DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 4/20/2026. Claims 13-15, 21, 23, 24, 28, and 30 are currently amended. Claims 1-12 have been canceled. No claims are newly added. Presently, claims 13-32 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 section on pages 1-3 of the remarks filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13, 15-22, 25-29 and 32 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2009/0306808) and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13, 18 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 20150136027); and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14-16, 21-26 and 28-32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. in view of JP 4138267 B2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the applied reference to Nomura (US 6554879).
It is considered that the Nomura reference addresses applicant’s concerns and claim language relating to a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Since new grounds of rejection were necessitated by applicant’s amendment, the instant Office action is made final.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/4/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-22, 25-29 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2009/0306808) in view of Nomura (US 6554879).
Regarding claim 13, the Cho et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (1);
allowing the gas to react with the semiconductor structure within the processing chamber (1), wherein chemicals (byproducts) are generated during the reaction;
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (5) through an exhaust conduit coupled to the processing chamber; and
cooling the first trapping unit (thermoelements 20 operate as cooling devices for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]).
The Cho et al. reference does not disclose wherein the first trapping unit is cooled by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system.
However, the Nomura reference teaches a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to cool the first trapping unit of the Cho et al. reference by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system as taught by the Nomura reference in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus.
In regards to claim 14, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses wherein providing the information associated with the cooling system to the control system comprises:
providing a temperature variation of the coolant monitored by the coolant sensor (Nomura: temperature sensor Tc) to the control system.
In regards to claim 15, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control system based on the information (Nomura: col. 3, lines 30-42); and
removing the first trapping unit when the estimated timing derived by the control system arrives (Nomura: switching the trap apparatus; see at least col. 3, lines 30-42).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses disposing a second trapping unit coupled to the exhaust conduit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (Cho et al.: see at least paragraphs [0090]-[0097]; Nomura: alternatively, the switching of the trap apparatus to use the second trapping unit as shown in figure 6 constitutes a removal of the first trapping unit and placement / replacement of a new trapping unit in the active position in the trap apparatus).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses the removal is performed when a pressure inside the processing chamber is less than a predetermined pressure (Cho et al.: see at least paragraphs [0091]-[0099]; Nomura: the replacement of the trapping unit is based on a pressure difference across the trap apparatus wherein the upstream pressure sensor measures the pressure from the process chamber; see at least col. 3, lines 30-42).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses providing a trapping component (Cho et al.: see figure 12 for the interior of the trapping unit 5 having trapping components; Nomura: 34) disposed in a trapping chamber (Cho et al.: considered the interior of the trapping unit 5; Nomura: 54) of the first trapping unit;
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (Cho et al.: see at least paragraph [0106]; Nomura: see at least col. 8, lines 35-40); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (Cho et al.: see at least paragraph [0081]; Nomura: by the vacuum pump 14).
In regards to claim 19, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Cho et al.: vacuum pump 2; Nomura: 14), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit, and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Cho et al.: see paragraph [0039]; Nomura: see figure 1).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses providing a valve (Cho et al.: upper isolation valve 14) disposed between the processing chamber and the first trapping unit; and closing the valve before the removal of the first trapping unit (Cho et al.: see at least paragraph [0101]).
Regarding claim 21, the Cho et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (1);
reacting the gas with the semiconductor structure within the processing chamber, wherein chemicals (byproducts) are generated during the reaction;
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (5);
providing a cooling system (thermoelements 20 operate as a cooling system for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]) configured to cool the first trapping unit;
deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system (see at least paragraph [0080]).
The Cho et al. reference does not disclose wherein the cooling system includes a coolant; and provides information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system.
However, the Nomura reference teaches a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to cool the first trapping unit of the Cho et al. reference by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system as taught by the Nomura reference in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus.
In regards to claim 22, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses trapping the chemicals in a trapping component (Cho et al.: see figure 12 for the interior of the trapping unit 5 having trapping components; Nomura: see at least col. 8, lines 35-40) disposed in the first trapping unit (Cho et al.: 5; Nomura: 34) after the residual gas and the chemicals are discharged toward the first trapping unit (Cho et al.: 5; Nomura: 34);
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (Cho et al.: see at least paragraph [0106]; Nomura: see at least col. 8, lines 35-40); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (Cho et al.: see at least paragraph [0081]; Nomura: by the vacuum pump 14).
In regards to claim 25, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses removing the first trapping unit (Cho et al.: 5; Nomura: 34) when the estimated timing arrives; and
disposing a second trapping unit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (Cho et al.: it is considered that a cleaned adjacent trapping unit 5 replaces a used trapping unit 5; see at least paragraphs [0090]-[0097]; Nomura: alternatively, the switching of the trap apparatus to use the second trapping unit as shown in figure 6 constitutes a removal of the first trapping unit and placement / replacement of a new trapping unit in the active position in the trap apparatus).
In regards to claim 26, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Cho et al.: vacuum pump 2; Nomura: 14), wherein the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Cho et al.: see paragraph [0039]; Nomura: see at least figure 1).
In regards to claim 27, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses adjusting a pressure in the processing chamber by regulating a degree of opening of a first valve (Cho et al.: upper isolation valve 14) disposed between the processing chamber and the first trapping member and a second valve (Cho et al.: lower isolation valve 15) disposed between the first trapping member and the pump.
Regarding claim 28, the Cho et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
discharging a residual gas and chemicals toward a first trapping unit (5) from a processing chamber (1);
cooling the first trapping unit by a cooling system (thermoelements 20 operate as a cooling system for the trapping unit 5; see paragraph [0086]);
providing an information (based on the pressure gauges 12 and 13) associated with the cooling system to a control system (10); and
deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control unit based on the information (see at least paragraph [0080]).
The Cho et al. reference does not disclose wherein the cooling system includes a coolant; and provides information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system.
However, the Nomura reference teaches a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to cool the first trapping unit of the Cho et al. reference by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system as taught by the Nomura reference in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus.
In regards to claim 29, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses forming a film on a semiconductor structure after a reaction in the processing chamber before the discharge of the residual gas and the chemicals (Cho et al.: the background of the invention describes forming a film on a semiconductor structure and discharging the process chamber through a collector to a vacuum pump; see paragraphs [002]-[0010]).
In regards to claim 32, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Cho et al.: vacuum pump 2; Nomura: 14), wherein the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Cho et al.: see paragraph [0039]; Nomura: see at least figure 1).
Claim(s) 13-16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28-30 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 2015/0136027) in view of Nomura (US 6554879).
Regarding claim 13, the Hara et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (4);
allowing the gas to react with the semiconductor structure (wafer W) within the processing chamber (4), wherein chemicals (byproducts) are generated during the reaction (see at least paragraph [0064]);
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (68) through an exhaust conduit coupled to the processing chamber; and
cooling the first trapping unit (a cooling unit 96 cools the trap panels 84 in the trap panels; see paragraph [0046]).
The Hara et al. reference does not disclose wherein the cooling system includes a coolant; and provides information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system.
However, the Nomura reference teaches a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to cool the first trapping unit of the Hara et al. reference by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system as taught by the Nomura reference in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus.
In regards to claim 14, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses wherein providing the information associated with the cooling system to the control system comprises:
providing a temperature variation of the coolant monitored by the coolant sensor (Nomura: temperature sensor Tc) to the control system.
In regards to claim 15, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control system based on the information (Nomura: col. 3, lines 30-42); and
removing the first trapping unit when the estimated timing derived by the control system arrives (Nomura: switching the trap apparatus; see at least col. 3, lines 30-42).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses disposing a second trapping unit coupled to the exhaust conduit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (Nomura: the switching of the trap apparatus to use the second trapping unit as shown in figure 6 constitutes a removal of the first trapping unit and placement / replacement of a new trapping unit in the active position in the trap apparatus).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses providing a trapping component (Hara et al.: trap panels 84; Nomura: 34, see figure 3) disposed in a trapping chamber (Hara et al.: it is considered that the housing 74 defines a trapping chamber that houses the trap panels 84; Nomura: 54) of the first trapping unit (Hara et al.: 68; Nomura: 34);
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (Hara et al.: see at least paragraphs [0038]-[0039]; Nomura: see at least col. 8, lines 35-40); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0056]; Nomura: by the vacuum pump 14).
In regards to claim 19, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Hara et al.: vacuum pump 70; Nomura: 14), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit (Hara et al.: 62; Nomura: 40), and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Hara et al.: see figure 1; Nomura: see figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, the Hara et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a gas into a processing chamber (4);
reacting the gas with the semiconductor structure (wafer W) within the processing chamber, wherein chemicals (by-products) are generated during the reaction (see at least paragraph [0064]);
discharging a residual gas and the chemicals from the processing chamber toward a first trapping unit (68); and
providing a cooling system (98) configured to cool the first trapping unit.
The Hara et al. reference does not expressly disclose deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system and the cooling system includes a coolant; and provides information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system.
However, the Nomura reference teaches a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) and deriving an estimated time of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the coolant system (col. 3, lines 30-42) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to cool the first trapping unit of the Hara et al. reference by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, deriving an estimated timing of the replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system as taught by the Nomura reference in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus.
In regards to claim 22, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses providing a trapping component (Hara et al.: trap panels 84; Nomura: see at least col. 8, lines 35-40) disposed in a trapping chamber (Hara et al.: considered the interior of the housing 74 of the trapping unit 68; Nomura: 34) of the first trapping unit (Hara et al.: 68; Nomura: 34);
trapping the chemicals in the trapping component (Hara et al.: see at least paragraphs [0038]-[0039]; Nomura: see at least col. 8, lines 35-40); and
discharging the residual gas out of the trapping chamber (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0056]; Nomura: by the vacuum pump 14).
In regards to claim 25, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses removing the first trapping unit when the estimated timing arrives (based on the Nomura reference above); and
disposing a second trapping unit to replace the first trapping unit after the removal (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0038]; Nomura: alternatively, the switching of the trap apparatus to use the second trapping unit as shown in figure 6 constitutes a removal of the first trapping unit and placement / replacement of a new trapping unit in the active position in the trap apparatus).
In regards to claim 26, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Hara et al.: vacuum pump 70; Nomura: 14), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit (Hara et al.: 62; Nomura: 40), and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Hara et al.: see figure 1; Nomura: see at least figure 1).
Regarding claim 28, the Hara et al. reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the method of making a semiconductor structure comprising:
discharging a residual gas and chemicals toward a first trapping unit (68) from a processing chamber (4); and
cooling the first trapping unit by a cooling system (98).
The Hara et al. reference does not disclose providing an information associated with the cooling system to a control system; and deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit by the control unit based on the information.
The Hara et al. reference does not expressly disclose deriving an estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system and the cooling system includes a coolant; and provides information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system.
However, the Nomura reference teaches a trap apparatus (10) that is located between a processing chamber (12) and a vacuum pump (14) wherein the trap apparatus is cooled by a coolant (col. 3, lines 8-15) and information associated with the coolant system and trap apparatus is monitored by a temperature sensor (Tc) and a pressure sensor (P) is provided upstream of the trap apparatus at the discharge path and wherein the temperature and pressure differences can be detected by the sensors (col. 7, lines 21-25) and deriving an estimated time of replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the coolant system (col. 3, lines 30-42) in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus based on the pressure information (col. 3, lines 30-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to cool the first trapping unit of the Hara et al. reference by a cooling system including a coolant; and providing information associated with the cooling system monitored by a coolant sensor to a control system, deriving an estimated timing of the replacing the first trapping unit based on the information of the cooling system, wherein a pressure sensor is disposed between the cooling system and an outlet of the processing chamber and provides pressure information associated with the processing chamber to the control system as taught by the Nomura reference in order to determine and control the switching / replacement of the trap apparatus.
In regards to claim 29, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses forming a film (Hara et al.: see at least paragraph [0052]) on a semiconductor structure after a reaction in the processing chamber before the discharge of the residual gas and the chemicals (Hara et al.: see paragraphs [0052]-[0054]).
In regards to claim 30, the combination of the Cho et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses wherein providing the information associated with the cooling system to the control system comprises:
providing a temperature variation of the coolant monitored by the coolant sensor (Nomura: temperature sensor Tc) to the control system.
In regards to claim 32, the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference discloses sucking the residual gas and the chemicals from the first trapping unit by a pump (Hara et al.: vacuum pump 70; Nomura: 14), wherein the pump is coupled to the exhaust conduit (Hara et al.: 62; Nomura: 40), and the first trapping unit is disposed between the processing chamber and the pump (Hara et al.: see figure 1; Nomura: see at least figure 1).
Claim(s) 23, 24, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 2015/0136027) in view of Nomura (US 6554879), as applied to claims 21 and 28 above, and further in view of JP 4138267 B2 (see machine translation attached with the Office action dated 1/15/2026).
In regards to claim 23, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference does not disclose sensing a temperature and a flow rate of a coolant conduit of the cooling system surrounding the first trapping unit by the coolant sensor.
However, the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses sensing a temperature and a flow rate (JP 4138267 B2: see paragraph [0037] of the attached machine translation) of a coolant conduit of the cooling system surrounding the first trapping unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a temperature and flow rate of the coolant conduit as taught by the JP 4138267 B2 reference to provide additional information for control of the system of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference in order to improve efficiency and control.
In regards to claim 24, the combination of the Hara et al. reference, the Nomura reference and the JP 4138267 B2 reference discloses providing the temperature and the flow rate information to a control system (JP 4138267 B2: 5) for deriving the estimated timing of replacing the first trapping unit (JP 4138267 B2: see at least paragraph [0001]).
In regards to claim 31, the Hara et al. reference of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference does not disclose the information includes a flow rate variation of the coolant monitored by the coolant sensor and deriving the estimated time based on the monitored temperature variation and the flow rate of the coolant.
However, the JP4138267 B2 reference teaches providing information associated with the coolant system including a temperature variation of the coolant and a flow rate variation of the coolant (JP 4138267 B2: see paragraph [0037] for the monitoring of information such as temperature and flow rate) and deriving the estimated time based on the monitored temperature variation and the flow rate of the coolant (JP 4138267 B2: see at least paragraphs [0001] and [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a temperature and flow rate of the coolant conduit as taught by the JP 4138267 B2 reference wherein the temperature variation and the flow rate are utilized to derive the estimated time to provide additional information for control of the system of the combination of the Hara et al. reference and the Nomura reference in order to improve efficiency and control.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753