mapping system such as overall routing, lane specific data, traffic information, and localization data. Additionally the examiner has cited additional art that more closely matches the four processes 150a-d in applicants specification, however as the claims currently stand they are broader in scope and the additionally cited art does not need to be applied to the claims at this time. Accordingly, the claims are addressed in the body of the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-11, 14-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGavran et. al. (US 11.838.836), herein McGavran in view of Bell et. al. (CN 107430627), herein Bell.
Regarding claim 1:
McGavran teaches:
A system (a system for accessing and processing data including data associated with a vehicle map service [col 1, lines 16-17]) comprising:
a data storage having map data corresponding to a map stored thereon (The map data 124 can be associated with and/or include geographic data including one or more maps that are indexed according to geographic coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude, and/or altitude) of its constituent elements (e.g., locations). The map data associated with the remote map service system 120 can further include route data, geographic imagery, and/or data associated with various waypoints (e.g., addresses and/or geographic coordinates). [col 21, lines 42-50]), the map data being organized according to a plurality of data layers based at least on different types of map data (the vehicle map service data 400 includes a plurality of layers, examples of which may include a local coordinate system layer 402, a vehicle location layer 404, a road centerlines layer 406, a road graph layer 408, a lane graph layer 410, a plan layer 412, a road attributes layer 414, a lane attributes layer 416, a signs layer 418, a physical lane elements layer 420, a traffic control devices layer 422, a parking attributes layer 424, a landmarks layer 426, a live speeds layer 428, a hazards layer 430, and/or a live parking layer 432 [col 26, lines 43-52]) used by a plurality of processes of a processing system of a machine (a plurality of service systems (e.g., the vehicle map service system 114, the remote map service system 120, and/or the remote vehicle service system 130) can selectively subscribe to different layers (e.g., layers that include vehicle map service data that the respective vehicle map service client system will consume) [col 26, lines 62-67]) such that individual data layers respectively correspond to individual processes (vehicle map service data 400 can be executed or implemented on one or more computing devices or computing systems including, for example, the vehicle map service system 114, the remote map service system 120, and/or the remote vehicle service system 130. Further, one or more portions of the vehicle map service data 400 can be executed or implemented as an algorithm on the hardware components of the devices disclosed herein [col 26, lines 35-42]; a plurality of service systems (e.g., the vehicle map service system 114, the remote map service system 120, and/or the remote vehicle service system 130) can selectively subscribe to different layers (e.g., layers that include vehicle map service data that the respective vehicle map service client system will consume), ignoring layers that do not include required information. [col 26, lines 62-67] ) and are respectively organized to include types of map data used by their corresponding processes (vehicle map service data 400 includes a plurality of layers, examples of which may include a local coordinate system layer 402, a vehicle location layer 404, a road centerlines layer 406, a road graph layer 408, a lane graph layer 410, a plan layer 412, a road attributes layer 414, a lane attributes layer 416, a signs layer 418, a physical lane elements layer 420, a traffic control devices layer 422, a parking attributes layer 424, a landmarks layer 426, a live speeds layer 428, a hazards layer 430, and/or a live parking layer 432 [col 26, lines 43-52]), the plurality of processes configured to perform one or more operations associated with a navigation system using the map data (a vehicle map services application that can be used, for instance, to provide information and services including: destination search, route planning, turn-by-turn navigation, estimated time of arrival (ETA) information, traffic/incident information, voice integration, personalization and integration with voice command search, caching for offline data, software update support, and/or application programming interfaces (APIs) supporting third-party navigation applications [col 6, lines 46-53]),
Bell also teaches:
the map data being organized according to a plurality of data layers based at least on different types of map data (the layer priority ordering scheme can be specified using the following priority order processing to lower the set: (1) road; (2) the traffic data, (3) water, and/or other geographic features, (4) boundary, and (5) all of the other layers [page 4]) used by a plurality of processes of a processing system of a machine (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4])such that individual data layers respectively correspond to individual processes (processes for processing and presenting directions, traffic, and points of interest as described on at least page 4) and are respectively organized to include types of map data used by their corresponding processes (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image. [page 4]), the plurality of processes configured to perform one or more operations associated with a navigation system using the map data (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4]),
McGavran does not explicitly teach, however Bell teaches:
two or more individual processes of the plurality of processes (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4]) using different data layers of the plurality of data layers (the layer priority ordering scheme can be specified using the following priority order processing to lower the set: (1) road; (2) the traffic data, (3) water, and/or other geographic features, (4) boundary, and (5) all of the other layers [page 4]) and performing processing of the different data layers at different times (request 106 according to layer priority ordering scheme generating database query set of different layers of the map data and/or the ranking such that firstly transmitting inquiry related to the highest priority layer, then inquiring the related transmission layer, then with the second high priority transmission layer inquiry related to the third high priority, and so on [page 3]);
a computing system to cause timing of communication of individual data layers to the processing system based at least on different individual prioritizations associated with the individual data layers (request 106 according to layer priority ordering scheme generating database query set of different layers of the map data and/or the ranking such that firstly transmitting inquiry related to the highest priority layer, then inquiring the related transmission layer, then with the second high priority transmission layer inquiry related to the third high priority, and so on [page 3]), the different individual prioritizations being based at least on a timing of as to when processing of different data layers by different processes of the plurality of processes occur (see figs. 2-6; map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4]; examiner notes that the order of layer processing is based on the need of the user, in the case described on page 4 it is directions are most critical, then traffic, then points of interest.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran to include the teachings as taught by Bell with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Bell are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Bell also teaches the benefit of “the disclosed technology provides a map tool, according to the priority defined and/or the different layers of the map data set rendering to the display according to one or more threshold conditions. In another implementation, the map tool according to defined priority also request different layer sets of map data, and/or according to a defined priority level processing data from one or more data sources across a network. map tool allows the user to be presented with central aim is not related to (e.g., is not useful) data prior to presentation data is more likely associated with center of map request. Indeed, compared with other map system, the system more quickly and in a more logical manner of presenting to the user more relevant information, so that the user experience is not substantially delayed time, and provide a more pleasant and convenient integrated experience for the user. [Bell, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 2:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein at least one of the o individual prioritizations corresponds to a data size of corresponding layer data of the one or more individual data layers that is to be communicated to the processing system (In some embodiments determining the plurality of layers to which each of the plurality of client systems is subscribed is based at least in part on an amount of network bandwidth available to send or receive the vehicle map service data. For example, when network bandwidth has low availability the vehicle map service system can subscribe to layers that require less network bandwidth and/or subscribe to fewer layers. Alternatively, when network bandwidth has high availability the vehicle map service system can subscribe to layers that use more network bandwidth and/or subscribe to more layers. [col 18, lines 55-65]).
Regarding claim 3:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein a higher prioritization (the plurality of layers can be associated with a priority value (e.g., a numeric value) indicative of a priority of subscription among the plurality of layers. The priority of subscription can be determinative of a single layer of the plurality of layers to subscribe when there is a conflict between the vehicle map service data in two or more of the plurality of layers. For example, when two layers have conflicting information with respect to the location of a landmark, the vehicle will subscribe to the layer with the higher priority value. [col 17, lines 42-51]) is assigned to first layer data of a first data layer of the individual data layers as compared to second layer data of a second data layer of the individual data layers based at least on the first layer data having a larger data size than the second layer data (The disclosed technology also offers the benefits of more efficient use of data that can conserve network bandwidth by selectively providing different portions of the vehicle map service data to different vehicle systems and remote computing systems. For example, the disclosed technology can adjust the layers to which a vehicle subscribes based on the amount of bandwidth that is available. Accordingly, the disclosed technology can subscribe to low bandwidth layers or reduce the number of layers being subscribed to when bandwidth is scarce, and subscribe to higher bandwidth layers (e.g., for streaming entertainment) when bandwidth is more plentiful. [col 19, lines 36-47]).
Regarding claim 4:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein at least one of the individual prioritizations corresponds to an assigned criticality corresponding to at least one of the one or more processes corresponding to at least one of the one or more individual data layers (The signs layer can include data and/or information associated with physical signs visible from road segments, including sign type, contents, and three-dimensional position information. For example, signs can include speed limit signs observed when traveling on a road, including the speed limit text on the sign. Signs can be classified into sign types including speed limit or road names. In some embodiments, signs can be selectively modeled with priority given to describing signs relevant to driving, including those signs defining traffic rules [col 37, lines 59-67]).
Regarding claim 6:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein the plurality of processes performs operations related to one or more of: route determination (a vehicle map services application that can be used, for instance, to provide information and services including: destination search, route planning [col 6, lines 46-48]), lane determination (vehicle's semantic location (e.g., which road segment the vehicle is currently on and where the vehicle is on the road segment, scalar velocity along the segment, and/or which lane the vehicle is in) [col 28, lines 52-55]), or localization (Lane attributes can be used as a point of reference to inform localization or map matching. By comparing visual observations against lane descriptions, the vehicle can better localize its position with relation to the map. By better enabling lane matching, a lane-registered position can be determined which allows features including lane guidance and lane traffic [col 39, lines 29-35]).
Regarding claim 9:
McGavran teaches:
A method (a method of operating a vehicle map service [col 1, line 41]) comprising:
obtaining, at a first time, first layer data of a first data layer of map data for use by a first computing process corresponding to navigation of a machine (the disclosed technology can prioritize data so that layers of the data associated with safety critical vehicle systems can receive data more frequently than layers of data associated with non-safety critical vehicle systems. [col 19, lines 25-28]), the first data layer being based at least on a first type of map data that is used by the first computing process (The plurality of layers associated with the vehicle map service data can include a local coordinate system layer, a vehicle location layer, a road centerlines layer, a road graph layer, a lane graph layer, a plan layer, a road attributes layer, a lane attributes layer, a signs layer, a physical lane elements layer, a traffic control devices layer, a parking attributes layer, a landmarks layer, a live speeds layer, a hazards layer, and/or a live parking layer. [col 28, lines 12-19]), the first time being based at least on a first prioritization associated with the first data layer (each of the plurality of layers can be associated with a priority value indicative of a priority of subscription among the plurality of layers [col 56, lines 48-50]; a first layer from the plurality of layers has a first priority value, a second layer from the plurality of layers has a second priority value, less than the first priority value such that the first layer has priority over the second layer [claim 20])
obtaining, at a second time, second layer data of a second data layer of map data for use by a second computing process corresponding to navigation of the machine (the disclosed technology can prioritize data so that layers of the data associated with safety critical vehicle systems can receive data more frequently than layers of data associated with non-safety critical vehicle systems. [col 19, lines 25-28]), the second data layer being based at least on a second type of map data that is used by the second computing process (The plurality of layers associated with the vehicle map service data can include a local coordinate system layer, a vehicle location layer, a road centerlines layer, a road graph layer, a lane graph layer, a plan layer, a road attributes layer, a lane attributes layer, a signs layer, a physical lane elements layer, a traffic control devices layer, a parking attributes layer, a landmarks layer, a live speeds layer, a hazards layer, and/or a live parking layer. [col 28, lines 12-19]), the second time being based at least on a second prioritization associated with the second data layer (each of the plurality of layers can be associated with a priority value indicative of a priority of subscription among the plurality of layers [col 56, lines 48-50]; a first layer from the plurality of layers has a first priority value, a second layer from the plurality of layers has a second priority value, less than the first priority value such that the first layer has priority over the second layer [claim 20])
causing one or more navigation operations to be performed by the machine (The embedded vehicle operating system can be used to implement a vehicle map services application that can be used, for instance, to provide information and services including: destination search, route planning, turn-by-turn navigation, estimated time of arrival (ETA) information, traffic/incident information, voice integration, personalization and integration with voice command search, caching for offline data, software update support, and/or application programming interfaces (APIs) supporting third-party navigation applications [col 6, lines 45-53]) based at least on:
one or more first operations performed by the first computing process based at least on the first data layer (The traffic control devices layer can be updated frequently (e.g., on a second by second basis) to reflect the state of traffic control devices from moment to moment (e.g., red light/green light). Further, data and/or observations associated with the traffic control devices layer (e.g., sensor observations and/or feedback from one or more vehicles) can be added to the traffic control devices layer and/or vehicle map service data associated with the traffic control devices layer [col 40, lines 4-12]); and
one or more second operations performed by the second computing process based at least on the second data layer (The road attribute layer can be used to describe relatively static attributes of road segments. These attributes can derive from segment attributes in a database associated with a remote map service system (e.g., a GIS service provider system), and can be focused on attributes used for vehicle awareness and safety or on attributes used for navigation or rendering. Attributes for the road attributes layer, which can be modeled in a database associated with a remote map service system (e.g., a GIS service provider system), can include: road type, including a highway or local road, which can be subdivided into priority and use; free flow speed, which is the typical speed of travel on that road without traffic; width of road, measured as distance to each edge of road from centerline; and/or driving side (left or right) [col 35, lines 48-61]).
McGavran does not explicitly teach, however Bell teaches:
the first time being based at least on a first prioritization associated with the first data layer (“driving directions”) and corresponding to a first timing of first processing operations performed by the first computing process (request 106 according to layer priority ordering scheme generating database query set of different layers of the map data and/or the ranking such that firstly transmitting inquiry related to the highest priority layer, then inquiring the related transmission layer, then with the second high priority transmission layer inquiry related to the third high priority, and so on [page 3]; see figs. 2-6; map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4]; examiner notes that the order of layer processing is based on the need of the user, in the case described on page 4 it is directions are most critical, then traffic, then points of interest.) the first timing corresponding to a first zone of interest for which the first processing operations are performed (a series of database query to retrieve the area of interest within the defined geographic area corresponding to map features [page 3]; examiner notes that the “Area of interest” for the driving directions can be the entire possible area of roads between the current location and the destination);
the second time being based at least on a second prioritization associated with the second data layer (“traffic data”) and corresponding to a second timing of second processing operations performed by the second computing process (request 106 according to layer priority ordering scheme generating database query set of different layers of the map data and/or the ranking such that firstly transmitting inquiry related to the highest priority layer, then inquiring the related transmission layer, then with the second high priority transmission layer inquiry related to the third high priority, and so on [page 3]; see figs. 2-6; map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4]; examiner notes that the order of layer processing is based on the need of the user, in the case described on page 4 it is directions are most critical, then traffic, then points of interest.) the second timing corresponding to a second zone of interest for which the second processing operations are performed (a series of database query to retrieve the area of interest within the defined geographic area corresponding to map features [page 3]; examiner notes that the “Area of interest” for the traffic data would just be the area covered by roads that are potential routes for the vehicle.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran to include the teachings as taught by Bell with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Bell are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Bell also teaches the benefit of “the disclosed technology provides a map tool, according to the priority defined and/or the different layers of the map data set rendering to the display according to one or more threshold conditions. In another implementation, the map tool according to defined priority also request different layer sets of map data, and/or according to a defined priority level processing data from one or more data sources across a network. map tool allows the user to be presented with central aim is not related to (e.g., is not useful) data prior to presentation data is more likely associated with center of map request. Indeed, compared with other map system, the system more quickly and in a more logical manner of presenting to the user more relevant information, so that the user experience is not substantially delayed time, and provide a more pleasant and convenient integrated experience for the user. [Bell, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 10:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
Bell further teaches:
wherein the first prioritization and the second prioritization differ based at least on differences in the first timing and the second timing (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image [page 4]; examiner notes that the order of layer processing is based on the need of the user, in the case described on page 4 it is directions are most critical, then traffic, then points of interest.).
Regarding claim 11:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
Bell further teaches:
wherein the first timing and the second timing are further based at least on a velocity of the machine (dynamically determining the layer priority ordering scheme. for example, can be based on to the map 104 associated with the map request user input to select or generate layer priority ordering scheme. If the user-specified main object map request, such as the "direction", "flow", "geographical location", etc., the map controller 104 may select one or more layer associated with the stated main purpose is closely set layer of the highest priority order priority order scheme (e.g., from a plurality of preset layer in the priority ordering scheme option).);
Regarding claim 14:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein one or more of:
the first prioritization further corresponds to a data size of the first layer data (In some embodiments determining the plurality of layers to which each of the plurality of client systems is subscribed is based at least in part on an amount of network bandwidth available to send or receive the vehicle map service data. For example, when network bandwidth has low availability the vehicle map service system can subscribe to layers that require less network bandwidth and/or subscribe to fewer layers. Alternatively, when network bandwidth has high availability the vehicle map service system can subscribe to layers that use more network bandwidth and/or subscribe to more layers. [col 18, lines 55-65]); or
the second prioritization further corresponds to a data size of the second layer data (In some embodiments determining the plurality of layers to which each of the plurality of client systems is subscribed is based at least in part on an amount of network bandwidth available to send or receive the vehicle map service data. For example, when network bandwidth has low availability the vehicle map service system can subscribe to layers that require less network bandwidth and/or subscribe to fewer layers. Alternatively, when network bandwidth has high availability the vehicle map service system can subscribe to layers that use more network bandwidth and/or subscribe to more layers. [col 18, lines 55-65]).
Regarding claim 15:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein the first prioritization is higher (the plurality of layers can be associated with a priority value (e.g., a numeric value) indicative of a priority of subscription among the plurality of layers. The priority of subscription can be determinative of a single layer of the plurality of layers to subscribe when there is a conflict between the vehicle map service data in two or more of the plurality of layers. For example, when two layers have conflicting information with respect to the location of a landmark, the vehicle will subscribe to the layer with the higher priority value. [col 17, lines 42-51]) than the second prioritization based at least on the first layer data having a larger data size than the second layer data (The disclosed technology also offers the benefits of more efficient use of data that can conserve network bandwidth by selectively providing different portions of the vehicle map service data to different vehicle systems and remote computing systems. For example, the disclosed technology can adjust the layers to which a vehicle subscribes based on the amount of bandwidth that is available. Accordingly, the disclosed technology can subscribe to low bandwidth layers or reduce the number of layers being subscribed to when bandwidth is scarce, and subscribe to higher bandwidth layers (e.g., for streaming entertainment) when bandwidth is more plentiful. [col 19, lines 36-47]).
Regarding claim 17:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
wherein one or more of:
the first prioritization corresponds to a first criticality corresponding to the first computing process (The road attribute layer can be used to describe relatively static attributes of road segments. These attributes can derive from segment attributes in a database associated with a remote map service system (e.g., a GIS service provider system), and can be focused on attributes used for vehicle awareness and safety or on attributes used for navigation or rendering. Attributes for the road attributes layer, which can be modeled in a database associated with a remote map service system (e.g., a GIS service provider system), can include: road type, including a highway or local road, which can be subdivided into priority and use; free flow speed, which is the typical speed of travel on that road without traffic; width of road, measured as distance to each edge of road from centerline; and/or driving side (left or right) [col 35, lines 48-61]); or
the second prioritization corresponds to a second criticality corresponding to the second computing process (The signs layer can include data and/or information associated with physical signs visible from road segments, including sign type, contents, and three-dimensional position information. For example, signs can include speed limit signs observed when traveling on a road, including the speed limit text on the sign. Signs can be classified into sign types including speed limit or road names. In some embodiments, signs can be selectively modeled with priority given to describing signs relevant to driving, including those signs defining traffic rules [col 37, lines 59-67]).
Regarding claim 18:
McGavran teaches:
A system (a system for accessing and processing data including data associated with a vehicle map service [col 1, lines 16-17]) comprising:
one or more processing units to perform operations (The remote map service system 120 (e.g., a geographic information system provider) can include one or more computing systems (e.g., a computing system including one or more computing devices, at least one of which includes one or more processors and one or more memory devices including tangible non-transitory computer readable media) that can perform one or more actions or operations including sending, receiving, processing, generating, and/or storing data (e.g., vehicle map service data) [col 21, lines 27-35]) comprising:
obtaining, at a first time, first layer data of a first data layer of map data for use by a first computing process corresponding to navigation of a machine (the disclosed technology can prioritize data so that layers of the data associated with safety critical vehicle systems can receive data more frequently than layers of data associated with non-safety critical vehicle systems. [col 19, lines 25-28]), the first data layer including a first type of map data that is used by the first computing process (The plurality of layers associated with the vehicle map service data can include a local coordinate system layer, a vehicle location layer, a road centerlines layer, a road graph layer, a lane graph layer, a plan layer, a road attributes layer, a lane attributes layer, a signs layer, a physical lane elements layer, a traffic control devices layer, a parking attributes layer, a landmarks layer, a live speeds layer, a hazards layer, and/or a live parking layer. [col 28, lines 12-19])
obtaining, at a second time, second layer data of a second data layer of map data for use by a second computing process corresponding to navigation of the machine ((the disclosed technology can prioritize data so that layers of the data associated with safety critical vehicle systems can receive data more frequently than layers of data associated with non-safety critical vehicle systems. [col 19, lines 25-28]), the second data layer including a second type of map data that is used by the second computing process (The plurality of layers associated with the vehicle map service data can include a local coordinate system layer, a vehicle location layer, a road centerlines layer, a road graph layer, a lane graph layer, a plan layer, a road attributes layer, a lane attributes layer, a signs layer, a physical lane elements layer, a traffic control devices layer, a parking attributes layer, a landmarks layer, a live speeds layer, a hazards layer, and/or a live parking layer. [col 28, lines 12-19]),
causing one or more navigation operations to be performed by the machine (The embedded vehicle operating system can be used to implement a vehicle map services application that can be used, for instance, to provide information and services including: destination search, route planning, turn-by-turn navigation, estimated time of arrival (ETA) information, traffic/incident information, voice integration, personalization and integration with voice command search, caching for offline data, software update support, and/or application programming interfaces (APIs) supporting third-party navigation applications [col 6, lines 45-53]) based at least on:
one or more first operations performed by the first computing process based at least on the first data layer (The traffic control devices layer can be updated frequently (e.g., on a second by second basis) to reflect the state of traffic control devices from moment to moment (e.g., red light/green light). Further, data and/or observations associated with the traffic control devices layer (e.g., sensor observations and/or feedback from one or more vehicles) can be added to the traffic control devices layer and/or vehicle map service data associated with the traffic control devices layer [col 40, lines 4-12]); and
one or more second operations performed by the second computing process based at least on the second data layer (The road attribute layer can be used to describe relatively static attributes of road segments. These attributes can derive from segment attributes in a database associated with a remote map service system (e.g., a GIS service provider system), and can be focused on attributes used for vehicle awareness and safety or on attributes used for navigation or rendering. Attributes for the road attributes layer, which can be modeled in a database associated with a remote map service system (e.g., a GIS service provider system), can include: road type, including a highway or local road, which can be subdivided into priority and use; free flow speed, which is the typical speed of travel on that road without traffic; width of road, measured as distance to each edge of road from centerline; and/or driving side (left or right) [col 35, lines 48-61]).
McGavran does not explicitly teach, however Bell teaches:
and being designated as individually corresponding to the first computing process (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image. [page 4]), the first time being based at least on a first degree of coverage of the first data layer (a series of database query to retrieve the area of interest within the defined geographic area corresponding to map features [page 3]; examiner notes that the “Area of interest” for the driving directions can be the entire possible area of roads between the current location and the destination);
and being designated as individually corresponding to the second computing process (map 104 of primary (e.g., the most common) aim can be to provide the user with driving directions, a map 104 of the secondary (e.g., second) target may be providing traffic data to a user, and a third target map 104 may be provided to the user with respect to an area of interest of the geographical features or boundaries of the reference image. [page 4]), the first time being based at least on a first degree of coverage of the first data layer (a series of database query to retrieve the area of interest within the defined geographic area corresponding to map features [page 3]; examiner notes that the “Area of interest” for the traffic data would just be the area covered by roads that are potential routes for the vehicle.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran to include the teachings as taught by Bell with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Bell are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Bell also teaches the benefit of “the disclosed technology provides a map tool, according to the priority defined and/or the different layers of the map data set rendering to the display according to one or more threshold conditions. In another implementation, the map tool according to defined priority also request different layer sets of map data, and/or according to a defined priority level processing data from one or more data sources across a network. map tool allows the user to be presented with central aim is not related to (e.g., is not useful) data prior to presentation data is more likely associated with center of map request. Indeed, compared with other map system, the system more quickly and in a more logical manner of presenting to the user more relevant information, so that the user experience is not substantially delayed time, and provide a more pleasant and convenient integrated experience for the user. [Bell, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 19:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 18, upon which this claim is dependent.
Bell further teaches:
wherein the first time is based at least on a first prioritization corresponding to a first timing of processing of the first data layer using the first computing process, the first timing being based at least on the first degree of coverage (layer prioritizing scheme processes priority sort to different layers of data based on other criteria, such as expected data return speed in each different layer request data amount and so on. For example, if the layer priority ordering scheme to priority ordering the different layer set based on expected data return speed, are associated with high expected data return speed of layer sets may be preferentially associated with low expected data return speed of layer sets. In this case, the initial return of layer sets may be more direct rendering to the display, which reduces latency initial data presents the amount of time spent by the user [page 4]).
Regarding claim 20:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 18, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran further teaches:
Examiner notes that unmapped claims are being interpreted in the alternative, which do not require them to be mapped.
wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine (a vehicle (e.g., any autonomous, semi-autonomous [col 3, line 41]);
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system for performing simulation operations;
a system for performing digital twin operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation;
a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for performing deep learning operations;
a system for presenting at least one of augmented reality content, virtual reality content, or mixed reality content;
a system for hosting one or more real-time streaming applications;
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system implemented using a robot;
a system for performing conversational AI operations;
a system for performing one or more generative AI operations;
a system implementing one or more large language models (LLMs);
a system for generating synthetic data;
a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
Claim(s) 5, 7-8, 12-13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGavran et. al. (US 11.838.836), herein McGavran in view of Zhou et. al. (CN 115080672), herein Zhou.
Regarding claim 5:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran in view of Bell does not explicitly teach, however Zhou teaches:
wherein at least one of the individual prioritizations corresponds to coverage of corresponding layer data of the o individual data layers that is to be communicated to the processing system, the coverage of the corresponding layer data being with respect to information about one or more areas that correspond to one or more individual distances from the machine (the first to-be-updated tile in the use range of the map can be set with the highest priority of the download priority. The download priority of the changed tile in the map out of the use range of the map is lower. For example, when the network condition is poor, it can set only the first to-be-updated tile in the using range of the downloading map, cancelling the downloading of the tile change in the map out of the use range of the map. Optionally, it can further set the priority of the tile to be updated in the use range of the map, for example, setting the highest priority of the download priority of the tile 1, the tile 2 and the tile 3 of the download priority level, tile 4 the lowest download priority [page 28]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran in view of Bell to include the teachings as taught by Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Zhou are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Zhou also teaches the benefit of “the vehicle according to the change of the tile, the locating position of the vehicle, the navigation path of the vehicle, determining the to-be-updated tile, downloading the tile to be updated from the server, the tile to be updated can participate in the driving decision, realizing the edge updating, without waiting for updating all tiles in the map, and there is no need to wait for all the changed tile updating in the map is finished, part of the updated tile can be used for driving decision, and because the tile to be updated is related to the position of the vehicle and the navigation path, it can ensure the timeliness and accuracy of the tile information used by the current driving decision, so as to better auxiliary navigation or automatic driving. [Zhou, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 7:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran in view of Bell does not explicitly teach, however Zhou teaches:
wherein the map data is organized into a plurality of tile data sets that individually correspond to respective tiles of the map (high precision map data size, complex management, convenient management and storage, the map can be divided into different grids to manage. In some embodiments, the map can be divided into regular size of the same grid, for example, as shown in FIG. 2b, the map can be divided into 25 * 11 grid with the same size. The size of the grid can be determined according to the precision of the map, it also can be determined according to other ways, not limited. A map corresponding to each grid may also be referred to as a tile of a map. [page 19]) and wherein one or more of the tile data sets of the plurality of tile data sets are organized according to one or more data layers of the plurality of data layers (combining the version of the map layer and the version of the map, tile also can correspondingly set the version identifier, the version identifier can be version identifier based on different layer, also can be based on the version identifier of all layer on the tile. so as to determine whether there is tile to be updated according to the version identifier of the tile. wherein the to-be-updated tile may be tile in the presence of at least one layer is updated, namely generating the corresponding to-be-updated tile [page 19]),
wherein at least one of the tile data sets of the plurality of tile data sets is divided into one or more data segments that individually correspond to respective segments of the respective tiles corresponding to the at least one of the tile data sets (wherein the static layer, mainly refers to the high precision map updating frequency is low, not need to frequently update some target object or object, can include road, lane, intersection, road mark and traffic label traffic light and other road ancillary facilities and so on. For example, road grade static layer information may include road geometry, road curvature road course, road speed, lane number, longitudinal slope and transverse slope information [page 18]), and wherein the one or more data segments include at least a portion of data included in the one or more data layers (road, river, bridge, green land, building or outline of other ground object and other map elements. on the basis of the bottom image, can be overlapped with various layers, to the need of satisfy application. For example, as shown in FIG. 2a, it may include: lane layer, interested (Place of the POI) layer (for setting the interest point, such as restaurant, gas station and so on) and so on. It may also include: road trend layer (for navigation and circuit planning), road traffic jam state of the layer, satellite image layer and vector layer. the layer can also include a dynamic layer, dynamic layer is high precision map in updating the higher frequency layer. [page 18]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran in view of Bell to include the teachings as taught by Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Zhou are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Zhou also teaches the benefit of “the vehicle according to the change of the tile, the locating position of the vehicle, the navigation path of the vehicle, determining the to-be-updated tile, downloading the tile to be updated from the server, the tile to be updated can participate in the driving decision, realizing the edge updating, without waiting for updating all tiles in the map, and there is no need to wait for all the changed tile updating in the map is finished, part of the updated tile can be used for driving decision, and because the tile to be updated is related to the position of the vehicle and the navigation path, it can ensure the timeliness and accuracy of the tile information used by the current driving decision, so as to better auxiliary navigation or automatic driving. [Zhou, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 8:
McGavran in view of Bell and Zhou teaches all the limitations of claim 7, upon which this claim is dependent.
Zhou further teaches:
wherein the respective segments include sub-regions of the respective tiles (the original navigation path is path 1, comprising a road section 1, section 2 and section 3 [page 31]).
Regarding claim 12:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran in view of Bell does not explicitly teach, however Zhou teaches:
wherein the first zone of interest and the second zone of interest cover different amounts of a geographical area (see at least fig. 6c showing tiles 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran in view of Bell to include the teachings as taught by Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Zhou are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Zhou also teaches the benefit of “the vehicle according to the change of the tile, the locating position of the vehicle, the navigation path of the vehicle, determining the to-be-updated tile, downloading the tile to be updated from the server, the tile to be updated can participate in the driving decision, realizing the edge updating, without waiting for updating all tiles in the map, and there is no need to wait for all the changed tile updating in the map is finished, part of the updated tile can be used for driving decision, and because the tile to be updated is related to the position of the vehicle and the navigation path, it can ensure the timeliness and accuracy of the tile information used by the current driving decision, so as to better auxiliary navigation or automatic driving. [Zhou, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 13:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran in view of Bell does not explicitly teach, however Zhou teaches:
wherein at least one of the first zone of interest or the second zone of interest includes an area around the machine (see at least fig. 6c showing tile 1 near vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran in view of Bell to include the teachings as taught by Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Zhou are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Zhou also teaches the benefit of “the vehicle according to the change of the tile, the locating position of the vehicle, the navigation path of the vehicle, determining the to-be-updated tile, downloading the tile to be updated from the server, the tile to be updated can participate in the driving decision, realizing the edge updating, without waiting for updating all tiles in the map, and there is no need to wait for all the changed tile updating in the map is finished, part of the updated tile can be used for driving decision, and because the tile to be updated is related to the position of the vehicle and the navigation path, it can ensure the timeliness and accuracy of the tile information used by the current driving decision, so as to better auxiliary navigation or automatic driving. [Zhou, page 3]”.
Regarding claim 16:
McGavran in view of Bell teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
McGavran in view of Bell does not explicitly teach, however Zhou teaches:
wherein one or more of:
the first prioritization corresponds to a first coverage area of the first layer data with respect to information about a first area that corresponds to the first zone of interest (the first to-be-updated tile in the use range of the map can be set with the highest priority of the download priority. The download priority of the changed tile in the map out of the use range of the map is lower. For example, when the network condition is poor, it can set only the first to-be-updated tile in the using range of the downloading map, cancelling the downloading of the tile change in the map out of the use range of the map. Optionally, it can further set the priority of the tile to be updated in the use range of the map, for example, setting the highest priority of the download priority of the tile 1, the tile 2 and the tile 3 of the download priority level, tile 4 the lowest download priority [page 28]); or
the second prioritization corresponds to a second coverage area of the second layer data with respect to information about a second area that corresponds to the second zone of interest (the first to-be-updated tile in the use range of the map can be set with the highest priority of the download priority. The download priority of the changed tile in the map out of the use range of the map is lower. For example, when the network condition is poor, it can set only the first to-be-updated tile in the using range of the downloading map, cancelling the downloading of the tile change in the map out of the use range of the map. Optionally, it can further set the priority of the tile to be updated in the use range of the map, for example, setting the highest priority of the download priority of the tile 1, the tile 2 and the tile 3 of the download priority level, tile 4 the lowest download priority [page 28]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McGavran in view of Bell to include the teachings as taught by Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. McGavran and Zhou are in the same field of endeavor of providing and updating mapping services to a vehicle. Zhou also teaches the benefit of “the vehicle according to the change of the tile, the locating position of the vehicle, the navigation path of the vehicle, determining the to-be-updated tile, downloading the tile to be updated from the server, the tile to be updated can participate in the driving decision, realizing the edge updating, without waiting for updating all tiles in the map, and there is no need to wait for all the changed tile updating in the map is finished, part of the updated tile can be used for driving decision, and because the tile to be updated is related to the position of the vehicle and the navigation path, it can ensure the timeliness and accuracy of the tile information used by the current driving decision, so as to better auxiliary navigation or automatic driving. [Zhou, page 3]”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 2025/0189344) discloses An apparatus for integrating a map of a vehicle includes a processor to classify a high definition map, which is previously stored, into a plurality of layers, to change the high definition map to include a format to be integrated with a standard definition map, and generate an integrated map obtained by integrating the standard definition map with the high definition map and a memory to store the integrated map.
Huang (US 2023/0206647) discloses a method and system for capturing, by a depth-perception device on a mobile robot moving in an environment, depth-perception information at a first location within a portion of the environment. The method includes capturing, by a camera device on the mobile robot, an image frame at the first location within the portion of the environment, generating a three-dimensional point cloud representing the portion of the environment based on the depth-perception information and the image frame, extracting semantic information by providing the frame and the point cloud to a neural network model configured to perform semantic segmentation, associating the semantic information to the three-dimensional point cloud, projecting the three-dimensional point cloud onto a two-dimensional plane to form a first two-dimensional map; and demarcating the first two-dimensional map with a plurality of different regions based on the semantic information.
Baik (US 2021/0341940) discloses a method, performed by an electronic device, of controlling a vehicle, and an electronic device for the same. A method, performed by an electronic device, of controlling a vehicle includes: transmitting, to an external server communicatively connected to the vehicle, as profile information of the vehicle, sensor information regarding at least one sensor mounted on the vehicle, communication efficiency information of the vehicle, and driving information of the vehicle; receiving, from the external server, precise map data related to at least one map layer selected based on the profile information of the vehicle from among a plurality of map layers that are combined to form a precise map and distinguished according to attributes thereof; and controlling the vehicle to perform autonomous driving by using the received at least one precise map data.
Xie (US 2021/0199444) discloses the visualization of maps used for autonomous vehicle applications. These maps include many layers of dense information. Each layer can be stored in a vector format and small portions, called tiles, of a map can be requested by a user’s web browser. The web browser can filter for desired layers and render all desired map layers at once to provide visualization of map and layers of interest.
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665