Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 21-30 in the reply filed on 6/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 31-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 400. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearlstein, US 2020/0066539 A1 in view of Haukka, US 2015/0217330 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Pearlstein teaches a method (a method for selectively passivating a surface of a substrate and selectively depositing a film on the non-passivated surface, abstract and 0005-0006) comprising:
forming a structure, wherein the structure comprises: a first dielectric layer made of silicon oxide; and a second dielectric layer made of silicon nitride (where the substrate comprises at least a first surface comprising silicon nitride and a second surface comprising a material other than the silicon nitride, abstract and 0005-0006, where the material other than silicon nitride comprises SiO2, 0018); and
performing a selective deposition process for depositing a third dielectric layer made of silicon oxide on the first dielectric layer (selectively depositing a film on the second surface by exposing the surface to one or more deposition precursors, 0006, where the film that is deposited includes silicon films such as SiOx, SiOxNy, SiOxCy, etc., 0056) wherein performing the selective deposition process comprises performing one or more deposition cycles (where the deposition is done by cyclic atomic layer deposition, 0056 and 0067).
They teach using disecbutylaminosilane (DSBAS) as a precursor (0067). They teach that the first surface comprising SiO2 comprises -OH groups (0018).
They do not teach using the claimed precursor or the steps for the ALD process.
Haukka teaches methods for selectively depositing a material on a first surface of a substrate relative to a second, different surface of the substrate, where the selectively deposited material can be a dielectric material (abstract). They teach passivating the second surface using a SAM or a similar monolayer to prevent deposition of an oxide (0030). They teach that the surface of a dielectric material such as SiO2 may comprise hydroxyl or OH-groups (0031 and 0033). They teach that the deposition process is an ALD type process comprising one or more deposition cycles in which a substrate is alternately and sequentially contacted with a first vapor phase reactant and a second vapor phase reactant (0034). They teach that the vapor phase reactants are separated from each other on the substrate surface by removing excess reactants and/or reactant byproducts from the reaction chamber between reactant pulses (0046). They teach that the process is based on controlled, self-limiting surface reactions of precursor chemicals (0046), indicating that the reactants react with one another. They teach that the surface of the substrate is contacted with a pulse of a vapor phase first reactant that is adsorbed on the substrate surface, excess first reactant and reaction byproducts are removed from the surface by purging, the substrate is contacted with a pulse of a second gaseous reactant, excess second reactant and gaseous byproducts are removed by purging, and then the process is repeated until the desired thickness have been selectively formed on the first surface of the substrate (0048-0050, 0052, 0060-0065, and Fig. 1). They teach depositing a dielectric on a dielectric surface, where the second surface is treated or deactivated to inhibit deposition of a dielectric thereon (0220 and 0222). They teach depositing SiO2 by ALD on a first dielectric surface of the substrate relative to a second surface of the same substrate, where the dielectric surface is a hydrophilic OH-terminated surface (0257). They teach that the surface can be a SiO2 surface comprising OH-groups (0257). They teach that the silicon precursors used can include SiyOy-1L2y+2, where L can be independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, etc., where alkyl groups contain 1-6 carbon atoms and y is selected from 1 to 3 (0282-0283 and 0288). They teach that an example of the precursor is disiloxane (SiH3)2O (0298-0299). They also teach using disecbutylaminosilane as a precursor (0312). They teach that the second reactants are selected from ozone, molecular oxygen, oxides of nitrogen, oxygen radials, etc. (0318-0324). Therefore, Haukka teaches selectively depositing a SiO2 film on a SiO2 surface over a surface that has been passivated using a cyclic ALD process with a precursor meeting the claimed formula.
From the teachings of Haukka, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deposited the SiO2 layer using the cyclic ALD method of Haukka with a disiloxane or a precursor having the formula SiyOy-1L2y+2, where L can be independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, etc., where alkyl groups contain 1-6 carbon atoms and y is selected from 1 to 3 because Pearlstein teaches depositing the SiO2 layer using cyclic ALD on a SiO2 surface comprising OH groups with DSBAS as the precursor, where the second surface is passivated and Haukka provides a selective cyclic ALD process for depositing SiO2 on a SiO2 surface comprising OH groups over a passivated surface, where disiloxane or the precursor having the formula SiyOy-1L2y+2 are indicated as being alternatives to DSBAS, suggesting that the precursors have similar reactivities, such that it will be expected to selectively deposit the SiO2 layer on the SiO2 surface over the passivated surface as desired. Therefore, performing the deposition cycle comprises: introducing a silicon-containing precursor over the structure (substrate), where the precursor meets the claimed limitations, and wherein molecules of the silicon-containing precursor are selectively adsorbed on an exposed surface of the first dielectric layer (so as to provide the selective deposition); and introducing an oxygen-containing precursor over the structure, wherein molecules of the oxygen-containing precursor react with the molecules of the silicon-containing precursor to form a silicon oxide sub-layer of the third dielectric layer.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 21. Pearlstein teaches purging the reactor after each of the silicon precursor and the oxygen-containing precursor (0067).
Haukka teaches purging the substrate surface after the first and second reactants to remove excess first or second reactants and byproducts (0048-0050, 0052, and Fig. 1).
Therefore, the deposition cycle will further comprise purging the un-adsorbed molecules of the silicon-containing precursor and purging unreacted molecules of the oxygen-containing precursor.
Regarding claim 24, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 21. Pearlstein further teaches passivating the first surface comprising silicon nitride by exposing the surface to a vapor comprising at least one organoisocyanate which selectively reacts with the silicon nitride to passivate the surface while leaving the second surface substantially unreacted (0005). They teach selectively depositing the film on the surface that is passivated (0006 and 0067). Therefore, the deposition cycle further comprises introducing an inhibitor material over the structure (organoisocyanate), wherein molecules of the inhibitor material are selectively adsorbed on an exposed surface of the second dielectric layer so as to inhibit deposition or passivate the surface from deposition before introducing the silicon-containing precursor.
Regarding claim 25, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 24. Pearlstein further teaches purging unreacted vapor of the organoisocyanate from the chamber (0054 and 0067).
Regarding claim 27, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 24. Pearlstein further teaches removing residual passivation reagents after the desired deposition thickness has been achieved (0028 and 0063). Therefore, after depositing the third layer, the adsorbed molecules of the inhibitor material will be removed from the second dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 28, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 21. Pearlstein teaches using 5% ozone in O2 as the oxygen-containing reactant (0067).
Haukka further teaches using ozone, molecular oxygen, etc. (0318-0325).
From this, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used oxygen and/or ozone as the oxygen-containing gas because Pearlstein teaches that the combination is suitable for ALD of silica and Haukka teaches that oxygen or ozone can be used for the deposition of silica.
Regarding claim 29, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 21. Pearlstein further teaches that the exposed surface of the silica layer comprises OH groups (0015 and 0018).
Haukka also teaches that the silica surface has OH groups (0257).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearlstein in view of Haukka as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kim, US 2022/0243330 A1.
Regarding claim 30, Pearlstein in view of Haukka suggest the process of claim 21. Pearlstein further teaches contacting the surface of the substrate with a wet chemical composition to obtain a treated substrate (0021). They teach that the wet chemical composition comprises one selected from the group consisting of a composition comprising H2O2, NH4O4, and H2O, HF, peroxide, RCA clean chemicals SC-1 and SC-2, and a mixture of H2SO4/H2O2 (0021-0022). They also teach treating the surface with a hydrogen plasma or an ammonia plasma (0028).
They do not teach that the exposed surface of the second dielectric layer is an NH2-temrinated surface.
Kim teaches a deposition method including providing a structure to be deposited that includes a silicon oxide area and a silicon nitride area having different surface characteristics from each other; and performing an ALD process in a reactor provided with the structure to selectively form a silicon oxide layer on the silicon oxide portion between the silicon oxide portion and the silicon nitride portion (abstract). They teach performing a surface treatment on the silicon oxide area and the silicon nitride area to form a first functional group on the surface of the silicon oxide are and to form a second functional group different from the first functional group on the surface of the silicon nitride area (0011). They teach that the first functional group may include an -OH group and the second functional group may include an -NH2 group (0011). They teach that the surface treatment may be performed with a solution containing hydrogen fluoride or a plasma of ammonia, etc. (0012). Therefore, they teach performing surface treatments including those of Pearlstein, where the treatments provide OH groups on the silica surface and NH2 groups on the silicon nitride surface.
From the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have treated the surface with and HF solution or an ammonia plasma because Pearlstein teaches that such treatments activate the surface and Kim teaches that they provide NH2 groups to the surface such that it will be expected to suitably activate the nitride surface. Therefore, the nitride surface is expected to have an NH2-terminated surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art does not teach or suggest using an inhibitor meeting the claimed formula for the process of claim 1.
The closest prior art is Pearlstein, US 2020/0066539 A1, Haukka, US 2015/0217330 A1, Kim, US 2022/0243330 A1, Hudson, US 2022/0362803 A1, and Sharma, US 2019/0017170 A1.
As discussed above, Pearlstein provides a selective deposition process, where a SiN surface is selectively blocked using an organoisocyanate inhibitor.
Haukka teaches passivating surfaces using materials such as SAM (0030). They teach treating a dielectric surface to form a halogenated surface with a material such as CCl4, so as to inhibit deposition of a metal thereon (0032). They do not indicate that the halide will selectively form on a silicon nitride dielectric surface over a silicon oxide dielectric surface.
Kim teaches inhibiting a silicon nitride surface over a silicon oxide surface using an aminosilane-based inhibitor material (abstract, 0006, and 0015).
Hudson teaches protecting a silicon-and-nitrogen containing material by selectively forming a carbon-containing self-assembled monolayer on a silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material relative to a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material (abstract). They teach that the silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material is SiN and the silicon-and-oxygen-containing material is SiO2 (0026 and 0058). They teach that the carbon-containing SAM precursor include a head group having greater reactivity with the silicon-and-nitrogen-containing surface relative to the silicon-and-oxygen-containing surface, where examples include aldehydes, ketones, isothiocyanates, etc. (0021). They teach that the carbon-containing SAM precursor includes R1-C(O)-R2 or R1-NCS, where R1 can include one or more haloalkyl substitutions (0023). Therefore, Hudson provides SAM molecules that include carbon and halogen atoms that preferentially adsorb onto a SiN surface over a SiO2 surface, however, they do not meet the claimed formula.
Sharma teaches passivation layers to inhibit vapor deposition on particular substrate surfaces, such as metallic surface to facilitate selective deposition on adjacent dielectric surfaces (abstract). They teach that the passivating agent includes a haloalkane of the formula CnH2n+1X, CnH2nX2, or R1R2CX, where R1 and R2 are each individually hydrogen or an alkyl group, X is a halogen, and n is less than 5 (0011). They teach that one of the substrate surfaces is a conductive (e.g., metal or metallic) surface while the other surface is a non-conductive (e.g., inorganic dielectric) surface (0050). They teach that examples of the dielectric surface which is not passivated and on which selective deposition can take place after passivating the conductive surface include native oxide on silicon, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, etc. (0056). They teach that the passivating agent may be dichloromethane (0023). Therefore, Sharma teaches using passivating agents meeting the claimed formula to passivate a conductive surface over a dielectric surface, such that there is no reason to suggest that the passivating agents could selectively passivate a SiN surface over a SiO2 surface.
Therefore, the prior art does not teach or suggest using the claimed inhibitor to selectively adsorb on a SiN surface relative to a SiO2 surface for selective passivation and subsequent deposition.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA D MCCLURE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1718