DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 20130168068 A1).
As to Claim 1, Huang discloses:
An electronic system (cold plate 10 and processor 32 on board 30; see Figs. 1A-1B), comprising:
a heat source (a heat-generating processor 32); and
a cooling module (cold plate 10/conductive members 20), comprising:
a liquid cooling assembly (10/20), comprising:
a cold plate (cold plate 10), having a fluid chamber (channels 47 comprise chamber; Par. 0034 “FIG. 4 is a schematic plan view of the cold plate 10 of FIG. 3 illustrating the flow path of the liquid coolant through individual channels 47 within the cold plate 10. As described above, the liquid coolant is provided through a supply line 42, to a supply plenum 46, through a plurality of internal channels 47, to an output plenum 48, and then to the return line 44”), a thermally coupling surface (bottom 36 of cold plate 10) and a heat dissipation surface (top 16 of cold plate 10), wherein the fluid chamber 47 is located between the thermally coupling surface 36 and the heat dissipation surface 16 (47 disposed between 36 and 16), and the thermally coupling surface 36 is thermally coupled with the heat source 32 (Par. 0031 “For the purpose of cooling the processor 32, the cold plate 10 is lowered into thermal engagement with the processor. An area of contact is shown in dashed lines 34 on the base (bottom) 36 of the cold plate body 12”); and
a thermally conductive component (thermally conductive members 20), entirely located outside the fluid chamber 47 and thermally coupled with the cold plate 10 (20 disposed outside of 47 and thermally coupled to 10; Par. 0030 “the cold plate 10 includes a cold plate body 12 having a grooves 14 formed in the top 16 and sides 18. Thermally conductive members 20 are received in the grooves 14 and conform to the walls of the grooves”), wherein the thermally conductive component 20 extends from one side of the cold plate 10 located closer to the thermally coupling surface 36 to another side of the cold plate 10 located closer to the heat dissipation surface 16 (Par. 0031 “it is seen that the thermally conductive members 20 are spaced apart along the top 16 of the cold plate body to improve heat distribution across the top of the cold plate body, but gathered into the central region 34 along the bottom 36 of the cold plate body to improve heat transfer with the processor 32”);
wherein the cold plate 10 comprises a bottom seat 36 and a cover 16 connected to each other (bottom 36 and top 16 connected to each other), the thermally coupling surface is located at the bottom seat (36 is at bottom), the heat dissipation surface is located at the cover (16 is at top), the bottom seat 36 and the cover 16 together form the fluid chamber 47 (47 disposed within 36 and 16), and the thermally conductive component 20 extends from the bottom seat 36 to the cover 16 (see Figs. 1A-1B, 20 extends from 36 to 16).
As to Claim 2, Huang discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 20 is embedded into the cold plate 10 (Par. 0031 “The embedded members 20 are flush with the surface of the base 36 and are preferably flattened to increase the contact area between the thermally conductive members 20 and the processor 32”).
As to Claim 3, Huang discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 20 (Par. 0024 “Non-limiting examples of such thermally conductive members include a heat pipe”) comprises a heat absorbing portion (evaporating portion at hot location), a transmission portion (portion between evaporator and condenser) and a condensation portion (condenser portion at cold location), the heat absorbing portion is connected to the condensation portion via the transmission portion (transmission portion connected to evaporating portion and condenser portion), the heat absorbing portion is disposed at the bottom seat 36, the condensation portion is disposed at the cover 16, and the transmission portion extends from the bottom seat 36 to the cover 16 (evaporating portion of 20 disposed at bottom 36 near 32 and condenser portion of 20 disposed at top 16; Par. 0028 “A heat pipe is a thermally conductive member forming a sealed core containing a fluid to transfer heat from a hot location (i.e., the first region) to one or more cold locations (i.e., the second region) primarily through cyclic evaporation and condensation… capillary forces will move condensate condensed from vapor at the "condenser" portion(s) at the cold location(s) of the heat pipe through the wick to the "evaporator" portion(s) at the hot location(s) of the heat pipe”; Par. 0035 “The thermally conductive member 20 has a first end 21 that extends around a first side 18 of the plurality of internal channels 47 to the top 16, and a second end 23 that extends around a second side 19 of the plurality of internal channels 47 to the top 16. As a result, heat is transferred from a first region 25 between the base and the internal channels 47 to a second region 27 between the internal channels 47 and the top 16”).
As to Claim 10, Huang discloses:
A cooling module (cold plate 10/conductive members 20 of Figs. 1A-1B), configured to cool a heat source (a heat-generating processor 32; Par. 0031 “For the purpose of cooling the processor 32, the cold plate 10 is lowered into thermal engagement with the processor”), comprising:
a liquid cooling assembly (10/20), comprising:
a cold plate (cold plate 10), having a fluid chamber (channels 47 comprise chamber; Par. 0034 “FIG. 4 is a schematic plan view of the cold plate 10 of FIG. 3 illustrating the flow path of the liquid coolant through individual channels 47 within the cold plate 10. As described above, the liquid coolant is provided through a supply line 42, to a supply plenum 46, through a plurality of internal channels 47, to an output plenum 48, and then to the return line 44”), a thermally coupling surface (bottom 36 of cold plate 10) and a heat dissipation surface (top 16 of cold plate 10), wherein the fluid chamber 47 is located between the thermally coupling surface 36 and the heat dissipation surface 16 (47 disposed between 36 and 16), and the thermally coupling surface 36 is configured to be thermally coupled with the heat source 32 (Par. 0031 “For the purpose of cooling the processor 32, the cold plate 10 is lowered into thermal engagement with the processor. An area of contact is shown in dashed lines 34 on the base (bottom) 36 of the cold plate body 12”); and
a thermally conductive component (thermally conductive members 20), entirely located outside the fluid chamber 47 and thermally coupled with the cold plate 10 (20 disposed outside of 47 and thermally coupled to 10; Par. 0030 “the cold plate 10 includes a cold plate body 12 having a grooves 14 formed in the top 16 and sides 18. Thermally conductive members 20 are received in the grooves 14 and conform to the walls of the grooves”), wherein the thermally conductive component 20 extends from one side of the cold plate 10 located closer to the thermally coupling surface 36 to another side of the cold plate 10 located closer to the heat dissipation surface 16 (Par. 0031 “it is seen that the thermally conductive members 20 are spaced apart along the top 16 of the cold plate body to improve heat distribution across the top of the cold plate body, but gathered into the central region 34 along the bottom 36 of the cold plate body to improve heat transfer with the processor 32”);
wherein the cold plate 10 comprises a bottom seat 36 and a cover 16 connected to each other (bottom 36 and top 16 connected to each other), the thermally coupling surface is located at the bottom seat (36 is at bottom), the heat dissipation surface is located at the cover (16 is at top), the bottom seat 36 and the cover 16 together form the fluid chamber 47 (47 disposed within 36 and 16), and the thermally conductive component 20 extends from the bottom seat 36 to the cover 16 (see Figs. 1A-1B, 20 extends from 36 to 16).
As to Claim 11, Huang discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 20 is embedded into the cold plate 10 (Par. 0031 “The embedded members 20 are flush with the surface of the base 36 and are preferably flattened to increase the contact area between the thermally conductive members 20 and the processor 32”).
As to Claim 12, Huang discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 20 (Par. 0024 “Non-limiting examples of such thermally conductive members include a heat pipe”) comprises a heat absorbing portion (evaporating portion at hot location), a transmission portion (portion between evaporator and condenser) and a condensation portion (condenser portion at cold location), the heat absorbing portion is connected to the condensation portion via the transmission portion (transmission portion connected to evaporating portion and condenser portion), the heat absorbing portion is disposed at the bottom seat 36, the condensation portion is disposed at the cover 16, and the transmission portion extends from the bottom seat 36 to the cover 16 (evaporating portion of 20 disposed at bottom 36 near 32 and condenser portion of 20 disposed at top 16; Par. 0028 “A heat pipe is a thermally conductive member forming a sealed core containing a fluid to transfer heat from a hot location (i.e., the first region) to one or more cold locations (i.e., the second region) primarily through cyclic evaporation and condensation… capillary forces will move condensate condensed from vapor at the "condenser" portion(s) at the cold location(s) of the heat pipe through the wick to the "evaporator" portion(s) at the hot location(s) of the heat pipe”; Par. 0035 “The thermally conductive member 20 has a first end 21 that extends around a first side 18 of the plurality of internal channels 47 to the top 16, and a second end 23 that extends around a second side 19 of the plurality of internal channels 47 to the top 16. As a result, heat is transferred from a first region 25 between the base and the internal channels 47 to a second region 27 between the internal channels 47 and the top 16”).
As to Claim 18, Huang discloses:
wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive component 20 is greater than a thermal conductivity of the cold plate 10 (Par. 0017 “The cold plate body is made from a first thermally conductive material… The at least one thermally conductive member has a greater effective thermal conductivity than the first thermally conductive material to move heat from the first region to the second region”; Par. 0024 “the first thermally conductive material is aluminum, and wherein the at least one thermally conductive member is made from copper. Such an embodiment is suitable, because copper has a greater thermal conductivity than aluminum”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20130168068 A1) as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20070240859 A1).
As to Claim 4, Huang discloses:
wherein the heat absorbing portion (evaporating portion of 20) and the condensation portion (condenser portion of 20) is non-parallel to a direction of gravity (top and bottoms of 20 are non-parallel to direction of gravity), a capillary structure is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion (Par. 0028 “The wick, which may, for example, comprise a few layers of a fine gauze, may be affixed to the inside surface of the core, such that capillary forces will move condensate condensed from vapor at the "condenser" portion(s) at the cold location(s) of the heat pipe through the wick to the "evaporator" portion(s) at the hot location(s) of the heat pipe”).
Huang does not disclose:
a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion.
However, Wang discloses:
a groove structure (capillary structure 111; Fig. 3) is provided in the transmission portion (portion between 100 and 101; Par. 0021 “The second kind of capillary structure 111 provided within the portion of the heat pipe 1 to be bent is constituted by woven webs or grooves. Therefore, the heat pipe 1 can be bent without breaking the capillary structure”);
in order to provide a capillary structure capable of withstanding the bending of the heat pipe (Par. 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Wang e.g., providing:
a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion;
in order to provide a capillary structure capable of withstanding the bending of the heat pipe.
As to Claim 13, Huang discloses:
wherein the heat absorbing portion (evaporating portion of 20) and the condensation portion (condenser portion of 20) is non-parallel to a direction of gravity (top and bottoms of 20 are non-parallel to direction of gravity), a capillary structure is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion (Par. 0028 “The wick, which may, for example, comprise a few layers of a fine gauze, may be affixed to the inside surface of the core, such that capillary forces will move condensate condensed from vapor at the "condenser" portion(s) at the cold location(s) of the heat pipe through the wick to the "evaporator" portion(s) at the hot location(s) of the heat pipe”).
Huang does not disclose:
a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion.
However, Wang discloses:
a groove structure (capillary structure 111; Fig. 3) is provided in the transmission portion (portion between 100 and 101; Par. 0021 “The second kind of capillary structure 111 provided within the portion of the heat pipe 1 to be bent is constituted by woven webs or grooves. Therefore, the heat pipe 1 can be bent without breaking the capillary structure”);
in order to provide a capillary structure capable of withstanding the bending of the heat pipe (Par. 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Wang e.g., providing:
a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion;
in order to provide a capillary structure capable of withstanding the bending of the heat pipe.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20130168068 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1).
As to Claim 6, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate.
However, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly (1114 of Fig. 11) thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate (top side of heat pipes 1120a-1120d; correspond to top side 16 of Huang);
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat (Par. 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Jaggers e.g., providing:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate;
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat.
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Huang in view of Jaggers discloses:
wherein the cooling module further comprises an air cooling assembly (cooling fan assembly 1116; Fig. 11 of Jaggers) disposed aside the fin assembly 1114 and configured to generate an airflow towards the fin assembly 1114 (Par. 0067 “The component cooling apparatus 1100 further includes a heat sink fin stack 1114 having a top surface coupled to a bottom surface of a cooling fan assembly 1116 configured to direct an air flow to the heat sink fin stack 1114”; Jaggers).
As to Claim 15, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate.
However, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly (1114 of Fig. 11) thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate (top side of heat pipes 1120a-1120d; correspond to top side 16 of Huang);
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat (Par. 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang as further suggested by Jaggers e.g., providing:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate;
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat.
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Huang in view of Jaggers discloses:
further comprises an air cooling assembly (cooling fan assembly 1116; Fig. 11 of Jaggers) disposed aside the fin assembly 1114 and configured to generate an airflow towards the fin assembly 1114 (Par. 0067 “The component cooling apparatus 1100 further includes a heat sink fin stack 1114 having a top surface coupled to a bottom surface of a cooling fan assembly 1116 configured to direct an air flow to the heat sink fin stack 1114”; Jaggers).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20130168068 A1) in view of Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1) as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Gao (US 10925190 B2) and Holden (US 20200340767 A1).
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Huang in view of Jaggers discloses:
the liquid cooling assembly (10/20 of Huang) further comprises an inlet pipe (supply line 42) and an outlet pipe (drain/return line 44), the inlet pipe 42 and the outlet pipe 44 are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 10 (Par. 0030 “A supply line 42 and a drain/return line 44 are fluidically coupled to the sides of the cold plate body for fluid communication with internal channels within the cold plate body”; coupled on different sides of cold plate body 12; Huang).
Huang and Jaggers do not disclose:
wherein the cooling module further comprises a leakage detector and a module controller, the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a valve, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein the cooling module further comprises a leakage detector (413a; see Fig. 4A) and a module controller (RMC 222), the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe (supply line 401a), a valve (FCD 403a) and an outlet pipe (return line 402a), the inlet pipe 401a and the outlet pipe 402b are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 411a (also see Fig. 3, supply and return lines are separate lines connected to cold plate), the valve 403a is disposed on the inlet pipe 401a (col. 9, Line 57 “server FCD 403A is attached to server supply line 401A”), the leakage detector 413a is disposed around the cold plate 411a (413a is disposed around/near cold plate 411a), the module controller 222 is electrically connected to the valve 403a, the leakage detector 413a, and the module controller 413a is configured to close the valve 403a when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector 413a (col. 10, Lines 7-14 “in response to a signal received from leak detector 413A indicating that there may be liquid leak within server blade 410A, RMC 222 transmits a command to server FCD 403A to activate or enable FCD 403A to reduce the amount of cooling liquid flowing into server blade 410A. FCD 403A may be a two-way valve or switch to simply block at least a substantial portion of the cooling liquid from entering server blade 410A via server supply line 401A”);
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within server blades (col. 9, Lines 48-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang in view of Jaggers as further suggested by Gao e.g., providing:
wherein the cooling module further comprises a leakage detector and a module controller, the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe, a valve and an outlet pipe, the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector, and the module controller is configured to close the valve when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within electronic equipment.
Further, Holden discloses:
the module controller (head module of Fig. 10) is electrically connected to the leakage detector 400 and the air cooling assembly (Par. 0099 “Such a signal or other circuitry (“glue logic”) 440 can activate a relay or other device, as for example to interrupt power to a pump, or to power an actuator configured to fluidly isolate a fluid device from a fluid circuit, or otherwise provide a signal to a control circuit 450. The control circuit 450 can control a motor of a fan or a pump, or can actuate an actuator to interrupt a flow of fluid, as by closing a valve”), and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector (see Par. 0099, a fan can be controlled by the motor when signal of a leak is detected);
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak (Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang in view of Jaggers and Gao as further suggested by Holden e.g., providing:
the module controller is electrically connected to the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak.
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Huang in view of Jaggers discloses:
the liquid cooling assembly (10/20 of Huang) further comprises an inlet pipe (supply line 42) and an outlet pipe (drain/return line 44), the inlet pipe 42 and the outlet pipe 44 are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 10 (Par. 0030 “A supply line 42 and a drain/return line 44 are fluidically coupled to the sides of the cold plate body for fluid communication with internal channels within the cold plate body”; coupled on different sides of cold plate body 12; Huang).
Huang and Jaggers does not disclose:
further comprising a leakage detector and a module controller, wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a valve, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector.
However, Gao discloses:
further comprising a leakage detector (413a; see Fig. 4A) and a module controller (RMC 222), wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe (supply line 401a), a valve (FCD 403a) and an outlet pipe (return line 402a), the inlet pipe 401a and the outlet pipe 402b are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 411a (also see Fig. 3, supply and return lines are separate lines connected to cold plate), the valve 403a is disposed on the inlet pipe 401a (col. 9, Line 57 “server FCD 403A is attached to server supply line 401A”), the leakage detector 413a is disposed around the cold plate 411a (413a is disposed around/near cold plate 411a), the module controller 222 is electrically connected to the valve 403a, the leakage detector 413a, and the module controller 413a is configured to close the valve 403a when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector 413a (col. 10, Lines 7-14 “in response to a signal received from leak detector 413A indicating that there may be liquid leak within server blade 410A, RMC 222 transmits a command to server FCD 403A to activate or enable FCD 403A to reduce the amount of cooling liquid flowing into server blade 410A. FCD 403A may be a two-way valve or switch to simply block at least a substantial portion of the cooling liquid from entering server blade 410A via server supply line 401A”);
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within server blades (col. 9, Lines 48-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang in view of Jaggers as further suggested by Gao e.g., providing:
further comprising a leakage detector and a module controller, wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe, a valve and an outlet pipe, the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector, and the module controller is configured to close the valve when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within electronic equipment.
Further, Holden discloses:
the module controller (head module of Fig. 10) is electrically connected to the leakage detector 400 and the air cooling assembly (Par. 0099 “Such a signal or other circuitry (“glue logic”) 440 can activate a relay or other device, as for example to interrupt power to a pump, or to power an actuator configured to fluidly isolate a fluid device from a fluid circuit, or otherwise provide a signal to a control circuit 450. The control circuit 450 can control a motor of a fan or a pump, or can actuate an actuator to interrupt a flow of fluid, as by closing a valve”), and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector (see Par. 0099, a fan can be controlled by the motor when signal of a leak is detected);
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak (Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang in view of Jaggers and Gao as further suggested by Holden e.g., providing:
the module controller is electrically connected to the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 5, 9 and 14, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the dependent claims 5, 9 and 14, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 5, 9 and 14 recite the following limitations:
“wherein the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion are non-perpendicular to a direction of gravity, a capillary force of a capillary structure in the heat absorbing portion is greater than a capillary force of a capillary structure in the transmission portion, and a groove structure is provided in the condensation portion.” – claim 5;
“further comprising a motherboard, a baseboard management controller and a rotational speed sensor, wherein the heat source and the baseboard management controller are disposed on the motherboard, the baseboard management controller is electrically connected to the module controller, the rotational speed sensor is electrically connected to the baseboard management controller and configured to measure a rotational speed information, the baseboard management controller is configured to decrease a power of the heat source or shut down the heat source according to the rotational speed information after receiving the leakage signal transmitted from the module controller.” – claim 9;
“wherein the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion are non-perpendicular to a direction of gravity, a capillary force of a capillary structure in the heat absorbing portion is greater than a capillary force of a capillary structure in the transmission portion, and a groove structure is provided in the condensation portion.” – claim 14.
Chainer (US 20120279686 A1) discloses heat pipes embedded in a cold plate, but does not disclose the claimed capillary structure or sensor/management details.
Lee (US 20040140084 A1) discloses a liquid cooled container, fins and fan, but does not disclose the claimed capillary structure or sensor/management details.
Macias (US 12055986 B2) discloses cooling via a heat pipe and cold plate, but does not disclose the claimed capillary structure or sensor/management details.
See previous PTO-892
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 5, 9 and 14, are believed to render said claims 5, 9 and 14 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841