DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1).
As to Claim 1, Jaggers discloses:
An electronic system (component cooling apparatus 100; Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a heat source (processor 106); and
a cooling module (structure of 100), comprising:
a liquid cooling assembly, comprising:
a cold plate (combination of cold plates 112a,112b and base plates 108a-108d), having a fluid chamber (120a,120c), a thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) and a heat dissipation surface (top of 108d), wherein the fluid chamber 120a,120b is located between the thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) and the heat dissipation surface (top of 108d; 120a,120b are disposed between the bottom of 108a and top of 108d), and the thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) is thermally coupled with the heat source 106 (Par. 0039 “A top surface of the processor 106 is thermally coupled to a bottom surface of a first base plate 108A”); and
a thermally conductive component (heat pipes 114a-114d; hereinafter 114 unless further detailed), entirely located outside the fluid chamber (120a,120b) and thermally coupled with the cold plate 112a,112b (heat pipes 114a-114d are thermally coupled to cold plates 112a,112b and disposed outside of 120a,120b), wherein the thermally conductive component 114 extends from one side of the cold plate 112a,112b located closer to the thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) to another side of the cold plate 112a,112b located closer to the heat dissipation surface (top of 108d; heat pipes 114 extend from bottom side of 112a,112b near 108a to top side of 112a,112b near 108d).
As to Claim 2, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 114 is embedded into the cold plate (112a,112b; heat pipes 114 are embedded in 108a and 108d (Par. 0043 “Each of the heat pipes 114A-114D has a first end disposed between and in thermal contact with the first base plate 108A and the second base plate 108B, and a second end disposed between and in thermal contact with the third base plate 108C and the fourth base plate 108D”).
As to Claim 3, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the cold plate 112a,112b comprises a bottom seat 108a and a cover 108d connected to each other (108a connected to 108d), the bottom seat 108a and the cover 108d together form the fluid chamber 120a,120b (when assembled, 120a,120b are formed between 108a,108d), the thermally coupling surface is located at the bottom seat (bottom of 108a), the heat dissipation surface is located at the cover (top of 108d), the thermally conductive component 114 comprises a heat absorbing portion (bottom portion of 114), a transmission portion (middle portion of 114) and a condensation portion (top portion of 114), the heat absorbing portion (bottom of 114) is connected to the condensation portion (top of 114) via the transmission portion (middle of 114), the heat absorbing portion (bottom of 114) is disposed at the bottom seat 108a, the condensation portion (top of 114) is disposed at the cover 108d, and the transmission portion (middle of 114) extends from the bottom seat 108a to the cover 108d (Par. 0053 “the heat pipes 114A, 114B, 114C, and 114D employ a phase transition between a heat transfer fluid within the heat pipes 114A, 114B, 114C, and 114D to transfer heat from the first base plate 108A and the second base plate 108B to the third base plate 108C and the fourth base plate 108D”).
As to Claim 10, Jaggers discloses:
A cooling module (structure of 100; Figs. 1-5), configured to cool a heat source (processor 106), comprising:
a liquid cooling assembly, comprising:
a cold plate (combination of cold plates 112a,112b and base plates 108a-108d), having a fluid chamber (120a,120c), a thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) and a heat dissipation surface (top of 108d), wherein the fluid chamber 120a,120b is located between the thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) and the heat dissipation surface (top of 108d; 120a,120b are disposed between the bottom of 108a and top of 108d), and the thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) is configured to be thermally coupled with the heat source 106 (Par. 0039 “A top surface of the processor 106 is thermally coupled to a bottom surface of a first base plate 108A”); and
a thermally conductive component (heat pipes 114a-114d; hereinafter 114 unless further detailed), entirely located outside the fluid chamber (120a,120b) and thermally coupled with the cold plate 112a,112b (heat pipes 114a-114d are thermally coupled to cold plates 112a,112b and disposed outside of 120a,120b), wherein the thermally conductive component 114 extends from one side of the cold plate 112a,112b located closer to the thermally coupling surface (bottom of 108a) to another side of the cold plate 112a,112b located closer to the heat dissipation surface (top of 108d; heat pipes 114 extend from bottom side of 112a,112b near 108a to top side of 112a,112b near 108d).
As to Claim 11, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 114 is embedded into the cold plate (112a,112b; heat pipes 114 are embedded in 108a and 108d (Par. 0043 “Each of the heat pipes 114A-114D has a first end disposed between and in thermal contact with the first base plate 108A and the second base plate 108B, and a second end disposed between and in thermal contact with the third base plate 108C and the fourth base plate 108D”).
As to Claim 12, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the cold plate 112a,112b comprises a bottom seat 108a and a cover 108d connected to each other (108a connected to 108d), the bottom seat 108a and the cover 108d together form the fluid chamber 120a,120b (when assembled, 120a,120b are formed between 108a,108d), the thermally coupling surface is located at the bottom seat (bottom of 108a), the heat dissipation surface is located at the cover (top of 108d), the thermally conductive component 114 comprises a heat absorbing portion (bottom portion of 114), a transmission portion (middle portion of 114) and a condensation portion (top portion of 114), the heat absorbing portion (bottom of 114) is connected to the condensation portion (top of 114) via the transmission portion (middle of 114), the heat absorbing portion (bottom of 114) is disposed at the bottom seat 108a, the condensation portion (top of 114) is disposed at the cover 108d, and the transmission portion (middle of 114) extends from the bottom seat 108a to the cover 108d (Par. 0053 “the heat pipes 114A, 114B, 114C, and 114D employ a phase transition between a heat transfer fluid within the heat pipes 114A, 114B, 114C, and 114D to transfer heat from the first base plate 108A and the second base plate 108B to the third base plate 108C and the fourth base plate 108D”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1) as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Lin (US 20240055321 A1).
As to Claim 4, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the heat absorbing portion (bottom portion of 114) and the condensation portion (top of 114) is non-parallel to a direction of gravity (both top portion of 114 and bottom portion of 114 are horizontal and non-perpendicular to the direction of gravity).
Jaggers does not disclose:
a capillary structure is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion, and a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion.
However, Lin discloses:
a capillary structure (wick structure 138) is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion 130a and the condensation portion 130b-1, and a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion 130c-1 (Par. 0050 “The heat pipe 130 may further include a wick structure 138 on an inner surface 137 of the heat pipe wall 136. The wick structure 138 may include, for example, one or more of a screen structure, sintered structure (e.g., sintered powder) or grooved structure”; Par. 0052 “The condensed liquid may then be passively pumped from the condenser (e.g., first upper heat pipe portion 130b-1) back to the evaporator (e.g., lower heat pipe portion 130a) by a capillary action along the wick structure 138”);
in order to passively move liquid from the condenser portion to the evaporator (Par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Lin e.g., providing:
a capillary structure is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion, and a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion;
in order to passively transport liquid within the heat pipes/thermally conductive components.
As to Claim 13, Jaggers discloses:
wherein the heat absorbing portion (bottom portion of 114) and the condensation portion (top of 114) is non-parallel to a direction of gravity (both top portion of 114 and bottom portion of 114 are horizontal and non-perpendicular to the direction of gravity).
Jaggers does not disclose:
a capillary structure is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion, and a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion.
However, Lin discloses:
a capillary structure (wick structure 138) is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion 130a and the condensation portion 130b-1, and a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion 130c-1 (Par. 0050 “The heat pipe 130 may further include a wick structure 138 on an inner surface 137 of the heat pipe wall 136. The wick structure 138 may include, for example, one or more of a screen structure, sintered structure (e.g., sintered powder) or grooved structure”; Par. 0052 “The condensed liquid may then be passively pumped from the condenser (e.g., first upper heat pipe portion 130b-1) back to the evaporator (e.g., lower heat pipe portion 130a) by a capillary action along the wick structure 138”);
in order to passively move liquid from the condenser portion to the evaporator (Par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Lin e.g., providing:
a capillary structure is provided in each of the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion, and a groove structure is provided in the transmission portion;
in order to passively transport liquid within the heat pipes/thermally conductive components.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1) alone.
As to Claim 6, Jaggers does not disclose (in the present embodiment):
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate.
However, Jaggers discloses (in another embodiment):
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly (1114 of Fig. 11) thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate (top side of heat pipes 1120a-1120d; correspond to top side of 108d);
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat (Par. 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Jaggers e.g., providing:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate;
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat.
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Jaggers alone discloses:
wherein the cooling module further comprises an air cooling assembly (cooling fan assembly 1116; Fig. 11) disposed aside the fin assembly 1114 and configured to generate an airflow towards the fin assembly 1114 (Par. 0067 “The component cooling apparatus 1100 further includes a heat sink fin stack 1114 having a top surface coupled to a bottom surface of a cooling fan assembly 1116 configured to direct an air flow to the heat sink fin stack 1114”).
As to Claim 15, Jaggers does not disclose (in the present embodiment):
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate.
However, Jaggers discloses (in another embodiment):
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly (1114 of Fig. 11) thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate (top side of heat pipes 1120a-1120d; correspond to top side of 108d);
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat (Par. 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Jaggers e.g., providing:
wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a fin assembly thermally coupled with the heat dissipation surface of the cold plate;
in order to facilitate the transfer and removal of heat.
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Jaggers alone discloses:
further comprises an air cooling assembly (cooling fan assembly 1116; Fig. 11) disposed aside the fin assembly 1114 and configured to generate an airflow towards the fin assembly 1114 (Par. 0067 “The component cooling apparatus 1100 further includes a heat sink fin stack 1114 having a top surface coupled to a bottom surface of a cooling fan assembly 1116 configured to direct an air flow to the heat sink fin stack 1114”).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1) as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Gao (US 10925190 B2) and Holden (US 20200340767 A1).
As to Claim 8, Jaggers discloses:
the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe 118a and an outlet pipe 118b, the inlet pipe 118a and the outlet pipe 118b are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 112a,112b (118a and 118b are disposed at different positions on the top side of 112a,112b.
Jaggers does not disclose:
wherein the cooling module further comprises a leakage detector and a module controller, the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a valve, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector.
However, Gao discloses:
wherein the cooling module further comprises a leakage detector (413a; see Fig. 4A) and a module controller (RMC 222), the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe (supply line 401a), a valve (FCD 403a) and an outlet pipe (return line 402a), the inlet pipe 401a and the outlet pipe 402b are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 411a (also see Fig. 3, supply and return lines are separate lines connected to cold plate), the valve 403a is disposed on the inlet pipe 401a (col. 9, Line 57 “server FCD 403A is attached to server supply line 401A”), the leakage detector 413a is disposed around the cold plate 411a (413a is disposed around/near cold plate 411a), the module controller 222 is electrically connected to the valve 403a, the leakage detector 413a, and the module controller 413a is configured to close the valve 403a when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector 413a (col. 10, Lines 7-14 “in response to a signal received from leak detector 413A indicating that there may be liquid leak within server blade 410A, RMC 222 transmits a command to server FCD 403A to activate or enable FCD 403A to reduce the amount of cooling liquid flowing into server blade 410A. FCD 403A may be a two-way valve or switch to simply block at least a substantial portion of the cooling liquid from entering server blade 410A via server supply line 401A”);
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within server blades (col. 9, Lines 48-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Gao e.g., providing:
wherein the cooling module further comprises a leakage detector and a module controller, the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe, a valve and an outlet pipe, the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector, and the module controller is configured to close the valve when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within electronic equipment.
Further, Holden discloses:
the module controller (head module of Fig. 10) is electrically connected to the leakage detector 400 and the air cooling assembly (Par. 0099 “Such a signal or other circuitry (“glue logic”) 440 can activate a relay or other device, as for example to interrupt power to a pump, or to power an actuator configured to fluidly isolate a fluid device from a fluid circuit, or otherwise provide a signal to a control circuit 450. The control circuit 450 can control a motor of a fan or a pump, or can actuate an actuator to interrupt a flow of fluid, as by closing a valve”), and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector (see Par. 0099, a fan can be controlled by the motor when signal of a leak is detected);
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak (Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers in view of Gao as further suggested by Holden e.g., providing:
the module controller is electrically connected to the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak.
As to Claim 17, Jaggers discloses:
the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe 118a and an outlet pipe 118b, the inlet pipe 118a and the outlet pipe 118b are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 112a,112b (118a and 118b are disposed at different positions on the top side of 112a,112b.
Jaggers does not disclose:
further comprising a leakage detector and a module controller, wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises a valve, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector.
However, Gao discloses:
further comprising a leakage detector (413a; see Fig. 4A) and a module controller (RMC 222), wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe (supply line 401a), a valve (FCD 403a) and an outlet pipe (return line 402a), the inlet pipe 401a and the outlet pipe 402b are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate 411a (also see Fig. 3, supply and return lines are separate lines connected to cold plate), the valve 403a is disposed on the inlet pipe 401a (col. 9, Line 57 “server FCD 403A is attached to server supply line 401A”), the leakage detector 413a is disposed around the cold plate 411a (413a is disposed around/near cold plate 411a), the module controller 222 is electrically connected to the valve 403a, the leakage detector 413a, and the module controller 413a is configured to close the valve 403a when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector 413a (col. 10, Lines 7-14 “in response to a signal received from leak detector 413A indicating that there may be liquid leak within server blade 410A, RMC 222 transmits a command to server FCD 403A to activate or enable FCD 403A to reduce the amount of cooling liquid flowing into server blade 410A. FCD 403A may be a two-way valve or switch to simply block at least a substantial portion of the cooling liquid from entering server blade 410A via server supply line 401A”);
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within server blades (col. 9, Lines 48-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Gao e.g., providing:
further comprising a leakage detector and a module controller, wherein the liquid cooling assembly further comprises an inlet pipe, a valve and an outlet pipe, the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are respectively connected to different positions of the cold plate, the valve is disposed on the inlet pipe, the leakage detector is disposed around the cold plate, the module controller is electrically connected to the valve, the leakage detector, and the module controller is configured to close the valve when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to detect leaks and monitor liquid leaks within electronic equipment.
Further, Holden discloses:
the module controller (head module of Fig. 10) is electrically connected to the leakage detector 400 and the air cooling assembly (Par. 0099 “Such a signal or other circuitry (“glue logic”) 440 can activate a relay or other device, as for example to interrupt power to a pump, or to power an actuator configured to fluidly isolate a fluid device from a fluid circuit, or otherwise provide a signal to a control circuit 450. The control circuit 450 can control a motor of a fan or a pump, or can actuate an actuator to interrupt a flow of fluid, as by closing a valve”), and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector (see Par. 0099, a fan can be controlled by the motor when signal of a leak is detected);
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak (Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers in view of Gao as further suggested by Holden e.g., providing:
the module controller is electrically connected to the leakage detector and the air cooling assembly, and the module controller is configured to close the valve and activate the air cooling assembly when receiving a leakage signal transmitted from the leakage detector;
in order to provide control of a fan in response to a detected leak.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggers (US 20240114646 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lin (US 20240055321 A1). Also see NPL “Thermal Conductivity”.
As to Claim 18, Jaggers does not disclose:
wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive component is greater than a thermal conductivity of the cold plate.
However, Lin discloses:
wherein the thermally conductive component 130 is made of copper (heat pipes made of copper; Par. 0038 “The heat pipes 130 may be formed of a thermally conductive material such as a thermally conductive metal including, for example, aluminum, copper”) and the cold plate 102 is made of aluminum (cold plate 102 is made of aluminum; Par. 0032 “in particular, the cold plate base 110 and cold plate cover 120 may include one or more thermally conductive metals or metal alloys including, for example, aluminum and copper”; see NPL “Thermal Conductivity” wherein copper (e.g., heat pipes 130) has a higher thermal conductivity than aluminum (e.g., cold plate 102) );
in order to provide a heat dissipation device with high thermal conductivity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jaggers as further suggested by Lin e.g., providing:
wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive component is greater than a thermal conductivity of the cold plate;
in order to provide a heat dissipation device with high thermal conductivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 5, 9 and 14, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the dependent claims 5, 9 and 14, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 5, 9 and 14 recite the following limitations:
“wherein the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion are non-perpendicular to a direction of gravity, a capillary force of a capillary structure in the heat absorbing portion is greater than a capillary force of a capillary structure in the transmission portion, and a groove structure is provided in the condensation portion.” – claim 5;
“further comprising a motherboard, a baseboard management controller and a rotational speed sensor, wherein the heat source and the baseboard management controller are disposed on the motherboard, the baseboard management controller is electrically connected to the module controller, the rotational speed sensor is electrically connected to the baseboard management controller and configured to measure a rotational speed information, the baseboard management controller is configured to decrease a power of the heat source or shut down the heat source according to the rotational speed information after receiving the leakage signal transmitted from the module controller.” – claim 9;
“wherein the heat absorbing portion and the condensation portion are non-perpendicular to a direction of gravity, a capillary force of a capillary structure in the heat absorbing portion is greater than a capillary force of a capillary structure in the transmission portion, and a groove structure is provided in the condensation portion.” – claim 14.
Chainer (US 20120279686 A1) discloses heat pipes embedded in a cold plate, but does not disclose the claimed capillary structure or sensor/management details.
Lee (US 20040140084 A1) discloses a liquid cooled container, fins and fan, but does not disclose the claimed capillary structure or sensor/management details.
Macias (US 12055986 B2) discloses cooling via a heat pipe and cold plate, but does not disclose the claimed capillary structure or sensor/management details.
See previous PTO-892
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 5, 9 and 14, are believed to render said claims 5, 9 and 14 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims limitations have been fully addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841