Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1,8-11,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180342437 A1 (Huang) in view of US 20220301975 A1 (Ham).
Regarding claim 1, Huang shows (Fig. 6) a chip on film package (para 24), comprising:
a flexible base film (110, para 24) having a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite to the first surface, the flexible base film having a chip mounting region (between two resist layers 119) on the first surface;
wirings (118, patterned circuit layer, para 24) on the first surface of the flexible base film, the wirings extending from the chip mounting region in a first direction (horizontal) parallel to an extending direction (vertical) of the flexible base film;
a semiconductor chip (120, para 24) on the chip mounting region on the first surface of the flexible base film, the semiconductor chip being electrically connected to the wirings;
a heat dissipation layer (144, para 30) on the flexible base film, the heat dissipation layer having a predetermined thickness in a depth direction from the second surface of the flexible base film and overlapping the chip mounting region; and
an insulating layer (148, para 30) covering the heat dissipation layer on the second surface of the flexible base film.
Huang is silent regarding the heat dissipation layer including a laser-induced carbon material.
Ham shows (Fig. 30) the heat dissipation layer (200, para 159) including a laser-induced carbon material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of heat dissipation material, with carbon, to the invention of Huang.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of improved thermal conductivity (para 159).
Regarding claim 8, Huang shows (Fig. 6) wherein the heat dissipation layer (200, para 159) further includes an extending portion that extends from an area overlapping the chip mounting region (between two resist layers 119) in the first direction (horizontal) or in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 9, Huang shows (Fig. 6) further comprising a protective layer (119, para 24) covering at least portions of the wirings (118) on the first surface of the flexible base film, the protective layer having a mounting region opening that exposes the chip mounting region (as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Huang shows (Fig. 6) wherein the semiconductor chip (120) is mounted on portions of the wirings exposed by the mounting region opening of the protective layer (119) via conductive bumps (from the bottom of 120 as shown, to connect to 118).
Regarding claim 11, Huang shows (Fig. 6) a chip on film package (para 24), comprising:
a flexible base film (110) having a chip mounting region (between two resist layers 119), the flexible base film having a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite to each other, and the flexible base film extending in a first direction (horizontal);
wirings (118, patterned circuit layer, para 24) on the first surface of the flexible base film, each of the wirings having an inner lead bonding portion (portion of 118 for the bumps connecting chip 120) in the chip mounting region;
a protective layer (119, solder resist layer, para 24) covering at least portions of the wirings on the first surface of the flexible base film, the protective layer having a mounting region opening that exposes the chip mounting region (as shown);
a semiconductor chip (120, para 24) on the chip mounting region on the first surface of the flexible base film and mounted on the inner lead bonding portions via conductive bumps;
a heat dissipation layer (144, para 30) having a predetermined thickness in a depth direction from the second surface of the flexible base film in an area overlapping the chip mounting region; and
an insulating layer (148, para 30) covering the heat dissipation layer on the second surface of the flexible base film.
Huang is silent regarding the heat dissipation layer including a laser-induced carbon material.
Ham shows (Fig. 30) the heat dissipation layer (200, para 159) including a laser-induced carbon material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of heat dissipation material, with carbon, to the invention of Huang.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of improved thermal conductivity (para 159).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art/s as noted in the above rejection of claim 8, discloses the entire claimed invention.
2. Claim(s) 2,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ham as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, further in view of US 20220046785 A1 (Kang).
Regarding claim 2, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the flexible base film.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show the flexible base film includes at least one of polyimide, polyetheretherketone, polyetherimide, polysulfone, and lignin.
Kang shows (Fig. 2) the flexible base film (100, para 36) includes at least one of polyimide, polyetheretherketone, polyetherimide, polysulfone, and lignin (para 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Kang, with base film of polyimide, to the invention of Huang as previously modified with Ham.
The motivation to do so is that the selection of an art recognized flexible substrate material is suitable for the intended use of Huang as previously modified with Ham (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art/s as noted in the above rejection of claim 2, discloses the entire claimed invention.
3. Claim(s) 3,13,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ham as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, further in view of US 20230067664 A1 (Li).
Regarding claim 3, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the laser-induced carbon material.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show wherein the laser-induced carbon material includes laser-induced graphene.
Li shows (Fig. 1C, 15) the heat dissipation layer (64, TIM, para 91) including graphene.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Li, with graphene as the carbon material, to the invention of Huang as previously modified with Ham.
The motivation to do so is that the selection of an art recognized graphene of Li is suitable for the intended use of Huang as previously modified with Ham (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art/s as noted in the above rejection of claim 3, discloses the entire claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the semiconductor chip, the mounting region opening of the protective layer and the base film.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show a sealing member between the semiconductor chip and the base film and filling the mounting region opening of the protective layer.
Li shows (Fig. 1C, 15) a sealing member (134, underfill, similar to sealing member with same type of material, para 36) filling the mounting region of chip (112, para 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to modify the invention of Huang, including sealing member, with the invention of Li.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of strengthening the structural integrity (para 36).
4. Claim(s) 4-5,14,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ham as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, further in view of US 20120273928 A1 (Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the heat dissipation layer.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show wherein the heat dissipation layer has a thickness within a range of 10 µm to 100 µm.
Kim shows (Fig. 2) wherein the heat dissipation layer (204a, graphite film, para 51) has a thickness within a range of 10 µm to 100 µm (20-60 µm, para 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Kim, with heat dissipation layer thickness, to the invention of Huang as previously modified with Ham.
The motivation to do so is that the selection of an art recognized heat dissipation layer thickness of Kim is suitable for the intended use of Huang as previously modified with Ham (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claim 5, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the insulating layer.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show wherein a thickness of the insulating layer is within a range of 5 µm to 20 µm.
Kim shows (Fig. 2) wherein a thickness of the insulating layer (204b, para 55) is within a range of 5 µm to 20 µm (10-40 µm, para 55) which overlaps the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Kim, with insulating layer thickness, to the invention of Huang as previously modified with Ham.
The motivation to do so is that the selection of an art recognized insulating layer thickness of Kim is suitable for the intended use of Huang as previously modified with Ham (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claim 14 and 16, the prior art as noted in the above rejection of claim 4 or 5 respectively, discloses the entire claimed invention.
5. Claim(s) 6,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ham as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, further in view of US 20200388564 A1 (Chou).
Regarding claim 6, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the insulating layer.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show wherein the insulating layer includes solder resist or polyimide.
Chou shows (Fig. 2D) wherein the insulating layer (25) includes solder resist or polyimide (para 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Chou, with insulating layer material, to the invention of Huang as previously modified with Ham.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of high heat dissipating rate due to such material (para 35).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art/s as noted in the above rejection of claim 6, discloses the entire claimed invention.
6. Claim(s) 7,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ham as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, further in view of US 20240120705 A1 (Matsumoto).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as previously modified with Ham shows the heat dissipation layer.
Huang as previously modified with Ham does not specifically show wherein the heat dissipation layer has a thermal conductivity of at least 1,500 W/m-K.
Matsumoto shows (Fig. 2) wherein the heat dissipation layer (100, para 16) has a thermal conductivity of at least 1,500 W/m-K (para 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Matsumoto, with heat dissipating layer, to the invention of Huang as previously modified with Ham.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of high heat dissipating rate due to such material (para 7).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art/s as noted in the above rejection of claim 7, discloses the entire claimed invention.
7. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Li.
Regarding claim 20, Huang shows (Fig. 6) a chip on film package (para 24), comprising:
a flexible base film (110) having a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite to the first surface, the flexible base film extending in a first direction (horizontal) and having a chip mounting region (between two resist layers 119) that extends in a second direction (vertical) perpendicular to the first direction, and the flexible base film having a first side surface (right of 110 vertical surface) and a second side surface (left of 110 vertical surface) extending in a direction parallel to the second direction and facing each other;
wirings (118, patterned circuit layer, para 24) on the first surface of the flexible base film, each of the wirings including an inner lead bonding portion (left portion of right 118 for the bumps connecting chip 120) in the chip mounting region and an outer lead bonding portion (right portion of left 118 for the bumps connecting chip 120) in at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface;
a protective layer (119, solder resist layer, para 24) covering at least portions of the wirings on the first surface of the flexible base film, the protective layer having a mounting region opening (as shown above) that exposes the chip mounting region and pad openings that expose the outer lead bonding portions;
a semiconductor chip (120, para 30) on the chip mounting region on the first surface of the flexible base film and mounted on the inner lead bonding portions via conductive bumps;
a heat dissipation layer (144, para 30) having a predetermined thickness in a depth direction from the second surface of the base film in an area overlapping the chip mounting region, the heat dissipation layer; and
an insulating layer (148, para 30) covering the heat dissipation layer on the second surface of the base film.
Huang does not show a sealing member filling the mounting region opening of the protective layer and interposed between the semiconductor chip and the flexible base film;
the heat dissipation layer including a laser-induced graphene.
Li shows (Fig. 1C, 15) a sealing member (134, para 36) filling the mounting region of chip (112, para 34);
the heat dissipation layer (64, TIM, para 91) including graphene.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to modify the invention of Huang, including sealing member and graphene heat dissipation, with the invention of Li.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of strengthening the structural integrity and higher thermal conductivity of graphene (para 36,91).
As per the claim limitation “laser-induced graphene”, which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. In the regard, both the claimed product and the prior art product would be the same or substantially the same. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
/WASIUL HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812