DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 12/2/2025. No claims are currently amended. Claims 1-12 have been canceled. Claims 21-32 are newly added. Presently, claims 13-32 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention III in the reply filed on 12/2/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/2/2025.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/4/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the information of the cooling system" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 15-22, 25-29 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2009/0306808).
Regarding claim 13, the Cho et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (1);
allowing the gas to react with the semiconductor structure within the processing chamber (1), wherein chemicals (byproducts) are generated during the reaction;
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (5) through an exhaust conduit coupled to the processing chamber; and
cooling the first trapping unit (thermoelements 20 operate as cooling devices for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]).
In regards to claim 15, the Cho et al. reference discloses providing a cooling system (thermoelements 20 operate as a cooling system for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]) configured to cool the first trapping unit (5);
providing information (based on the pressure gauges 12 and 13) associated with the cooling system to a control system (control unit 10);
deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control system based on the information (see at least paragraph [0080]); and
removing the first trapping unit when the estimated timing derived by the control system arrives (see at least paragraph [0090]).
In regards to claim 16, the Cho et al. reference discloses disposing a second trapping unit coupled to the exhaust conduit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (see at least paragraphs [0090]-[0097]).
In regards to claim 17, the Cho et al. reference discloses the removal is performed when a pressure inside the processing chamber is less than a predetermined pressure (see at least paragraphs [0091]-[0099]).
In regards to claim 18, the Cho et al. reference discloses providing a trapping component (see figure 12 for the interior of the trapping unit 5 having trapping components) disposed in a trapping chamber (considered the interior of the trapping unit 5) of the first trapping unit (5);
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (see at least paragraph [0106]); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (see at least paragraph [0081]).
In regards to claim 19, the Cho et al. reference sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (vacuum pump 2), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit, and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (see paragraph [0039]).
In regards to claim 20, the Cho et al. reference discloses providing a valve (upper isolation valve 14) disposed between the processing chamber and the first trapping unit; and closing the valve before the removal of the first trapping unit (see at least paragraph [0101]).
Regarding claim 21, the Cho et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (1);
reacting the gas with the semiconductor structure within the processing chamber, wherein chemicals (byproducts) are generated during the reaction;
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (5);
providing a cooling system (thermoelements 20 operate as a cooling system for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]) configured to cool the first trapping unit;
deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system (see at least paragraph [0080]).
In regards to claim 22, the Cho et al. reference discloses trapping the chemicals in a trapping component (see figure 12 for the interior of the trapping unit 5 having trapping components) disposed in the first trapping unit (5) after the residual gas and the chemicals are discharged toward the first trapping unit (5).
In regards to claim 25, the Cho et al. reference discloses removing the first trapping unit (5) when the estimated timing arrives; and
disposing a second trapping unit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (it is considered that a cleaned adjacent trapping unit 5 replaces a used trapping unit 5; see at least paragraphs [0090]-[0097]).
In regards to claim 26, the Cho et al. reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (vacuum pump 2), wherein the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (see paragraph [0039]).
In regards to claim 27, the Cho et al. reference discloses adjusting a pressure in the processing chamber by regulating a degree of opening of a first valve (upper isolation valve 14) disposed between the processing chamber and the first trapping member and a second valve (lower isolation valve 15) disposed between the first trapping member and the pump.
Regarding claim 28, the Cho et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
discharging a residual gas and chemicals toward a first trapping unit (5) from a processing chamber (1);
cooling the first trapping unit by a cooling system (thermoelements 20 operate as a cooling system for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]);
providing an information (based on the pressure gauges 12 and 13) associated with the cooling system to a control system (10); and
deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control unit based on the information (see at least paragraph [0080]).
In regards to claim 29, the Cho et al. reference discloses forming a film on a semiconductor structure after a reaction in the processing chamber before the discharge of the residual gas and the chemicals (the background of the invention describes forming a film on a semiconductor structure and discharging the process chamber through a collector to a vacuum pump; see paragraphs [002]-[0010]).
In regards to claim 32, the Cho et al. reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (vacuum pump 2), wherein the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (see paragraph [0039]).
Claim(s) 13, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 2015/0136027).
Regarding claim 13, the Hara et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (4);
allowing the gas to react with the semiconductor structure (wafer W) within the processing chamber (4), wherein chemicals (byproducts) are generated during the reaction (see at least paragraph [0064]);
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (68) through an exhaust conduit coupled to the processing chamber; and
cooling the first trapping unit (a cooling unit 96 cools the trap panels 84 in the trap panels; see paragraph [0046]).
In regards to claim 18, the Hara et al. reference discloses providing a trapping component (trap panels 84) disposed in a trapping chamber (it is considered that the housing 74 defines a trapping chamber that houses the trap panels 84) of the first trapping unit (68);
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (see at least paragraphs [0038]-[0039]); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (see at least paragraph [0056]).
In regards to claim 19, the Hara et al. reference sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (vacuum pump 70), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit (62), and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (see figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 21-26 and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 2015/0136027) in view of JP 4138267 B2 (see attached machine translation).
In regards to claim 14, the Hara et al. reference discloses providing a coolant (see figure 2) into a cooling system (98) configured to cool the first trapping unit.
The Hara et al. reference does not expressly disclose monitoring a temperature variation of the coolant; and monitoring a flow rate variation of the coolant.
However, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus using a reactive gas within a processing chamber (1) and having a trap and vacuum pump (see paragraph [0040] of the machine translation for the operation of “unreacted residual gas and reaction by-products exhausted from the chamber 1 of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus pass through the trap and reach the vacuum pump 3”). Further, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a life prediction controller (5) of a device by reading internal information (52) such as temperature in real time, a gas flow rate, etc. (see paragraph [0037]) wherein the life prediction controller predicts when repair and/or replacement of the device is needed (see at least paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to monitor a temperature variation of the coolant; and monitoring a flow rate variation of the coolant of the Hara et al. reference in order to provide information to a life prediction controller for the device (in this case coolant / trap) as taught by the JP 4138267 B2 reference in order to predicts when repair and/or replacement is needed.
In regards to claim 15, the Hara et al. reference discloses providing a coolant (see figure 2) into a cooling system (98) configured to cool the first trapping unit; and
wherein the first trapping unit is removed when needed for maintenance (see at least paragraph [0038]).
The Hara et al. reference does not expressly disclose:
providing information associated with the cooling system to a control system;
deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control system based on the information; and
removing the first trapping unit when the estimated timing derived by the control system arrives.
However, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus using a reactive gas within a processing chamber (1) and having a trap and vacuum pump (see paragraph [0040] of the machine translation for the operation of “unreacted residual gas and reaction by-products exhausted from the chamber 1 of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus pass through the trap and reach the vacuum pump 3”). Further, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a life prediction controller (5) of a device by reading internal information (52) such as temperature in real time, a gas flow rate, etc. (see paragraph [0037]) wherein the life prediction controller predicts when repair and/or replacement of the device is needed (see at least paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide information (temperature, flow rate, etc.) associated with the system to a control system and deriving an estimated timing of replacing the desired component at the estimated timing of the Hara et al. reference as taught by the JP 4138267 B2 reference in order to predicts when repair and/or replacement is needed.
In regards to claim 16, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses disposing a second trapping unit coupled to the exhaust conduit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (see at least paragraphs [0038]).
Regarding claim 21, the Hara et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (4);
reacting the gas with the semiconductor structure (wafer W) within the processing chamber, wherein chemicals (by-products) are generated during the reaction (see at least paragraph [0064]);
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (68); and
providing a cooling system (98) configured to cool the first trapping unit.
The Hara et al. reference does not expressly disclose deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system.
However, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus using a reactive gas within a processing chamber (1) and having a trap and vacuum pump (see paragraph [0040] of the machine translation for the operation of “unreacted residual gas and reaction by-products exhausted from the chamber 1 of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus pass through the trap and reach the vacuum pump 3”). Further, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a life prediction controller (5) of a device by reading internal information (52) such as temperature in real time, a gas flow rate, etc. (see paragraph [0037]) wherein the life prediction controller predicts when repair and/or replacement of the device is needed (see at least paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to monitor a temperature variation of the coolant; and monitoring a flow rate variation of the coolant of the Hara et al. reference in order to provide information to a life prediction controller for the device (in this case coolant / trap) as taught by the JP 4138267 B2 reference in order to predicts when repair and/or replacement is needed.
In regards to claim 22, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses providing a trapping component (Hara et al.: trap panels 84) disposed in a trapping chamber (Hara et al.: considered the interior of the housing 74 of the trapping unit 68) of the first trapping unit (68);
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (Hara et al.: see at least paragraphs [0038]-[0039]); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0056]).
In regards to claim 23, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses sensing a temperature and a flow rate (JP 4138267 B2: see paragraph [0037] of the attached machine translation) of a coolant conduit (Hara et al.: 98) of the cooling system surrounding the first trapping unit.
In regards to claim 24, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses providing the temperature and the flow rate information to a control system (JP 4138267 B2: 5) for deriving the estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit (JP 4138267 B2: see at least paragraph [0001]).
In regards to claim 25, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses removing the first trapping unit when the estimated timing arrives (based on the JP 4138267 B2 reference above); and
disposing a second trapping unit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0038]).
In regards to claim 26, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Hara et al.: vacuum pump 70), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit (Hara et al.: 62), and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Hara et al.: see figure 1).
Regarding claim 28, the Hara et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
discharging a residual gas and chemicals toward a first trapping unit (68) from a processing chamber (4); and
cooling the first trapping unit by a cooling system (98).
The Hara et al. reference does not disclose providing an information associated with the cooling system to a control system; and deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control unit based on the information.
However, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus using a reactive gas within a processing chamber (1) and having a trap and vacuum pump (see paragraph [0040] of the machine translation for the operation of “unreacted residual gas and reaction by-products exhausted from the chamber 1 of the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus pass through the trap and reach the vacuum pump 3”). Further, the JP 4138267 B2 reference teaches a life prediction controller (5) of a device by reading internal information (52) such as temperature in real time, a gas flow rate, etc. (see paragraph [0037]) wherein the life prediction controller predicts when repair and/or replacement of the device is needed (see at least paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to monitor a temperature variation of the coolant; and monitoring a flow rate variation of the coolant of the Hara et al. reference in order to provide information to a life prediction controller for the device (in this case coolant / trap) as taught by the JP 4138267 B2 reference in order to predicts when repair and/or replacement is needed.
In regards to claim 29, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses forming a film (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0052]) on a semiconductor structure after a reaction in the processing chamber before the discharge of the residual gas and the chemicals (Hara et al.: see paragraphs [0052]-[0054]).
In regards to claim 30, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses providing a coolant into the cooling system (Hara et al.: see figure 2) configured to cool the first trapping unit;
monitoring a temperature variation of the coolant; and
monitoring a flow rate variation of the coolant (JP 4138267 B2: see paragraph [0037] for the monitoring of information such as temperature and flow rate).
In regards to claim 31, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses deriving the estimated time based on the monitored temperature variation and the flow rate of the coolant (JP 4138267 B2: see at least paragraphs [0001] and [0037]).
In regards to claim 32, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Hara et al.: vacuum pump 70), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit (Hara et al.: 62), and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Hara et al.: see figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashizawa et al. (US 9963784), Horii et al. (US 8193083), Nguyen et al. (US 6800254), Tseng et al. (US 6174376), Liu (US 6165272), Tseng et al. (US 6161575), Saito (US 6159298) and Schmitt et al. (US 6099649) disclose various processing chambers that include exhaust systems having at least one pump and at least one trap.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753