DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed May 25, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered and the office action has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
The applicant argues that the Alpati reference does not disclose the new amendments to claim 1 and states that the amendment is directed to structure wherein “the first die and the optical fiber are attaching to opposite sides of the second die”; and further notes that the Alpati reference discloses that the die and optical fiber are attached to the same side of the PIC die.
However, in the limitation in claim 1 “a second die disposed over the first die, and including a second front side and a second back side opposite to the second front side and bonded to the first back side” it is not completely definite which part of the structure is bonded to the first back side. It is possible to read the limitation as claiming that the second die is bonded to the first back side; this office action takes this position, and the Alpati references teaches the new limitation as described below.
Furthermore, there are embodiments of the present applicant wherein the first die and optical fiber are attached to the same side of the second die (Fig. 15), and the newly amended limitation do not clearly distinguish the claim from this embodiment.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the first die and the optical fiber are attached to opposite sides of the second die) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alpati et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,107,799, from hereinafter “Alpati”).
Regarding claim 1, Alpati teaches a photoelectric device, comprising:
a first die (Fig. 10, 1040 and Col 13 Ln 4-32) including a first back side and a first front side opposite to the first back side (Fig. 10, bottom surface of 1040); and
a second die (Fig. 10, 1030) disposed over the first die, and including a second front side (Fig. 10, top surface of 1030) and a second back side (Fig. 10, bottom surface of 1030) opposite to the second front side and bonded to the first back side,
wherein the second die comprises: an optical circuitry configured to generate or process a first optical signal (see Fig. 7, 623-626 and Col 12 Ln 8-13); and
an electrical circuitry electrically coupled to the first die, configured to control an operation of the optical circuitry by a first electrical signal inputted into the first die or to generate a second electrical signal and provide the second electrical signal to the first die in response to the first optical signal (Fig. 7, Logic, 646, etc. ; Col 12 Ln 101-18 and Col 18 Ln 21-23);
an optical fiber (Fig. 10, 1060) attached to the second front side of the second die.
Regarding claim 2, Alpati teaches that the electronic die comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 10, 1040);
a dielectric layer (Col 9 Ln 8-13) disposed on the substrate and at the first front side of the electronic die;
an electronic component (Col 8 Ln 30-41) disposed in or on the substrate;
a conductive pillar (Fig. 10, 1044) extending through the dielectric layer and to the substrate; and
a interconnect structure (Fig. 10, dashed lines indicate electrical interconnection layers, 1042, 1044, etc.) disposed on the substrate and at the first back side of the electronic die, wherein the interconnect structure connects the conductive pillar to the electronic component;
wherein the conductive pillar is utilized to receive the first electrical signal from an external circuitry or to transmit the second electrical signal to the external circuitry (Fig. 10, 1022, 1024, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Alpati teaches the electronic component is disposed at the first front side of the first die (Fig. 10, silicon layer 1040)and is separated laterally from the conductive pillar (Fig. 10, 1044); the first interconnect structure comprises a plurality of first conductive features (Fig. 10, dashed line structures); and
the electronic component is overlapped by the first conductive features from a top-view perspective (the conductive features will overlap the components at least at the connection point between the two features).
Regarding claim 4, Alpati teaches that the second die further comprises: a semiconductor layer (Fig. 10, 1030; Col 8 Ln 3-29), wherein the optical circuitry is disposed therein or thereover; and
a second interconnect structure (Fig. 10, dashed lines indicate electrical interconnection layers of 1030) disposed on the semiconductor layer and at the second back side of the second die, wherein the second interconnect structure is physically and electrically coupled to the first interconnect structure (Col 8 Ln 61 – Col 9 Ln 19).
With respect to claim 5, Alpati teaches that the optical circuitry comprises an optical feature operable to generate or process the first optical signal (Fig. 10, unlabeled, Fig. 7, waveguide 623 or photodetector 634), the optical feature is disposed in or on the semiconductor layer and electrically coupled to the electrical circuitry,
and the optical feature overlaps the electronic component from a top-view perspective (Fig. 6, components 630 and 640 overlap).
Regarding claim 6, Alpati teaches that the second die is hybrid-bonded to the first die (Col 8 Ln 61 – Col 9 Ln 19).
Regarding claim 8, Alpati teaches that the first optical signal enters or exits the second die through the second front side (Fig. 10, top surface of 1030), the first electrical signal is inputted into the first die through the first front side, and the second electrical signal exits the first die through the first front side (Fig. 10, electric signals input/output from bond pads 1042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpati, in view of Yu et al. (USPGPub 2020/0003975, from hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 9, Alpati teaches
an optical device comprising:
a first electronic die (Fig. 9-11, 1040 and Col 13 Ln 4-32) including a first back side and a first front side opposite to the first back side; and
a first optical die (Fig. 9-11, 1030) disposed over the first electronic die along a first direction, and including a second front side (Figs. 9-11, top surface of 1030) and a second back side (Figs. 9-11, bottom surface of 1030) opposite to the second front side and bonded to the first back side of the first electronic die,
wherein the first optical die comprises: an optical circuitry configured to generate or process a first optical signal (see Fig. 7, 623-626 and Col 12 Ln 8-13); and
an electrical circuitry electrically coupled to the first electronic die (Fig. 7, Logic, 646, etc. ; Col 12 Ln 101-18 and Col 18 Ln 21-23), wherein the electrical circuitry is configured to control an operation of the optical circuitry by a first electrical signal inputted into the first electronic die;
an optical receiver (Fig. 10, photodetector 634 and/or waveguide 632; Fig. 7); and
an optical fiber (Fig. 10, 1060; Fig. 9, 960) attached to the second front side of the first optical die of the optical transmitter and configured to transmit the first optical signal from the optical transmitter to the optical receiver.
Alpati does not teach specifically and directly that the assembly is an optical transceiver.
Yu teaches an optical assembly that is an optical transceiver (Fig. 3K, OTC), wherein the optical die (Fig. 3K, 200) is configured an optical receiver and transmitter (Paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical assembly of Alpati as an optical transceiver as taught by Yu in order to configure the assembly for use in a high-speed optical communication systems (Paragraph 2)
Regarding claim 14, Alpati teaches that the first optical die further comprises: a semiconductor layer (Col 6 Ln 51-52), wherein the optical circuitry is disposed therein or thereover (see Fig. 7, 623-626 and Col 12 Ln 8-13);
an insulating layer (Col 9 Ln 8-13) disposed on the semiconductor layer and at the second front side of the first optical die, wherein the insulating layer surrounds and covers the optical circuitry; and
a coupler trench penetrating through the insulating layer at an edge of the semiconductor layer (Fig. 9, insulating portion on semiconductor layer 930 is etched/singulated at the edges to create a trench through the top surface of the insulating layer to the groove 932), wherein a portion of the optical fiber (Fig. 9, 960) is disposed in the coupler trench.
Regarding claim 15, Alpati teaches that the first optical die further comprises an alignment mark (Fig. 9, 932) disposed on a sidewall exposed through the coupler trench.
Claims 11, 13, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpati and Yu, further in view of Kuo et al. (USPGPub No. 2020/0158960, from hereinafter “Kuo”).
Regarding claim 11, Alpati teaches that the first optical die further comprises: a semiconductor layer (Col 6 Ln 51-52), wherein the optical circuitry is disposed therein or thereover (see Fig. 7, 623-626 and Col 12 Ln 8-13);
an insulating layer (Col 9 Ln 8-13) disposed on the semiconductor layer and at the second front side of the first optical die, wherein the insulating layer is used to surround and cover the optical circuitry; and
a coupler recess (Fig. 9, 932 and 1132 overlap with the optical circuitry portion of 930 and 1130) disposed in the insulating layer, wherein the coupler recess overlaps a part of optical circuitry from a top-view perspective (Figs. 9 and 11, the 9, wherein the optical fiber (Fig. 9, 960) is disposed on or in the coupler recess.
Alpati as modified by Yu does not teach that the optical fiber is attached to the insulating layer, and the coupler recess extends from the second front side of the first optical die toward the second back side of the first optical die.
Kuo teaches an optical fiber (Fig. 7, 760; Fig. 8, 860) is attached to an insulating layer (Paragraph 72), and the coupler recess (Fig. 7, 750; Fig. 8, 850) extends from the second front side (Fig. 7, top side of 720; Fig. 8, top side of 820) of the first optical die toward the second back side of the first optical die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical fiber to be attached to an insulating layer of the die of Alpati and Yu and disposed on a coupler recess as taught by Kuo in order to reduce the optical loss of the coupling (Paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 13, Alpati teaches that the optical circuitry comprises a two-dimensional grating coupler (Col 8 Ln 10) overlapped by the coupler recess from the top-view perspective.
Regarding claim 24, Alpati does not teach that the coupler recess has a tilt angle with respect to the first direction, and wherein the tilt angle is in a range of about 5 degrees to about 15 degrees.
Kuo teaches that the coupler recess has a tilt angle with respect to the first direction, and wherein the tilt angle is in a range of about 5 degrees to about 15 degrees (Paragraph 73, 77, etc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the couple recess to have a tilt angle is in a range of about 5 degrees to about 15 degrees as taught by Kuo in order to adjust the tilt angle according to the wavelength of light (Paragraph 76-78).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpati, Yu, and Kuo, further in view of Yu et al. (USPGPub No. 2022/0099887, from hereinafter “Yu ‘887”).
Regarding claim 12, Alpati as modified by Yu and Kuo does not teach that the first optical die further comprises an alignment mark disposed in or on the insulating layer and exposed through the coupler recess.
Yu ‘887 teaches an alignment mark (Paragraph 47 and 62) disposed in or on the insulating layer and exposed through the coupler recess.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an alignment mark disposed in or on the insulating layer of Alpati and exposed through the coupler recess as taught by Yu in order to align the optical fibers to the coupler recess (Paragraph 47 and 62).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpati and Yu, further in view of Roth et al. (U.S. Patent 9,122,006, from hereinafter “Roth”).
Regarding claim 16, Alpati teaches that the optical circuitry comprises an edge coupler (Col 9 Ln 43-44) but Alpati/Yu does not teach a polarizing beam splitter connected to the edge coupler.
Roth teaches a PIC comprising a polarizing beam splitter (Fig. 4, 404) connected to the coupler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a beam splitter in the optical circuitry of Alpati as taught by Roth in order to enable the optical circuitry to split components of the received light and then process separately (Col 1 Ln 18-30).
Regarding claim 17, Alpati/Yu does not teach that the optical circuitry further comprises a polarization rotator interposed between the edge coupler and the polarizing beam splitter.
Roth teaches a polarization rotator (Fig. 4, 403 and Col 4 Ln 27-38) interposed between the coupler and the polarizing beam splitter (Fig. 4, 404).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a polarization rotator interposed between the edge coupler of Alpati and the polarizing beam splitter as taught by Roth in order to convert between modes of received light (Col 2 Ln 61-67).
Claims 1-6, 8, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpati et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,107,799, from hereinafter “Alpati”), in view of Karhade et al. (USPGPub No. 2023/0092821, from hereinafter “Karhade”).
Regarding claim 1, Alpati teaches a photoelectric device, comprising:
a first die (Fig. 10, 1040 and Col 13 Ln 4-32) including a first back side and a first front side opposite to the first back side (Fig. 10, bottom surface of 1040); and
a second die (Fig. 10, 1030) disposed over the first die, and including a second front side (Fig. 10, bottom surface of 1030) and a second back side (Fig. 10, top surface of 1030) opposite to the second front side and bonded to the first back side,
wherein the second die comprises: an optical circuitry configured to generate or process a first optical signal (see Fig. 7, 623-626 and Col 12 Ln 8-13); and
an electrical circuitry electrically coupled to the first die, configured to control an operation of the optical circuitry by a first electrical signal inputted into the first die or to generate a second electrical signal and provide the second electrical signal to the first die in response to the first optical signal (Fig. 7, Logic, 646, etc. ; Col 12 Ln 101-18 and Col 18 Ln 21-23);
Alpati does not teach an optical fiber attached to the second front side of the second die.
Karhade teaches an optical fiber (Fig. 11, 137 and Paragraph 54-55) attached to a second front side of an optical die (Fig. 11, 102), opposite to a side of the optical die that is connected to an electronic die (Fig. 11, 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the structure of Alpati such that the optical fiber is attached to the second front side (i.e. bottom side) of the optical die as taught by Karhade in order to achieve the predictable result of making an optical connection to the optical die (Paragraph 41 and 114).
Regarding claim 2, Alpati teaches that the electronic die comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 10, 1040);
a dielectric layer (Col 9 Ln 8-13) disposed on the substrate and at the first front side of the electronic die;
an electronic component (Col 8 Ln 30-41) disposed in or on the substrate;
a conductive pillar (Fig. 10, 1044) extending through the dielectric layer and to the substrate; and
a interconnect structure (Fig. 10, dashed lines indicate electrical interconnection layers, 1042, 1044, etc.) disposed on the substrate and at the first back side of the electronic die, wherein the interconnect structure connects the conductive pillar to the electronic component;
wherein the conductive pillar is utilized to receive the first electrical signal from an external circuitry or to transmit the second electrical signal to the external circuitry (Fig. 10, 1022, 1024, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Alpati teaches the electronic component is disposed at the first front side of the first die (Fig. 10, silicon layer 1040)and is separated laterally from the conductive pillar (Fig. 10, 1044); the first interconnect structure comprises a plurality of first conductive features (Fig. 10, dashed line structures); and
the electronic component is overlapped by the first conductive features from a top-view perspective (the conductive features will overlap the components at least at the connection point between the two features).
Regarding claim 4, Alpati teaches that the second die further comprises: a semiconductor layer (Fig. 10, 1030; Col 8 Ln 3-29), wherein the optical circuitry is disposed therein or thereover; and
a second interconnect structure (Fig. 10, dashed lines indicate electrical interconnection layers of 1030) disposed on the semiconductor layer and at the second back side of the second die, wherein the second interconnect structure is physically and electrically coupled to the first interconnect structure (Col 8 Ln 61 – Col 9 Ln 19).
With respect to claim 5, Alpati teaches that the optical circuitry comprises an optical feature operable to generate or process the first optical signal (Fig. 10, unlabeled, Fig. 7, waveguide 623 or photodetector 634), the optical feature is disposed in or on the semiconductor layer and electrically coupled to the electrical circuitry,
and the optical feature overlaps the electronic component from a top-view perspective (Fig. 6, components 630 and 640 overlap).
Regarding claim 6, Alpati teaches that the second die is hybrid-bonded to the first die (Col 8 Ln 61 – Col 9 Ln 19).
Regarding claim 8, Alpati teaches that the first optical signal enters or exits the second die through the second front side (Fig. 10, top surface of 1030), the first electrical signal is inputted into the first die through the first front side, and the second electrical signal exits the first die through the first front side (Fig. 10, electric signals input/output from bond pads 1042).
Regarding claim 21, Alpati teaches a photoelectric device, comprising:
an electronic die (Fig. 10, 1040 and Col 13 Ln 4-32) including a first back side (Fig. 10, bottom surface of 1040) and a first front side opposite to the first back side; and
an optical die (Fig. 10, 1030) disposed over the electronic die, and including a second front side (Fig. 10, bottom surface of 1030) and a second back side (Fig. 10, top surface of 1030) opposite to the second front side and bonded to the first back side of the electronic die, wherein the second back side is bonded to the first back side,
wherein the optical die comprises: an optical circuitry configured to generate or process a first optical signal (see Fig. 7, 623-626 and Col 12 Ln 8-13);
an insulating layer (Col 9 Ln 8-13) disposed at the second front side of the optical die, wherein the insulating layer surrounds and covers the optical circuitry; and
an electrical circuitry electrically coupled to the electronic die (Fig. 7, Logic, 646, etc. ; Col 12 Ln 101-18 and Col 18 Ln 21-23);
Alpati teaches an optical fiber attached to the optical die, but does not teach an optical fiber attached to the second front side of the optical die.
Karhade teaches an optical fiber (Fig. 11, 137 and Paragraph 54-55) attached to a second front side of an optical die (Fig. 11, 102), opposite to a side of the optical die that is connected to an electronic die (Fig. 11, 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the structure of Alpati such that the optical fiber is attached to the second front side of the optical die as taught by Karhade in order to achieve the predictable result of making an optical connection to the optical die (Paragraph 41 and 114).
Regarding claim 22, Alpati teaches that the electronic die comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 10, 1040);
a dielectric layer (Col 9 Ln 8-13) disposed on the substrate and at the first front side of the electronic die;
an electronic component (Col 8 Ln 30-41) disposed in or on the substrate;
a conductive pillar (Fig. 10, 1044) extending through the dielectric layer and to the substrate; and
a interconnect structure (Fig. 10, dashed lines indicate electrical interconnection layers, 1042, 1044, etc.) disposed on the substrate and at the first back side of the electronic die, wherein the interconnect structure connects the conductive pillar to the electronic component.
Regarding claim 23, Alpati teaches the electronic component (Col 8 Ln 30-41) is disposed at the first front side of the electronic die (Fig. 10, front side of silicon wafer), is separated laterally from the conductive pillar (Fig. 10, 1044), and electrically connected to the interconnect structure (Fig. 10, dashed line structures).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpati and Karhade, further in view of Yu et al. (USPGPub 2020/0003975, from hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 7, Alpati/Karhade does not teach a dummy die laterally separated from the first die and bonded to the second back side of the second die.
Yu teaches a dummy die (Fig. 10, portion D of dummy die 100b) laterally separated from the first die (Fig. 8, 300a) and bonded to the second die (Fig. 8, 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dummy die bonded to the second back side (i.e. top surface) of the second die of Alpati/Karhade as taught by Yu in order to improve the form factor and yield rate of the assembly (Paragraph 36 and 4, and 50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA M CAPUTO/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874