Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the particular species that are: (I) a nucleic acid label that comprises a PCR handle (claim 4); and (II) a capture sequence that is a poly T nucleotide sequence (claim 18, in part) in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (i.e.: requiring a nucleic acid label that comprises a unique molecular identifier (UMI)), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/11/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recites, in lines 5 and 16, the term “tragetspecifc” where the term “target-specific” is likely intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peterson et al (2017).
Relevant to claim 1, Peterson et al teaches (e.g.: Online Methods - REAP-seq assay; Supplementary Figure 1; Supp Discussion - REAP-seq method overview) a method of analyzing protein and mRNA in cells using REAP-seq, including incubating target specific, nucleic-acid-labeled, antibodies with cells to bind the antibodies to target proteins expressed by the cells; washing the antibody-bound cells to remove unbound antibodies, and combining the washed cells with template particles which comprise capture probes with a universal primer sequence, a barcode, and a capture sequence that binds to mRNA present in the cells. Peterson et al further teaches addition of a second fluid and encapsulation of a single particle and a single cells inside droplets using the 10x Genomics Chromium Controller instrument (i.e.: shear forces generated droplets), and amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid labels to identify cellular proteins.
Relevant to claim 2, Peterson et al teaches quantification of proteins (e.g.: p. 936 – Abstract).
Relevant to claim 4, Peterson et al teaches a nucleic-acid-labeled antibodies where the label includes a PCR handle (e.g.: Supp Fig 1).
Relevant to claims 5, 8 and 9, Peterson et al teaches lysing cells to release mRNA and reverse transcribe the mRNA in the droplet, and quantifying the mRNA to create an mRNA profile of each cell (e.g.: Supp Fig 1).
Relevant to claim 6 and 7, Peterson et al teaches a nucleic-acid-labeled antibodies where the label includes a poly A sequence (e.g.: Supp Fig 1).
Relevant to claim 10 and 11, Peterson et al teaches a first fluid that is PBS (i.e.: an aqueous fluid) and a second fluid that is an oil (e.g.: Online Methods - REAP-seq PBMC preparation; Supp Fig 1).
Relevant to claims 18 and 19, Peterson et al teaches a poly T nucleotide sequence that is a capture sequence (e.g.: Supp Fig 1) that hybridizes to a poly A sequence on the nucleic acid label (e.g.: Supp Fig 2).
Relevant to claims 20 and 21, Peterson et al teaches reverse transcription of capture mRNA using the capture oligo thus adding a barcode sequence to the cDNA, and amplification of the resulting cDNA (e.g.: Online Methods - REAP-seq assay; Supplementary Figure 1; Supp Discussion - REAP-seq method overview).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (2017) in view of Schutze et al (2011).
As detailed earlier in this Office Action Peterson teaches a method of analyzing protein and mRNA in cells using REAP-seq, which provides all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, from which instantly rejected claim 12 depends.
Peterson et al does not teach shearing fluids using a vortexer. But the creation of emulsions of droplets for amplification of one or a few templates per drop by vortexing was known in the prior art and is taught but Schutze et al (e.g.: Fig 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to have used the vertexing methods of Schutze et al to make droplet for analysis using the methods of Peterson et al. The use of the droplet forming methods of Schutze et al would have been the simple substitution of one know element for another with predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 18-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,866,782. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to the analysis of proteins and nucleic acids is cells comprising the use nucleic-acid-labeled antibodies, and template particles with capture probes where the conflicting claims (e.g.: claim 16) include elements of the capture probe comprising a universal primer sequence; at least one barcode; and a capture sequence that hybridizes to one or more of the plurality of distinct mRNA, and the claim include that capture portion of the nucleic-acid-labeled antibodies may be poly A (claim 9) and that the capture sequence may be poly T (claim 17).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PG Pub 2018/0208975 A1 (Jul 26, 2018) teaches methods of analyzing protein and mRNA in cells using nucleic acid labeled antibodies and capture probes.
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683