DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 3, and 11 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 11 – 14, and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 2013/0003913) in view of Wu (US 2019/0109172) and Saito (US 2022/0005858).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
An electronic device configured to detect an object (120) to be detected, comprising:
at least one light source (100) arranged on a first plane and illuminating the object to be detected; and
a plurality of sensors (130) arranged on a second plane and surrounding the object to be detected, wherein the plurality of sensors are stitched together ([0032]), wherein the first plane is different from the second plane (FIG. 2).
Jeong teaches a plurality of sensors surrounding an object to be imaged, but is silent with respect to the structure of the individual sensors and a hybrid structure.
However, Wu teaches (FIG. 6 – 9C):
wherein each of the plurality of sensors comprises:
a support plate (15) having a first surface, a second surface, and a side surface;
a substrate (10) arranged on the first surface;
a sensing unit (11) arranged on the substrate; and
a scintillator (12) arranged on the substrate;
a first driver (13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the routine and conventional sensor structure of Wu in the device of Jeong to enable the structure in a well known and predictable manner.
Wu teaches a flexible base substrate for a hybrid sensor device.
Saito teaches a rigid hybrid sensor device (FIG. 4), having a rigid support substrate (502) with through vias and wiring layer (140) connecting an imaging sensor device (120) to a logic device, i.e. driver (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible hybrid structure of Wu to utilize the conventional rigid hybrid device structure of Saito for the predictable advantage of integrating sensor devices into a rigid structure in a stable and conventional manner.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first plane is parallel to the second plane.
Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a distance is provided between the first plane and the second plane.
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches (FIG. 6 – 9C, [0035] – [0040]):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sensors further comprises: a printed circuit board arranged on the second surface of the support plate.
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches (FIG. 6 – 9C, [0035] – [0040]):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sensors further comprises: a second signal line arranged on the substrate; and a second driver (14) arranged on the substrate and electrically connected to the sensing unit through the second signal line.
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches (FIG. 6 – 9C, [0035] – [0040]):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sensors further comprises: a housing covering at least one of the plurality of sensors.
Regarding claim 14, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2, [0032]):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors are stitched to form half a circle to a full circle.
Regarding claim 16, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one light source is a plurality of light sources, and the plurality of light sources surround the object to be detected.
Regarding claim 17, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
The electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of X-ray sources are arranged in a circle on the first plane.
Regarding claim 18, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein an angle is provided between a light ray of the at least one light source illuminating the object to be detected and the first plane.
Regarding claim 19, Jeong teaches varying the angle of the X-ray source for optimal imaging above 0 degrees, but fails to expressly disclose:
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the angle is greater than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the exposure angle of Jeong to whatever angle was necessary or expedient for the specific application and object to be imaged, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See also In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc . v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989), and In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also MPEP § 716.07: “It is to be presumed also that skilled workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make certain experiments and adaptations, within the skill of the competent worker. The failures of experimenters who have no interest in succeeding should not be accorded great weight. In re Michalek, 162 F.2d 229, 232 (CCPA 1947); In re Reid, 179 F.2d 998, 1002 (CCPA 1950).”
Regarding claim 20, Jeong teaches (FIG. 2):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a light ray emitted by the at least one light source penetrates through the object to be detected and illuminates the plurality of sensors.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 2013/0003913) in view of Wu (US 2019/0109172) and Saito (US 2022/0005858) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roder (US 6,665,433).
Regarding claim 15, Jeong teaches various configurations of sources and detectors surrounding an object to image with a central axis, but fails to expressly disclose:
The electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a central axis passing through a surrounding center of the plurality of sensors, wherein the at least one light source is one light source, and the light source rotates around the central axis.
However, Roder teaches a single X-ray source which rotates at an angle around a central axis to image an object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the X-ray source of Jeong using the well-known and conventional device structure of Roder for the predictable advantage of enabling multiple source exposure angles without additional X-ray source units being required.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898